You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3

Helm Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (51)

71% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • R Chambers

  • October 2014

Overall the accommodation was fine.

The hotel is a little bit tired and could do with modernising but it was spotless and the staff were friendly and polite.

  • D Simpson

  • October 2014

Hydro visit

Staff were friendly and helpful and gave good service.

Food was very good with plenty of choice.

  • PAUL M

  • October 2014

A stay at the Hydro.

Food was excellent.

Staff mostly foreign were very very friendly and most helpfull. Swimming pool and sauna were lovely.Some negatives about our stay.Drinks in the bar were very over priced. Bedroom carpet was filthy. Double bed was two slngles pushed together. Decor of the hotel was very tired and poor. Probably not book there on our next visit to Windermere.

  • Brian G

  • October 2014

Excellent hotel with great views and food

Booked a 'standard double' room but got a 'balcony suite', great room with separate sitting area, good ensuite bathroom with corner bath & shower, 2 TVs and a small balcony with fantastic views of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond.

Excellent buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner with plenty of choice, decent portions and beautifully cooked and presented food. There is a residents bar with huge comfy sofas and a separate, quieter, lounge, both with welcoming open fires. The staff are pleasant & friendly and the hotel is just a 10 minute walk from the lakeshore at Bowness (albeit down a fairly steep hill). Overall, a great hotel in a beautiful & convenient location and really good value for money, will definitely be returning.

  • Silvia V

  • October 2014

Pleasant experience

  • Patricia B

  • October 2014

Lake Distrct Visit

First room offered was totally unacceptable but was then given a lovely room.

Only had breakfast in the hotel and the food is excellent and staff very attentive. Enjoyed my stay there.

  • t mann

  • October 2014

Location location location!

The hotel was ideally positioned for us, just a few minutes walk to the beautiful lake Windermere and even shorter walk to the local shops and eateries.

The breakfast was buffet style plenty of choice and certainly tasted good. The room was clean but fairly basic but who is going to spend much time in their room when there is so much to see and do. Will definitely stay at the hotel again hopefully for longer next time.

  • w beattie

  • October 2014

Weekday break

Good hotel seeking to improve.

Helpful interested and efficient staff.

  • caroline m

  • October 2014

Spotlessly clean, great position, fab service, but a little run down.

This Victorian Hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of Bowness on Windermere and has easy parking and spectacular views from my room.

The room was huge and very comfortable. The tv was tiny and has basic freeview. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean. Infact despite the general tlc needed on decor the place was immaculate - very tidy and thoroughly cleaned. Yes there is peeling paint and a cracked tile here and there - but it's a Victorian family run hotel with character not a chain hotel. The room was very comfy and the service was fantastic. The food was really nice and the waiting staff were very attentive. After a long day in the hills the jacuzzi and pol were lovely. Again spotless and well monitored by the hotel. Yes it was out of the main building - but this means no meeting fat, hairy blokes in their swim shorts in the elevator as has happened before in other hotels. For the price and location I was happy with the hotel. Clean and good service, easy parking and decent food. I like a hotel with character and have stayed at other, more expensive hydro hotels and found them similarly needing TLC. There is no wifi - something that they need to fix as we ended up in the local pub to check emails when we'd rather have sat by the open fire in the welcoming bar area. All in all I did like my stay here. A great base for walking in the hills and room 6 has a great big bath for relaxing in and has great views up the lake.

  • p black

  • October 2014

Relaxing and peaceful

I would recommend this hotel.

We had a very pleasant two day stay. Hotel was clean, food was decent and all staff were polite and attentive..