Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3

Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 71.85 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (108)

31% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • g ramsay

  • April 2015

being modernised, food appalling, no late bar

Last gasp desperation hotel if u need one, even the modernised wing has multiple blemishes, breakfast was frankly shocking and greasy, on going work means it's like a brickies building site, overpriced at £86, worth about £20.

  • Jacqueline morrison

  • April 2015

My 2 children my husband and myself all stayed in your hotel at the weekend.

Disappointed is an understatement. 1st of the boy at reception wanted to put my young family in a smoking room I have kids why would I want to stay in a room that smelt of smoke.

We paid a lot for the room and with the price we paid and what we got we expected breakfast with it but no. I know the building is going through refurbishment but to walk through a smelly bar with kids and having to walk past drunk people standing out side smoking is not on. We noticed 2 workers standing outside a fire exit which we watched them come out of and asked could we walk through here as our kids are sleeping and do not want to walk through the bar but we were told no. There was no remote in our room so asked the boy at reception to which he handed me 4 and said he didn't know which one would work instead of coming and helping us.

My husband went to plug his phone charger in and 2 sockets he tried did not work. When leaving hotel I put key in box provided and receptionist didn't even look up.

  • Diana C

  • April 2015

Very disappointed with the britannia hotel.

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel.

When we arrived, we realised we had to walk all the way around the hotel to try and find reception as there is building works going on all around the building, we finally found reception, having to go through the bar that had a stench of urine. Customer service was bad as receptionist accused us of not paying for room, even after showing him an email to confirm booking and payment. The accommodation had just been re-decorated and the room smelled very strongly of paint fumes,the carpet had flakes of paint that had been scraped off walls/skirtings on the floor, room didnt look like it had been hoovered for a while. when we got back from our family function at 1.45am the hotel receptionist (not the same as previous one when we arrived) was asleep in his chair. Overall myself and my daughter did not enjoy our stay, it was stressful and not calm and relaxed for us at all. Will not be back here again.

  • stuart q

  • March 2015

Farty Towels

Aberdeen is not my favourite place to stay and staying at the Brittania compounded this.

There is a lot of refurb/building work going on which is a sign of progress but the place in general is still quite rough and not so ready. To pay over £100 for bed and breakfast is just a shocker. Another shocker was I selected the super value £5.50 breakfast, then when the confirmation came through online it decided to charge £10.50 for the breakfast - another £5 I'll never get back :(

The room was comfy and clean enough but signs of damp and damage. Most of the hotel is very dated and in need of knocking down and starting again.

  • L Brookfield

  • March 2015

worst hotel in aberdeen

Noisy, dirty, poor food, the hotel is a building site.

  • M Black

  • March 2015

Avoid at all costs!

Extremely rude and unhelpful duty manager made check in an absolute nightmare.

Room basic to say the least. This hotel is still in the dark ages, apparently it takes 2 hours for the computer to acknowledge a booking through laterooms.com...is that not the point of a late booking. This manager should be sacked for poor customer service and bad attitude!

  • D Thomson

  • March 2015

Accommodation

Very dated hotel.

There appears to be a lot of work going on, but needs a lot of improvements to foyer and rooms for me to consider staying here again. There were a lot of unscrupulous people going into and out of the hotel. I just wonder if this hotel is being used house the local drug takers. Not a place I plan to stay at again.

  • David Scammell

  • March 2015

Tired hotel, tired staff

Things didn't start well with the rather unfriendly greeting from the chap on the desk.

He didn't even make sure I typed my car reg into the machine, which would have fined me had I not remembered to check. Room adequate size but very much in need of TLC. Gaffer tape on floor to cover area under toilet door for example. Ladies working on the bar very friendly, but food was rubbish for the price and rest of staff at best indifferent. Won't stay again.

  • Michael M

  • March 2015

I did not know when booking this hotel that I would be staying in a building site, 1 word a dump

This is very bad, I did not know when booking this hotel that I would be staying in a building site I should have been notified through laterooms that this was being refurbished.

Also during breakfast was like sitting in a works canteen with workmen that were doing the work all sitting having breakfast if work clothes and HVV. also limited amount of choice in the bar for food on Tuesday night; Burgers or steaks. I have used this hotel on many occasions on business trips I just hope it will improve.

  • A Castleton

  • March 2015

Not the best

After standing at reception for a good 10 minutes without acknowledgement or apology.

I was put in a different room to the one I booked with a shower that ran cold only. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment which is well overdue. At £65 per night I expect a little better.