No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 856 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible!
Awful conditions

Reviewed by
G Tinney

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okish
We stayed here for a night out. Location was good but room was dingy and stains on floor. It also had no window and very poor air conditioning so the room was unbearable. We got woken up by a staff member knocking on the door at 8am. I went to see what she wanted but there seemed to be no apparent reason. Will not be staying again.

Reviewed by
john evans

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Aug 14
Room old fashioned and shabby, 3rd floor yet the wooden rotting window opened fully - potentially a hazard. Avoid breakfast it was all deep fried and inedible. Plus side is in city centre and everything a short walk away

Reviewed by
barbara r

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Nice hotel, friendly staff great location would stay again.

Reviewed by
C Matthews

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room air con did not work was very hot and as a result i did not get a good nights sleep
Was very disappointed arrived late after long day of work to a really hot room -(it was cooler in the corridor) I would have asked for a new room but it was late and I was really tired and I was a really long way from reception on the 4th floor. i though the aircon might kick in as i had turned it on, but it never did. Ended up i didn't really sleep. I think the bus station would have been cooler. Definitely would not recommend the room I had if you are looking for a good nights sleep, i did however lose quite a bit of weight in sweat!

Reviewed by
Tim H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

"Executive" room, not up to expectation
Initially though this was a great deal as a last minute decision to go away for the weekend. Room advertised as "executive". This was not what I expected of an "executive" room. When we first went Ito the room after having checked in, it absolutely reeked of damp. I also noticed old water marks through the ceiling and wall in the corner by the window. We left the room to get on with our day, ignoring it at first. When we came back later in the evening, our friend went to plug in his mobile phone to charge in the socket behind the telly. He noticed leaking water everywhere. It was dripping from the ceiling, directly onto the TV! Water all through the electric sockets behind the TV and a huge wet patch on the carpet. I rang reception to inform them, of which they said they would send someone up straight away. Half an hour went and still no one came. I went down to reception to report it again. There was no way I was staying in a room, being asthmatic and pregnant, full of damp and water dripping through the electrics. Reception staff straight away relocated us to another room and when asked as we were
On our way out, moved our belongings for us. Because it was Saturday night and the hotel was "full" the only room available was an "executive" twin and staff pushed the beds together for my husband and I. We were offered a free breakfast (we didn't take, our fault as we weren't up early enough), could have dinner as well, but we were going out for a meal. A free bottle of house wine from the bar (which was horrible according to our friend and only had one glass from it). We were also offered a late checkout and some money off the price of the room (which was very little). Although, the staff offered us all this to make up for the room. We still would not stay here again I'm afraid.

Reviewed by
Marie-Claire H

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
The hotel lobby and staircase are spectacular..
The room was poor, poor ventilation and no air conditioning..
The rooms are in dire need of modernisation...

Reviewed by
alexander g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok
The room didn't have a window and the air conditioning was making noise non stop. Also the electric kettle turned itself on, for a few seconds, although ii wasn't near it i left the switch on and plugged in. Swiftly ii turned it off. Ghost of faulty equipment.

Reviewed by
m butler

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boiling!!!
No air con in the rooms and a window which didn't open left our room completely unbearable!!

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good location !!
I worry about the cleanliness of the room and the fact the wardrobe was broken and this was suppose to be in the "Executive suite" on the plus side the location is in the heart of the city short walks from Manchester Piccadilly rail station, bars and clubs considering the price I paid on a Saturday night can't complain really , so thank you laterooms

Reviewed by
Kieran H

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next