No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 432 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good Value
Large rooms with good shower. Customer service very good.

Reviewed by
Karen P

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Stayed here for one night with my daughter as we were going to Glasgow University Open day. Perfect location - so close to the shops/stations and underground. Hotel a bit tired in the reception areas and corridors but we had a lovely modern huge room with 2 double beds and lounge area and newly refurbished bathroom. Bed and breakfast for £53 was a bargain. Room had plenty of towels, free bottles of water, biscuits and coffee etc. Nice breakfast in the morning after a good night's sleep

Reviewed by
Judith S

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good City Break
Efficient staff, queries dealt with quickly. Location spot on for sightseeing and for main line trains.

Reviewed by
K CHESTER

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok
Hotel was OK for the money - cheap, room a bit shabby but no issues overall. Was on the first floor and had some noise from the air con in the kitchen below but it didn't affect my sleep. Breakfast moderate quality. Would use again.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A few hours stay-Good impression
We arrived at 3:30am at Glasgow Airport so we practicaly stayed there for a few hours.
There was a small problem with the checkin as we were given a room for 2 and we were 3 but that was fixed easily.
Room was ok. Personally I don't like showers that are fixed on top and you cannot move the 'telephone'. I don't know if all rooms are like that.
Breakfast very good with everything.
Location great in the city centre and towards the river.

Reviewed by
Ioannis G

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
This hotel was cheaper than others we could find. The room was ok, quiet and reasonably clean, though the bathroom floor was a little dirty in the corners. Mostly the staff were very pleasant but one of them was decidedly unfriendly. We had to wait for around 10mins for a table at breakfast. The food was ok, though no fresh fruit and the bread was stale. The hot food was ok and there were fruit juices. You get what you pay for and this was appropriately priced.

Reviewed by
Laura L

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolutely beautiful hotel with a unique blend of victorianism mixed with modern styles.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a lovely young woman who couldn't have been nicer. The hotel looked gorgeous from the lobby with a beautiful winding staircase. As we were finding our way to our room we were amazed by the size of the hotel as it doesn't seem very large from the outside. Our amazement continued as we entered the room. With it being a corner room, we had two large windows from two walls creating a sense of large space and lots of great lighting. The room was clean and up to standards and our night was peaceful and comfortable. I would definitely recommend the Alexander Thompson to everybody and would of course choose to stay there again.

Reviewed by
E Bennett

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms ok for money

Reviewed by
d smith

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central location with good service but tired feel.
From outside was a bit sceptical of the choice as the building and entrance look dated and tired. Friendly helpful reception staff. Painfully slow lift, room simple but tired looking. Breakfast served buffet style but quality of produce was low quality.

Reviewed by
B Fox

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great central hotel
Great position near central station. Staff very helpful. Rooms have just been refurbished. Everything you need. Luggage room to leave your cases before and after check in. Discounted car parking .
Good value for money. Buffett breakfast.
Will definatrly book this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Patricia T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next