Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel


320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 107.92 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (390)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Ian B

  • November 2014

Alexander Thomson Hotel

Close to the station and all the sights.

Clean room with all that we needed. Excellent bathroom. Didn't have breakfast due to early depart but with breakfast included is excellent value for money

  • sheila e

  • November 2014

value for money

Our stay was exceptional all our needs were catered for staff very pleasant and helpful.breakfast had something for everyone.nothing was too much bother and having a bag store for early arrivals and late check outs all part of the service.the room was spotless and very comfortable lift made easy access to our second floor room.I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel,ideally situated for shopping expeditions

  • Bill K

  • November 2014

Stayed here many times, great value

  • J Modelska

  • November 2014

Needs a spruce up

Staff really friendly, helpful and accomadating...

I love that it was in traditional style but the decor was tired. The carpet needs renewing, the lounge needs brightening up. The room was tidy and clean but the mattress really needs changing as I could feel all the springs in the bed.

  • Bernadette Averill

  • November 2014

alexander thompson

the room was not as good as the 1st time we stayed but over all good value for money .

  • Eileen B

  • November 2014

Good value for location

This hotel is in a good location and near to the train station.

We had a quiet room at the back which was great and had a good nights sleep. The only complaint is we asked if breakfast could be got earlier than 7.30 as we had an early train to catch and reception said no but when we got to dining room at 7.25 there were people already eating breakfast so we only had time for a quick snack.

  • Janet F

  • November 2014


We have been to this hotel three times now, within the last three years.

The previous two were fine, what we expected for the price we paid, the rooms were comfortable and clean. This time, last week, we were given a room which you wouldn't have kept an animal in. We were horrified, and went straight down to complain. We did get another room, like the ones we had on previous occasions, and our trip was pleasant from then. I don't know if we will book this hotel again, after this experience. We like to be near the station, and this was perfect, but I would have to think about it next time

  • Laurance Pater

  • November 2014

Re stay

I have stayed here many times and it's great value

  • Helen C

  • November 2014

Great botel for a short stay.

Staff very helpful giving great service.

Lounge and restaurant very good. Freshly cooked breakfast with attentive staff. Room very good size and comfortable bed. This room was very clean except for the privacy curtains and the window surrounds. Could have been an excellent stay if the room and corridor had not smelled of smoke. (had asked for non smoking).

  • Greg I

  • November 2014

Enjoyed my stay

The room is pretty basic although I think it's a nice touch to put water in the room as that is often something that hotels miss, was there for 3 nights and cant fault the staff, the room or the food, nice central location too, excellent!