No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel Aberdeen

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Malcolm Road,Bucksburn, Aberdeen, AB21 9LN
The Britannia Aberdeen Hotel is a modern and attractive hotel located in the thriving part of Aberdeen, Northeast of Scotland. The hotel offers 144 comfortably furnished bedrooms with modern facilities including TV, Telephone and Tea & Coffee making facilities and en-suites. WIFI is complimentary to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.

A friendly and relaxed atmosphere can be found in Millers Brasserie and lounge offering a range of Brassiere style meals or an a la carte menu. The Village Pub offers a more traditional setting along with a great traditional pub menu and our Health and Leisure Club can be a great way of relaxing with facilities including Gym, Sauna and Indoor Heated Pool.

Hotel also features eight Conference and Banqueting Suites within the hotel and can accommodate up to 450 people. As the hotel is so close to the airport we offer Park Stay & Fly packages.

You will find this Aberdeen hotel ideal for City breaks, Weekend Shopping breaks, Business travel or to Stay, Park and Fly.

Spindles Health & Leisure Club Prices: £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.
Well behaved pet dogs are allowed in the hotel at a cost of £10.00 per night or £25.00 per stay
Picture of Britannia Hotel Aberdeen, Aberdeen at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 175 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
48% recommended this accommodation to a friend 55% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at Britannia
Britannia Hotel Aberdeen is going through a large refurbishment. However, we found our stay to be relaxing and enjoyable. OK so the corridors need a bit of refreshing, and this will happen soon, but the room was excellent, warm and clean which is all we wanted for our stay. We found the Hotel to be very quiet through the night, so a good sleep was easy! Food was good and the bar cosy too. Overall it represented value for money and was exactly what we were looking for. One slight problem we had was that the huge long corridors could have done with a little more prominent signage, particularly in connection with the lift location. My wife used the pool and steam room etc and found all to be excellent.

Reviewed by
I Campbell

From Brora, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shocking
For the cost of this accommodation I expected much more, the hotel is very tired and the rooms were filthy, there was blood on my sheets and the wallpaper had grimy finger marks all over it, I was due to stay for 2 nights but had enough after 1 night so checked out to find somewhere else. Will definitely not be returning or using LateRooms of this is what you promote

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
stayed here before so knew what to expect.room was clean but very outdated and in need of renovation.free wifi is a bonus but staff really need to work on their people skills.never had breakfast as i had not booked it and was never offered it at check in.

Reviewed by
Thomas S

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good bed but poor breakfast
After being let down by another hotel once arriving, the management of the Britannia was more than helpful in getting me booked in at the last minute. The room being a smokers room was generally clean, unfortunately some mould around the bath but the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast that was not included in the price and for the bargain price of £7! not very good!!!!
Friendly staff but overall not worth the money which unfortunately is so common in Aberdeen.
Pretty much last resort hotel.

Reviewed by
John C

From Killin, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best and not the worst
Stayed here as I was doing a bit of business in Aberdeen. The hotel is undergoing a lot of refurbishment work like others have said, but it didn't really make any impact on my stay. The hotel is big, and needs refreshing (very dated) but the rooms are big. The food from the restaurant was reasonable (not amazing, but edible!). The gym is pretty small and the pool is tiny, but there is a steam room and sauna. Annoyingly the wifi was down the day I arrived and the following morning, I got the impression this was a regular thing which isn't great for people travelling on business. Although the rooms are big, there isn't much furniture in there, which is strange. I'd stay here again purely as it was one of the cheapest in the area.

Reviewed by
Oli C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
No shower head on shower and as we were out and not back until late it was morning before we noticed there was no shower head my husband and children do not like baths do no one was able to have a shower a pretty basic thing in a hotel room

Reviewed by
H Gatt

From Macduff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again
One of the filthiest rooms I've ever stayed in. Put towels on floor to prevent walking on carpet after standing on toe nail clippings. Carpet not cleaned for a long time judging by the dirt that was on it. Cobwebs in corners of room. Cistern cracked down the front with a lid that didn't fit. Feel base of bed through the mattress when sitting down.I wouldn't even risk a cup of coffee.

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute dot com
Hotel is under a major refurb at the moment we thought it was shut when we first arrived.
Staff very pleasant on arrival.
Still waiting for my room receipt due to a computer issue when checking out !
Over priced for what the hotel is like but I think the pricing probably comes with Aberdeen oil business. Lots of rig workers book all the cheaper accomodation up early and this trip was also last minute due to work.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Standard of Accomodation
Frankly this was an overpriced dump in urgent need of upgrading and repair.

Reviewed by
Howard N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Probably the worst hotel I ever stayed at
This hotel charged close on £200 per night (3 different rates for the 3 nights I stayed there) for which I paid over £600. The "Executive room" I was in was sparsely furnished with what must have been second hand furniture. The TV was minute and the reception on it made it look like I was watching Ski Sunday with every channel and every programme. The shelving is open to the elements which in a hotel under construction is not adequate to protect ones clothes from the dust. Allegedly all rooms had free WiFi, I booked the room because of this as I was working - on 2 of the 3 days I did not get any service and at one point I had to sit on a sofa in the corridor near the transmitter to send off important mails - ridiculous state of affairs! As I said the hotel is being refurbished and looks like Beirut outside and a construction site inside. My welcome in the bar consisted of a surly girl who didn't take my order before she asked me how I was going to pay for it, on saying I would put it on my room she looked at my key card and told me it had to be stamped at reception, which I then did and went back to the bar to be met with less than great service. What kind of hotel does not just charge stuff to a room? Amateur, amateur, amateur.
Food was mediocre to hopeless, I hope the refurbishment helps the place because it is tired out and they should not be charging more than £60 per night MAX as it is at the moment and they need to do something to help the staff enthuse about what they do. It may well have been a good business hotel once ... it just isn't now!

Reviewed by
Matt T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next