No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never Again
Poor service at front desk, you need a map and a guide to find your room as there are no signs that help. The room had no windows, the bar was "too busy" to serve food and the breakfast in the morning was poor to say the least.

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Should not have been open during such extensive renovation
This is currently a building site. It should not really be open to the public at this time, and certainly not at a charge of £90.50. No mention was made of this when booking with Late Rooms - we would definitely not have used this hotel had we known. I am sure it will be a very good hotel when it is finished - but certainly not as it is now.

Reviewed by
J Johnstone

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel on the website looks reasonable!! it is a building site LITERALLY
I would not advise anyone to use this venue, the staff where most unhelpful, i stayed in room 704 which was one of the refurbished rooms the room was clean which was more than could be said for the rest of the hotel, It would be advisable for companies like laterooms to check that the pictures thes hotels put up are true as this was definitely not as it was advertised.
Food you would not want to eat here even if you were starving.

Reviewed by
t stirling

From glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

laughable its even classified as a hotel
We arrived at this hotel unable to find the front entrance. We were dropped off next to a small, dark passage in a wall which we later discovered was the front door. after finally getting into the hotel, the receptionist was nice however on asking her where there was a shop she had no idea of anything nearby. Her directions on getting to the room were dire, directing us 'just round that corner' to the lifts (which were slow and dated). The lifts were quite a walk away and then the wall directions on getting to the room were confusing. Our overall experience of merely getting to the room had us giggling, expecting a fawlty towers experience. Getting to the room was equally as challenging as the corridors were dark and in desperate need of some TLC. The room was also dated, with one lamp for light, no main light or sidelamps. The linen and bathroom was clean but the beds were well past their best and didn't provide a good nights sleep. As we arrived when it was dark outside we didn't notice the building site that was the other half of the hotel. After a night out, we did not expect to be woken up at 4am to he sound of a hammer and power tools in the room above. The walls were also paper thin, our neighbors were up early also and happened to make a phone call. It was so clear that I could actually hear the person on the other end of the call as if they were next to me. The tv in the room turned on but had no channels and the WiFi was terribly slow and one of our phone didn't even connect to it. Checkout was also bad because as we reached reception, there was nobody there and just a box saying 'cards'. Does this mean room keys? Or our review cards? Or anything else this bazar hotel could want? We left our room key in it and left. Overall, this was the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune of staying in. The taxi driver was even having a giggle when he picked up telling us its a well known otel in aberbeen is nicknamed the 'nightmare hotel' and has quite a negative reputation with the locals. Anyone thinking about staying here- don't. Unless you want a horrible experience in a tired hotel, I would strongly advise against going anywhere near this hotel. Anyone who does decide tostay here, all I can say is goodluck!

Reviewed by
E Scott

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a dump
The place was under construction, the room was furnished from macro. I couldn't find it because I was given the wrong directions and the place was like a maze. The hotel staff were not interested in helping me find it, and got a long term resident to show me instead. The noise from the lift kept me awake all night. Good grief.
P.s. It cost £115, about £30 more than a premier inn, which is comfortable warm and quiet.

Reviewed by
Stuart Hedderick

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no aberdeens finest
room quality and cleanliness very poor and the price makes it even worse

Reviewed by
j mccafferty

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a workman's accommodation block
Stayed in the Britannia last week, still can't believe I had to pay £150 a night for it!
The hotel is having some serious building work done at the moment, so things are rather chaotic there. Aside from this, the hotel seemed to be full of blue collar workers of all kinds. Most of the guests were wearing overalls, hi-viz jackets and carry tool bags. It really was like a factory canteen in the reception area. Apologies if I sound like a snob, I have nothing against blue collar workers, it's just that I didn't expect this in a hotel that charges £150 a night. Had it been a social visit with my family I would have been very annoyed, some of the language that was flying about was choice to say the least.
Girl on reception was extremely surly, it felt like an annoyance to her day that we wanted to check in. She was no better the following mornings when she tried to charge me £58 for food and drinks I never had. (Was removed after checking my signature versus the ones on the bar bills).
All in all, the Hotel would be fine if you're a 6ft brickie called Brian, but for £150 a night it really is Highway robbery.
Unfortunately, that's the going rate for Aberdeen due to the Oil money that's kicking about, so you don't have much choice other than staying further out of the city.

Reviewed by
Martin A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel
The room was a good size and the bathroom was nice, but other than that it is a pretty basic hotel, and I would certainly expect a higher quality of finish and service for the price.

Reviewed by
Callum M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Britannia
Britannia Hotel Aberdeen is going through a large refurbishment. However, we found our stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. OK so the corridors need a bit of refreshing, and this will happen soon, but the room was excellent, warm and clean which is all we wanted for our stay. We found the Hotel to be very quiet through the night, so a good sleep was easy! Food was good and the bar cosy too. Overall it represented value for money and was exactly what we were looking for. One slight problem we had was that the huge long corridors could have done with a little more prominent signage, particularly in connection with the lift location. My wife used the pool and steam room etc and found all to be excellent.

Reviewed by
I Campbell

From Brora, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
For the cost of this accommodation I expected much more, the hotel is very tired and the rooms were filthy, there was blood on my sheets and the wallpaper had grimy finger marks all over it, I was due to stay for 2 nights but had enough after 1 night so checked out to find somewhere else. Will definitely not be returning or using LateRooms of this is what you promote

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next