You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - St George Hotel and Spa

3

1 Ripon Road, Harrogate, HG1 2SY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (45)

62% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Anne R

  • September 2016

St George hotel review

Our room the decor was shabby the bathroom had a broken sink & peeling paint the corridors really need a spruce up

  • D Martin

  • September 2016

/

.

  • jamie ayers

  • August 2016

Pleasant enough. No complaints at all. Wouldn't hesitate to return

Read mixed reviews of this hotel after I had booked it, and recent ones too, but my experience was a pleasant one and I didn't really see anything to complain about.

The room was basic but clean with a very nice en-suite. The staff were very pleasant. I can understand why people would say they could be more helpful, but I actually find staff can sometimes find that stifling and be left to it so I feel that is down to personal preference. I found them helpful enough. I paid £1.50 a day for breakfast included in my booking and was easily worth that and was nice enough. I unfortunately did not have time to try the leisure facilities provided at the hotel. The price was perhaps at the extreme end of its bracket in some ways, but not comparatively for the town, therefor it's hard to argue with it, and the hotel is very central which should also be taken into account. All in all my stay was pleasant enough and I have absolutely no complaints at all and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • David F

  • August 2016

Nice Victorian hotel of character

Very spacious indeed.

More character than a modern hotel. Good breakfast. Very good location.

  • neil b

  • July 2016

Rude unfriendly receptionist ruined my stay

Pleasant place to stay it was just such a shame that the receptionists made me feel unwelcome and a nuisance to him.

On checking in I asked what time the restaurant served dinner from and was met with a scrunched up face stating as I didn't book a table that morning it's unlikely id be able to eat there. So I asked can you see if there's I can and he told me that I needed to when the restaurant opened.. He and I were the only two people around so he wasn't rushed off his feet to make a quick phone call. So I was forced to wander around the city to find somewhere that was happy to cater for me.

In the morning the same grumpy ogre failed to enquire if I enjoyed my stay, if everything was ok for me so that sums it up he couldn't give a damn. Breakfast was ok but not a vast selection to choose from.

The swimming pool smelt of old sweaty men's socks due to old sweaty men having a steam or sauna and not showering before coming in I guess so that was an experience.

Would I stay here again, possibly once I'm like the majority of the guests who were staying, over 70 and have lost my sense of smell, appetite and I'm on a coach tour of the area with other senior citizens.

Overpriced compared to other rival hotels nearby that offer far more.

  • Steve Walton

  • January 2016

Only stay if you can not get anywhere better and YOU MUST be in centre of Harrogate

The title is the summary 1.

Car park had vans all over taking two spaces on four bays

2. Front of house is sloppy to say the least - waited 10 minutes to check in

3. On arrival complaints from other guests that rooms cold - advised due to building work it was only 1 degree outside so surely they should have thought about this

4. No food whatsoever. - due to building work what a joke charging top rate prices and bottom rate service

5. On check out it took 15 minutes to check me out at 6.45 with no other guests around - it wasn't that they were busy with breakfast as no food - complete joke

6. The room whilst cold was clean and tidy but the décor requires serious modernisation

Would not stay here again.

  • Julia H

  • January 2016

Good location

Friendly staff, ok hotel in the middle of having kitchen refurbished so no food or drinks available, even struggled to get glasses and no ice for ice buckets.

Spa ok, excellent location. Room ok, comfy bed, negatives - bathroom window wouldn't close and blind covered in black mould.

  • Gail W

  • December 2015

Visit to Harrogate

Unfortunately the room I was given was at the front of the hotel so was very noisy.

I was woken up at 4.00am one morning with noisy people shouting outside. The double glazing was broken so I also had draft but managed to stop the window from banging against the wind by putting a tissue between the panes. The lighting was also very poor. The reason for my visit was to see my elderly father so I didn't feel the need to ask for another room as I was only there for 2 days but if I return again with my husband I will be ensuring I have a nicer room.

  • Mark C

  • December 2015

Central location, spacious accommodation, good breakfast

Excellently situated opposite Baths.

Large spacious room, a little tired but clean enough. Spa good. Parking on site £5 per day. Would stay again.

  • Matthew S

  • October 2015

Hotels great just laterooms that wern't

I didn't get to stay where I've booked.

Due to laterooms site not confirming my booking form the previous day.

The hotel seemed nice and the staff were quick to arrange something for me and were quite helpful.