No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hydro Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Helm Road , Bowness On Windermere, LA23 3BA
Situated just 100 yards above the centre of the village of Bowness on Windermere the Hydro Hotel offers wonderful panoramic views over the north of Lake Windermere and is close enough to the village for you to explore! Built in 1873 - the Hydro is a wonderful Victorian hotel tastefully modernised to cater for today's discerning visitors and in a building adjacent to the Hydro is our own indoor swimming pool, sauna, spa bath and gymnasium. The Hydro has 78 tastefully decorated bedrooms, all en suite with TV, tea making facilities, hairdryer, trouser press and computer point. The comfortable bar overlooks the lake and has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits all priced competitively. The Hydro also has a large number of public rooms that make it an ideal conference and wedding venue. The southern fells of the lake district are just a short distance away and if you want to try something less strenuous then golf can be booked at Windermere Golf Club (tee times subject to availability) or why not try a cruise on the Hotel's 36 foot yacht on Windermere in the company of the resident skipper.
Picture of Hydro Hotel, Bowness On Windermere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good hotel with adequate accommodation. The only problems: TV in room very very dated. Hard to get
a picture on some channels but not too major. Hotel didn't have vegetarian options at breakfast for my husband. This is standard in B+Bs so did expect it at hotel this size.
Bonus: hotel pool and jacuzzi.

Reviewed by
gillian c

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We could hear every noise in the room above . Even when they opened a drawer!
Although clean, the beds are very uncomfortable. The rooms we had are dated and overall the hotel is shabby, old and tired. The paper thin walls meant we heard everything in the next room and the
very noisy and energetic guests upstairs prevented us from getting anything like a good nights sleep.Our stay was not value for money. The breakfast was good,and the staff friendly,Frank at the bar in particular.

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Salford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
This is a lovely hotel with lovely views over Lake Windermere. The hotel is a little jaded, but has clearly been very palatial in it's day.
We had planned to eat in the restaurant in the evening, but by 7.45pm no one, other than Staff were in it and we didn't fancy being lone diners, so we decided to go out. The breakfast, however, was lovely, so I'm not sure why the restaurant was empty for evening meals (perhaps the price was a little steep, I feel).
The swimming pool is in a separate building, accessible only by a door code from Reception. I didn't fance being the only one in it, so gave it a miss.
All in all, it was a lovely stay in this hotel & would certainly like to return in the future.

Reviewed by
IRENA G

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The friendly staff make up for the tired decor
All the staff were very friendly, helpful & efficient, which made up for the quite tired decor & furnishings. The Hydro is in a great central location in Bowness & it's big enough to draw in a few customers to create a friendly atmosphere for that last drink before bed.

Reviewed by
andy t

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel handy for town
The location of this hotel was ideal for walking into the village without being on top of things. Its up quite a steep hill though so bear that in mind if you have to consider mobility. The hotel itself is tired and it was a little disappointing to find the pool was in a completely different outbuilding - it wasn't clear how to get in and it looked shabby inside. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was tasty and adequate if not very imaginative. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel because there are so many fantastic places to eat in Bowness.

Reviewed by
andrea s

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getaway in May!
We've been to the Hydro before and we got exactly what we were looking for! The room is large enough with disabled facilities ( which I need) and a door to the front ( perfect when we have the dog!)
The staff are welcoming and very friendly - and could not be more helpful!
The Boss was absent this time so I can take advantage of this review to say - Thanks Again, we will be back!

Reviewed by
Euan Ritchie

From Ayr, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
I found the hotel very comfortable, with large rooms (for a single). The interior is not dated, as other reviewers seem to think, it is just an older, larger hotel. Staff were friendly, the restaurant was good. The buffet breakfast was very convenient and quick, and the full English was fresh. I would stay again. Good parking, and quiet.

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with a full view of the lake. Cannot fault the food
The only issue is that I think the hotel is due an upgrade decoration wise. We had 2 single beds pushed together to make a double which normally does not bother me however this time the 2 beds did not match in size and it was not as comfortable

Reviewed by
Jane W

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
The Hotel was in a great location within walking distance from the centre of Bowness, the staff were really friendly and helpful. Our room was large clean and comfortable with a window overlooking the lake.
The pool and jacuzzi were brilliant excellent facility. The breakfast was well cooked and tasty, would definately come back again, great value for money.

Reviewed by
Helen Gray

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very outdated
Very outdated.
Hotel needs refurbishment asap.
I could go on with other things (food) but don't have time...

Reviewed by
povilas

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next