No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 189 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a dump
The place was under construction, the room was furnished from macro. I couldn't find it because I was given the wrong directions and the place was like a maze. The hotel staff were not interested in helping me find it, and got a long term resident to show me instead. The noise from the lift kept me awake all night. Good grief.
P.s. It cost £115, about £30 more than a premier inn, which is comfortable warm and quiet.

Reviewed by
Stuart Hedderick

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no aberdeens finest
room quality and cleanliness very poor and the price makes it even worse

Reviewed by
j mccafferty

From Bellshill, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like a workman's accommodation block
Stayed in the Britannia last week, still can't believe I had to pay £150 a night for it!
The hotel is having some serious building work done at the moment, so things are rather chaotic there. Aside from this, the hotel seemed to be full of blue collar workers of all kinds. Most of the guests were wearing overalls, hi-viz jackets and carry tool bags. It really was like a factory canteen in the reception area. Apologies if I sound like a snob, I have nothing against blue collar workers, it's just that I didn't expect this in a hotel that charges £150 a night. Had it been a social visit with my family I would have been very annoyed, some of the language that was flying about was choice to say the least.
Girl on reception was extremely surly, it felt like an annoyance to her day that we wanted to check in. She was no better the following mornings when she tried to charge me £58 for food and drinks I never had. (Was removed after checking my signature versus the ones on the bar bills).
All in all, the Hotel would be fine if you're a 6ft brickie called Brian, but for £150 a night it really is Highway robbery.
Unfortunately, that's the going rate for Aberdeen due to the Oil money that's kicking about, so you don't have much choice other than staying further out of the city.

Reviewed by
Martin A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic hotel
The room was a good size and the bathroom was nice, but other than that it is a pretty basic hotel, and I would certainly expect a higher quality of finish and service for the price.

Reviewed by
Callum M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Britannia
Britannia Hotel Aberdeen is going through a large refurbishment. However, we found our stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. OK so the corridors need a bit of refreshing, and this will happen soon, but the room was excellent, warm and clean which is all we wanted for our stay. We found the Hotel to be very quiet through the night, so a good sleep was easy! Food was good and the bar cosy too. Overall it represented value for money and was exactly what we were looking for. One slight problem we had was that the huge long corridors could have done with a little more prominent signage, particularly in connection with the lift location. My wife used the pool and steam room etc and found all to be excellent.

Reviewed by
I Campbell

From Brora, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
For the cost of this accommodation I expected much more, the hotel is very tired and the rooms were filthy, there was blood on my sheets and the wallpaper had grimy finger marks all over it, I was due to stay for 2 nights but had enough after 1 night so checked out to find somewhere else. Will definitely not be returning or using LateRooms of this is what you promote

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
stayed here before so knew what to expect.room was clean but very outdated and in need of renovation.free wifi is a bonus but staff really need to work on their people skills.never had breakfast as i had not booked it and was never offered it at check in.

Reviewed by
Thomas S

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good bed but poor breakfast
After being let down by another hotel once arriving, the management of the Britannia was more than helpful in getting me booked in at the last minute. The room being a smokers room was generally clean, unfortunately some mould around the bath but the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast that was not included in the price and for the bargain price of £7! not very good!!!!
Friendly staff but overall not worth the money which unfortunately is so common in Aberdeen.
Pretty much last resort hotel.

Reviewed by
John C

From Killin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best and not the worst
Stayed here as I was doing a bit of business in Aberdeen. The hotel is undergoing a lot of refurbishment work like others have said, but it didn't really make any impact on my stay. The hotel is big, and needs refreshing (very dated) but the rooms are big. The food from the restaurant was reasonable (not amazing, but edible!). The gym is pretty small and the pool is tiny, but there is a steam room and sauna. Annoyingly the wifi was down the day I arrived and the following morning, I got the impression this was a regular thing which isn't great for people travelling on business. Although the rooms are big, there isn't much furniture in there, which is strange. I'd stay here again purely as it was one of the cheapest in the area.

Reviewed by
Oli C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
No shower head on shower and as we were out and not back until late it was morning before we noticed there was no shower head my husband and children do not like baths do no one was able to have a shower a pretty basic thing in a hotel room

Reviewed by
H Gatt

From Macduff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next