Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen


Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 67.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (122)

28% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • H Thomson

  • February 2015

Great value and under renovation

A wee bit tired generally, but in the middle of some major work as we found out at 9.20 am

Not a problem as we were up

  • C B

  • February 2015

Clean, cheap and cute


FEW MINOR POINTS; loud noise from the pub during the saturday night. The vending machine was not working on one night, but the other night, the receptionist was very kind to get it out of the machine.

They should have mentioned clearly in the website that bus 37 is the only bus to come that side during night times, would have been useful for night time arrivals and departures.

  • Andrew R

  • February 2015

Never Again

The hotel is having an extension built at the moment, unfortunately nobody has thought to upgrade what is already there.

The first room I was offered was terrible. Old, tired furniture and a bathroom that was totally unacceptable from a standard hygiene point of view. I was then offered a second room that did have a clean bathroom, once again the furniture and bed had seen better days. The corridors throughout the hotel were dingy, tired and in need of updating. The so called gym was bitterly cold, dirty and had faulty exercise machinery, you are then charged £2.50 for the pleasure of using it. Needless to say, I will not be staying in this hotel ever again. Last but not least, the pictures of the hotel on the website are nothing like how the hotel looks in reality.

  • Bernard O

  • February 2015

Not for couples

Although this hotel is under refurbishment, it was still in a decent condition as we were placed in the new section and were possibly the first to use the room.

Clean, spacious but no chair to sit in or desk to place laptop. A bit of a walk to and from reception. I thought breakfast was okay, my wife avoided it. A place for the working man or travelling salesman, not for couples or families. This may change once the place is finished. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Jack R

  • February 2015

Surely we should have been told about the renovation!!

This is a very tired and run down hotel.

To be fair it is currently undergoing a long overdue renovation.

Whilst I appreciate they still need to continue operating to turn a profit they should have warned us of the ongoing construction work. Charging over £100 for a very cold and shabby room - possibly the worst I have experienced in the last 20 years - shows little respect for the customer.

  • Chris B

  • January 2015

Wouldnt exist outside Aberdeen

Built in 1975, it felt like it hadnt been renovated since then too.

Bit of a dive although the room was clean. There was an adjoining door to the room next door so I was treated to a phone call at 2300hrs. Felt like I was in the room with him. Breakfast was unattended. Eventually I helped myself. The food was cold as was the tea/coffee urns.

Same old story. The hotel is only just functional and outside of Aberdeen wouldnt be able to compete.

  • Neil S

  • January 2015


Hotel is just a building site, the section which isn't a building site looks like it hasn't seen a clean since 1984, furniture looks like it came from 1973, I haven't slept ina bed that bad since army basic training, I was at breakfast for 7am as it opened, the food was cold then

  • kathy m

  • January 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Great hotel lovely clean and warm.

  • Jake W

  • January 2015


I had read the reviews and was apprehensive about my stay.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and as such there are builders everywhere along with dirt on the carpets. If I had been told about the building work prior to arriving I would have been more relaxed about the state of the hotel. The 5 I have given for staff is only for the breakfast staff, because all other staff were unhappy, grumpy and unapproachable.

When I mentioned to my colleagues where I was staying, they all said WHY?. This hotel has a bad reputation and until the refurbishment has taken place and most of the staff have changed I would not recommend staying here.

  • stephen o

  • January 2015

Rediculously terrible!

I travel in the aviation business all over the world and have stayed in 1 star to 5 star hotels.

On the whole you get what you pay for. The Britannia hotel is doing its best to buck that concept. Their idea is to ask you to pay £125 pounds for what should be about £20. The checkin was atrocious, drunk men in the lobby, the room had ripped carpet, hair in the bathroom, a phone that didn't work, tv reception terrible and the list goes on. Don't be fooled by the letter left in the room apologizing. That is absolute rubbish, you don't provide such poor services and charge that fee. Never ever ever stay at this hotel.