Reviews - Britannia Hotel, City Centre Manchester


35 Portland Street, Manchester, M1 3LA

Price From 181.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (539)

50% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Katherine G

  • October 2015

A pleasant stay and friendly staff

A very nice, central hotel, staff were friendly and helpful and room was lovely.

  • Christian M

  • October 2015

A fairly cheap hotel room in Manchester's city centre

A beautiful building from the outside with loads of period features indoors but decaying dramatically.

The location is great, the room was poor but not terrible. They could improve the cleanliness and update the rooms but overall not too bad. Ideal for a short break, not very good for a long stay. There was a fire overnight and the whole thing was quite chaotic, not very well organised.

  • P Roberts

  • October 2015

great stay many thanks

great stay,...only criticism would be the reception staff not really being quick enough and less than apologetic for large queues and long waits.....communication goes a long way and a little 'sorry for your wait' would have sufficed.

understood their laterooms bookings were broken, but just basics of courtesy...other than that it's great!

  • L Smith

  • September 2015

Paid extra for noise.

We paid extra for a window room only to have road works very early in the morning with no mention of this when checking in.

The walls in the room where very dirty and in need of a paint. We never booked breakfast when booking the room, after checking out we decided to go try the food to find out it would cost more than double what we could have paid for it when booking.

  • Paul Schofield

  • September 2015

Good value for money

Good hotel,pleasant staff and right in the centre at a very reasonable price.


  • M Langham

  • September 2015


I was unpleasantly surprised with my hotel stay.

The parking is not clear at all, I was impressed with the grand entrance upon arrival, a good selling point is the chandelier in the reception, this was amazing. I booked the hotel as a surprise weekend away for my boyfriend, I found it unprofessional that the receptionist pointed out the cost of the stay infront of my partner - this was not discreet at all. They hadn't given any details about the breakfast (times or location), and I wasn't given a check out time either. We went to the room to find out it was nothing like the photos I'd booked at all, I was completely miss-sold. The room was miss-represented and if I'm honest I was embarrassed as it was supposed to be a romantic weekend away, but it was more a 70's horror show.

Throughout the stay, more problems incurred.. My "City view" was not a city view, it was a side office view. This let in no natural light, further to this... there wasn't any artificial light. There was no main light to the bedroom at all, there were 3 lamps... the most important one (on the dresser) not working. The shower was also complete rubbish, the thermostat was obviously faulty as the water went from hot to cold every second. Not what I paid just under £200 for.

I called down to reception the following morning, the receptionist was rude when I asked what time breakfast was on til, and when I asked where it was the answer was simply "downstairs". Not very helpful.

Breakfast was mediocre. I liked the open buffet idea, just that when I got up to help myself, the food was merely warm. The plates were cold too. We were gathering our things on our last day to a knock at the door from the cleaner who said that the check out was at 11am. This was at 11.10am. I was half in the middle of getting my things together, I assumed the check out was 12 Midday. We checked out of the hotel 10 minutes later and went home. Overall, I would not recommend the Britannia Hotel to any of my friends/family or colleagues. Staff were completely unhelpful when my partner had left his keys in the room by mistake and he was trying to get them back. I think that the staff there are just not happy to help at all, no body was smiling to welcoming, there was no "enjoy your stay" or "I hope you enjoyed your stay". Customer service was just appalling.

  • T Fenwick

  • September 2015

Double room

Room decoration ok, however the room was just so hot, no air conditioning.

The worst 2 nights sleep ever, unable to stay in the room for long periods as the whole room was unbearable. What a shame as hotel itself was fine.

  • Natalie C

  • September 2015

Last minute booking

Booked this hotel at 6.15pm to stay that night.

Got there at 8.30pm, hotel a little dated but clean and a great location for the city centre. Enquired about a fan at reception as we had a room with no window. The guy on reception instantly gave us a free room upgrade. Very happy with service 😊

  • N Scullin

  • September 2015

very special hotel made wonderful memories with my mum thankyou

Cant wait to stay ahain x beautiful

  • Akeem Atanda

  • September 2015

It was a good night

it was a nice experience and quite a good price and it was a good experience and I want to come back to the hotel