No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Ripon Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SY
Situated in the heart of Harrogate on the main A61 road to Ripon and adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre's Exhibition Halls and Royal Hall, the elegant, spacious St.George Hotel is ideally situated for an enjoyable break for individuals, couples and families alike. This spacious Edwardian hotel is an ideal retreat for a weekend break. As soon as you arrive at the hotel, you will immediately feel a sense of warmth and relaxation. After a stroll around Harrogate or a visit to one of many local attractions, relax and unwind in the extensive lounge area where you can enjoy afternoon tea or a light snack. Alternatively, why not indulge yourself in the hotel?s leisure club with an indoor heated pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym, weights room and solarium. Beauty treatments are also available to hotel guests at a small charge. As evening approaches, enjoy a drink in the Terrace Bar before a sumptuous meal in the hotel's restaurant, offering an extensive menu and wine list. Limited on site parking is charged at £5 per car per day. Please contact the hotel to reserve a space.
Picture of St George Hotel and Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 142 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Value
This Hotel is in a good location and our half price one night stay was good value but the rooms really do need an upgrade. That said the staff were friendly and the breakfast(included) was good.

Reviewed by
C Wilson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasant
A very pleasant stay at the George. I have stayed a few times in the past and feel they have improved everything from the service to the decor.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good size, ageing decor in rooms.
The place was clean but was in definite need of some TLC, bathroom was pretty crappy-looking, shower was awful and the rooms sorely need some privacy curtains that let in light. I don't think the price reflected the conditions of the rooms but was ok for a one night stay.

Reviewed by
M Wilson

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
What can I say, won't stay there again !

Reviewed by
petra m

From Windsor, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
A group of 4 of us stayed here for a friend's wedding do, after some reviews we read we were excited to stay in this 'hotel and spa'. Unfortunately we were disappointed with what we found. Very poor customer service, a rude man on the desk that didn't seem to understand much of what we said. When someone had removed our name from the reserved space their answer was to park in someone else's - undoubtedly causing problems further down the line when the other guests arrived. The room was dingy, smelly and damp. Some have been renovated but the ones that haven't aren't nice to be in at all. Luckily we weren't planning on spending much time in the room. Again the next day the staff we encountered were rude, apart from a few younger lads who'd been working the bar the night before. The most shocking issue unfortunately happened in another wedding guests room - when they came to go to bed the mattress and sheets were soaking - it smelt of urine. When she complained the staff had the audacity to suggest that she had been drunk the night before (would you draw attention to a bed you wet yourself?!). Luckily they eventually got a full refund on the room, but it's an example of lazy staff and unacceptable standards. I'm just glad we got a LateRooms price - as we wouldn't have been happy paying the £144 price for a walk in on the day!

Reviewed by
Lauren M

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

j

Reviewed by
J Garrod

From Leeds, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room
Only spent one night here but the room was really nice and large. The bathroom was slightly outdated but very clean. The building is lovely with large public areas with a warm feeling from the decor and also the staff. Would stay there again definitely!

Reviewed by
A Wilsdon

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a pleasant stay
My single room had a large comfortable bed. The room was clean but had not yet been redecorated like those on the floor below.
If you're out after midnight you have to ring a bell to be let in!
The location is good- very convenient for the Royal Hall and Gilbert and Sullivan Festival.
The only negative was the shower. It may be a third floor issue, but the shower's flow was intermittent at best and a hair wash took at least 25 minutes!

Reviewed by
Alex L

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value.
A while since we last stayed here.
Accommodation improved but breakfast disappointing. Choice and quality reasonable but not outstanding.

Reviewed by
Elliott H

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was small . Although clean ,we had a generator goin off for a gud while.

Reviewed by
Melanie W

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next