No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 475 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There are better places !
Although the public areas were generally tidy, decorated and clean, the room was a bit of a disappointment. Clean but dated décor and a slightly eccentric shower room. Both the toilet and shower were built up on plinths, so much so that when sitting on the toilet my wife's feet only just touched the floor ! In addition pipes had not been covered leaving gaping gaps into the wall/skirting.
Breakfast was only just edible, very cheap items which seemed to have been cooked ages earlier and left on the hot plate - not good.

Reviewed by
D Nicholson

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonably priced and very central.
This hotel was excellent for our short stay. It's 5 minutes from Central Station and ideal for the city centre in general. Our room was large with a nice walk in shower. Bed was comfortable. The room was a little cold but an electric radiator had been provided to help with this. The hotel was very quiet and the staff nice. The breakfast was very good, buffet style with a good selection.

Reviewed by
K Letham

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall happy
Stayed here two weekend nights so got a good price at £106. I initially wasnt in a smoking room but when requested I was moved, so thanks for that. The only fault I had with the room was the tv didnt work. I had my tablet but it would of been nice to have the use of the tv too. But ya, overall happy with my stay.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alexander Thomson Hotel
Food was cold and some thinks out of date. Breakfast room very cold.

Reviewed by
h brattey

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

alexander thomson hotel glasgow
great hotel for the money

Reviewed by
e hendry

From Greenock, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT CITY CENTRE HOTEL
Stayed here over a weekend with friends. Great location, good size rooms which were clean & fresh. Staff were friendly/helpful staff. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Pamela Duncan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Stayed here after a concert in Glasgow we had a very large room was clean with excellent facilities we were very surprised as the price we paid we thought cheep and cheerful but pleasantly surprised excellent value for money and the breakfast was amazing we will be back .

Reviewed by
C Cowan

From Irvine, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hi thought that the hotel was nice and close to the city centre of Glasgow
would definitely come back

Reviewed by
Amy McDonald

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
I have stayed here 0n 7 occasions and always find the staff immensely friendly the rooms spotless and the room servicing second to none.The breakfast is VERY good and the choices amazing I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone

Reviewed by
B Fish

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scruffy room
Room was small and scruffy. The net curtain was grey ( supposed to be white ) and all ripped. The window was loose and the cold wind was blowin through !! Would not stay there again.

Reviewed by
J White

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next