Reviews - Half Moon by Marstons Inns



Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

80% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • m young

  • January 2015

The room was very well set out very clean I had everything I required.

  • Rod Y

  • December 2014

Slightly tired room, reasonably good food, all let down very badly by dreadful customer service

Staff on arrival were disinterested, best described as functional.

Upon entering the room I heard a noise of running water, opened the bathroom door to find the bath full to the overflow and the cold tap running full bore. Potentially this was an attempt at sabotage by a frustrated cleaner as the drain was partially blocked, it took about half an hour for the water to drain away. The room itself was ok, everything you need, just a bit tired. Bar service was equally impersonal as the accomodation reception. Table service in the restaurant was not much better, staff joked about how long I had waited with my family at the table before realising we should order at the seperate bar in another room. Breakfast was ok, I had poached eggs which were fine, but it was spoiled once again by disinterested staff who looked like they had just got out of bed wearing 'leisure' clothing and slippers. Staff spent most of my breakfast noisily clearing tables near me, the only diner. I have stayed here many times before over many years, I don't think i'll be back.


  • December 2014

Half Moon Sherborne

Perfect location right in the centre of Sherborne, would imagine it might be a bit noisy in the summer when people are drinking outside but in December that's not a problem.

Thought it was a wee bit pricey but I guess the location makes up for that. The breakfast is advertised as free, It's not, you pay for it in the price of the room. Overall a good experience, staff and management friendly and helpful as well.

  • J Marsh

  • November 2014

Excellent value for money, for a one night stay,

The half moon pub is a convenient place to stay in Sherborne, it is walking distance from the railway station and opposite the Abbey.

The staff were friendly. The twin room we stayed in was very clean with an ensuite bathroom. The decor was a little basic, but was fine for myself and my friends one night stay. Breakfast in the morning was execellent, with a choice of food items for the cooked breakfast, the toast was good quality bread and the scrambled egss were perfect. We didn't have our evening meal there and were glad we didn't as the pub attached to the dining room was open plan and was very noisey and seemd to be populated by all young people. The pub part of the hotel is the only drawback as it is very noisey and the fire door from the pub to the hotel reception desk and staircase to the rooms is kept propped open. Also the exit door for hotel guests is also used by the pub clientele to go outisde to smoke and this door creaks every time someone goes in or out. The smell of cigarette smoke is very strong as you go up the stairs. we did not get a good night's sleep because of the all the noise from the pub and th constant creaking of the exit door.

The cost of the bed and breakfast was excellent value and the noise factor is the only reason I would not reccommend this hotel.

  • Clare Jackson

  • October 2014

A little gem!

Lovely little inn.

Good location. Friendly staff.

  • Jasper Selwyn

  • October 2014

A reasonably priced hotel in the town centre

The hotel is right in the centre of Sherborne, opposite the Abbey, but my room was at the back and very quiet.

The room was comfortable and the bathroom surprisingly spacious. The staff were pleasant. It was easy to choose items from the menu for breakfast, which was cooked to order but came quickly. Dinner was also good, and reasonably priced, but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby if you want a change.

  • j maggs

  • October 2014

our stay

would return again next year, polite staff and food very good

  • K Bowden

  • September 2014

Two nights @ Half Moon Sherborne

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Speedy registration. Good pub food at the bar and reasonable prices.

  • D Westcott

  • August 2014

not the relaxing night i expected

The hotel is an old building.

The windows to the room didn't close leaving just secondary glazing to keep the noise out...which it did not manage at all. The room I was given was at the front of the building above where everybody gathered to smoke outside the pub resulting in constant noise and smoking until passed 11 pm. The town church clock goes off for times an hour and that continued through the whole night...!!. Unfortunately, none of the noise was the fault of the hotel but it ruined what should have been a relaxing night away.

  • Gillian Y

  • August 2014

half moon.

very friendly & pleasant hotel ideal for short or long breaks could not have asked for more.