No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 449 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth it !
Very comfortable - very conveniently situated - excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Leslie Ross

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Receptionist not helpful, allocated double rom when we had booked twin, and receptionist wouldn't accept my written confirmation, but did reluctantly allocate an alternative room. Food good at breakfast though and rooms clean and spacious, and very good value, just need to work on customer service in advance of Commonwealth games!

Reviewed by
K A

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Very Central great for shopping restaurants and night life staff very helpful breakfast very good with plenty of choice when we return we will request a room to the back of hotel as the front was quite noisy we were in room 313 which was very good only the noise from the traffic let it down

Reviewed by
James Watt

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City Central
The room was very good - newly refurbished. Staff very helpful. Coffee/Tea/Biscuits replenished daily. Excellent location for centre of the city. Walking distance. Railway station almost next door. Car parking was a little further but as we arrived at 5pm on Saturday, used the nearest street with parking meters £3.00 till 6pm and FREE till 8.00am Monday (when we left).
Staff were very helpful, even before we arrived as we had to telephone to find out where we could park. Directions were very good (Valerie). We had to drive round the one way street systems a couple of times before we found the car park but decided to take advantage of the parking meters.
Being a city centre hotel there is a bit noise and the karaoke from the pub on the corner was loud late into the night.
Continental breakfast organised for us by reception as we had an early start on Sunday. Later relaxed in the lounge which was pleasant and well appointed.
Breakfast on both days was good.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
david w

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was not attractive from the out side and appeared run down. However we found the Room to be 1st class and the Staff provided a good and pleasant service. The morning breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
D Cole

From Bishops Waltham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Hotel was cheap and cheerful. Great location in the city centre. No parking which is not so great and says when booking you can find day parking for £6 but hotel directed us to a parking lot that charges £14 per day. Breakfast was good in the morning.

Reviewed by
G Scott

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay, staff excellent
We had a brilliant stay, only bad thing was the lack of air conditioning but the room was comfortable and clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
C PERRY

From Isle of Mull, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and better
All facilities are good, included breakfast and all

Reviewed by
Girish Kamble

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value Hotel
Hotel is located about 2 minutes walk from the Central Station. The area is a little more run down than the more central parts of the city centre but you still feel like you're in the city. I'd asked for a quiet room and was on the 5th floor at the back, it was nice and quiet! Room was large but fairly basic, Evenything worked fine and there was plenty of water, tea/coffee. For a night or two it was fine. The breakfast option was varied but just ok from a taste perspective. Considering the price included a city centre room, breakfast and free wifi, my view is that it is excellent value. I will use this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Matt M

From Sandbach, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Adequate & does the job
Hotel is in a good location close to central station, restaurants etc. Decor is dated & our room was large & adequate. There's nothing fancy about this hotel. Our room was at the front of the hotel & the traffic awoke us early each morning. The ensuite bathroom was large but the sink was tiny....making shaving awkward. The light switch for the bathroom was broken & the bathroom fan remained on constantly until we figured out that taking the keycard out of the slot & putting it back in afterwards stopped it. On the plus side the shower was excellent, very powerful & the staff were pleasant & helpful. The breakfast was just ok but finishes too early at 9.30am sharp. For the price we paid I wasn't expecting anything fancy and that's what I got.

Reviewed by
Kieran F

From Newry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next