No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
We visited family and needed an overnight stop, the Half Moon was perfect. We had our 4 year old granson with us so went for a family room with ensuite. Well we have nothing but praise for The half Moon. Great value, very good well equiped clear room. Food excellent and staff wonderfull. Thank you all and a Happy Christmas.

Reviewed by
J Andrews

From New Romney, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was very good all spotlessly clean and better than expected for such a reasonable pric
I would stay there again without hesitation. It was more than adequate and the service was great I also enjoyed my evening meal and again thes service was of a good standard. No complaints whatsoever.

Reviewed by
P Morris

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Term Digs
Found the room to be clean and comfortable, only problem was nearby clock tower chiming every hour through night, Staff very helpful and friendly overall would recommend .

Reviewed by
Bradley C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Saturday Night Sherborne
We stayed overnight on a Saturday at The Half Moon, Sherborne. We were warmly welcomed by Anna the manageress, our car signed into the car park (no charge, watched by cameras). Our Room 8 on the front was smallish but clean and tidy with ensuite bath-room. Tea/coffee making facilities were basic but clean, water and biscuits were provided. The room was a bit cold (November) and the central heating didn't seem to work, but a separate electric fire in the cupboard was provided and worked well. There was a good flat screen TV with freeview, and the wi-fi in the room worked beautifully. We enjoyed the hotel, which had good pub food downstairs in the large dining room. Late at night drinker-smokers outside made a bit of noise for an hour under the front of the hotel (and our window). The breakfast was good, and Anna the manager was terrific, warm and welcoming, and very hard working!. We recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
brian c

From Devizes, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Go back for more.
Could not fault this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was very good, plus deals on evening meals.
Plenty of choice for breakfast.
Safe private car park.

Reviewed by
John F

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

View nice hotel in picturesque town

Reviewed by
Allan C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

like it
good location, good food, good stuff!

Reviewed by
Lizhen X

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit
Staff at reception very cheerful and helpful. Food excellent value for money and good range of real ales available. Excellent value for money - well worth a return visit

Reviewed by
Stuart E

From Maldon, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
Front room over outside seating was noisy, particualrly during evenings . Windows could not be fully closed. Room small but clean and adeqate. Breakfast service sometimes slow. Location very convenient with good parking space.

Reviewed by
a boyns

From Blaenau Ffestiniog, Wales
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Very nice hotel in a beautiful town very clean and tidy and great value.
Food is just Pub Grub but there are other local places to eat if you don't fancy Pub Grub.
Breakfast was included in the price full English and cereals available.
Owners were very friendly but bar staff and waitress could do with a nudge at times.
Overall great value for money and I would stay again if in the area.

Reviewed by
M Mosey

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next