No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - De Vere Venues Wokefield Park

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Goodboys Lane , Reading, RG7 3AH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Set in 250 acres of landscaped gardens, De Vere Venues Wokefield Park boasts
an 18-hole championship golf course with 9 lakes and mature trees. An indoor
swimming pool, sauna & spa with four beauty treatment rooms.  Free Wi-Fi are
also available throughout. Rooms are located in either the sleek Executive
Centre or in the elegant Mansion House and each room has stylish décor. An a
la carte menu is served in the Mansion House¹s modern Maple restaurant,
along with a hot and cold buffet is available in the Steam, Bake & Grill
restaurant.

Fishing and an outdoor ropes course are available within hotel grounds. A
professional golf shop and practice golf facilities are also available
on-site. Wokefield Park is convenient for Heathrow Airport and offers fast
rail links to London (Paddington and Waterloo) from nearby Reading and easy
access to the M3 and M4, 10 minutes from Reading town centre boasts the
Oracle Shopping Centre and Madjeski Football Stadium. Legoland, Basildon
Park & Windsor Castle are within 30 miles.
Picture of De Vere Venues Wokefield Park, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 248 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired, shabby and impersonal
Our room on the ground floor of the Executive Centre building was rather shabby; the walls and radiator needed painting or at least washing down, upholstery on chairs was threadbare in places and a big chunk of the laminated surface of the occasional table was missing. Extractor fan in the internal bathroom did not work.
There was not a great deal of variety on the bar menu and the food was bland; more like a motorway service station than a hotel.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel

Reviewed by
Alan Woods

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My one night stay
I found this hotel charming, it is a bit in need of repair in places like the odd carpet here and there, but it is a very old hotel and this is what you should expect. The room was clean and comfortable and had a nice view over their gardens. It's grounds were beautiful and picturesque.

Reviewed by
Lisa C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food review
Sunday Buffet Dinner Meal was poor, however the Breakfast on offer was good.

Reviewed by
Michael S

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Asdfkm'mds
;Dkfp

Reviewed by
Janice B

From Camborne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wokefield Wedding Stay
Room was large enough however it looked tired and dated.
Everything worked as it should do with extra pillows and sheets available.
Room however was very comfortable.
The service in all area's was warm and welcoming.
Would stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Joseph D

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Great Hotel great comfy beds, however stayed in the room nearest the golf course, which the rooms were old designed n need modern upgrades like AC ect. If ur staying here stay in the main hotel near the BMW garage. Those roooms are amazing!!

Reviewed by
R Ashta

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This room was good value at £39.00, but it was classed as a £110.00 room, which it certainly was not.
It was clean which is a high priority , there was only one towel for two of us, I asked at reception for another towel , they said they would get housekeeping to drop one off, which they didn't , I rang to reception next morning for a towel, they said they would send house keeping with one, which they didn't , so had to share a damp towel from the night before for two of us. This room is ok for one night stay, had free tea coffee in recetion area which was very good, nice bar . At that price would stay again.

Reviewed by
Stephen Wheeler

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
At the time of booking, I requested a bath but upon arrival we were allocated a room with a shower specifically designed for disabled people. After a long day we were really hoping for a long soak so I went back to reception to upgrade to a room with a bath. This was achieved with no hassle and a reduced upgrade fee - however the new room, in a different building and a short drive away, still did not have bath! It was equipped with a wet room. By now it was 9:20pm and we gave up the search for a bath. I had a shower and the water went all round the bathroom, including the toilet and remained there until morning.
I ordered room service and asked what the wait time was (15 mins) but it was an hour before it arrived.
Our room (222) was situated above a smokers huddling point and the smoke could be easily smelt in the room.
All in all, not the best stay we've ever had in a hotel... the staff were always very pleasant and apologised when required but the hotel failed to deliver on the room type, or room service.

Reviewed by
P Saunders

From Sandy, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Met me needs and staff were very Pleasent

Reviewed by
Craig Willetts

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next