No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 474 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For money paid - Notbad
For under £50 was a reasonable room. Breakfast was not very good.

Reviewed by
Billy B

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow Stopover
Stayed here 7 times and will continue to do so. Bedrooms always clean, warm, and comfortable with all your needs for an overnight stay. Breakfast 10 out of 10 excellent selection and bar prices fair. Also in execellent position for shoppers, staff, and management always willing to assist at any time.

Reviewed by
malcolm c

From Rothesay, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drab and depressing
Hotel room was shabby door didn't shut on toilet and bed was awful had to wedge open window to get air and room smelt of smoke

Reviewed by
Tracey M

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Glasgow
As described.

Reviewed by
g morley

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alexander Thomson Hotel
I was really impressed.

Reviewed by
M R

From England
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location but very quiet rooms spotless reception very helpful breakfast adequate
Breakfast food was a bit cold but maybe this was because I was quite late eating

Reviewed by
I Tear

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My experience
Great value for money, clean and furnished, exceptionally good complimentary breakfast. That could be made better is to have some bath mat in bathroom which seemed to get damp very easily.

Reviewed by
O Kandukuru

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

General
Helpful and friendly staff. Nice sized room with all basic amenities, great self service breakfast, good quality food, comfortable bed, clean and tidy room and in a great location.

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Sudbury , UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel convenient for Central Glasgow
I have stayed at this hotel before on several occasions, and I find it a satisfacotry hotel, usually reasonably priced, and convenient for Central Galsgow. I was given the type of room that I requested with an en-suite bathtub. The room was of a reasonable size, but was cold on arrival on a cold February day, in that the radiator was turned off and the window was open, which meant the first half an hour was uncomfortable! The room warmed up reasonably quickly with the radiator turned full on and the heated towel rail in the bathroon turned on. The room was generally comfortable and clean and everything worked OK. There was only one chair provided and this would be unsatisfactory if two people were sharing the room. In room 522, the window was old, and the frame in desparate need of repair, and it let in a draft. it was very energy inefficient. Staff were polite and helpful. Wi-Fi is provided free, as long as you do not have too many appliances. There was no shaver point in the bathroom, and no face flannel was provided. Breakfast is average in a hot buffet format. No fresh fruit is offered, and this definitely spoils breakfast.

Reviewed by
M Gardiner

From Kyle, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 night stay
We had booked a triple room, which was large, clean and warm. Not enough pillows, towels and mugs we're provided but happily taken to our room when requested. However, The room was quite dated and the lighting was dreary.
My main bug bear was being woken through the night by other guests arriving back to their rooms very late singing and shouting. Then the fire alarm went off, obviously drunk guests smoking in the hotel corridor. So didn't get very much sleep the first night.
Breakfast was good, the staff extremely polite and helpful, and the location was ideal.

Reviewed by
D Henderson

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next