No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 413 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant hotel
Hotel was fantastic, exactly what I needed for a one night stay. Great value for money too

Reviewed by
K Cunningham

From Prestonpans, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Friendly staff, clean room. Had read its noisy, but we were on front (3rd floor) and had no issues. So I would have no problems with this.
Breakfast was nice, no problem there and staff very attentive and smiling. The decor is an odd mixture of Renie Macintosh and something else. It shows some thought. Lounge is comfy, but we found ourselves only ones sat in both nights.
It's a great base to explore Glasgow as Central station is right next door and city centre is a short walk away. Also luggage storage is available so perfect for last day after check out when train is in afternoon

Reviewed by
rich c

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel was classed as 3 star, my opinion was that it should be a 2 star. They are working on inprovements at present but in my room the tolet seat was loose, basin was very slow taking water away,shower controls were broken(but worked) and general cleanliness was poor

Reviewed by
raymond bull

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alexander Thompson Hotel
The hotel supplied a clean tidy room with breakfast included at a very reasonable rate. Can't knock it. Thanks

Reviewed by
D Rogers

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean hotel, breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
A Atkinson

From Durham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short business stay
The Alexander Thomson is a clean and comfortable hotel very conveniently situated close to Glasgow Central Station, the City Centre and the Clyde. The room was clean, smart and unpretentious and the bed small but comfortable. The shower was rather basic but adequate. The staff were friendly and helpful. A complimentary buffet breafast is available, but the food is no more than very average, as you might expect at a hotel offering value rather than luxury.
The residents' lounge was surprisingly spacious and comfortable. The one lift however lays claim to being the slowest in Britain.

Reviewed by
R O

From OXFORDSHIRE, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

aliddell
Great value for money. Lots of wee extras. I was unwell and could not enjoy the breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Liddell

From Clydebank, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Has seen bettter days
In need of some updating

Reviewed by
Helge U

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very uncomfortable
I was very pleased when I first saw the room as it is very nicely decorated and was very large. That happiness was slightly dented when I realised how cold it felt and saw the window wasn't shut completely and wouldn't shut completely no matter how we tried. Putting the heater up solved this however. Unfortunately the window was also very loose in the frame and banged and rattled all night. It was also very noisy because there was no filter from the noise from the street due to it not shutting completely. The major issue with this room however was the bed - I have never had such an uncomfortable night in my life. You could feel the springs in the mattress and the pillows were like thin bricks. They were actually painful on the neck to sleep on. I tried everything to make it more comfortable but it was impossible. I think I finally fell asleep shortly after 3am just to be woken up again just before 6am. The whole point of a hotel is to get a good nights sleep and between the terrible bed and pillows and the rattling windows, this is impossible. Until they invest in pillows that don't wreck your neck and mattress toppers that cover the springs, I would avoid this hotel.

Reviewed by
C Reid

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful at Alexander Thomson Hotel
Don't let the rather dingy exterior and reception area of this hotel put you off! Our room had been freshly painted and was very clean with a heater that quickly heated the room. The lady on reception was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful - unfortunately the hot food had been under the heat lamps for too long making it difficult to eat. Plus points to the waitress for asking if I needed assistance with getting breakfast for my disabled husband. All in all, excellent value and very conveniently situated for the city centre and the Central Station.

Reviewed by
Shirley M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next