No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 856 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room
Overly hot in the room and in the toilets downstairs by reception. Staff were fantastic and gave us 2 fans for the room but it was still very hot in there. Overall a great stay and fabulous weekend at comicon.

Reviewed by
KErry S

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not recommended - no internet in room as advertised
I am writing this review in my pyjama's from the landing of the hotel. This is because the internet connection, which is free, is non existent in my 'executive' room. The staff have no customer service sense and only apologise in a passive aggressive manner which suggests they are anything but sorry. I have stayed in better and cheaper places in Manchester - I suggest you do the same. There was a reason why this place still had rooms; but it is a vast hotel; it took 30 minutes to check in as ' their system ' was down; then I got to the room and a guy had to come up ( this also took another 30 mins) to show me the hidden lights to the bathroom - it is a shambles and they really do not care. The rooms are clean, but old (pink carpet that has worn off and has seen better days), the place smells of bleach,... but all this could be forgiven if staff at reception would be helpful and accommodating, instead: well, they really don't care as obviously they will always get business coming in due to shortage of rooms in other better hotels. There is a bar/restaurant and my room was opposite conference facilities - so busy all around. In my opinion, this place misadvertises : no free internet in room ( ie no wifi!) . They kept telling me " we are having problems today with our system" - but looking at reviews on the web, it seems that ' today they have problems" is pretty much every day. You can feel vibrations from doors closing nearby,...Only one lamp ( of three) worked in room so pretty dark; not many sockets in room; and they sit loose in wall. Other people had issues with no wifi either; windows that do not open in rooms while very hot. Bad service does bond perfect strangers, it seems! ( though As I write this in the corridor - an argument is taking place with unhappy customers at the reception desk),...At lewast I had an openable window - by 4 cms ( ie two inches)! When you complain to staff they say you are more than welcome to speak to the managers, who then cannot be found or takes ages to wait for him/her so if you give up/decline they passive aggressively claim they did try to help you! Be wise and avoid.

Reviewed by
sofie p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just don't
This hotel is very tired !!! Finally got a half decent room after being given 3 appalling rooms which had thread bare and dirty carpets, damaged door frames, baths with big chunks missing etc.
The wait at reception was considerable so this experience took more than one and a half hours !
So just don't bother would be my advice

Reviewed by
david P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Poor Quality
Insects in room, poor quality furnishings, ceiling lights not working and broken toilet seat.
Charmless, feels like the sort of place where you would pay by the hour.

Reviewed by
D Byrne

From Formby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic old building in need of modernisation
The first room given to us on arrival on 5th floor had huge windows and no blackout curtains and badly fitting curtains. We went back to Reception and explained that we would have difficulty sleeping with the light coming into the room and were not happy and they allocated us another room on the 3rd floor. The curtains fitted but the overall quality of the room was very old and dated. Huge old television, old furniture, dated bathroom. Breakfast was ok.The hotel has been a beautiful building in its day but generally the whole hotel is in need of some serious modernisation. I would not recommend this hotel

Reviewed by
T Higham

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor decor shabby and more expensive than offers displayed outside hotel

Reviewed by
J Powell

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

initially disappointed with room allocated but after talking to reception was moved to a much better room which was comfortable and spacious. the accomodation was let down by the television which was tiny and only had 5 channels which were watchable. i thought when booking and checking the facilities it had satellite tv and flat screens. we paid for breakfast as it was on special offer but i wish we hadnt. it was a very poor buffet . my husband is a wheelchair user and it was not accessible. if you use a wheelchair it is very hard to get into or out of the hotel.

Reviewed by
d mccormick

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Room
I found on arrival that the building was outstanding, However there was not the best reception greeting, inside the hotel was again outstanding features, the room was dark, dingy, carpet was thread borne, the bathroom was clean, the sheets was clean, would I recommend this hotel? only for the features that the hotel stands for.

Reviewed by
M Boon

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor Quality Throught
I visited the hotel as a birthday gift visit and in a nutshell very disappointed with the Customer service and the quality of the room. The room we had no windows and barley a skylight, it was filthy and disgusting, the saving grace is that i didnt actually spend much time in the hotel... Would not recommend the hotel and will not book this hotel again..

Reviewed by
Bryan C

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel in a Great Location
We chose this hotel for the location, which is excellent. When you enter the hotel it's like stepping back in time with a wonderful staircase and huge chandeliers; it's a grand old building so full of charm. We booked a standard room on a B&B basis and were delighted when we opened the door to room 428 to find we had been allocated a suite!!!
The suite was spotless, had a Jacuzzi bath (shame didn't have time to use it), power shower and tea & coffee etc. with lots of wardrobe space too.
Being a central location, it was noisy at night but that's only to be expected and after a few glasses of red wine sleep is inevitable!
Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice.
Staff were all very pleasant and professional and made us feel very welcome. We would return and recommend.

Reviewed by
D Dews

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next