No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 209 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
49% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

in need of renovation
the hotel is in need of serious renovation everything in the hotel is extremely tired carpets worn in rooms and the hotel is overpriced However I did like the very large rooms nice powerful shower and the self serve breakfast very large car park I would stay again

Reviewed by
b whiting

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hotel to be avoided
From a poor start (reception had no record of my booking and suggested that I make another one at a higher price or wait for 45 minutes for the LateRooms booking to be resent), it was all downhill. I feel sympathy for the staff who have to work in a run-down hotel, where little money seems to have been spent on maintenance or redecoration.
Having said all that, it does have the benefit of having free rooms on weeks when every other hotel in Aberdeen is booked up. Of course, one may wonder why this is the case.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

britannia hotel aberdeen
a good comfortable sleep

Reviewed by
robert somers

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is a tired, shabby hotel that doesn't represent value for money.

Reviewed by
I Ferguson

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service
warm and friendly staff , rooms were perfect

Reviewed by
helen w

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Reviewed by
George M

From Leven, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best...
Chaos in the reception area. Only 1 person working on the reception. When I checked in I was informed there was no hot water.
There are no sockets in the rooms and all power points are blanked off to prevent guests using them.
This hotel is geared towards the city's offshore workers and generally holds them to ransom with room prices far exceeding the real value of the room. The hotel is grubby and desperately needs modernizing as it's current states is sub standard in comparison to other hotels in the city

Reviewed by
T GALLAGHER

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot believe LAte Rooms have not blacklisted this apology for a hotel!
The Britannia Hotel…what can I say that hasn’t been said already…..
This is most definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in my entire life.
If this is hotel number 60 of 62 of all hotels in Aberdeen then God only knows what 61 and 62 must be like!!!!! Would also be interested to know who thought this place was worthy of a 3 star rating!
Arrived on 23rd April for two nights on business trip. Can’t say that first impressions filled me with any confidence but things only got worse.
After half an hour getting checked in, the first thing to greet me was sticker on bedroom window warning me not to open the window beyond 10cm for my own personal safety and also to prevent wild birds entering. What a lovely welcome touch! The room itself was dire, in desperate need of renovation as is the entire hotel.
Went to bar and had a few Peroni’s and scampi and chips which was fine. Can’t really go wrong with that can you?
Champion’s league football was also on that night. A few of the customers asked for it to be turned over about 7.30 but apparently the Britannia have a “special sky channel” where there is no pre-game commentary and programme only starts once the game has actually kicked off. Nice foreign commentary too! I always thought that SKY had the wee pint sign at the bottom right hand side of tv for pubs and hotels, must be mistaken as surely at £200 a night they would not have the audacity to show illegal channels as they most certainly can afford to pay for real sky.
Then the dreaded bedtime arrived…..I pulled back the sheets of my bed with baited breath in fear of what might still lurking……
I would like to add I “slept” fully clothed as did not want the sheets touching my flesh. I use the term slept very loosely as could not get any shut eye due to the noise of the many guests pissing like race horses all night which could clearly be heard through the paper thin walls, that coupled with the constant banging of the heating pipes did not aid a restful night. By about 2.30 I was swithering whether to actually go and sleep in my car!
Morning arrived and I deliberated whether it would be less of a health issue not to shower and just have BO or actually stand in the bath and have a shower. I finally opted for the latter which proved not too bad, water was at least warm, only down side was you had to be the size of one of Willie Wonka’s oompa loopmpas!
Breakfast was next. A lovely guy dressed in a boiler suit appeared to be doing some maintenance at the entrance to the breakfast area, it also appears he could multi-task and he let me in for breakfast!
There were a few tables, all with dirty plates so I opted for the area which had some tables with white tablecloths on. Breakfast was self service so I then sat down and began to eat. I was then shouted at across form the buffet area from someone in chef’s clothes that I was not permitted to eat here as it was reserved for a coach party. I answered that this was the only tables that had not dirty dishes on them, so was told that it was OK then. (poor coach party)
I decided to check out one day early as could not bare to spend another second in this flee pit. I was then informed at checkout that I had made a mistake with my booking and had booked for May not April. I showed them my booking from Late Rooms which clearly stated April. The girl then told me I would have to phone Late Rooms and sort it out! I would also be charged full rate of £200 not the discount rate of £140. To be honest by this point I had lost the will to live and would have gladly paid £200 just to escape the place.
I asked to speak to the manager at this point to complain about this and the entire charade of hotel. I was told she was not in but the deputy was. She trundled along very professionally attired in her whitish grey polo shirt hanging out of her navy skirt. Would not have expected anything less in this classy joint. To be honest I do feel for the staff as they clearly couldn’t give a toss about their customers’ and I suppose getting constant complaints must grind you down. A colleague also pointed out that if good staff ever did work there they would leave pretty pronto and move onto better places, which would not be difficult, so most likely this was not the cream of the crop that were left.
Anyhow made it out alive, but please please please do not stay here ever!

Reviewed by
liz m

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Brittania, it wasn't!
This was clearly once a nice hotel, but unfortunately every thing looks tired and worn now. The evening meal in the restaurant was quite dissapointing, and comprised of 4 pre-cooked options that were laid out on a heat tray. The desert was a frozen slice of Gateau which took an age to thor, the on site pub wasn't much better, it took a hour for the guy sat opposite me to get his food, this after him going back to the bar a couple of times to enquire where his food was. All that said, the staff were really friendly.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate
For only one night, adequate. Close to airport. Price-quality ratio not very good.

Reviewed by
Julia V

From Netherlands
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next