Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3

Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 85.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (107)

32% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • t stirling

  • November 2014

This hotel on the website looks reasonable!! it is a building site LITERALLY

I would not advise anyone to use this venue, the staff where most unhelpful, i stayed in room 704 which was one of the refurbished rooms the room was clean which was more than could be said for the rest of the hotel, It would be advisable for companies like laterooms to check that the pictures thes hotels put up are true as this was definitely not as it was advertised.

Food you would not want to eat here even if you were starving.

  • E Scott

  • November 2014

laughable its even classified as a hotel

We arrived at this hotel unable to find the front entrance.

We were dropped off next to a small, dark passage in a wall which we later discovered was the front door. after finally getting into the hotel, the receptionist was nice however on asking her where there was a shop she had no idea of anything nearby. Her directions on getting to the room were dire, directing us 'just round that corner' to the lifts (which were slow and dated). The lifts were quite a walk away and then the wall directions on getting to the room were confusing. Our overall experience of merely getting to the room had us giggling, expecting a fawlty towers experience. Getting to the room was equally as challenging as the corridors were dark and in desperate need of some TLC. The room was also dated, with one lamp for light, no main light or sidelamps. The linen and bathroom was clean but the beds were well past their best and didn't provide a good nights sleep. As we arrived when it was dark outside we didn't notice the building site that was the other half of the hotel. After a night out, we did not expect to be woken up at 4am to he sound of a hammer and power tools in the room above. The walls were also paper thin, our neighbors were up early also and happened to make a phone call. It was so clear that I could actually hear the person on the other end of the call as if they were next to me. The tv in the room turned on but had no channels and the WiFi was terribly slow and one of our phone didn't even connect to it. Checkout was also bad because as we reached reception, there was nobody there and just a box saying 'cards'. Does this mean room keys. Or our review cards. Or anything else this bazar hotel could want. We left our room key in it and left. Overall, this was the worst hotel I've ever had the misfortune of staying in. The taxi driver was even having a giggle when he picked up telling us its a well known otel in aberbeen is nicknamed the 'nightmare hotel' and has quite a negative reputation with the locals. Anyone thinking about staying here- don't. Unless you want a horrible experience in a tired hotel, I would strongly advise against going anywhere near this hotel. Anyone who does decide tostay here, all I can say is goodluck!

  • Stuart Hedderick

  • November 2014

What a dump

The place was under construction, the room was furnished from macro.

I couldn't find it because I was given the wrong directions and the place was like a maze. The hotel staff were not interested in helping me find it, and got a long term resident to show me instead. The noise from the lift kept me awake all night. Good grief.

P.s. It cost £115, about £30 more than a premier inn, which is comfortable warm and quiet.

  • Martin A

  • November 2014

Like a workman's accommodation block

Stayed in the Britannia last week, still can't believe I had to pay £150 a night for it.

The hotel is having some serious building work done at the moment, so things are rather chaotic there. Aside from this, the hotel seemed to be full of blue collar workers of all kinds. Most of the guests were wearing overalls, hi-viz jackets and carry tool bags. It really was like a factory canteen in the reception area. Apologies if I sound like a snob, I have nothing against blue collar workers, it's just that I didn't expect this in a hotel that charges £150 a night. Had it been a social visit with my family I would have been very annoyed, some of the language that was flying about was choice to say the least. Girl on reception was extremely surly, it felt like an annoyance to her day that we wanted to check in. She was no better the following mornings when she tried to charge me £58 for food and drinks I never had. (Was removed after checking my signature versus the ones on the bar bills). All in all, the Hotel would be fine if you're a 6ft brickie called Brian, but for £150 a night it really is Highway robbery. Unfortunately, that's the going rate for Aberdeen due to the Oil money that's kicking about, so you don't have much choice other than staying further out of the city.

  • j mccafferty

  • November 2014

no aberdeens finest

room quality and cleanliness very poor and the price makes it even worse

  • Callum M

  • November 2014

Basic hotel

The room was a good size and the bathroom was nice, but other than that it is a pretty basic hotel, and I would certainly expect a higher quality of finish and service for the price.

  • I Campbell

  • November 2014

Weekend stay at Britannia

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen is going through a large refurbishment.

However, we found our stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. OK so the corridors need a bit of refreshing, and this will happen soon, but the room was excellent, warm and clean which is all we wanted for our stay. We found the Hotel to be very quiet through the night, so a good sleep was easy. Food was good and the bar cosy too. Overall it represented value for money and was exactly what we were looking for. One slight problem we had was that the huge long corridors could have done with a little more prominent signage, particularly in connection with the lift location. My wife used the pool and steam room etc and found all to be excellent.

  • Thomas S

  • October 2014

you get what you pay for

stayed here before so knew what to expect.room was clean but very outdated and in need of renovation.free wifi is a bonus but staff really need to work on their people skills.never had breakfast as i had not booked it and was never offered it at check in.

  • Stephen P

  • October 2014

Shocking

For the cost of this accommodation I expected much more, the hotel is very tired and the rooms were filthy, there was blood on my sheets and the wallpaper had grimy finger marks all over it, I was due to stay for 2 nights but had enough after 1 night so checked out to find somewhere else.

Will definitely not be returning or using LateRooms of this is what you promote

  • John C

  • October 2014

Good bed but poor breakfast

After being let down by another hotel once arriving, the management of the Britannia was more than helpful in getting me booked in at the last minute.

The room being a smokers room was generally clean, unfortunately some mould around the bath but the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast that was not included in the price and for the bargain price of £7. not very good!!!. Friendly staff but overall not worth the money which unfortunately is so common in Aberdeen. Pretty much last resort hotel.