Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel


320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY

Price From 105.50 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (396)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Caroline P

  • January 2015

Good value, central location

I can confirm many of the other comments on this site.

Excellent value for money particularly given the city centre location. Friendly staff, clean room, little extras like a bottle of water and some quality biscuits make you feel that someone has thought about you. New bathroom with a great shower. Good hot breakfast as part of the price. The only thing I would comment on was the mattress - first time in years I've felt all the springs in a mattress, first time ever in a hotel. As no-one else has commented on this I suspect I was unlucky but I would urge the hotel to buy a new one or invest in some mattress toppers. Shame to spoil the ship for a h'penniworth of tar.

  • L Lin

  • January 2015



  • Louise Q

  • January 2015

Fantastic Offer

This is a great hotel if you book early and manage to get a good offer.

Bathrooms are nice, shower was clean and warm. Bedrooms are warm and cosy and there is wardrobe space. Breakfast was so much better than I expected, absolutley fantastic for being included with the price. Only issue I've noticed is at weekends etc the price increases a lot, understandable for such a central location but couldn't justify paying such a large difference.

  • eleanor cheshire

  • January 2015

Excellent and Great value for money

I stayed at the Alexander Thomson Hotel and cant fault it in any way.

Great location, great food and an excellent place to stay. Brilliant value for money also. If I am ever back in Glasgow, I wouldn't hesitate to book there again.......Fantastic place.

  • B Ellis

  • January 2015

great hotel and location

brilliant right in city centre.

good value for money

  • Alison W

  • January 2015

good value

The room booked through Laterooms was good value at £35.

I can't fault the staff or the cleanliness of the room but the building is a bit depressing, especially the breakfast room. Nice food doesn't have to cost a lot, and it would have been good to have a bit of fresh fruit rather than the tinned stuff on offer.

  • D Nicholson

  • January 2015

There are better places !

Although the public areas were generally tidy, decorated and clean, the room was a bit of a disappointment.

Clean but dated décor and a slightly eccentric shower room. Both the toilet and shower were built up on plinths, so much so that when sitting on the toilet my wife's feet only just touched the floor . In addition pipes had not been covered leaving gaping gaps into the wall/skirting. Breakfast was only just edible, very cheap items which seemed to have been cooked ages earlier and left on the hot plate - not good.

  • N Turner

  • January 2015

Short break

This was just a short trip for me and my partner to relax and this hotel was great.

Breakfast was good, served everything from a full English to fruit and yogurt. Beds were comfortable and the room was spacious.

  • Brian R

  • January 2015

Overall happy

Stayed here two weekend nights so got a good price at £106.

I initially wasnt in a smoking room but when requested I was moved, so thanks for that. The only fault I had with the room was the tv didnt work. I had my tablet but it would of been nice to have the use of the tv too. But ya, overall happy with my stay.

  • K Letham

  • January 2015

Reasonably priced and very central.

This hotel was excellent for our short stay.

It's 5 minutes from Central Station and ideal for the city centre in general. Our room was large with a nice walk in shower. Bed was comfortable. The room was a little cold but an electric radiator had been provided to help with this. The hotel was very quiet and the staff nice. The breakfast was very good, buffet style with a good selection.