No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 410 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will not go back
Breakfast not great.
Wasn't very happy when we came back from town to find our bedroom door had been left open.
Good job we didn't leave any valuables in the room.
Room wasn't even tidied although cleaner was in the room.

Reviewed by
C Burnside

From Dungannon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great surprise
I booked night away as a birthday present for my boyfriend we went to a gig at the O2 academy, on arriving at the hotel I was a bit unsure there was a loud drag act singing in the heaving pub next door and a cheap and nasty looking lingerie shop right next to the entrance. But once inside the reception had a lovely vintage feel to it and once we made it up to our room (only 1 tiny lift for 6 floors of rooms- it was quicker to walk up the stairs even though we were on the 5th) we had a fantastic surprise, it was huge! We had a massive double bed and corner sofa a giant TV and a lovely little bathroom complete with heated towel rail, bath and the most amazing shower I’ve had in a long time. Although we were only staying the one night the room really made it! The location was brilliant just 2 mins from central station perfect for us we walked everywhere.

Reviewed by
A Tormey

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

glasgow city centre
An excellent city centre hotel close to all amenties and central station.Very clean and friendly staff and also a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
d wilkinson

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was quite adequate for an overnight stay though I would have second thoughts about anything longer. The room and bed were clean though with only wo thin pillows on the bed and only one spare in the wardrobe it would have been an uncomfortable night for one of us if a request for an extra pillow jhad no result. The Hotel was quite busy and the night reception staff had doubts as to being able to supply that "extra" pillow, it did turn up though.
The large bathroom was very clean with what appeared to be a new or freshly laundered shower curtain, the bath towels were only just adequate in size. Beware, the floor tiles are very slippy when wet.
A note on the technical side, before taking an early morning shower (07-15 hrs) the hot tap on both the bath and wash basin were run for 7 mins approx before the water was hot enough the it was more than satisfying, Management should be looking to water conservation and fitting a circ pump in their system to ensure hot water to all rooms with a minimal delay. The showerhead was totally non-adjustable, fitted at the head of the bath with a spray pointing down at approx 30 degrees below horizontal. An adjustable head fitted on the wall about 50 cm from the head of the bath would be ideal. A grab rail adjacent to the shower would be beneficial for the elderly or infirm wishing to use the facility.
JL

Reviewed by
Jennifer L

From Brodick, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay there again.
We stayed at the above hotel and had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the main hub of the city. The corridors in the hotel could maybe do with slight lick of paint, but the bedrooms were spotless - getting hot showers at any time of day doesn't happen often but certainly not a problem here. Also the dining room and reception areas were spotless. The staff were very polite and helpful, and a definite top marks for the selection of food on offer at breakfast. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
W Moncrieff

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Even though we arrived 3 hours before check-in we were given our keycard because the room was available. The room was fine, though the en-suite door had never been painted and showed plenty of splashmarks on the primer coat.
The inclusive breakfast was awful. The sausages were like cardboard, the mushrooms chewy, the fried eggs hard and greasy and the bacon hard but not crispy. I went for an early breakfast the second morning as I put the quality down to it being under the lights for a long time but it was almost as bad.

Reviewed by
Stuart P

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

daughters hen night in glasgow
hotel room was comfortable and clean and had all the facilities we required.
breakfast was self service and very tasty.

Reviewed by
m mcveigh

From Lanark, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Competitive Price But...
We were looking forward to our stay as the hotel photos looked great on the website.
The check-in procedure was quick and efficient.
However, disappointment greeted us on entering our room: the net curtains were dirty, the bathroom door was painted in several different shades of white and the lower part of the walls were scuffed and scruffy.
The shabby ambience was compounded by an en-suite bathroom with wobbly taps at the sink, a soap dispenser that didin't dispsense soap and possibly the most difficult-to-operate hotel shower in Glasgow, if not Scotland.
The breakfast, though, offered a big selection and the quality was good.
This hotel has great potential but on the basis of our experience it needs an extensive clean and some money spent on refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Fraser M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always a pleasure, never a chore.
I have stayed in this hotel many times and have never been disappointed. It is a budget hotel, but never fails to make for an excellent stay. The staff are lovely and very helpful. I have always been warmly welcomed by those at reception and they are happy to help with any queries one may have.
The main thing I look for in a hotel is tea and coffee making facilities, but the fact that breakfast is also included in the price is a double-whammy! Breakfast is served buffet-style and there is plenty to choose from and is sure to set you up for the day or make you feel less fragile from the night before for those who like to indulge in many boozy beverages...
The facilities themselves are comfortable and clean, there may be areas where some updating wouldn't go amiss, but those are just aesthetics and do not particularly take away from the rooms.
All in all, I would still deem this hotel as my go-to place to stay in Glasvegas and I intend to eat many more breakfasts there. Word.

Reviewed by
Chris F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming hotel with friendly staff. Rooms were clean and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewed by
Jayne H

From Lockerbie, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next