Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen


Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN

Price From 93.45 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (102)

30% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • p laird

  • August 2015

swimming pool

took grandkids for a weekend break but swimming pool not open on saturday morning as pool attendant didnt turn up .Not a good show as the pool was why we decided to go there in the first place.

  • Adele C

  • July 2015


The hotel is in two parts.

One part looks awful and needed some serious TLC. The other half looked amazing, clean and very modern. Our room was dirty. We found spiders webs and dust everywhere. They had a small card asking to spot where they missed. I'd need a second card to point out how dirty it was. The bathroom was full of mould, not ideal for an asthma sufferer and if we had known this prior to booking, then we wouldn't have gone. On the three nights there, I became very unwell, relied on my inhaler heavily. Even a couple of weeks later, I'm still recovering. The bathroom was tiny but did have the hotel's only positive feature - an amazing shower. The staff were not friendly either. When checking out, the receptionist was taking a personal call and completely ignored us. When she did realise we existed, she just pointed to where to put the cards. No conversation with customers or anything. The car park was full of vans during the evening. Not sure if this was related to any building works the hotel had but we arrived late at night and parking was a nightmare - not ideal. If there were no vans parked, then the car park is a good size for customers. And whilst, we didn't have the breakfast, the breakfast price was the same as the "deal" offered on Late Rooms. Not really a "deal" if its the same price. Finally - i booked an additional room, as one of my parents was meeting us in Aberdeen. When it says that it requires "payment on arrival" so won't charge your card. It's complete wrong. Parent wasn't asked to pay, but the hotel cheekily charged me for both rooms instead.

Overall - there's other, nicer and friendlier hotels to go. Go to them.

  • k gardener

  • July 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Needed map to find room no reference to restaurant in room no window

  • Lesley F

  • July 2015


Britannia hotel was a pleasant stay for us.

from the outside it didn't look much but inside was totally different. the family room was massive which is great when u have 2young bored kids. by time we arrived we missed the restaurant but hotel staff kindly gave us other options. was a good experience and great value for money.

  • William C

  • July 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

  • Mark A

  • July 2015

One Of The Worst Hotels Ever, Read On!!

When I opened the door, the room was a mess not even cleaned.

After eventually getting back to reception the young girl took me up to another one which was fine. Apologising, but had been passed as cleaned by housekeeping. Whoever sorts & places the signage needs a sat nav, everyone complaining about it. Dinner was terrible, overcooked fish on a blunt axe chopped salsa with enough fresh chilli to melt the arctic pole, crazy. Told waitresses not good, and chef had just given up, but was told he was busy on a Tuesday with 7 people in the restaurant?. Couples stay away, as the culture is of hi vis jackets and boots, which is ok but clearly aimed at the budget clientele. Told receptionist when checking out meal terrible and was not going to pay for it, smiled said ok, paid my bar bill and when I checked receipt later, had charged me. I had lost the will to live & will never stay in another Britannia hotel in my life ever again!!

  • J Simpson

  • June 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

Golf trip.

  • john stevenson

  • June 2015

Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

unable to give me a VAT receipt on leaving computer froze left e mail address still waiting 3days ,hotel wont answer phone having tried at various times

  • David McGuire

  • June 2015


Thought the place was very good friendly staff and nice room, only moan really is that the bar area was a bit dirty and seats very worn bar staff not the greatest either but certainly not a big issue

  • S Mason

  • May 2015

Would not recommend at all - stay away!

After arriving at the Britannia late on, I was met by a very ignorant receptionist.

I was being polite as I usually am and this man did not have the time of day for me, he asked my name and handed me a key and card with my room number on it, no instructions to where my room was or even a smile. After walking right to the other end of the building to find my room I had no reception on my phone (not their fault) but I noticed they had WiFi so it was another trek back to reception, where I asked "could I have the WiFi password please", the receptionists response was a pointed finger to a A4 piece of paper on the wall. Thank you!!!. Once back in my room I noticed the last guests review card was still on the desk, I read through it and he was not pleased either, the room was very cold even with the radiator turned up high. I can not stress enough how poor this hotel is. I understand they get a lot of contractors through but when you are paying your hard earned cash you expect a better service. 0.5 *'s out of 10.....only because the shower was decent. I also forgot to mention that the towels had mysterious stains on them.