No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avonpark House

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
123 Shipston Road, , Stratford upon Avon, CV37 7LW

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Martin and Maria welcome you to their friendly, family run quality guest house close to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
Only seven minutes walk from the Royal Shakespeare Company - RSC Theatre, along the River Avon, and a short stroll from the birthplace of William Shakespeare and the historic sights of Stratford. A Convenient bed and breakfast, with car parking, for visiting warwickshire, the Heart of England, and nearby attractions of the homes of William Shakespeare,Warwick Castle, NEC, the Cotswolds, Stratford Races, events at Long Marston and many others. The B&B has been awarded Visit Britain 4 star grading and all rooms have en-suite accommodation. The bed and breakfast accommodation, has many facilities available to make your holiday in shakespeare country a comfortable and enjoyable experience.
Picture of Avonpark House, Stratford upon Avon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I cannot understand why this venue gets the good ratings that it has.
I have to say that the accomodation was very clean so top marks on that but i think we must have had the raw deal on our room - number 7. The doors to the under roof cupboards did not fit properly and the space for hanging your clothes was taken up by the fold up beds that were stored in there thus making it difficult to get clothes to hang properly.
The bed is located at one end of the room in a space that makes it difficult to move down the sides of the bed - there are no bedside tables so if you want a glass of water by the bed it has to go on the windowsill behind the bed.
You have to order what you want for breakfast the night before. (how do you know what you will want for breakfast the day before). The breakfast was ok but not great. The sausages were poor quality and when my husband had requested two eggs on his menu choice but still only received one!!! On the second morning we decided to try different things to the full English. Wish we had not.

ManagementResponse

You booked a Double room but requested the Superior. We politely informed, in advance, that this was not available, and offered you the option to cancel the booking. This appears to have influenced your expectations. The point reference bedside tables in this room has merit, and we have placed these on order. Your other comments are regrettably inaccurate and unconstructive. The local butcher (Barry's) supplies most of the 104 Hotels and B&B's with their sausages. As a small business, we use a pre order system, so that one staff member can serve 14 - 18 people promptly, and offer a more extensive menu than most of the large hotels. We take review feedback very seriously, and our above average ratings suggest that we are on track. Sorry we couldn't please on this occasion.

Reviewed by
Rowena C

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and close to town within enjoyable walking distance
We only had a brief stay but felt the accommodation was of a good standard and comfortable. The dining room overlooks a lovely garden and is a relaxing start to the day. Only possible comment would be that 10.00am is an early check out but understandable for a small premises. They also have good offers available for eating out and visiting Warwick Castle.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. Guests are invited to leave their cars on the driveway until 3pm of day of departure. This is a popular facility, allowing Guests to further visit the town. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
S Udambe

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, functional, nice breakfast. Not expensive.
Everything is clean and functional and the breakfast was very nice.
There are a number of rooms and it felt a bit crammed in but was pleasant enough.
Convenient for central Stratford and the RSC on foot so avoids parking problems.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
Malcolm W

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Owner very helpful with maps, advice, recommendations etc. Used the money off vouchers to visit the Shakespeare houses and took advantage of the car parking until 3 o'clock the next day. Good choices at breakfast and was very pleased overall.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
P Marsh

From Falmouth, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome and very helpful hosts. Only slight drawback was that the room was long and narrow, so there was very little room between the double bed and the walls on bothe sides. However, that was not a real problem and we would certainly stay there again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. Our "quirky" room, being long and narrow, has the advantage of extra space for a separate seating area in front of the TV. We have just received delivery of a new bed, to utilise the space more efficiently. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
A friendly and comfortable place to stay. The room was large and immaculately presented. Very convenient for the town centre and Bill and Cita did everything they could to ensure our stay was just as we wanted. Breakfast is a high spot, and I would recommend Avonpark House without hesitation.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewed by
Barry W

From Salisbury, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant stay at avonpark. Our room was a little small but very compact and had everything we wanted in the room the shower was lovely and had a good nights sleep. The owner of the hotel was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was cooked perfect I did send compliments to the chef ! All in all I would stay again at the avonpark. There is a great cut through to the city centre which was great . Stratford-upon -avon is a lovely lovely place and I have lovely memories of our stay there

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. As a late booking, the last room available was our smallest. All our rooms do meet Visit Britain 4 star standards. However, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Should you wish to return in the future, please may I suggest that you book as far ahead as possible, as we allocate the largest rooms first.

Reviewed by
Carole Hindley

From Liverpool, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb stay for Stratford and Shakespeare
Myself and a friend needed a room for the night as we were watching a play directed by her brother at the RST. The B&B was faultless. We arrived earlier than expected and our room was ready for us. They were so helpful, organised and professional. Our breakfast was ready when requested and was faultless. Cannot recommend this more. Well worth a stay if you are looking for somewhere in Stratford with easy access to the town.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed by
Teresa Sedge

From Crowborough, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely family room with doors to the lovely garden, nice and close to Stratford centre, just stayed 1 night but would stay again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We also have a 50% discount package for admission to Warwick Castle. This can save families £38.

Reviewed by
Lesley Y

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, very close to town. We had Room 4 which we think was the only one with access to the garden other than the dining room (it had it's own little balcony and stairs to the garden). It was also very clean, had a massive bed and good breakfast included in the price : ) i would definitely recommend this place especially Room 4 if you have the chance to request it!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your comments. You enjoyed our "Superior Double" room. There is one other double that also has private access onto the garden. Two further rooms above overlook the garden, which being surrounded by trees and tall hedges is pleasantly secluded. All Guests have access to the seating area on the decking, which overlooks the Koi pond and the garden. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
S Lewis

From England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next