No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff. The room could do with a bit of freshening up but very clean.

Reviewed by
S SLATER

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heart of the town - beware of the bells on Sunday morning if you are a light sleeper
I stayed for one night ( Saturday ). - Check in was quick and easy if a little impersonal as check-in. The single room was clean if a little dated. My room looked over Half Moon Street. There was a kettle, tea/ coffee and biscuits in the room; the usual small flat screen telly on free-view and a scolding hot bath!! I was a little worried that the noise from the people sitting on the tables outside would keep me awake but I need not have worried. The sound insulation was more than adequate. The single bed was fine ( could have done with another pillow ) - and I slept well assisted by some of the liquid medication sold downstairs. The Half Moon has a nice bar with a good mix of people - and nice staff.
The sound of the Abbey bells banging away on Sunday morning was fine but if this bothers you ask for a room the other side! Breakfast was served in the bar and was well cooked and adequate, Other guests asked for porridge etc.. which was accommodated.This hotel is simple but in a great location in the heart of the town centre and in close proximity to a range of pubs and restaurants - and more or less opposite the beautiful abbey. Parking is free ( give your details at reception to avoid penalty ) Good value for money - would use again. My thumping headache on Sunday was due to my Saturday night enjoyment and not an issue attributable to this property......

Reviewed by
Richard Hann

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My sister and I stayed at the Half Moon for four nights, as it was close to family we were in the area visiting. The best points about it were the central location in a beautiful town, free parking, lovely breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff and a pretty good pub below. The worst points were that the rooms on the front are very noisy, the heating seems a bit hit and miss (my sister's room was too hot; mine had no central heating at all) and the cacophony from the plumbing was hard to believe! We gather this is due to be rectified in the next couple of months.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sherborne Gem
An excellent value hotel in a central position . Friendly staff, good food and in an ideal location for sightseeing .

Reviewed by
A Salmon

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always good here!
We always stay at the Half Moon if we can when staying in this lovely old town. Its very welcoming, comfortable, relaxed and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff, nothing to complain about at all.

Reviewed by
Patricia W

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely town to visit. Nice room with v comfy bed but do the bedrooms need to be so hot?

Reviewed by
Tracy S

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Friday night in Sherborne
I was welcomed with a smile, my room was superb for the money - clean, nicely decorated with a great en suite - bath and all! All the usual tea/coffee/biscuits etc on offer.. wall mounted flat screen tv. and a window facing the Castle.
Breakfast was the usual buffet and a choice of cooked breakfast included.. which was really tasty, especially the homemade bread!
All in all a hassle free and very pleasant experience, Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Fiona Biggs

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our review
The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was a little disappointing with a bizarre double fold away bed which was a bit uncomfortable. There was only one bedside cabinet between 3 people and one very small dull bedside lamp in the whole room. The bathroom and bedroom were very clean on visible areas, except the bedroom carpet with odd black marks on, and whilst trying to work out why the built in lights on the bizarre double bed were not working we found an earing and a child's sock under the bed.
The breakfast was lovely, with individually served hot food rather than a buffet and an adequate cold buffet. The evening meal was delicious and very good value.

Reviewed by
Lucille P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation in a nice town
This wasn't our first choice but was perfect location wise. At £88 per night it wasn't cheap so we were expecting a bit better. Rooms are clean but really dated and a bit too hot temperature wise. Staff were helpful and the pub downstairs was obviously a popular place with the locals. Had a few drinks but no food - looked good though.
Would stay again if it was cheaper. In the middle of town so great on that score and the abbey bells make sure you don't oversleep!

Reviewed by
H Gallagher

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good Provincial Inn
A last minute booking in order to attend the Cathedral and a formal reception. Friendly staff and patrons in the bar/dining room.. The food was basic pub fare so do not expect a gastronomic treat. Rooms are all upstairs without a lift.

Reviewed by
Derek M

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next