No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HALF MOON STREET , SHERBORNE, DT9 3LN
The Half Moon is a traditional pub situated in the beautiful Dorset town of Sherborne. Its 13 rooms have been thoughtfully refurbished in Spring 2008 as a Marston's Inn. Rooms include luxurious bedding, tea, coffee and biscuits, hairdryers and free wi-fi. We offer all our guests our fantastic choice of breakfast, including cooked and continental options with our compliments.

Sherborne is ideal for discovering Hardy's Wessex countryside and within the town itself houses a historic Castle and Abbey to explore. Within a short drive are the famous Gold Hill in Shaftesbury and Stourhead House and Gardens as well as the many picturesque thatched roof village in the surrounding area.

The heart and soul of the hotel remains the pub itself, a traditional inn full of character and situated in the heart of the town. Food is served all day and the varied menu includes sandwiches and snacks as well as hearty pub meals. We also have a fantastic selection of drinks, including cask ales and a range of wines.
Picture of Half Moon by Marstons Inns, SHERBORNE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
one night stay before moving into the area.The room was spotless and well equipped. the bar area and the food were very good as well. very good value for money

Reviewed by
BRIAN T

From sheerness, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Much as expected for the money
Convenient accomodation within easy walking distance of Sherborne Abbey where I was singing over the weekend. Car parking charge (in Pay & Display area immediately behind) was refunded. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Only downside was frequently banging door somewhere downstairs until quite late on Saturday evening - the bar area was very busy.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
Very pleasant stay in friendly hotel.

Reviewed by
A Martin

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, customer service and clean simple rooms

Reviewed by
Jonathan K

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As good as ever
We have stayed at the Half Moon many times; it is always very welcoming and comfortable. The situation within the town is very convenient; the staff are very pleasant, room clean, bed comfy, breakfast good and parking very useful. A change in the menu in the next few days meant there was not much choice of food to order from the bar, but what we had was excellent.

Reviewed by
Patricia W

From Helston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half moon in, Sherborne
I read some reviews of this hotel after I booked the room. In my opinion the room and hotel,was fine. At the end of a day it is a pub in a small village - it's not going to be five star luxury. It fitted our needs and although not cheap, it wasn't massively expensive. I would recommend staying here if you are a couple, group of friends, or have older children.

Reviewed by
Gail Harris

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in great location with superb food
Well located in the picturesque village of Sherborne. Some of the best pub food I have eaten and I stay in hotels all over the country! I'm a fussy eater and a food lover and left the table more than satisfied, in fact I had to go upstairs for a lay down in the very comfy room before walking around the nice local high street with local shops selling local goods and amazing artwork. Unfortunately I was staying for business purposes and will be returning with my wife so she can see for herself what a great place to stay it is.

Reviewed by
M Turner

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good friendly pub room

Reviewed by
Les M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best pub in Sherborne?
Booked a late deal and can't fault the accomodation for the price, the staff were friendly, the food was nice ( standard pub fayre). The location is excellent and the room was clean and comfortable. Some reviews on here complained about the Abbey bells which ring every 15 minutes, and ring the time on the hour, but it didn't bother us at all. The Inn is right in the centre of town 200m from the Abbey and has a nice atmosphere. There is a large pay and display car park at the rear of the pub which is free to residents. The only complaint I could make was the poor whisky selection.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would stay again
Staff very friendly and helpful. Food good. Rom very adequate. Sadly noisy as a Saturdy night. Would most definately stay again.

Reviewed by
Lesley EVANS

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next