Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen


Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 73.11 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (103)

30% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Thomas S

  • October 2014

you get what you pay for

stayed here before so knew what to was clean but very outdated and in need of wifi is a bonus but staff really need to work on their people skills.never had breakfast as i had not booked it and was never offered it at check in.

  • Stephen P

  • October 2014


For the cost of this accommodation I expected much more, the hotel is very tired and the rooms were filthy, there was blood on my sheets and the wallpaper had grimy finger marks all over it, I was due to stay for 2 nights but had enough after 1 night so checked out to find somewhere else.

Will definitely not be returning or using LateRooms of this is what you promote

  • John C

  • October 2014

Good bed but poor breakfast

After being let down by another hotel once arriving, the management of the Britannia was more than helpful in getting me booked in at the last minute.

The room being a smokers room was generally clean, unfortunately some mould around the bath but the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast that was not included in the price and for the bargain price of £7. not very good!!!. Friendly staff but overall not worth the money which unfortunately is so common in Aberdeen. Pretty much last resort hotel.

  • Oli C

  • October 2014

Not the best and not the worst

Stayed here as I was doing a bit of business in Aberdeen.

The hotel is undergoing a lot of refurbishment work like others have said, but it didn't really make any impact on my stay. The hotel is big, and needs refreshing (very dated) but the rooms are big. The food from the restaurant was reasonable (not amazing, but edible!). The gym is pretty small and the pool is tiny, but there is a steam room and sauna. Annoyingly the wifi was down the day I arrived and the following morning, I got the impression this was a regular thing which isn't great for people travelling on business. Although the rooms are big, there isn't much furniture in there, which is strange. I'd stay here again purely as it was one of the cheapest in the area.

  • Andrew C

  • October 2014

Last minute dot com

Hotel is under a major refurb at the moment we thought it was shut when we first arrived.

Staff very pleasant on arrival. Still waiting for my room receipt due to a computer issue when checking out . Over priced for what the hotel is like but I think the pricing probably comes with Aberdeen oil business. Lots of rig workers book all the cheaper accomodation up early and this trip was also last minute due to work.

  • H Gatt

  • October 2014


No shower head on shower and as we were out and not back until late it was morning before we noticed there was no shower head my husband and children do not like baths do no one was able to have a shower a pretty basic thing in a hotel room

  • D Wilson

  • October 2014

Never again

One of the filthiest rooms I've ever stayed in.

Put towels on floor to prevent walking on carpet after standing on toe nail clippings. Carpet not cleaned for a long time judging by the dirt that was on it. Cobwebs in corners of room. Cistern cracked down the front with a lid that didn't fit. Feel base of bed through the mattress when sitting down.I wouldn't even risk a cup of coffee.

  • Howard N

  • September 2014

Standard of Accomodation

Frankly this was an overpriced dump in urgent need of upgrading and repair.

  • Matt T

  • September 2014

Probably the worst hotel I ever stayed at

This hotel charged close on £200 per night (3 different rates for the 3 nights I stayed there) for which I paid over £600.

The "Executive room" I was in was sparsely furnished with what must have been second hand furniture. The TV was minute and the reception on it made it look like I was watching Ski Sunday with every channel and every programme. The shelving is open to the elements which in a hotel under construction is not adequate to protect ones clothes from the dust. Allegedly all rooms had free WiFi, I booked the room because of this as I was working - on 2 of the 3 days I did not get any service and at one point I had to sit on a sofa in the corridor near the transmitter to send off important mails - ridiculous state of affairs. As I said the hotel is being refurbished and looks like Beirut outside and a construction site inside. My welcome in the bar consisted of a surly girl who didn't take my order before she asked me how I was going to pay for it, on saying I would put it on my room she looked at my key card and told me it had to be stamped at reception, which I then did and went back to the bar to be met with less than great service. What kind of hotel does not just charge stuff to a room. Amateur, amateur, amateur. Food was mediocre to hopeless, I hope the refurbishment helps the place because it is tired out and they should not be charging more than £60 per night MAX as it is at the moment and they need to do something to help the staff enthuse about what they do. It may well have been a good business hotel once ... it just isn't now!

  • T White

  • September 2014

Staying near the airport

Rate I was charged was very high considering the hotel inside and outside is undergoing major repairs.

Your website should warn the traveller about that. My first room had a defective lock. Had to return to the desk twice and then they allocated another room which was above either a bar or conference room which was very noisy until 11:30 PM .