No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 49 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Provincial Inn
A last minute booking in order to attend the Cathedral and a formal reception. Friendly staff and patrons in the bar/dining room.. The food was basic pub fare so do not expect a gastronomic treat. Rooms are all upstairs without a lift.

Reviewed by
Derek M

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really comfortable and convenient stay in the heart of Sherborne

Reviewed by
Hazel W

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sherborne
Very impressed with half moon, will definitely return. Next time I will take my own hair dryer due to the one in the room set so that you have to keep button pressed in order to keep it on.

Reviewed by
Sue T

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Got a lateroom bargain discount so got the room at half price. Could not fault it for value for money there was a few minor details:
No welcome pack
Minimum sachets only provided 1 tea 1 coffee 2 sugar
No sauces provided or offered with evening meal
but on the whole i would recommend a short stay here.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
The B&B is full of character, the room was always warm, and it was pleasant and clean, too, the staff were helpful and friendly, and the town and position of the B&B was fabulous. The B&B is above a bar, which was very quiet, and the town itself is a quiet, quaint and beautifully historic place. I would recommend the B&B for business or holiday.

Reviewed by
Martyn S

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice pub, clean room, good breakfast, but a little pricey. Bathroom needing attention.
Nice Pub, nice room, good breakfast, but a little pricey. Bathroom needing a little attention. Wife would stay there again so it must be okay. Bath plug missing! Lovely town with beautiful historic Abbey and good shopping.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant Inn
I booked last minute and got a single bedded room with a good bathroom which was great value. Breakfast was cooked quickly and was excellent. Some slices of toast in a toast rack rather than a single piece of toast (which was from freshly baked bread I think) would have made it perfect.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
We visited family and needed an overnight stop, the Half Moon was perfect. We had our 4 year old granson with us so went for a family room with ensuite. Well we have nothing but praise for The half Moon. Great value, very good well equiped clear room. Food excellent and staff wonderfull. Thank you all and a Happy Christmas.

Reviewed by
J Andrews

From New Romney, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was very good all spotlessly clean and better than expected for such a reasonable pric
I would stay there again without hesitation. It was more than adequate and the service was great I also enjoyed my evening meal and again thes service was of a good standard. No complaints whatsoever.

Reviewed by
P Morris

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5