No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swallow Hotel Glasgow

3Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
517 Paisley Road West , Glasgow, G51 1RW
*Free Wifi now available throughout hotel*

The Swallow Glasgow is a busy, friendly, hotel on the outskirts of the city centre, offering an ideal base from which to enjoy the thriving and cultural city of Glasgow. The hotel is a great location for exploring the west coast of Scotland and is within easy reach of Glasgow Airport and main routes to the West Coast, Ayrshire, The Borders and Edinburgh. You are within walking disctance of Ibrox Stadium and the Science Centre.

The hotel hosts 116 bedrooms, all with private bathrooms and equipped with satellite television, telephone, hospitality tray, hairdryer, iron & ironing board, and free wifi.

The restaurant and bar offer a range of dining offers from a snack to a steak, including a nightly menu and house specials.

The Swallow Glasgow hotel is widely known for its hospitality and friendly atmosphere, and with the city centre just a minutes drive away is the perfect city break for couples and groups alike.
Picture of Swallow Hotel Glasgow, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, tidy and comfortable
I found the hotel nice and pleasant to stay in. I think the hotel needs a little updating as the TV we had in our room was really old with a built in video player, which are no longer used for some time now. I think when the room was decorated, they could have made a bit more effort when putting the sealant and grout onto the tiles in the bathroom, as it looked like it was just quickly put there as it was all over the tiles around the ceiling. But the bathroom was clean non the less. The only problem I really had was that the hotel room was way to hot, as there was two radiators in there which were on full with no way to turn them off, so I had to have the window open all day/night when I was in the hotel. On the whole it was a nice and pleasant hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
L Powell

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A sad weekend to stay in Glasgow with a helicopter crash the night before.
We love coming to the Swallow Hotel it's out of town and we know the area.We travel to town on the tube and it's not far away.Its a few years since we have been the staff are FANTASTIC and all speak English which is rare nowadays.The rooms are clean but our one is in need of an upgrade R215. We shall be back in the New Year but only on offer weekends. A Happy New Year to all at Swallow Hotel Glasgow.

Reviewed by
T Day

From Peterhead, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
The Swallow Hotel isn't 5 star or maybe even 3 star but it's got the basics and is really close to the City Centre. You can walk there in 20/30 minutes, get on the Subway (5mins walk away) or just get a taxi (costs around £6-7). It's not really a romantic hotel or one for the family but for one night it's ideal.

Reviewed by
W Marshall

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the greatest but would use again.
Hotel generally is very nice with polite and helpful staff. Breakfast was very nice which added to the value for money. Hotel is ideally placed for the city centre and the west end but so close that you're going to be bothered by late night revellers. Our only criticism was the dated rooms. They were clean and the beds were comfortable but it was very, very dated. That said we would use again but I wouldn't pay any more than we did.

Reviewed by
D mann

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap as chips.....but
You only get what you pay for. Hotel definetly in need of major refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Scott A

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swallow Hotel
The reception was welcoming and bright. Bar area and restaurant were very clean and well organised. A most enjoyable stop over.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Grangemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and comfortable hotel at a budget price.
Friendly and helpful staff provided a warm welcome and comfortable overnight stay. room was clean and tidy, well organised breakfast arrangements and good quality food. overall excellent value hotel. would recommend if you are on a budget like me.

Reviewed by
John Coyle

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rare stay
Interesting. My wife and I were having a rare visit to Glasgow to attend the Andre Botelli concert at the new Hydro. The hotel is actually quite handy as it only takes about 8 minutes to travel from the hotel to Hydro.
The Hotel itself was clean,and staff friendly and welcoming. The only downside was, that the hotel looks tired and the rooms look like a good renovation would not go amiss. Outside was untidy and could do with a good clean.
We had a bar meal and the food was hot and beautifully cooked., very tasty indeed .
I would stay there again, but not for a long term stay.

Reviewed by
T Currie

From Tighnabruaich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Upgrading Required
The entire hotel is in need of an upgrade, from the wallpaper to soft furnishings. Don't think hotel has had money spent on it for about 30 years. Wallpaper was hanging off the walls in our room.

Reviewed by
k sinclair

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best days behind it but offers a good deal
Swallow has been in administration for years, and has become distinctly shabby. But the room rates have been brought down to compensate and it is very fair value. Rooms are well equipped, plenty of free parking and the hotel is quiet.

Reviewed by
Donald H

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next