No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 855 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
We paid 140 for 1 night. The staff were lovely but room not,telly as old as the hotel,needs a update to match the price. Very noisy we were a couple put on top floor furthest away near lots noisy people.

Reviewed by
R Preece

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in Manchester
Location wise, hotel was perfect. Bang in the centre of Manchester, close to northern quarter, dry bar n shopping. I paid more than the usual rate though as Man City was at home . The hotel is a fantastic looking listed old building which is probably why it's a bit run down. It needs a few quid spending on it.

Reviewed by
James Swann

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Timbo
Lovely old building room very comfortable room although bed a bit small for a double could have done with more coffee

Reviewed by
Timothy M

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grotty, dirty accomodation
This has got to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at! My first impression on walking into the reception was faulty towers. Making our way up to the room and the corridors had wallpaper peeling off with damp marks everywhere. On entering the room, it was exactly the same. Grotty, dirty and for £150.00 it was absolutely appalling. It got to the point where my partner was calling all the other hotels in the area to see if they had any rooms available (unfortunately everywhere was fully booked). I called down to reception and asked to speak to the manager and I was asked what it was regarding. I told them that the room was not satisfactory and they told me to come down to reception. So I went down to reception and the manager didn't even come out to see me. Luckily they had another room available. I went to look at this room and it was better than the original room but still grotty. We decided that this would have to do.
I can now understand why this hotel had availability and all the others were fully booked!!

Reviewed by
Alessandro M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced and over rated
Overpriced tired city centre hotel, will not be returning.

Reviewed by
Julie T

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay. Won't be staying in a Britannia hotel again.
First of all, I have sent this compliant to the management of the hotel upon my return home, but still have had no reply. This is five days ago now.
When I arrived at the hotel, I was thrilled with the exterior and the lobby and stairwell - all beautiful. I had to queue for twenty minutes for check in, but figure it would be worth the wait. Boy, was I disappointed. My 'executive' room, which I paid extra for, was extremely run down. The bed was barely a double, and appeared to be a type of fold out camp bed- or at least the slightly more expensive equivalent of. The television was an old box with poor reception, and despite calling down to reception, I couldn't get a wifi connection. Despite this, my time staying was limited, so I went out for dinner as planned. It was when I tried to sleep that I discovered how truly terrible the room was. The bed was so lumpy and hard, I had to sleep curled around the lumps. Also, the room was ridiculously noisy. I figured this was understandable due to the city centre location, but when I grew so fed up, I checked the windows to discover one of them was so warped, it didn't even close properly. For £144, this is a disgrace, and to call it an 'executive room' even more so. I was so exhausted and upset by the next morning, I didn't even stay for the breakfast I had prepaid for. Do not stay at this hotel. You'll be much better off in one of the nearby chain hotels such as Ibis. The fact they haven't even bothered to reply to my email of complaint is even more of a kick in the teeth. Avoid this hotel at all costs if you want to get a decent night's sleep.

Reviewed by
M Farrar

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall good
Overall ideal for what we needed a night out round Manchester easy to get to, friendly reasonably cheap. Was clean by needed updating a lot however we were not there to stay in the room so never see the TV just got ready and slept in there and fit that purpose well.

Reviewed by
Laura S

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting!!
Absolutely vile hotel!! I didn't want to take my shoes and socks off!! Will never ever stay here again!!!

Reviewed by
Shaun Brennan

From Brough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for sleeping
A nice hotel, was a late booking. Not for those wanting luxury but convenient for those wanting a stay in manchester as is central. Rooms standard, staff friendly enough hotel needs a paint and updating.

Reviewed by
Leanne J

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round

Reviewed by
C marriott

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next