No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alexander Thomson Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
320 - 322 ARGYLE STREET, Glasgow, G2 8LY
**Free Wifi in all rooms**

The Alexander Thomson Hotel is historic Victorian era building which forms the Architectural landscape of the city. The Hotel has very high ceilings and windows from that era and every effort is put in to retain as much originality as possible.

Located in the heart of the City Centre and close to Central Station.

Most of our rooms are large with large Bathrooms also. The Rooms are recently refurbished and have all the necessary amenities required by a business traveler or leisure guest. Complimentary tea/coffee and mineral water, direct dial telephone, Flat Screen TV's with digital freeview channels, Iron & Ironing Board & hairdryers etc ensure a very comfortable stay.

Traditional Scottish Breakfast is included in the price and there is a Bar which opens till the "wee hours" of the morning for Hotel Guests. There is also a quiet lounge for people to sit and relax which also has free wifi access for residents only.

Come and enjoy the beautiful city and our warm and friendly service.

Picture of Alexander Thomson Hotel, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 434 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice but noisy
Hotel was very nice and in a good central location close to station whilst this had a drawback of being in a noisy part of town my room was at the front on the main road and just to add to the noise I was in town for the commnwealth games which made the city very busy So I don't blame the hotel for the noise it is a city centre hotel after all. the room was clean comfy bed and they met my requirements for a Walk in shower in the bathroom. on my first night I did try the bar,located on the 1st floor,and the bar area seem nice but lacking people I had gone down at 8pm ()it opens at 6 apparently maybe because there were no customers there wasn't a need for bar staff but had there been bar staff they made have gained my custom I didn't bother trying it again but all in all perfectly good hotel likely to stay again

Reviewed by
t lloyd

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best
Very comfortable and satisfactory stay. Excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mohan Shenoy Yarmal

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed during the games so as one would expect prices much higher. Normally OK for price

Reviewed by
N Martin

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and not four star
Room spacious but decor needs upgrading. No A/C so windows had to be opened resulting in traffic noise from main road which was annoying. Breakfast reasonable with a selection of continental and hot but croissants were stale and bacon overdone. There only appeared to be one small lift for all guests which was inconvenient especially as room was on 5th floor. On the plus side, location was good with Glasgow Central Station a short walk away.

Reviewed by
Kavitha G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location
We stayed here during the Commonwealth Games, the hotel is ideally situated just a couple of minutes from Glasgow Central Station and all the bars and restaurants. The hotel is very clean and friendly and the rooms are spacious. If you are visiting Glasgow as a tourist or going seeing a concert (the SECC is only 2 stops away), this hotel is perfect. Next time i visit Glasgow i will be definately be staying here.

Reviewed by
allan m

From Rochdale, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We visited during the Commonwealth Games so the room prices had been hiked ridiculously. At its normal prices the room was fine, reasonably spacious, good bathroom, big sofas. However the bed (room 421) had some broken springs and the duvet was not big enough,

Reviewed by
M Wynne-Jones

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

At breakfast I asked if there was gluten-free bread available and was told no. For a hotel of this size and for the price of accommodation I would have expected special dietary requirements to be catered for

Reviewed by
P Park

From Wetherby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I travel often and stay in many good hotels in the UK and around the world. Great location for our needs (we needed to be close to the station.). Very good breakfast. The weather was was very hot and humid when we were there and the hotel has no air-conditioning, but I don't think it would be needed too often in Glasgow, generally. The hotel is an old building so the rooms are large with high ceilings. Certainly not 5* but very acceptable fro the price. Comfortable bed. There were only two negatives for me. The first is that our room was across the road from a modern building that had a bank of rather loud air-conditioning vents going all the time. With the windows open because of the heat and lack of air-conditioning this disturbed me at first, but I managed to sleep well, though,as we had a busy day. Be warned about the lift. It's old and tiny and only takes two people and their luggage at once, so build in waiting time if you want the lift. On balance a nice hotel for the money, in a good location. Very nice breakfast. Nice staff. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Kim G

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop in the heatwave
Location good for station. Helpful facility for storing luggage - much appreciated. Breakfast adequate. All self service. Overall a good hotel for the price I paid which can vary greatly.

Reviewed by
R Chambers

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent reasonably-priced hotel with superb location near Central Station
This is an excellent, friendly, very reasonably-priced hotel with a superb location near Central Station

Reviewed by
Mark Newbrook

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next