No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 872 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
55% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff
Very nice hotel, good prices and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Radu I

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded Grandeur
An amazing building but looking a little worn around the edges. Room was a bit dark with only two small windows and only lamps. En-suite bathroom pretty good.

Reviewed by
Alec A

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value (with LateRooms discount) but very dated and not very comfortable

Reviewed by
christopher lamb

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and great location
An excellent stay here at this hotel which is bang in the middle of the city with access to the bus station for other travel and close to the Arndale centre and Piccadilly station.
Hotel is very imposing and looks great which makes it easier to find..
Clean, classic for a good price ,would stay here again

Reviewed by
graham c

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked non smoking room but was given a smoking room
I booked an Executive Twin Room which i expected to be Non Smoking but as soon as we walked into the room the smell of cigarettes was apparent. Luckily as we were heading straight out for food and a few drinks this wasn't much of an issue, we left the window open and came back a couple of hours later.
The room was more than big enough for 2 people and was clean (although some of the paint work was patchy), the shower head did come off the wall while one of us was in it but it was easily fixed.
Location wise this hotel was exactly where we wanted to be and was near plenty of shops, bars and restaurants and plenty of 24 hour parking (at a cost) near by.

Reviewed by
Sam R

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
Worst hotel I've stayed in plus £7 for breakfast is a crime. Dated decor plus my room had no windows. I'd say staying at home was a better option. As for the breakfast cheap meat, bad eggs no flavour. Utterly disappointed.

Reviewed by
J B

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK but ...
I stayed at the hotel for a business conference from a Thursday evening to Sunday morning in October in a 'Double Executive Room' (4th floor).
The hotel is very centrally located making it great for travel and access to Manchester. The Britannia is architecturally, both externally and internally, notable. Those are the good points.
Being central, also means central to the bars and clubs, which is a positive for people going to Manchester for that reason but has the negative effect of being surrounded by noise. That includes other guests of the hotel who are obviously there to enjoy themselves at the more unsociable hours.
The decoration of the hotel is old and tired. Where maintenance work has been carried out on rooms, to repair, replace or update, it has been done to a shoddy standard. Just to be clear it all seemed safe, it was just aesthetically 'unprofessional'. Wallpaper was peeling off, dirty and scuffed. Paint work was a dirty off white and had obviously been re-painted many times previously.
Room facilities weren't as I would have expected. There was tea or coffee in the rooms, nothing else. I like to have a biscuit and decaffeinated tea when I got back in the evening but these weren't available. The bed was visibly old and hard to lay on but was generally satisfactory. There was a distinct lack of plug sockets in the room I could use. Specifically I could only find 2, neither of which were conveniently located. Wifi was as good as could be expected for a hotel, slow but usable, mostly. The shower was pretty good.
Staff were generally polite. There wasn't any exceptional customer service but they weren't rude either. The most notable mistake, in my opinion, is that I wasn't offered Tea or Coffee when I sat down for breakfast. I had to serve myself and the staff were there to clear the tables. At midnight, on the last night, I was woken up by a porter who had come to the wrong room. He apologised for his mistake before leaving.
For the purpose of my stay, the hotel was not ideal. When I returned to my room I needed to unwind and be properly rested for the next day. I don't feel the hotel provided that for me.

Reviewed by
Luke R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alway enjoy my stay here been alot

Reviewed by
david dutton

From birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rubbish

Reviewed by
Lisa T

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I want to put the spot light on this place but there was no light in my room!
Perhaps if I had had lights that worked in my room that would a start or even lights that were not hanging out of the holes in the ceiling. Or the stain on the ceiling painted out. Awful just awful

Reviewed by
R Blair

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next