No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay
would return again next year, polite staff and food very good

Reviewed by
j maggs

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights @ Half Moon Sherborne
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Speedy registration. Good pub food at the bar and reasonable prices.

Reviewed by
K Bowden

From Exeter, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not the relaxing night i expected
The hotel is an old building. The windows to the room didn't close leaving just secondary glazing to keep the noise out...which it did not manage at all. The room I was given was at the front of the building above where everybody gathered to smoke outside the pub resulting in constant noise and smoking until passed 11 pm. The town church clock goes off for times an hour and that continued through the whole night...!!!
Unfortunately, none of the noise was the fault of the hotel but it ruined what should have been a relaxing night away.

Reviewed by
D Westcott

From Nr Ringmer, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

half moon.
very friendly & pleasant hotel ideal for short or long breaks could not have asked for more.

Reviewed by
Gillian Y

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room7 needs updating carpet was really dirty,bathroom OK but needed tidying up decoration wise

Reviewed by
Susan Price

From Benicia, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly pub with spacious, clean accomodation
I stayed at the Half Moon with my husband and 6yo daughter on a Saturday night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we were able to request an early check-in. We had a family room which was modern, spacious and clean, with a nice big bathroom including bath and shower. The pub itself was also very nice and there were plenty of tables to sit outside and have a drink. We had a lovely cooked breakfast in the morning which was included in the price. There was plenty of free parking at the pub.
The only slight issue was that the pub was quite noisy in the evening, but it does stop serving at 12 midnight. After that there was also quite a bit of noise out in the corridor outside the room but it did not disturb us too much.
Overall we were very happy and impressed with The Half Moon.

Reviewed by
Catherine A

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Centrally situated and would definitely stay again. Reasonable prices through Late Rooms.com and clean with a good breakfast included.

Reviewed by
Jerry D

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleased with service and with room/food. Would recommend Marston's.

Reviewed by
Adam Smith

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half moon stay
A warm friendly greeting in a lovely pub in the heart of sherbourne near the abbey. Room was large, comfy and full of caracter. Food in the pub is reasonably priced and plentiful. Breakfast is first class!

Reviewed by
Stephen A

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Had a very nice stay here, really good food, all staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
J Chapman

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next