VILLAGE URBAN RESORT Chester St Davids

3

St. Davids Park, Ewloe, Chester, CH5 3YB

Price From 256.22 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (108)

77% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • N Bailey

  • August 2014

Food was rubbish

The food was dire so made for an unpleasant and "hungry" few days

  • Alun M

  • August 2014

Our stay.

The hotel and facilities itself are good value for what we paid.

We managed to get breakfast and leisure for a reasonable price. I don't often drink in hotel bars due to the inflated prices so therefore I wasn't surprised when I was charged near as dammit £9.00 for two drinks....the only thing that spoiled it for me was the noise of the hotel doors closing at night time. In general it sounded like a prison block when the doors were being closed by the other guests especially the Neanderthal who was in the room opposite us who periodically between 11pm and 3am kept returning to their room and allowing the door to slam. The room itself was comfortable and clean and the staff were apologetic for any inconvenience we had encountered but they can't be held responsible for one inconsiderate numpty. Despite the issue raised we would return but probably bring ear plugs just in case and a cool bag with a couple of beers in.

  • T Dawson

  • August 2014

Our anniversary stay

Overall very good the staff especially made it a good break.

The room was dark and we asked for an upgrade to the upper deck which was better. We ordered papers for 3 mornings which failed to arrive. The dinner was good but expensive as we were captive residents with no choice if we wanted a drink. The lack of information in our room was the worst I gave ever seen but your staff were extremely good and helpful. The piped music at mealtimes was awful!. It could have been more subtle and quieter . I love music but not when I am eating a romantic dinner with my wife

  • Paul S

  • July 2014

Great place to stay

Great hotel with everything you could need on site, a great place to stay to explore Chester and North Wales

  • Chris L

  • July 2014

Reasonable hotel, nice pub food upper deck not worth the extra

We paid the extra for the "upper deck" room with the bespoke drinks package and sky movies tv.

I would however, recommend avoiding these as they are really not worth the cost. The bespoke drinks sounded really promising and was something looked forward to as we got to the room, however, the coffee was "upgraded" to Starbucks branded sachets (6 in total), but the pack contained only a single hot chocolate. only a couple of teas and a handful of milks (which we had to request more of for a second cup each). All in all the room was average with some water damage to the ceiling and signs of a refresh needed, but otherwise a pleasant stay, its a shame the extras of the upper deck were a little oversold. The weather the night of our stay was hot, and unfortunately the provided fan did very little to cool a sweltering room and hotel. Some positives were the food in the village bar in the evening which was quick to arrive, hot and good quality as well as the breakfast which was extremely tasty and well stocked.

  • D Trowbridge

  • July 2014

Great place to stay

I've stayed at a lot of other 'chain' hotels, and this was by far the best.

Try de Vere before any else.

  • Sue H

  • July 2014

Great Hotel but a few very minor tweaks needed

We had a great weekend at the Village Urban St Davids but there are a couple of things that could be tweaked to provide guests with a better service: A coffee table in the room (we had an Upper Deck Room) would be really good.

There was a really good room service menu but if we'd ordered the ONLY place to eat was on the bed unless we'd eaten in relay and used the single chair at the dressing table/desk. Come on De Vere, think ahead about your guests and their requirements.

There's loads to do in and around Chester but there are no leaflets in Hotel reception offering you the chance to see these attractions. We knew where we wanted to go so just asked the Receptionist (who was VERY helpful) but it would have been good to see if there was anything else we could have done during our stay.

  • B Jackson

  • July 2014

Wonderful hotel

We stayed just one night recently for a wedding reception .

Room was brilliant , food just perfect , we had the fillet steak, the staff friendly and helpful , would love to visit agaln .

  • K Baldwin

  • July 2014

Fabulous service!

Stayed here for a wedding.

The staff could not do enough for us, even switching us to a different room at 3am with no fuss due to a clash of sound levels between occupants (snoring!). Rooms comfortable and quiet. You don't want to be by the lift as slightly noisy but the hotel tries not to put you there. Bar relaxed and fun, busy hotel with a lot going on but a great night's sleep. I really cannot praise the staff enough, they are really lovely and go the extra mile for you.

  • Robert Havlin

  • June 2014

Very good

I thought the staff were friendly and the hotel was vert nice good value for money