You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa

3

1 Ripon Road, Harrogate, HG1 2SY

Price From 133.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (54)

61% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • neil b

  • July 2016

Rude unfriendly receptionist ruined my stay

Pleasant place to stay it was just such a shame that the receptionists made me feel unwelcome and a nuisance to him.

On checking in I asked what time the restaurant served dinner from and was met with a scrunched up face stating as I didn't book a table that morning it's unlikely id be able to eat there. So I asked can you see if there's I can and he told me that I needed to when the restaurant opened.. He and I were the only two people around so he wasn't rushed off his feet to make a quick phone call. So I was forced to wander around the city to find somewhere that was happy to cater for me.

In the morning the same grumpy ogre failed to enquire if I enjoyed my stay, if everything was ok for me so that sums it up he couldn't give a damn. Breakfast was ok but not a vast selection to choose from.

The swimming pool smelt of old sweaty men's socks due to old sweaty men having a steam or sauna and not showering before coming in I guess so that was an experience.

Would I stay here again, possibly once I'm like the majority of the guests who were staying, over 70 and have lost my sense of smell, appetite and I'm on a coach tour of the area with other senior citizens.

Overpriced compared to other rival hotels nearby that offer far more.

  • Steve Walton

  • January 2016

Only stay if you can not get anywhere better and YOU MUST be in centre of Harrogate

The title is the summary 1.

Car park had vans all over taking two spaces on four bays

2. Front of house is sloppy to say the least - waited 10 minutes to check in

3. On arrival complaints from other guests that rooms cold - advised due to building work it was only 1 degree outside so surely they should have thought about this

4. No food whatsoever. - due to building work what a joke charging top rate prices and bottom rate service

5. On check out it took 15 minutes to check me out at 6.45 with no other guests around - it wasn't that they were busy with breakfast as no food - complete joke

6. The room whilst cold was clean and tidy but the décor requires serious modernisation

Would not stay here again.

  • Julia H

  • January 2016

Good location

Friendly staff, ok hotel in the middle of having kitchen refurbished so no food or drinks available, even struggled to get glasses and no ice for ice buckets.

Spa ok, excellent location. Room ok, comfy bed, negatives - bathroom window wouldn't close and blind covered in black mould.

  • Gail W

  • December 2015

Visit to Harrogate

Unfortunately the room I was given was at the front of the hotel so was very noisy.

I was woken up at 4.00am one morning with noisy people shouting outside. The double glazing was broken so I also had draft but managed to stop the window from banging against the wind by putting a tissue between the panes. The lighting was also very poor. The reason for my visit was to see my elderly father so I didn't feel the need to ask for another room as I was only there for 2 days but if I return again with my husband I will be ensuring I have a nicer room.

  • Mark C

  • December 2015

Central location, spacious accommodation, good breakfast

Excellently situated opposite Baths.

Large spacious room, a little tired but clean enough. Spa good. Parking on site £5 per day. Would stay again.

  • Matthew S

  • October 2015

Hotels great just laterooms that wern't

I didn't get to stay where I've booked.

Due to laterooms site not confirming my booking form the previous day.

The hotel seemed nice and the staff were quick to arrange something for me and were quite helpful.

  • Anna t

  • October 2015

Excellent staff

The hotel is beautiful and I'm pleased to say the rooms are getting a facelift.

Will be fantastic when it's finished. The small size of the lift lets its down a bit when you have a wheelchair. The single beds in the upgraded rooms are also a bit small. Other than that, a really good place to stay.

  • Mark W

  • October 2015

Unpleasant

Almost everything about this place disappointed, but if I'd realised its mainstay is bus tours I'd have been less surprised.

The public areas had a lingering smell, perhaps cooking oil?. I'd requested, in advance, a room away from traffic noise. I got one right on the main road, with bags of noise until the early hours, and was told it couldn't be changed. The room was a dingy, brown, very, very tired sad single, with tired towels and the tiniest and tinniest television I've yet seen in a hotel room. Scuffed paintwork, worn fitments, and a stained ceiling. Carpets throughout the hotel were grubby. The small pool and sauna (the alleged 'spa') were actually OK. Breakfast offered a limited choice geared for a bus tour budget. I was relieved of £85 on arrival for the 'pleasure' of this night's stay. You can be pretty sure they're not charging the bus tours that rate for this offering. Nobody asked at check out if everything was OK.

  • Michael C

  • October 2015

Not for the under 50s

We booked a room at the StGeorge Hotel, having considered previous reviews.

We only wanted a 1 night stay in Harrogate. On arrival the staff were friendly. The room was disappointing - dingy and with cobwebs in the corners of the rooms. The 'Spa' was pokey and unclean and disappointing. The hotel clientele seems to be predominantly elderly folk on coach trips. For the under 50s you may feel out of place. For us we paid £69 for the room and I guess it proved value for money in the grand scheme of things.

  • N Cavanagh

  • September 2015

Short stay

Old hotel with character.

Second stay at the hotel. Stayed because of the pool and sauna which is good. Very busy on night of stay as it was on my first stay. Friendly staff