No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 212 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Hotel in Aberdeen
This hotel is in great need of a refurb. It was the only room I could get on a Tuesday night and cost me £250. It really is not nice, stay here only if very desparate.

Reviewed by
G Hide

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alone in Aberdeen for one night only
I booked the hotel due to the excellent price on offer and was delighted with my choice, easy to find, parking no problem, very pleasant welcome, first class room with free wifi and a good hearty breakfast after a peaceful night, fantastic I'll be back.

Reviewed by
kevin peach

From Ullapool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a dump
Absolutely amazed that they have the audacity to charge £145 for one night in this absolute tip of a hotel. The decor has not been updated since the place was built in the 70's and the bed was just as old. Woke up with spring marks on my body from the cheap mattress. Room was filthy and it is obvious that they make absolutely no effort to improve this place whatsoever. Would never stay here again

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting and decrepit, don't stay here!
The hotel is foul. Avoid at all costs!
Corridors smell of mildew and decay, there is graffiti all over inside and public corridors are unheated. Nowhere is properly cleaned and it shows, grime and grease and dirt pervade the place.
I was offered an "upgraded" room on the 5th floor after complaining that the bed was extremely uncomfortable. It was no better and if there had been any other option available for the week I needed to be in Aberdeen I would have stayed elsewhere. The bed managed to be both hard and saggy and unsupportive at the same time, the pillows were very poor quality. The windows are dirty and only single glazed and so offer no noise protection from the roar of landing aircraft which starts early (about 6am) and finishes late (11ish).
I complained repeatedly to the reception desk about the uncomfortable bed and one girl at least had the decency to admit that "the rooms do need a revamp and new mattresses", but the rest were unhelpful and not even pretending to be interested in helping me. At an average price of over £100/night for a week stay I was apalled.
The food won't kill you, but it's the worst kind of school dinners hot buffet style serving. I'm sure it looks appetising in the kitchens, but after it's been sat under the heat lamps for an hour everything is dry and wilted and overcooked and there's barely a vegetable in sight. I only ate here once, fortunately Aberdeen has a good selection of excellent restaurants.

Reviewed by
Peter T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

horrid old smelly hotel
I will never stay in this hotel ever again, poo in the lift, dust all over the room, blood stained bed, dirty sheets and hair in the bath, told reception and they were not interested.

Reviewed by
G Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Absolute Disgrace
It is an absolute disgrace that such a place can justify charging such fees (£250 for one night) for an outdated and dissatisfying dump of a place. The staff were unwelcoming and unprofessional. The food was awful and over priced. The standard and decor of the rooms and surrounding corridors are drab and totally outdated. Despite the extortionate fee charged, clearly to take advantage of the busy period and unfortunate recent fatal incident (offshore helicopter crash 23/08/13, and subsequent grounding of helicopters leading to a backlog of offshore personnel needing accommodation in the Aberdeen region) affecting the Aberdeen's main industry, I would begrudge paying even the standard £70 a night charge for having the misfortune of staying in this place again. Unfortunately, due to the nature of my work and the nature of the industry requiring us to accommodate ourselves in Aberdeen due to ease of access to the North Sea heliports, then I'm sure this will continue to be the case. Absolutely disgusting, and I will try my utmost on behalf of myself and my colleagues to avoid staying here in future. An embarrassment to the Scottish tourist industry and to the Britannia Hotel brand.

Reviewed by
E Williams

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel
Not a very nice hotel, the whole hotel was shabby and in need of a major overhaul, dirty walls, paint peeling off the walls.The.Bed was clean and the shower had good water pressure and the staff were ok. Food not good - breakfast was like eating rubber.I was going to complain in the morning however when I got to reception the lady seemed swamped at checkout time so gave up

Reviewed by
Michael R

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay. not impressed
I stayed for 2 nights and paid £100 a night. This was half the normal price due to laterooms. I dont kniw how a hotel can charge so nuch for a room and not justify it.
The hotel staff were half hearted in everything they did. Slow, uninformative, not answering phones etc... The food (buffet) was awful. Cold, poor quality. The general cleanliness of the hotel wasnt great eithet. Like i said earlie, the price of the room not justified

Reviewed by
daniel d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1
Worst night of our lives!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Reviewed by
K Sadza

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just missed the mark
Two reasons I was a little dissapointed the first is not a major issue just the gym lacking a weights bench and a little cramped.
The second was,that the breakfasts were served from five but what I was not told was that the cooked part was from seven o'clock and I had an apointment at seven so I was left a little hungry.

Reviewed by
J Hughes

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next