Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3

35 Portland Street, Manchester, M1 3LA

Price From 90.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (454)

51% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • steve w

  • February 2016

top floor, top room

Hassle Free, relaxable hotel.

The hotel room had (nearly) everything you could need - with the exception of an ironing board - there's a room on a lower floor for that. Great 2m tall 5m wide angled panoramic window giving widescreen view of the cityscape.

I personally didn't make any use of hotel services, but I had a great nights sleep, and checked out without any delays the following morning.

  • Lois F

  • February 2016

Convenient

This hotel was very convenient for the Piccadilly station and the tram line.

However on a Friday night it was very noisy with lots of people going to and fro. Also the room we occupied was under a skylight which meant that we were woken by rain drumming on the roof during the night. Would recommend for a short stay.

  • S Baker

  • February 2016

Do not stay here

Hotel is old & tired.

The windows are so thin even on the fifth floor you could hear everything out in the street. Originally we checked into a room on the first floor but it felt like being in the bar with the volume of the music. So we were moved to an alternative room. The hotel needs a good refurb. Do not pay £7 for breakfast go somewhere else. The food was not good, coffee was awful & crockery chipped. Having booked late we paid far more than anyone should to stay at this hotel.

  • M Carroll

  • February 2016

Very nice stay

The hotel although one of the older generation in Manchester is still very impressive.

The staff were very friendly. The room was clean and well-equipped and the breakfast was very nice. All in all we had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Ann J

  • January 2016

Would Recommend

After reading some of the reviews we were very relieved to find none of the comments made were true.

Quite the opposite in fact. Lovely friendly staff, clean rooms and an ideal base as very central.

  • Philip O

  • January 2016

Great value but redecoration would improve things

Return stay and lived up to expectations.

Great value (especially compared to full-price) and delighted to pre-purchase breakfast at a god price via LateRooms website. Room comfortable and plenty of storage available. However, could do with redecoration as wallpaper beginning to peel and bath has had handles removed and bolt-holes filled up. No ceiling light so had to get to bathroom light switch to see into room at night. A bath mat would have been helpful, too. On the plus side - major road works in central Manchester at present, but this meant no passing traffic - great bonus as window could be kept ajar without being wakened an an unearthly hour by busses, etc. (Workment didn't seem to start until about 9am so an added bonus).

  • J Reed

  • January 2016

Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

Excellent.

  • hinnah r

  • January 2016

Avoid!!

I was so disappointed with the quality of this 'hotel'.

It seems to be stuck in time. There is no ramp to wheel heavy suitcases up to reception. The receptionist gave really poor customer service but I thought as long as the room is ok I will avoid the staff. This is the worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. I'm trying to get my money back as it was abysmal. The room stank of cigarette smoke, was really small, dark and extremely hot. The taps in the bathroom were literally coming away from the wall whenever you used them. The AC and light switches didn't work. The window to the room (which was on the first floor) couldn't be closed as it was stuck open. For a single woman travelling I didn't feel safe and certainly did not have a relaxing stay. The smell of smoke was so bad that my clothes ended up smelling - which is a nightmare when you have business meetings all day.

  • russell mcgrath

  • January 2016

That dawm united

Stayed at Britannia for football weekend room was far better than I expected for the price, the building is really impressive especially the stairs, breakfast was fine would definitely stay there again no problems at all, pity man u won

  • M Graham

  • December 2015

Britannia Hotel Portland Street Manchester

Asked to move room as on top floor and moved us straight away.

Extremely helpful staff and a lovely central hotel. Would definitely stay again