Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen


Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 66.83 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (122)

28% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Black

  • October 2015

Will NOT book again

On arrival the hotel looks a little run down and a concrete block from the outside however the foyer looks ok.......reception is dated and this is where my gut instinct should have taken preference.

Very basic instructions from reception to find your room which is located through a series of dark corridors with worn dated and dirty carpets, even the lifts have not been cleaned for such a long time, laundry baskets, and other debris just sitting in corridors. The main restaurant is expensive for what is on offer and the food is very low quality with the remaining goodness cooked out of it. The rooms have all you need and the bed is clean but rooms are not checked for cleanliness.

  • Lesley B

  • October 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Really nice accomodation.

  • M Bailey

  • September 2015

Very good stay

I wil recommend your hotel to all the contractors I meet in the future very good stay

  • Jade M

  • September 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Great value for money.

  • J craig

  • August 2015

Cleanliness is an issue

As a hotel I expected more for my money but the staff were very lazy and unapproachable, they were not clear about where my room was, they didn't tell me about the facilities provided at the hotel such as bar,swimming pool or restaurant very find it yourself attitude.

The dirt in the room was noticed as soon as I walked in there was a layer of dust on windows,skirting boards, lampshades and seats the bed looked like it had bin slept in, the bathroom had soapscum on bath panel under soap dish and leftover hair shavings on shaving mirror. On top of the uninterested staff members and dirty room I only had a chain lock 2 lock my room which made me feel very unsafe and after I had already let cleaner in my room the cleaner had come back in my room after I left and removed towels after I had asked her not too.

  • Jamie H

  • August 2015

I'm sure that 30 years ago this was a nice hotel, however it is still waiting for the refurb, please don't choose this hotel for the pool and gym, you will be very disappointed.

My room had been done up to an ok standard, however the room had no windows bar a skylite in the roof so glorious sun lite from 5am.

  • p laird

  • August 2015

swimming pool

took grandkids for a weekend break but swimming pool not open on saturday morning as pool attendant didnt turn up .Not a good show as the pool was why we decided to go there in the first place.

  • Adele C

  • July 2015


The hotel is in two parts.

One part looks awful and needed some serious TLC. The other half looked amazing, clean and very modern. Our room was dirty. We found spiders webs and dust everywhere. They had a small card asking to spot where they missed. I'd need a second card to point out how dirty it was. The bathroom was full of mould, not ideal for an asthma sufferer and if we had known this prior to booking, then we wouldn't have gone. On the three nights there, I became very unwell, relied on my inhaler heavily. Even a couple of weeks later, I'm still recovering. The bathroom was tiny but did have the hotel's only positive feature - an amazing shower. The staff were not friendly either. When checking out, the receptionist was taking a personal call and completely ignored us. When she did realise we existed, she just pointed to where to put the cards. No conversation with customers or anything. The car park was full of vans during the evening. Not sure if this was related to any building works the hotel had but we arrived late at night and parking was a nightmare - not ideal. If there were no vans parked, then the car park is a good size for customers. And whilst, we didn't have the breakfast, the breakfast price was the same as the "deal" offered on Late Rooms. Not really a "deal" if its the same price. Finally - i booked an additional room, as one of my parents was meeting us in Aberdeen. When it says that it requires "payment on arrival" so won't charge your card. It's complete wrong. Parent wasn't asked to pay, but the hotel cheekily charged me for both rooms instead.

Overall - there's other, nicer and friendlier hotels to go. Go to them.

  • k gardener

  • July 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Needed map to find room no reference to restaurant in room no window

  • Lesley F

  • July 2015


Britannia hotel was a pleasant stay for us.

from the outside it didn't look much but inside was totally different. the family room was massive which is great when u have 2young bored kids. by time we arrived we missed the restaurant but hotel staff kindly gave us other options. was a good experience and great value for money.