You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3

Helm Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA

Price From 124.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Mcquoid

  • June 2016

Hydro Hotel

Absolutely fantastic.

We booked it as a last minute thing, staff were very helpful, even gave us a free room upgrade to have a view of the lake. Would definitely go again!

  • J McCormack

  • June 2016

Hydro Hotel

Very pleasant stay and friendly staff.

  • kathleen p

  • May 2016

Short break

Enjoyed our stay.

Excellent value, room very clean, lots of towels, toiletries and space. The room was a little dated but we requested a lake view and were pleasantly surprised to be given one considering the late booking and price we paid. We had a meal in the evening....an offer including a free pint or glass of wine for less than £12....excellent.

  • P Hayes

  • May 2016

Hydro Hotel

This obviously used to be a grand hotel.

My husband and I had a basic double room which was very basic. Furniture was shabby, TV was from the darkages. I think for the rate we paid the quality of our room was poor. Staff were very politely.

  • K KING

  • May 2016

Room 19 ? How dare you attempt to put people in here ? The whole hotel knew about the mouldy tiles

This hotel is hit and miss.

The first time was fine, bit dated but you get what you pay for - we paid £62. The second time OMG the bathroom in room 19 was black. I feared to breathe there was that much mould. Nano the manager advised the hotel was full but found us another room. This hotel needs some serious money spending on it.

  • Mianna G

  • March 2016

Low price, excellent location, needs some updating

Good aspects of our stay: Spacious room Plenty of storage space in the room Excellent price Brilliant location Lovely views of the lake and of bowness Areas for improvement: The receptionist was very polite but did not offer much information about available facilities No infomation in the room about available facillities Dead blue bottle in bathroom on arrival Bathroom door kept sticking when trying to open and close.

Room door was very loosely shut when locked

We only paid £148 for the roon for two nights therefore the room offered good value for money and we had a pleasant stay. The hotel would benefit from a bit of updating. To be fair to the hotel we did not complain about any aspect of our stay and I feel that if we had then the hotel would have taken steps to solve our problems.

  • N Roberts

  • March 2016

Very small room

We had a room on the third floor - basically in the roof with very low sloping ceilings in the bedroom and bathroom and it was the smallest double room we have ever stayed in.

The signage to find the room was very poor and although their are lifts to reach our room you had to get 1 to the first floor then walk down the corridor to get another to the second and thirds floors.

  • Brian M

  • February 2016

Hydro Hotel

Very dated in need of refurbishment

  • C Watson

  • December 2015

Not prefect but didn't spoil anything

The first contact with the hotel was a phone call in the morning to ask if everything was okay as The Lakes was having a,bad time because of the weather.

I was assured that it was business as usual and every things was fine, even said that the roads where ok. We checked in at around 5 pm and was given room 61 on the second floor. After dropping of luggage and getting swim ware we went to the bar for a drink.

Pleasant bar lady served us then we went to reception for towels, given the code to get in and towels brought to us in the pool as they had none behind reception. We then went back to the room for a shower, sadly it had no heat and after a member of staff couldn't get it to work I ask about a different room. I had to go to reception and was shown room 14 which compared to room 61 I said no thank you. My partner had a bath instead and was not to upset about a shower although it did make us late to eat. I was told by reception that if another room came free they would phone me. No call came

As for later the bed was comfortable and we both slept well. Breakfast was very good and plenty of it

Overall the hotel was good but the shower did spoil it a little. Location is great and even the hill climb wasn't that bad

  • Nick Jones

  • November 2015

A cheapish night in Windermere

This was a late booking as we extended our stay in the Lakes an extra day.

It was only their most budget room and was quite dated but you get what you pay for. So value for money wise it was pretty good. It was clean, warm, was an en suite and the hotel had free parking too. The breakfast was first rate though and more in keeping with the pictures on the hotels website. The staff were friendly and there was a swimming pool which although we didn't use could have added extra value to our stay.

Nick.