No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swallow Hotel Glasgow

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
517 Paisley Road West , Glasgow, G51 1RW
*Free Wifi now available throughout hotel*

The Swallow Glasgow is a busy, friendly, hotel on the outskirts of the city centre, offering an ideal base from which to enjoy the thriving and cultural city of Glasgow. The hotel is a great location for exploring the west coast of Scotland and is within easy reach of Glasgow Airport and main routes to the West Coast, Ayrshire, The Borders and Edinburgh. You are within walking disctance of Ibrox Stadium and the Science Centre.

The hotel hosts 116 bedrooms, all with private bathrooms and equipped with satellite television, telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and free wifi.

The restaurant and bar offer a range of dining offers from a snack to a steak, including a nightly menu and house specials.

The Swallow Glasgow hotel is widely known for its hospitality and friendly atmosphere, and with the city centre just a minutes drive away is the perfect city break for couples and groups alike.
Picture of Swallow Hotel Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
comfortable bed, clean, adequate for the price. Excellent breakfast as ever. helpful and friendly staff. only minus point carpets a little tired and room a bit too warm,

Reviewed by
Elspeth C

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Paint Me
Outside could do with a facelift. Staff friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
J Silke

From Co. Galway, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Depressing Exterior tired interior.
Had it not been for the sign on the wall we wouldn't have recognised this as a hotel. It looks more like the back of a 60s factory block. Uneven, shabby car park and entrance tucked away. We were told check in was delayed by half hour because the hotel had full occupancy last night the rooms were still being prepared. We went to get a drink in the bar and despite twice being told someone was coming it was half hour before we were served. A lack of staff was noticeable throughout our stay.
Our room was a good size with comfortable beds but was down two flights of stairs from the lift so not good for anyone with mobility problems. A strange smell in the bathroom was traced to avery damp and rotted bath surround. There seemed to be unresolved plumbing issues as the bath was very slow to drain when the shower over it wasused.
Both times we needed staff they were having a meal break in the dining room. Surely logic dictates that meal breaks be rostered when 24 hour reception is advertised.
Overall the hotel decor was tired and shabby with carpet held down by gaffer tape and everywhere needing a spruce up.
Breakfast was buffet andquite god with plenty of everything. It did seem odd though that coffee was in a pump pot rather than being brought to the table.
It's not well situated for eating out as the only (excellent) restaurant nearby La Fiorentina is a good half hour walk back towards town. Bus links are good but nothing nearby. Basically this is an ok place if you're just stopping overnight for a gig but not somewhere to stay for any length of time. Staff were very pleasant but just not enough of them.

Reviewed by
K Gibb

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

swallow hotel
easy to find, reception staff competent but a little impersonal. Room etc fine but maybe a little dreary. Good value for money . Clean

Reviewed by
m mackay

From Thurso, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and value for money
Stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was nice hotel, for what I paid it was great value, the staff were lovely. The food in the restaurant was very nice indeed! Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
s kelly

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My one night stay
Cheap and cheerful. Very dated and basic rooms. Very friendly staff

Reviewed by
J Ross

From Shotts, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast very good. The bedrooms and the outside of the the hotel are tired and badly in need of a makeover. The room was clean but the paintwork in the bathroom was showing mould due to lack of ventilation probably. Ok if you just need somewhere to stay for a couple of nights.

Reviewed by
Andrew L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for overnight stay
The hotel is exactly what I expected and is reflective of its' market audience. I am sure this is used by away fans for the football matches and concert-goers and has been abused over the years. The rooms are tired and in need of freshening up. EVERY door in the hotel slams shut and could benefit from soft closing door dampeners, as revellers returning from town may not be aware of the door slamming shut at 3 in the morning! The staff were very friendly and the breakfast the next morning was lovely and plentiful.

Reviewed by
T furniss

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for a short break
no real issues, room ok, food fine, had a problem with a noisy radiator all one off the night i told the reception about it in the morning and they said it happens and they would get it sorted, no apology and the lady new exactly what i was talking about and said it was the valve.

Reviewed by
David Pearson

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
Near city centre
Good food
friendly helpful staff
very accessible to motorway and to get to any point of Scotland

Reviewed by
George McCulloch

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next