No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 Ripon Road , Harrogate, HG1 2SY
Situated in the heart of Harrogate on the main A61 road to Ripon and adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre's Exhibition Halls and Royal Hall, the elegant, spacious St.George Hotel is ideally situated for an enjoyable break for individuals, couples and families alike. This spacious Edwardian hotel is an ideal retreat for a weekend break. As soon as you arrive at the hotel, you will immediately feel a sense of warmth and relaxation. After a stroll around Harrogate or a visit to one of many local attractions, relax and unwind in the extensive lounge area where you can enjoy afternoon tea or a light snack. Alternatively, why not indulge yourself in the hotel?s leisure club with an indoor heated pool, spa, steam room, sauna, gym, weights room and solarium. Beauty treatments are also available to hotel guests at a small charge. As evening approaches, enjoy a drink in the Terrace Bar before a sumptuous meal in the hotel's restaurant, offering an extensive menu and wine list. Limited on site parking is charged at £5 per car per day. Please contact the hotel to reserve a space.
Picture of St George Hotel and Spa, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 148 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a nice Hotel with a good position, but we were given a very poor room and having stayed in much better room the night before for less than half the price we felt it was VERY poor value for money. A note for anyone arriving by car. The car park is inadequate for the Hotel and a car parking space must be pre-booked.

Reviewed by
Mark H

From Crewkerne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Consider carefully
This hotel is a Coast & Country hotel, a chain that regularly advertises in the weekend press and with whom I had long considered staying. Glad I got a very special 2 night r/o rate with Late Rooms because that was all The St George is worth. Pros: very centrally located, right opposite the Harrogate Conference Centre and v. close to Valley Gardens, Bettys and town centre shop; very helpful receptionists; excellent restaurant next door. Cons: room was tired and bathroom was tatty. The in-room info. explained clearly that their target market is elderly people, which their website doesn't indicate. Had window open during hot weather but was woken by noise from the nightclub about 200m away, which was a shame. Based on this experience, I will give this hotel chain a miss in future.

Reviewed by
Christine J

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
The room was booked, specifying my late arrival. On arriving, just after midnight, I was greeted by the night porter who told me he had no reservation, and there were no available rooms.
Eventually he went to look, and found a twin room, ( I had booked a double ).
He couldn't provide me with a VAT receipt in the morning, as I apparently hadn't been checked in " on the system "

Reviewed by
Richard H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

luxury spa what a joke really grotty.
we were given a really small dark room with a view of a wall. extremly hot, not able to open the windows more than 2ins due to security.
I booked 2 rooms together in March and asked for a garden view, at least the rooms where on the same floor but not next to eachother.

Reviewed by
maz thompson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and convenient
Good hotel. Room clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. Excellent central location convenient for all Harrogate attractions.

Reviewed by
Claire D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old style elegance
Lovely hotel - old fashioned but in a lovely elegant way! Great customer service. We stayed during the Tour de France and it was unbelievably busy and yet we never had to queue for anything or wait around. Would stay there again?

Reviewed by
Clare B

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tour De France Weekend Stay
Great location for the tour, however the hotel rooms are a little tired and could do with a refresh. The evening meal was not an experience I would like to repeat, food was substandard, to order pate and not have toast but shop bought french toast out of a packet set the scene.Although the buffet breakfast was an improvement on dinner. The staff do try their best are very friendly, but seem to lack leadership and direction , and would benefit from standard uniforms.

Reviewed by
a raine

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great place to stay
great customer service - Agnes sorted out all things that needed doing to ensure a very comfortable stay. A really nice comfortable place to stay - to be honest - I think its the only place to stay in Harrogate - only had one night there - would have stayed longer - but they were fully booked over the Tour de Yorkshire week-end - but fully intend to go back later in the year - for longer and use all the facilities

Reviewed by
Dean L

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints for the rate paid
Our room was a little 'tired' and need of a coat of paint. However the bedrooms are being updated during a programme of renovation. Suited us as we just needed a bed for the night near the Royal Hall.

Reviewed by
Julia H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for what I paid
The room was clean and comfortable, and not too noisy considering there was a wedding going on the same evening. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Bernard E

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next