No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 866 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 60% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old decor and not kept well
Stayed here and went for the executive room, bathroom was bad and the wallpaper was coming off the walls, the TV was an old CRT from the 90s and on the other side of the room. Bed was incredibly uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
A Stephenson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia Hotel Manchester 10th April to 12th April
I stayed at the Britannia Hotel for a city break in Manchester. It has an excellent location only a few minutes walk from the train station.
The hotel is a little run down but has some real character with a stunning staircase. Checking in was very easy with no queues.
Our room was fine, it was clean and spacious with a nice sized bed and a bath shower, always with hot water.
The TV was pretty old by modern standards but worked ok.
The hotel offers a very useful left luggage which we used.
What ruined our stay was the noise, on the Friday night someone was shouting on top of his voice in the early hours, this lead to the police being called (more noise). While I admit that incident was not the hotels fault it should have been sorted out far more quickly, security should have ejected the perpetrators right away rather than let this go on for an hour or so.
Would we stay again, the answer is depends on the price, if we got the offer of somewhere else we would probably try them, but if it was a good price I would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Anthony R

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good overall
Overall the stay was fine, no issues.
Some small suggestions:
The bed in room 410 was squeaky.
Having an ironing room is a bit antiquated, and the leaking irons didn't make it much better. I'd have preferred an iron and ironing board I could order to the room. (That also minimises the likelihood of an iron being left switched on and unattended, and also means you don't have guests queuing as they did when I was there).

Reviewed by
Richard D

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
I booked a cheap room for £55 (no breakfast) I was put in one of the Turret rooms - on the 6th floor. Worth noting the lift only goes up to the 5th floor. Then it's up a narrow, grubby staircase - well above the glamorous chandeliers. It was a windowless room, although there was a small skylight high above. It was noisy due to extractor fans on the roof and thin walls to neighbouring rooms. The level of cleanliness was good, but the fittings were well worn and stained. There was no shade on one of the lamps.
Paid £5 for breakfast - cooked breakfast looked cheap and nasty. There was no museli, but some fresh fruit, youghurt and porridge, so decent enough.

Reviewed by
Nikki P

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired looking and overpriced rooms
I stayed there with another friend for a weekend night. The first room that I was offered smelt of smoke and had a lot of stains on the carpet and on the furniture. I dread to think what they were. The walls were tired looking and needed some simple painting. The cost of the room was £140 which was hugely overpriced.

Reviewed by
N Pandit

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dump
Dirty room ( red wine stained walls, mould on windows, carpet stains, poor lighting - just 2 bed side lights , mould in bathroom, threadbare towels, shabby furniture, poor desk service, expensive and not value for money) - premier inn leave these places back in the dark ages where they belong and on that note, poor sound insultation meant that I was woken several times from the club downstairs and other rude guests making lots of noise on the floor - appalling and a real shame for its location and historical standing

Reviewed by
Kerry D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy place to stay on a Friday night
I anticipated a small budget room for the deal I got, which I went for simply because I needed somewhere central to put my head down for a few hours as I was to arrive late at the hotel and due to get up early the next day. Unfortunately the bed wasn't comfortable at all, and the hotel is right next door to a noisy nightclub. I arrived at the hotel at 10.15pm after a long day and train journey and desperately wanted a good night's sleep before attending a business show the next day. There really was no hope of achieving that with the noise levels and lack of a comfortable bed. If you want to get any rest on a Friday night, don't stay here.

Reviewed by
Emma S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A room with no view
I knew the room was an internal one when I booked, but the room was very stuffy and overheated. The air conditioning looked like it had not been cleaned for several years and emitted a constant high pitched whine. The room was small and only contained one small chair. Only one set i.e. a bath towel and hand towel, of of towels were supplied, the same applied to the shampoo and soap.The only lighting was from two table lamps one of which did not work, this did not disguise the hole in the wall however. The room in general was equipped for one person only .

Reviewed by
m medley

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location for short City centre visit
This hotel has impressive architectural features and is situated in the very centre of Manchester. The facility to leave luggage on departure and collect later in the day is thus very helpful. The room was adequate, though the carpet had some stains. The bathroom was very good. The "all you can eat" breakfast was very good, especially at the lower price of £5.25 when booked in advance with Late Rooms booking (normal price £10.50). The evening meal was OK but served on cold plates which meant the food was not as hot as I would have liked.
The location, history and overall service would certainly make it a top choice when available at Late Rooms lower prices, though their normal prices are high.

Reviewed by
Les B

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the Brotannia
I had a lovely delightful stay at the Britannia, great access for wheelchairs as I am in one. However the room we were in, the floor felt a little unstable and my wheels got stuck on the carpet a few times but it wasn't a huge issue as the hotel was just what I needed for a nights stay, right close to my destination for what I wanted to do in Manchester as it is central and i will most definitely be staying here again. Staff where great as they spoke to ME and didn't talk to my friend like most hotels do because they feel I can't speak for myself being disabled and all. Great hotel I rate 4*

Reviewed by
H Thompson

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next