You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa

3

196 PALATINE ROAD, Manchester , M20 2WG

Price From 149.49 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (138)

49% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Wilcock

  • September 2016

Unfortunately not very good

We booked an 'executive room' what a joke to call it that.

1. The smallest TV in a hotel room I have ever come across. 2. The plug could not be removed from the plug hole after a bath. 3. Room was advertised with a Jacuzzi bath - it did not work. 4. No soap in the bath room

5. Very small table, not sufficient to work on

6. Furniture chipped, marked showing signs of age

7. Bed very hard and uncomfortable

Having stayed in many hotels this has to be one of the scruffiest.

  • Richard M

  • September 2016

Hmm

Seems like a stop over for flight transfers to the med.

Hot water didn't work, wasn't told, no help offered and no discount offered.

  • J Gould-Martin

  • September 2016

Hotel in need of refurbished.

Menu limited and.we.waited a long time to be served even though the restaurant was fairly empty

  • Juliette W

  • September 2016

ideal location

if you are staying to travel onwards to the airport.The room was generous in proportions (double suite) with all the expected ameneties -tea coffee plenty of towels additional pillows etc staff were freindly and helpful in particular the night receptiossit who was very pleasant after a hideous journey causing us to arrive very late (2AM) and somewhat tired and grumpy after a four hour journey took 7 hours the downfall was the cleanliness of the bathroom , the plug hole in the sink was clogged up with gunk, the taps had dirt around them underneath.

The jacuzzi bath didnt work. more attention to detail on the cleaning required

  • G eaton

  • August 2016

Overnight for the adventurous

The external appearance of this hotel is huge but not unpleasant.

When I arrived there were people drinking in the beer garden area (which actually is 5 benches by the side of the road which wasn't exactly welcoming. The reception was a little slow but it looked as if they had just had a large amount of people come through. I found it slightly odd that the lady in front of me was having difficulty getting a receipt for the £60 she had just paid as the receptionist only wanted to give her a receipt for £55. The general signage in the hotel is not marvellous and i can fully imagine people wandering the corridors to try and find the right room. The room was unimpressive, it was compact and had a fabulous view across the air con units and extract ducting (which gave a gentle hum for the entire time of my stay - you do get used to it after a few hours. The ensuite was clean and tidy and the shower was hot. The TV had 12 channels in total of which only 6 worked. I was encouraged to see a sign at reception with the wifi code on but later established that the wifi wasn't in fact working either. I travel a lot on business and this is by far one of the worst stays I have had - but the bed was reasonably comfortable and it was sufficient to get a little rest. I wont be booking another visit though.

  • Laura N

  • July 2016

Decent enough and well priced

The first room I got was musty.

Not good for my breathing. I asked for it to be changed and they gave me a bigger, airier and more spacious room. The Reception team is very friendly. Well priced.

  • Nick B

  • July 2016

Possibly the worst hotel I have stayed at

Room was dirty, bed uncomfortable, TV broken, no internet, smell from bins so couldn't open the window.

45 mins to wait for someone from reception. The cooked breakfast was almost very poor, I ended up just having toast (for £10.50). The parking is a joke. A huge car park just full of people who have parked there whilst flying out from the airport. None left for customers and actually spent 25 mins trying to get a spot. The bar area still smelt of stale smoke, 10 years after the smoking ban. Avoid like the plague.

  • Mark G

  • July 2016

Like all Brittania hotels I found this very shabby and dated.

My room was so small I could not lay my suitcase on the floor. The phone signal was very poor and in some parts of the hotel it was non existent.

  • Annette B

  • June 2016

Britannia Country House Hotel

Clean friendly hotel.

No cards at bar and bar was closed on our return.

  • S Barton

  • June 2016

Brilliant Stay

We had looked to book the room on the Sunday but the cost was over £100.

On the Monday the cost dropped to £69. Tuesday it was £79 and Wednesday was £89 which was when I booked. I could not believe how the price fluctuated so much.

The hotel staff were very good and we were upgraded to a superior room which was excellent, We had Pizza in Jennys bar which was half price after 5.30 so a fabulous meal for 2 with drinks came out at just over £17. When we returned to the hotel at 1 in the morning we were still able to get a drink from the bar and it was still quite lively with people who had been to a wedding and also people returning from a Festival. A lovely stay and I would recommend it and I will definately stay again