You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester


35 Portland Street, Manchester, M1 3LA

Price From 125.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (306)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • d molyneux

  • October 2016

one night stay

It was ok for one night, how ever i fail to see why the room we got was called executive as it was very basic with the smallest tv ever which was too low down to watch.

There was always a queue at the reception and I feel £ 7 for wifi these days is expensive.

  • L Wimbury

  • September 2016

Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

Overpriced for basic room.

  • A Dunderdale

  • September 2016

Last minute booking

Cheap n cheerful - perfect for a quick stopover after seeing The Last Shadow Puppets live at Castlefield bowl.

Just 1 problem - alcohol not served all night - having a smoking room made up for it, even though no ashtray in the room ha ha. Cheers

  • Gerry G

  • September 2016

Last Resort Hotel

A basic hotel room, with a modest bathroom & totally unusable shower: thermostat stuck at maximum, scalding temperature, thus unusable and a hazard.

Non functioning BitBuzz internet code (extra cost!) that would not function: total disinterest from the hotel reception: "contact bitbuzz for support: nothing to do with us". I contacted bitbuzz, they acknowledged the problem was theirs, but did not revert with a solution or refund. All in all a dismal experience, never to be repeated. The experience cost £200 for one night.

  • Stuart C

  • September 2016

Functional, but very dated and impersonal

Long queues to check in.

Windowless rooms with noisy, ineffective air-conditioning units. Broken soap dispenser in shower and no other toiletries provided. Room generally tired, although at least clean. Not worth £149. More like £49 in line with Premier Inn / Travelodge / IBIS who all do it better. Disappointing and not to be repeated.

  • Robert C

  • September 2016

Terrible Even Dangerous

Room was boiling hot and there was no way to cool it down.

It stank of smoke. The electrical sockets weren't working and I had to fiddle with the fuse box to get them working. The fusebox was uncovered and on the floor next to the shower!!!!!

  • Susan B

  • August 2016

I have stayed here quite a few times

The hotel offers convenience and good value

  • Lee C

  • August 2016

Never again.

Small room and the bed was barely bigger than a single Mattress.

No air conditioning and when we woke up and started to make the bed we had spiders and bugs crawling on the sheets. I'd rather sleep in my car next time!

  • W Mccready

  • August 2016

Excellent value

Have stayed here before, lovely hotel, really good value for money .

  • Jonathan L

  • August 2016

Great staff, outdated hotel

The staff were great, and my room was cleaned very well both days.

However the room was the size of a matchbox, the decor was ageing, the bed was the most uncomfortable mattress I've ever slept on - plus it was lopsided, and the entire place stunk of smoke. Add to that windows you can't open more than a millimetre and it all made for a pretty unpleasant experience!