No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 869 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business trip
I stayed here with a colleague, great central location within walking distance to train station. Pleasant stay, pleased with twin room, breakfast staff were welcoming.

Reviewed by
Sue S

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What's gone wrong at the Britannia???
The Britannia Hotel in Portland Street used to have a fine reputation as one of the best places to stay in Manchester. Having stayed at several hotels and apartments in Manchester over recent years, I would say that it is struggling to even maintain a 2 star rating. We stayed there on the 13/09/14. The smell of smoke / nicotine in the first room we were allocated was appalling. We complained to the front desk and were allocated a non smoking room. The atmosphere was at least breathable but there was a huge hole in the ceiling where there had obviously been some water damage. The water had obviously penetrated the whole ceiling because there were signs of the wall covering coming away and water stains. There was also a hole in one of the walls near the door. 2 socket covers were also loose. The towels were frayed. The decor throughout the whole hotel looks tired and dated, which is a shame because they have a magnificent staircase and chandelier in the vestibule. We tried to order some bar snacks. However, after browsing the bar food menu we were told to go to the restaurant because they had more variety and it was cheaper. If you are on a stag night or hen party and you just want a place to crash, then the Britannia Hotel is probably for you. If your standards and expectations are higher, then go somewhere else.

Reviewed by
W JONES

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay - one night
Booked in at an extremely competitive rate for the double room provided. It was clean and well furnished. I was on the 5th floor, which is the top floor, and as a result the room was rather warm upon arrival but that's better than cold any day! Tea and Coffee making facilities were provided and the free Wi-Fi was easy to hook up to.
I ate a spaghetti bolognese at the in-house Pizzaria, and it was very nice indeed, plenty of it and served piping hot. The service was efficient too.
Breakfast was very nice too, everything was freshly prepared and hot, I thought it was better than a lot of the breakfasts I had enjoyed elsewhere and I took advantage of their offer of breakfast for £7 when I checked in.
All in all, I had a good stay, the sleep was peaceful and I really liked the grand staircase to all floors!

Reviewed by
d melling

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst hotel i have ever stayed in... Don't go there!
From the welcome in reception which was terrible as were the people loitering in the reception area to the quality of the room, this was the worst overnight stay ever. The place is filthy, room smelled terrible, the broken glass lamp shade is dangerous, stained bed covers, carpets, cushions off-putting. There was no window in the room. No latch lock on the room door for extra security either. I would have wanted this having been very worried by the small crowd of people I saw in reception on arrival. I tried to call reception from my room but no one picked up the phone on the other end. At £ 159 this hotel is a absolute disgrace and I must dissuade anyone from going there. I will avoid all Britannia hotels and dissuade anyone from staying in them.

Reviewed by
J B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good

Reviewed by
Hugh Maclean

From Kinross, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressions
I bought a room as a nice treat for my missus and when I turned up the room smelt of cigarettes even though I asked for a non smoking room, I made a point of saying it was a surprise and there was no atemp at making a special occasion. Receptionist was rude and when I commented on the room the server just shrugged it off and said that's what you paid for!!

Reviewed by
S Playle

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would stay again
Room was clean and tidy, could'nt fault it. Television was old just about got it to work but that is the same as the Britannia hotels that we have stayed in would stay again as it is in centre of Manchester. enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
melfyn b

From buckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel, room could do with an upgrade
The room was clean and tidy and there were no real problems however the wall paper seemed quite old and was stained in places and the carpet had threads missing. These little things ruined the general look of the room which was otherwise well presented and clean. The hotel itself is lovely, it has a very grand appeal. The staff were friendly and offered good customer service to us.

Reviewed by
Emily S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was hot and noisy
Cheap central hotel but the room was very hot and noisy. Probably wouldn't chose to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rachel P

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable stay
Customer service top notch, early check-in agreed. Room upgraded at no extra cost. Very clean and comfortable and at a very good rate through laterooms.
There were however, visible signs of some damp on the ceiling and on the wall below the window. The room was hot during the day but fine at night. No air con although I found a fan on the landing for temporary use. I can't recall being able to open the window but there were slots which opened and closed. There was an extractor fan in the bathroom which did not work and a worker confirmed this. Despite the minor failings, it was a pleasant and satisfactory stay and would consider staying again at a reasonable rate. I did not order any food here as I ate out and only stayed for one night as that's all I needed it for.

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next