Hydro Hotel

3

Helm Road, Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA

Price From 134.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (120)

82% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Wood

  • July 2014

Hydro Hotel review

The hotel looked nice from the outside and is in an good location with nice views over the lake.

The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The interior of the hotel is very dated and in urgent need of refurbishment. The room furniture needs to go on a bonfire and the carpet was grubby. We only had breakfast in the hotel and thought it was average.

  • B Hodgson

  • July 2014

tired decor but relaxing!

Hotel is a bit tired looking in places, but spotlessly clean.

Bedrooms have all you need, comfy beds, tea/coffee etc. bathrooms a bit small but well equipped with towels/toiletries. Pleasant airy dining room, breakfast hot & cold buffet (beautifully cooked & more than enough),staff all pleasant, helpful frequently asking if more tea/coffee wanted, some guests requested poached eggs, this done promptly and with a smile. Plates cleared away promptly( 1 of my pet hates is when they are still there when you are finished your meal!) Pleasantly surprised as was a bit dubious after reading some reviews but would definitely stay here again. Its a short stroll down to the main areas of Bowness- Excellent!

  • Frances B

  • July 2014

Good hotel

Excellent value, room had a fabulous view of Lake Windermere.

Dated but pleasant interior within the hotel with original Victorian fittings and style. The room was spacious and clean with a dated interior, perfectly adequate.

  • C Johnson

  • July 2014

Great value

Our second stop in this hotel and although I wouldn't like to think I had paid full price for this hotel the £75 through Laterooms.com was excellent value.

  • andrew D

  • July 2014

The room was a little dated and tired and the room above was very creaky.

On the whole though I enjoyed my stay and the staff were very friendly.

  • D Watson

  • July 2014

Lovely views over Lake, Hotel spotlessly clean and staff wonderful

Welcome was warm and genuine, bedroom was large with wonderful dual aspect of lake view, breakfast is buffet style, food was very tasty and fresh, good variety to choose from, waiting staff very quick with hot drinks and happy to assist, would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Janette B

  • July 2014

Tries hard - but not quite

Tired room - bed lumpy - pillows cumfy.

No biscuits with tea/coffee facilities. TV ancient but worked - OK. View from window fabulous. WIFI very unreliable in public rooms where i was told it was only available there - when i got back to room the WIFI was excellent. The Pool was excellent - changing rooms could do with make-over and needs at least soap for handwashing and shower. Breakfast OK. Waiting staff for breakfast - excellent. Receptionist could do with some customer service training.

  • ken hawley

  • July 2014

What once was grand is now old and tired (and a bit tatty in places).

This large hotel is up a steep hill, a little way away from the town centre.

The entrance is straight oposite a council estate. You can tell that this was once a splendid place but it has become very tired and dated. The carpets in the halls and on the stairs are threadbare in places and the seams are stuck together with Duck tape. The room was rather small and the bed very uncomfortable with springs that groaned at every move. The en-suite was minute. I really mean it when I say that we saw loads of fatter people in the town that simply would not have been able to squeeze past the wash basin to get to the toilet. The TV was a very old 14" model (not flat screen) with a remote control that did not work. The worst thing was that the room was very hot and there was no fan. The room faced onto the back of the building and was immediately above what appeared to be the staff smoking venue. At midnight, there was a group of eastern Europeans directly under the window, loudly discussing the world. Very difficult to sleep. Would we go there again. No. and at £110.00 it was more expensive than the much better hotel that we stayed at the night before in Ambleside.

  • A Jackson

  • July 2014

hydro hotel

Hydro hotel - the pool wasn't working in order.

Booked here foe the use of pool. No sincere apology. Ruined the night.

  • HELEN T

  • June 2014

excellent location with amazing views over the lake, .

Room 23 is brilliant.

patio doors open to balcony area. Room is very big with 2 tvs. one in bedroom area, the other in living room area .Lovely bar areas to relax in . Breakfast great choice of food. Well worth a visit.