No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Dairy

4Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
72 HIGH STREET , OLNEY, MK46 4BE
PLEASE NOTE: WE CANNOT ACCEPT PAYMENT BY CARD. CASH OR CHEQUE ONLY.

The Old Dairy is a fine old house dating back to the 17th century and is situated on the High Street in the picturesque market town of Olney. The house has had an eventful history having been substantially rebuilt in 1779 after a fire which devastated much of Olney (burnt timbers and stonework can still be seen today). It has been two public houses, the Bell and the Two Coopers and most recently the town's dairy. The house has been refurbished to modern standards but still retains much character from a bygone age.

The proprietors, Nigel and Jane Gregory, having many years experience in the hotel trade, realised the need for short term, fully serviced, self catering accommodation in the area. They have converted of an old barn in the courtyard at the rear of their home into two, luxury, self contained, studio apartments. Providing a cost effective alternative to hotel accommodation for business people and tourists alike.

The Old Dairy offers high standards of decor, furnishing, and comfort. The apartments are fully equipped and provide serviced accommodation for guests wishing to stay tone or more nights. The Old Dairy is a non-smoking establishment.

Kitchen area equipped with microwave, hotplates, refrigerator, utensils and crockery. Living area includes desk / dressing table, dining facilities, double bed, easy chairs, television. Ensuite shower room contains wc, sink, shower. Services include weekly cleaning and linen, all utilities, private access, secure car parking.

Guests are provided with a starter pack of fresh milk, tea, coffee, sugar and cereals.

Wi-Fi access in all rooms.

Picture of The Old Dairy, OLNEY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 99% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb on every level!
What a fantastic experience, from beginning to end. The owners are wonderful and the room was so beautiful I would happily have stayed for a month! My boyfriend was treated to a stay here as a treat for Valentine's Day, and he also enjoyed every moment of his stay! The room was spotless, beautifully decorated and the most homely room I have ever had the pleasure to stay in! I have already booked another stay for my birthday in June!

Reviewed by
Annabel Walker

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good low key accommodation
Two units situated behind the main house with independent rear access. Self catering breakfast with milk and cereal - plenty of tea bags and cups (for a change). Comfortable room and bed with a homely feel. Shower curtained rather than solid sides and electric shower not particularly forthcoming. No shampoo.

Reviewed by
Mike M

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful and peacful
Lovely place to stay. It is in the centre of the market square but also very quite. I am looking forward to returning with my family, if only I could take the dog. Highly recommend the Old Dairy.

Reviewed by
G Williams

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate for our purposes
We were visiting friends over Christmas and needed overnight accommodation because they had a full house. We found The Old Dairy online. The accommodation did not have a great deal of character. Access was from the rear of the property and not very convenient. Hosts did provide cereal, fresh milk and tea/coffee making supplies in lieu of a breakfast.. Upon arrival, we were shown through the host's house to the accommodation through the middle of a family party, which was a little strange.

Reviewed by
Graham Hodge

From East Aurora, USA
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfectly formed.
Great spot within easy walking distance of Olney town. Comfortable bed and small kitchenette.
Very clean and quiet. Owners friendly but unobtrusive. Will always stay when in the area.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation
Really clean and excellent value for money. Proprieters really friendly .
Safe & secure parking would definatley stay again.

Reviewed by
N Emblin

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

highly recommend
A very comfortable room with everything you could need to make your stay pleasant, owners were really friendly and accommodating would definitely stay again and have already recommended to my work colleagues family and friends.

Reviewed by
s watson

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Dairy
This is excellent accommodation, well appointed, quiet and clean, and one is made welcome. Only a small selection of cereals, tea, coffee and milk were provided for breakfast. The experience would be greatly improved if, even at a small additional cost, some bread, butter and preserves could be added.

Reviewed by
J Lonie

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation at a good rate

Reviewed by
John M

From Newtownabbey, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet and comfortable
Lovely stay - self catering facility available in self-contained unit with handy off road parking.

Reviewed by
Suzanne R

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next