No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swallow Hotel Glasgow

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
517 Paisley Road West , Glasgow, G51 1RW
*Free Wifi now available throughout hotel*

The Swallow Glasgow is a busy, friendly, hotel on the outskirts of the city centre, offering an ideal base from which to enjoy the thriving and cultural city of Glasgow. The hotel is a great location for exploring the west coast of Scotland and is within easy reach of Glasgow Airport and main routes to the West Coast, Ayrshire, The Borders and Edinburgh. You are within walking disctance of Ibrox Stadium and the Science Centre.

The hotel hosts 116 bedrooms, all with private bathrooms and equipped with satellite television, telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and free wifi.

The restaurant and bar offer a range of dining offers from a snack to a steak, including a nightly menu and house specials.

The Swallow Glasgow hotel is widely known for its hospitality and friendly atmosphere, and with the city centre just a minutes drive away is the perfect city break for couples and groups alike.
Picture of Swallow Hotel Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not sure
It was adequate for my needs for one night and with the special offer. However I felt it was a little tired - the decor - needs a makeover. Thought the breakfast was bland. It was all there - just not a lot of flavour to it. Also I despair with mushrooms being served like that - boiled instead of fried. Also someone dropped a pot of yoghurt on the carpet which unfortunately burst. The pot of yoghurt was picked up but the carpet was not wiped. I was there for 10 mins afterwards and nobody wiped it. Staff even walked over it! I thought that was sad. As I was going back up to my room I bumped into a chap who had just done a 12 hour shift and was desperate for his bed but he couldn't find his room. I tried to help him but I couldn't find the number either so he had to go back down to reception again to get directions!

Reviewed by
Franca B

From Castle Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good sound sleep
no problems as usual

Reviewed by
Richard S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for!
Not advised that there was no central heating in the room on arrival. Electric heater was left in the room which was adequate. No hot water on two separate occasions. Was offered a room change but couldn't be bothered moving everything again. Also had to pay for room up front on arrival.

Reviewed by
A Menzies

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swallow Hotel hidden little gem
a quiet and substantial hotel , could need a refurb but suspect a good sign of its popularity.
good steel access ramps at covered reception area. good hot breakfast eat as much as you like. friendly staff, polite and business like -breakfast staff particularly helpful.
Room was well heated lots of space and seating/storage -nice bed and shower to die for- mixer with real hot water and shower head on a hose -plus plus plus -(I ihate hotel fixed showers built in the roof lift good. easy parking on site and right next to main road but no room noise -windows open side hinge or bottom hinge as you choose. definitely use again- great value.

Reviewed by
MICHAEL C

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great accommodation
First, the internet didn't reach my room but I was easily and helpfully moved to another room which I appreciated. However, the tv volume wouldn't go above minimal, there was a leak in the bathroom roof into my shower area and the bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable, leading to very little sleep. Hotel very run down. Didn't go for breakfast as just wanted out of there.

Reviewed by
M Burns

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shabby but not chic.
Staff pleasant. Bed clean. Shower worked. Food edible.
But the housekeeper needs sorting! And some basic maintenance. There was dodgy stains on chairs and walls in the room to the point we wouldn't touch them....and there was buckets for the leaks around the foyer.

Reviewed by
Susan G

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our 2 nights stay - very good value - we try and stay there when visiting Glasgow

Reviewed by
David Bowen

From Invergarry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Sandra M

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend!
As soon as I walked into the hotel I was worried; it stunk of stale cigarette smoke and looked very dated. I resolved to give it the benefit of the doubt as the hotel staff I was greeted by were very helpful and polite. Upon entering my room it was obvious I should have gone with my gut instinct!
A window had been left open and the heating didn't work, meaning the room was so cold I had to keep my parka on. The bathroom was filthy and totally outdated. There were (questionable) hairs in both the bath and sink and the towels were even more disgusting. Of the two given, one was very obviously dirty and the other had dried blood on it!! Some of the electrical test stickers had test due dates of April 2011 which made me feel a bit worried, and upon unplugging the (filthy) hairdryer in the room the socket tried to come out of the wall with it! I ordered room service, which upon arrival was freezing cold and undercooked (well worth the £5 tray charge!)
When I complained about the room I was given another which was cleaner (although, admittedly, that wasn't difficult) and the heating worked so I was able to spend the evening without my winter coat on.
Had I not been made to pay upfront, I wouldn't have stayed for a second night. It was a real disappointment that the hotel was so bad, as the staff themselves were very good.

Reviewed by
G Richards

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable for central Glasgow... careful about the charges
The Swallow is convenient for work in Glasgow although do be careful. There is a charge when you use a credit card and I didn't realise until after I'd gone that they had charged me separately for the accomodation and for the meals so levelling two charges rather than just the one which should have been required.
Food was good and staff friendly enough... spoiled by the payment policy. I'll know better if I use it again.

Reviewed by
S Harrow

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next