No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 432 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but pricey for games
nice hotel & good size of room. Perfect location for Commenwealth Games, however not worth the price hike, rooms advertised at desk for 99 which made our £250 per night very expensive!

Reviewed by
Bridget H

From York, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy Location

Stayed one night for the Commonwealth Games, hence the overpriced room - £240. Located next to a pub that played music until midnight, but close to the shops.

Reviewed by
robert h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Vastly overpriced even during the Games, I expected better at that price. Hotel felt down at heel. Receptionist disinterested. Breakfast poor. Very small rickety lift. If we hadn't paid up front we would have moved.
Location and discounted parking good.

Reviewed by
Steven V

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer service
we enjoyed our stay in the hotel in Glasgow, however, my husband asked for an early morning wake up call on the Friday morning to ensure we were actually up as we had a busy day ahead, but we did not get this so very disappointed. Its a good job that we gave ourselves good time to travel otherwise we may not have made it to our event on time if we had solely relied on the hotel to gave us this call, so I have rated the customer service down. Otherwise all in all a very good stay at the hotel.

Reviewed by
lucy foster

From Lowestoft, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here during the Commonwealth Games. The bed was comfortable and that was all that we needed. The hugely over inflated price was what we would normally pay for a 4 star and this was certainly far from that.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oversized B&B
This Hotel is very large with 5 floors serviced by one small lift. Our room had a double not king size bed with no mattress cover. Sheet straight onto mattress!. There were hairs on bathroom floor when we arrived which were never cleaned away. The staff are rather distant and offered us incorrect information during the Commonwealth Games. It was ridiculously overpriced even for The Games

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but comfortable
The hotel has definitely seen better days. The rooms were fine (the shower room in particular) but the public areas were a little worn.
The breakfast was standard buffet fare - we were expecting something more for the price (inflated for the Games no doubt).
We would stay here again as the location (2 mins walk from Central Station) was superb - but not at the price we were charged for this stay.

Reviewed by
J Page

From Fenny Drayton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice but noisy
Hotel was very nice and in a good central location close to station whilst this had a drawback of being in a noisy part of town my room was at the front on the main road and just to add to the noise I was in town for the commnwealth games which made the city very busy So I don't blame the hotel for the noise it is a city centre hotel after all. the room was clean comfy bed and they met my requirements for a Walk in shower in the bathroom. on my first night I did try the bar,located on the 1st floor,and the bar area seem nice but lacking people I had gone down at 8pm ()it opens at 6 apparently maybe because there were no customers there wasn't a need for bar staff but had there been bar staff they made have gained my custom I didn't bother trying it again but all in all perfectly good hotel likely to stay again

Reviewed by
t lloyd

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best
Very comfortable and satisfactory stay. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mohan Shenoy Yarmal

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed during the games so as one would expect prices much higher. Normally OK for price

Reviewed by
N Martin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next