No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Country House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
196 PALATINE ROAD , Manchester , M20 2WG
The Britannia Country House hotel is set in its own landscaped grounds and is in a prime location for easy access to all motorway networks.

All 255 en-suite bedrooms are pleasantly decorated with wood furnishings; facilities including TV, Telephone, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee Making facilities. There are two restaurants, of which include Jenny’s serving the hearty breakfast or a lighter continental style and dinner a traditional Carvery. Alternatively try the Overstuffed Pizzeria is open each evening with a selection of pizzas, steaks and hot sandwiches. The main residents bar offers a tranquil atmosphere, great for a quiet drink. with light snacks being served during the day.

The Leisure facilities here include a swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room.

The eight Conference rooms can offer first class facilities for any occasion catering for up to 360 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel. The hotel offers a 24 hour coach transfer to the airport, this service is charged at £6.00 per adult, £3.00 per child - return trip.
Picture of Britannia Country House Hotel, Manchester  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 412 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish I never booked myself in that hotel
I have travelled and used many rooms and this place for a country hotel was the worst !!
Dirty room, stained carpet, jacuzzi not working( which was why it booked room), staff lying or not knowing what was going on, was meant to check out by 11 but I was so angry with room I left at 6 am, even tried to get another executive room which I booked in the 1st place but I was told they were fully booked, never will I book their again, rather sleep on the street!!!

Reviewed by
abdul j

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
The was ok but for the cooling fan that was not functional,I discovered quite later

Reviewed by
G Irozuru

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good accommodation.Rooms comfortable and clean. Good food and reasonably p riced drinks in bar. Pool table and comfortable seating in bar. Very handy for airport with transport at a a extra small charge.

Reviewed by
Carole W

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel that doesnt sleep
The staff are lovely and good fun. The hotel looks as if it is in a perfect location. It stands back from the road and the grounds are surrounded by trees but this is not as it appears. This hotel is used for residents on their way to the airport resulting in a constant stream of coaches waiting with their engines on from 4am to pick up passengers. I did not get to sleep until after midnight as there were people outside below my hotel window chatting. I came home absolutely exhausted! This is a shame as it looks a lovely place to stay even though it is a little dated.

Reviewed by
sarah roberts

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
It is a very busy hotel catering for a wide range of things. A little old fashioned in decor, rooms could do with updating! Apart from that it was very good to stay in, helpful staff, good leisure facilities and comfortable bed. Could be noisy at the weekend as there were lots of wedding events on as well as air passengers who can stay and park.

Reviewed by
C Goss

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory hotel
Breakfast service was poor. No cups on tables had to ask for tea/coffee.

Reviewed by
S R

From Elland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Didn't start off too well...
A disapionting start as I was checking in a mother carrying baby came to the desk and said despite checking with the desk first the bar wouldnt allow her a drink for her daughter to be charged against her card.The young man who wasnt serving me at the counter looked at the card and explained that as it wasnt a credit card it could not be used , the lady said as she had no money could it not be used for a drink for her daughter , the young man simply repeated no & why , when she turned away the two receptionists looked at each other and laughed , despite me checking in the lady serving me was oblivious to my annoyance at their behavuor as she made no eye contact at all. I took my key card and went to speak to the lady and purchased her daughter a soft drink . Cheap and cheerful , value for money but forget it if your thinking of a classy hotel with top service.

Reviewed by
David C

From Trawden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful we arrived late were charged to check out later were awoken three times and were called by Front desk to Tell us to get out even though we had paid to stay later

Reviewed by
chaim k

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fair value, good customer service.
Our room was very clean but excessively hot, complained and were promptly upgraded to a much better room, beds comfortable, breakfast generous and OK, Decor a bit random.

Reviewed by
s andrews

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Park and Fly only
In general staff very accommodating, but hotel only suitable for overnight stay before flying to somewhere more exotic.

Reviewed by
Keith W

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next