No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SYSONBY KNOLL HOTEL

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Asfordby Road , Melton Mowbray, LE13 0HP
WINNER - "Best Value Accommodation", Heart of England 2002. WINNER - "Best Visitor Accommodation", Leicestershire 2003 Sysonby Knoll is the largest and longest established family owned and run hotel in Melton Mowbray, and has the highest AA quality rating of any hotel in the town. It has been owned by the same family since 1965, when it was purchased as a 6 bedroom house. Over the intervening years, this has gradually developed into a 30 bedroom hotel, with 24 rooms in the main building and a further 6 executive rooms in our annexe. The original house now forms a small part of a square courtyard, with the bar, restaurant and conservatory overlooking the gardens. Our 3 four poster rooms are in the old house facing the gardens, and most of the other bedrooms face into the central garden in the courtyard. We are about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Melton Mowbray, a busy market town famous for Pork Pies and Stilton Cheese.. Our modern coffee lounge has been created with the needs of both business and relaxtion specifically in mind. Catch up on emails, hold informal business meetings or interviews or simply un-wind and take time to think. Wi-fi is available free of charge with plenty of plug sockets to power lap tops.
Picture of SYSONBY KNOLL HOTEL, Melton Mowbray at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect from beginning to end.
Right from booking this was a great experience.Had a call offering us the meal deal,and a detailed e mail.Greeted by a fabulous smell of fresh flowers wafting through reception,and the rest was as good.We paid extra for the magnificent four poster room,set in the beautiful origional building.Complete with fabulous views across the delightful gardens down to the river,and over the vale.

Reviewed by
maggie mcbain

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st class all round
very friendly staff all round and the room we stayed in was of high quality and the view from the gardens are fantastic

Reviewed by
M Davenport

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dated and vastly over priced
We were disappointed with the 90's decor, room was very small and cost more than a 4* Central London hotel. The lack of competition has meant they have stopped trying. Staff were friendly just the hotel let them down. Food was ok but small portions

Reviewed by
Richard B

From , England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Lovely, friendly hotel with great service. We had a very relaxing stay.
The rooms were spotless and incredibly comfy. We had dinner and breakfast which were both very enjoyable and the staff couldn't have been more amendable.

Reviewed by
Claire E

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Three Star Hotel - 4 Star Quality
We were given a large room,well furnished, modern TV + Tea/Coffee making facilities. Nice bathroom - all in all perfect for us. Dinner was excellent, and Breakfast was faultless. My only query was WHY was this a 3 Star hotel - we have stayed in far worse allegedly superior hotels - but Sysonby Knoll was far better than our original expectations. We asked if we could check out 1 hour later than stipulated - it was not a problem even though our room had been relet for that night. If we are in that part of the country again I would not hesitate to rebook this hotel

Reviewed by
Helen Dryer

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glad we didn't pay the full price!!
The room was freezing cold on arrival and we had to phone down to reception to ask them to turn the heating on, which you don't expect to have to do in mid February. The rooms are a nice size and very clean but the decor, furnishings and bathrooms was extremely drab & dated. The communal areas downstairs were much nicer and look like they have recently been updated and redecorated.
The menu looked lovely, but when the food arrived it was a huge disappointment. Basic pub grub at best and definitely not A la Carte as described on the menu.
The wifi connection was poor/intermittent. Very glad we didn't pay the full price!

Reviewed by
e ferguson

From Shefford, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed for one night. We were very happy with everything and the staff were very efficient and friendly

Reviewed by
c dolman

From derby, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a fantastic time,coffee was great.

Reviewed by
D Wood

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay in Melton Mowbray.
A nice hotel with a beautiful garden.A room with bath/shower and everything else one needs.Friendly atmosphere .Great hospitality.Good English Breakfast.

Reviewed by
H Simonse

From Middelburg, Netherlands
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel stay
room very clean and the staff very helpfull and the food was very good value for money

Reviewed by
d aspin

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next