No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
35 Portland Street , Manchester, M1 3LA
Dating back to 1858 this City Centre grade II listed building is situated in the heart of City centre Manchester within a 5 minute walk of all mainline stations. All 363 bedrooms have recently been tastefully decorated and all furnished with TV, Hairdryer, Trouser Press and Tea & Coffee making facilities. There are some rooms that do not have a window but most of these have skylights, ideal for the budget conscious!

The hotel also boasts two great restaurants that include Jenny’s Restaurant, with its excellent value for money 3-course Carvery Lunch and Dinner and The Overstuffed Pizzeria, with a varied selection of Italian Dishes and lighter meals in bright surroundings. The Britannia Hotel Manchester also offers four bars, Cromptons being the residents bar, Jenny's serving the restaurant, the vibrant Waves Bar (open till late for residents and non-residents) and Bar Rogue, a popular Nightclub in the city centre.

There are nine first-class Conference rooms available for any occasion and cater for up to 200 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available throughout the building. Our multi-national reception staff would like to welcome you to our hotel.
Picture of Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 846 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fab stay
Gorgeous hotel, lovely room and I'm definitely going to return.

Reviewed by
Zena E

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

britannia manchester
The room was clean tidy and comfortable. The decor was rundown and only half the ceiling had been painted. But it was warm clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and lovely breakfast.

Reviewed by
p butcher

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money at all!! The room was very small, the bed well it was like sleeping the floor in all it's a joke

Reviewed by
M Jones

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for a city centre location
Although my room on the fifth floor looked a little dowdy with an old worn out carpet, the Britannia still is good value for its location at the heart of the city centre. Breakfast was very good.

Reviewed by
Philip David Browne

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel great service and so convenient for everything

Reviewed by
Thelma Jones

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded glory
Excellent location. Grand public spaces. Accommodation areas and bedrooms in need of renovation although bathroom very good with plenty of hot water from power shower. Bed comfortable but duvet thin for chilly winter nights. Added bath towel on top of duvet to add warmth. Carpets and chair upholstery tending towards the threadbare.
Breakfast plentiful and reasonable selection for full English

Reviewed by
G Rose

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price of room was undated. The tv didn't work properly. Noisey and could hear doors banging and hear people arguing

Reviewed by
emma r

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible.
The building on the outside looks splendid, as does the foyer when you walk in. We were greeted by the receptionist, who was very nice (all the staff, except the bar staff, were very pleasant, that I had dealings with). I was given room 216, which was located on the second floor, right in the corner. When you walked into the room, you immediately noticed how small the room was, or was it just the big bed? On the wall to the left, as soon as you walked in, there was a light switch that didn't do anything, or wasn't connected to anything. The wall was covered in scuff marks, chipped paint, etc. To the right, was a double wardrobe with full length mirrors. This was connected to a desk (most of the drawers had loose knobs), which contained the usual coffee making facilities, and a TV. Also, on this wall was a switch with a red light above it, which was on all the time, and it looked like a master switch for something - I dared not turn it off, just in case. Had a couple of other switches on that wall, which didn't seem to be connected to anything either. One thing you will notice is that, the room had floor boards, quite noisy whenever stepped on, that the people from the nightclub below came up, and asked me to keep the noise down - they were that loud. The room above had the same problem. The bed itself was comfy enough, the only thing I would point out is, the duvet had a big rip on the cover. The bathroom was basic, but couldn't really fault it. It was clean enough and had a decent shower, and the towels were all crisp and clean. The light switch for the bathroom was located at the side of the bed. There was plaster missing from around the edge of the switch, and a gap of about one centimeter along the top. This is the thing that prompted me to take a closer look at the room. Probably the worst thing about the room, was the curtains. They refused to meet in the middle, so there was a gap of about six inches in the middle. Every time you pulled one curtain shut, it opened the other one. I've tried to keep this lighthearted, because I didn't want it to distract us from a really good weekend. But, I paid £139 for one night at this hotel, and I expected much, much better. I certainly didn't get value for money. I would have expected a room of that standard to have cost no more than around £60-£70. We won't be returning to this hotel again. Instead we will stay in a travel lodge that has a higher standard room.

Reviewed by
M Thewlis

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worse hotel I have ever stayed at!!
Poor coustomerservice, fuilthy rooms and re-heated food.

Reviewed by
M Thomas

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, nice old hotel
I liked it, it is a nice old fashioned hotel. Lovely old furniture and chandeliers. Didn't eat here, parking is a car park quite a way away which would have ben a problem if I had had any amount of luggage, but with an overnight bag it was fine. It is a budget option for central Manchester so you are not in the lap of luxury, but I have stayed in a lot worse, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and it had a great shower. Enjoyed the residents bar too!

Reviewed by
Jackie R

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next