Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen


Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 135.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (120)

28% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • H Gatt

  • October 2014


No shower head on shower and as we were out and not back until late it was morning before we noticed there was no shower head my husband and children do not like baths do no one was able to have a shower a pretty basic thing in a hotel room

  • D Wilson

  • October 2014

Never again

One of the filthiest rooms I've ever stayed in.

Put towels on floor to prevent walking on carpet after standing on toe nail clippings. Carpet not cleaned for a long time judging by the dirt that was on it. Cobwebs in corners of room. Cistern cracked down the front with a lid that didn't fit. Feel base of bed through the mattress when sitting down.I wouldn't even risk a cup of coffee.

  • Howard N

  • September 2014

Standard of Accomodation

Frankly this was an overpriced dump in urgent need of upgrading and repair.

  • Matt T

  • September 2014

Probably the worst hotel I ever stayed at

This hotel charged close on £200 per night (3 different rates for the 3 nights I stayed there) for which I paid over £600.

The "Executive room" I was in was sparsely furnished with what must have been second hand furniture. The TV was minute and the reception on it made it look like I was watching Ski Sunday with every channel and every programme. The shelving is open to the elements which in a hotel under construction is not adequate to protect ones clothes from the dust. Allegedly all rooms had free WiFi, I booked the room because of this as I was working - on 2 of the 3 days I did not get any service and at one point I had to sit on a sofa in the corridor near the transmitter to send off important mails - ridiculous state of affairs. As I said the hotel is being refurbished and looks like Beirut outside and a construction site inside. My welcome in the bar consisted of a surly girl who didn't take my order before she asked me how I was going to pay for it, on saying I would put it on my room she looked at my key card and told me it had to be stamped at reception, which I then did and went back to the bar to be met with less than great service. What kind of hotel does not just charge stuff to a room. Amateur, amateur, amateur. Food was mediocre to hopeless, I hope the refurbishment helps the place because it is tired out and they should not be charging more than £60 per night MAX as it is at the moment and they need to do something to help the staff enthuse about what they do. It may well have been a good business hotel once ... it just isn't now!

  • T White

  • September 2014

Staying near the airport

Rate I was charged was very high considering the hotel inside and outside is undergoing major repairs.

Your website should warn the traveller about that. My first room had a defective lock. Had to return to the desk twice and then they allocated another room which was above either a bar or conference room which was very noisy until 11:30 PM .

  • ian acaster

  • September 2014


booked late in emergency.

1st room offered was nexr to an all night student party with loud music. 2nd room was ok. used toilet paper was outside the front entrance the outside was a building site!!!

  • C Sinclair

  • September 2014

Bomb Site

This establishment would appear to be undergoing some overdue renovations.

It is disgraceful that they still expect people to stay here and pay for it. Shudder to think what poor unsuspecting tourist would think if they landed here.

  • S Robertson

  • September 2014

Wouldn't return

Hotel very run down, well overdue a serious revamp.

Not worth the £79 I paid. Stayed in the holiday in a week before which only cost £55 and was much superior


  • September 2014

The worst hotel in Aberdeen

Aberdeen's most hideous hotel

  • M Muir

  • September 2014

The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

However, I tried to order room service on the second night of my stay. I asked at reception and was told I should be able to order at the bar; the lady at the bar told me I would have to phone; so I tried to phone, and I tried, and I tried, and I tried - and the phone just rang out. Eventually I phoned reception and the lady there tried to put me through - and again the phone rang out. I went to reception and asked if there was any other way of getting through to room service and the lady gave me the number for the restaurant. I tried that number and it was answered immediately. When I asked what was served along with the steak pie, I was told nothing but if I wanted some salad it would cost extra. When the food arrived, I wished I hadn't bothered. The potato and leek soup was tasteless and the steak pie was obviously bought in frozen. Breakfast was no better. The self service cooked breakfast buffet looked as if it had been out for hours and I have bought nicer tasting croissants from a supermarket. Not a pleasant experience and I will not stay here again.