Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa


1 Ripon Road, Harrogate, HG1 2SY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (86)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Matthew S

  • October 2015

Hotels great just laterooms that wern't

I didn't get to stay where I've booked.

Due to laterooms site not confirming my booking form the previous day.

The hotel seemed nice and the staff were quick to arrange something for me and were quite helpful.

  • Anna t

  • October 2015

Excellent staff

The hotel is beautiful and I'm pleased to say the rooms are getting a facelift.

Will be fantastic when it's finished. The small size of the lift lets its down a bit when you have a wheelchair. The single beds in the upgraded rooms are also a bit small. Other than that, a really good place to stay.

  • Mark W

  • October 2015


Almost everything about this place disappointed, but if I'd realised its mainstay is bus tours I'd have been less surprised.

The public areas had a lingering smell, perhaps cooking oil?. I'd requested, in advance, a room away from traffic noise. I got one right on the main road, with bags of noise until the early hours, and was told it couldn't be changed. The room was a dingy, brown, very, very tired sad single, with tired towels and the tiniest and tinniest television I've yet seen in a hotel room. Scuffed paintwork, worn fitments, and a stained ceiling. Carpets throughout the hotel were grubby. The small pool and sauna (the alleged 'spa') were actually OK. Breakfast offered a limited choice geared for a bus tour budget. I was relieved of £85 on arrival for the 'pleasure' of this night's stay. You can be pretty sure they're not charging the bus tours that rate for this offering. Nobody asked at check out if everything was OK.

  • Michael C

  • October 2015

Not for the under 50s

We booked a room at the StGeorge Hotel, having considered previous reviews.

We only wanted a 1 night stay in Harrogate. On arrival the staff were friendly. The room was disappointing - dingy and with cobwebs in the corners of the rooms. The 'Spa' was pokey and unclean and disappointing. The hotel clientele seems to be predominantly elderly folk on coach trips. For the under 50s you may feel out of place. For us we paid £69 for the room and I guess it proved value for money in the grand scheme of things.

  • N Cavanagh

  • September 2015

Short stay

Old hotel with character.

Second stay at the hotel. Stayed because of the pool and sauna which is good. Very busy on night of stay as it was on my first stay. Friendly staff

  • David Pullum

  • September 2015

Poor hotel overpriced

My room was dirty, noise level from the street kept me awake all night and the cleaner opened my door to clean room at 8.00am ish

  • Rosemary Wells

  • August 2015

A very tired hotel in need of a good clean and repair.

The main reception area looks as if it has been refurbished in the last couple of years but the bedrooms and bathrooms are in need of total updates, tape round radiators and rust around the bath and vanity units along with a shower that looks as if it has been there since the hotel opened.

The staff are not very adaptable in doing more than one job in the dining room with a look of shear horror when asked for a clean cup and glass as they both were dirty. I don't think there is enough staff on duty at a breakfast time to cope with coach loads of people also you need to make sure cleaners know they have corners in rooms that like cobwebs and dust especially in the dining room. the food was a very average breakfast with no taste and not a lot of choice with items running out quickly. In the bar if the beer is off let the barman that comes on a later shift know as no message is passed from one member of staff to another. on the plus side a good location for town centre.

  • Laura G

  • August 2015

Greeted by a lovely guy on front desk.

Recommended somewhere to go and information about late night entry into the hotel. Hotels furnishings are lovely and modern and breakfast was great value for money with lots of choice. Stayed in On first floor with view of Royal baths which was a lovely room with great view and well furnished too but beware with weekend stays due to Harrogates thriving nightlife!!. Get one at the other side of the building if you're a light sleeper. Can't wait to come back, ideal location and great service

  • karen h

  • July 2015

Very disappointing

Arrived at hotel to find no parking available despite requesting it when booking.

Took over an hour to find a parking space in town at a cost of £14 and limited to 24 hours so limited our stay at event. Room not ready but expected that. Paid 140 for a room that I would struggle to pay £50 for. Extremely dirty, poor quality furnishings, holes in bathroom wall and toilet roll holder fell off the wall. Complained to manager but he said he could charge this price as there was an event on and other hotels charging the same, didn't seem interested in our complaint. Wil not stay again

  • Louise V

  • July 2015

Very average

I was disappointed with this hotel (bar the lovely staff in the gym and spa, who were great, and I had an excellent massage/facial).

I couldn't get wifi or 3G in my room or in the lobby. I asked for a coffee in the lobby but had to cancel the order because I had an appointment to go to, and after half an hour the coffee still hadn't arrived. There was black mould around the tiles in the bathroom, and the window only opened six inches (no fan or aircon) and so the room was really stuffy.