No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed in this hotel. Very noisy but secondary glazing did not keep the noise out which went on until 1-1.30 in the morning. then just when you thought it was dying down and you could get some sleep, they started banging doors and windows when closing up for the night. There was no thought given to people staying. Good cooked breakfast but sausages were off the second morning, staff standing right outside residents entrance smoking so had to walk through the smoke to enter, topped the lot really. Will never stay here again. Considering the cost, not worth the money.

Reviewed by
Peter S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For whom the bell tolls .....
Just be aware that Sherborne Abbey is a stones throw from the Half Moon and the bells ring every 15 minutes through the night. It is impossible to have a window open! We asked for a fan as the room was unbearably hot but to no avail. The accommodation is in desperate need of refurbishment but it was clean if not a little dusty. At £89 for b&b is it overpriced compared to many pub hotels we have stayed in and also it does not compare well with a Premier Inn for example.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really friendly and helpful staff. Little noisy in the evening but did not stop and enjoyable weekend in Sherborne. Has a wonderful location opposite the Abbey Close.

Reviewed by
C Stewart

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was ideal for us attending a family wedding
Hotel staff are very friendly and attentive, with good food and comfortable but dated room. on the down side the outside seating area can be very noisy on a fine evening, making sleep a little difficult.

Reviewed by
peter j

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean option in Sherborne - and excellent value for money
I've used several of these Marston Inns and found them all to be good. Nothing fancy, just a good clean room and a decent breakfast at very good prices. The Half Moon breakfast was particularly good for the money - good bacon, nice bread for the toast and so on.
It's a lively pub, so you might need earplugs though, especially if you have a room at the front of the building.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
Only stayed for one night in a single room which was adequate for my needs. The room was nice and clean with a quite large bathroom. Breakfast had lots of choice and was of good quality. Hotel is very convenient for Sherborne and surrounding area and also has car parking which is a bonus. Booked at the last minute so got it for a good price. Would use again.

Reviewed by
PETER G

From Beckenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff. The room could do with a bit of freshening up but very clean.

Reviewed by
S SLATER

From Diss, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heart of the town - beware of the bells on Sunday morning if you are a light sleeper
I stayed for one night ( Saturday ). - Check in was quick and easy if a little impersonal as check-in. The single room was clean if a little dated. My room looked over Half Moon Street. There was a kettle, tea/ coffee and biscuits in the room; the usual small flat screen telly on free-view and a scolding hot bath!! I was a little worried that the noise from the people sitting on the tables outside would keep me awake but I need not have worried. The sound insulation was more than adequate. The single bed was fine ( could have done with another pillow ) - and I slept well assisted by some of the liquid medication sold downstairs. The Half Moon has a nice bar with a good mix of people - and nice staff.
The sound of the Abbey bells banging away on Sunday morning was fine but if this bothers you ask for a room the other side! Breakfast was served in the bar and was well cooked and adequate, Other guests asked for porridge etc.. which was accommodated.This hotel is simple but in a great location in the heart of the town centre and in close proximity to a range of pubs and restaurants - and more or less opposite the beautiful abbey. Parking is free ( give your details at reception to avoid penalty ) Good value for money - would use again. My thumping headache on Sunday was due to my Saturday night enjoyment and not an issue attributable to this property......

Reviewed by
Richard Hann

From Hertford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My sister and I stayed at the Half Moon for four nights, as it was close to family we were in the area visiting. The best points about it were the central location in a beautiful town, free parking, lovely breakfast, very helpful and friendly staff and a pretty good pub below. The worst points were that the rooms on the front are very noisy, the heating seems a bit hit and miss (my sister's room was too hot; mine had no central heating at all) and the cacophony from the plumbing was hard to believe! We gather this is due to be rectified in the next couple of months.

Reviewed by
Sue W

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sherborne Gem
An excellent value hotel in a central position . Friendly staff, good food and in an ideal location for sightseeing .

Reviewed by
A Salmon

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next