No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and under renovation
A wee bit tired generally, but in the middle of some major work as we found out at 9.20 am
Not a problem as we were up

Reviewed by
H Thomson

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, cheap and cute
OVERALL EXCELLENT.
FEW MINOR POINTS; loud noise from the pub during the saturday night. The vending machine was not working on one night, but the other night, the receptionist was very kind to get it out of the machine.
They should have mentioned clearly in the website that bus 37 is the only bus to come that side during night times, would have been useful for night time arrivals and departures.

Reviewed by
C B

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
The hotel is having an extension built at the moment, unfortunately nobody has thought to upgrade what is already there. The first room I was offered was terrible! Old, tired furniture and a bathroom that was totally unacceptable from a standard hygiene point of view. I was then offered a second room that did have a clean bathroom, once again the furniture and bed had seen better days. The corridors throughout the hotel were dingy, tired and in need of updating. The so called gym was bitterly cold, dirty and had faulty exercise machinery, you are then charged £2.50 for the pleasure of using it. Needless to say, I will not be staying in this hotel ever again. Last but not least, the pictures of the hotel on the website are nothing like how the hotel looks in reality.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surely we should have been told about the renovation!!
This is a very tired and run down hotel. To be fair it is currently undergoing a long overdue renovation.
Whilst I appreciate they still need to continue operating to turn a profit they should have warned us of the ongoing construction work. Charging over £100 for a very cold and shabby room - possibly the worst I have experienced in the last 20 years - shows little respect for the customer.

Reviewed by
Jack R

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not for couples
Although this hotel is under refurbishment, it was still in a decent condition as we were placed in the new section and were possibly the first to use the room. Clean, spacious but no chair to sit in or desk to place laptop. A bit of a walk to and from reception. I thought breakfast was okay, my wife avoided it. A place for the working man or travelling salesman, not for couples or families. This may change once the place is finished. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Bernard O

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting
Hotel is just a building site, the section which isn't a building site looks like it hasn't seen a clean since 1984, furniture looks like it came from 1973, I haven't slept ina bed that bad since army basic training, I was at breakfast for 7am as it opened, the food was cold then

Reviewed by
Neil S

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldnt exist outside Aberdeen
Built in 1975, it felt like it hadnt been renovated since then too.
Bit of a dive although the room was clean. There was an adjoining door to the room next door so I was treated to a phone call at 2300hrs. Felt like I was in the room with him!
Breakfast was unattended. Eventually I helped myself. The food was cold as was the tea/coffee urns.
Same old story. The hotel is only just functional and outside of Aberdeen wouldnt be able to compete.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen
Great hotel lovely clean and warm.

Reviewed by
kathy m

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rediculously terrible!
I travel in the aviation business all over the world and have stayed in 1 star to 5 star hotels. On the whole you get what you pay for. The Britannia hotel is doing its best to buck that concept. Their idea is to ask you to pay £125 pounds for what should be about £20. The checkin was atrocious, drunk men in the lobby, the room had ripped carpet, hair in the bathroom, a phone that didn't work, tv reception terrible and the list goes on. Don't be fooled by the letter left in the room apologizing. That is absolute rubbish, you don't provide such poor services and charge that fee. Never ever ever stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
stephen o

From Beauly, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmmmmmm
I had read the reviews and was apprehensive about my stay. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and as such there are builders everywhere along with dirt on the carpets. If I had been told about the building work prior to arriving I would have been more relaxed about the state of the hotel. The 5 I have given for staff is only for the breakfast staff, because all other staff were unhappy, grumpy and unapproachable.
When I mentioned to my colleagues where I was staying, they all said WHY?? This hotel has a bad reputation and until the refurbishment has taken place and most of the staff have changed I would not recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Jake W

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next