Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Cadeleigh Hotels > Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bickleigh , Tiverton, EX16 8RW
The Fisherman's Cot nestling on the banks of the River Exe at Bickleigh is one of the most picturesque inns in the South of England. Its superb location makes it an all-year-round choice for locals and visitors alike. Ideally located between the city of Exeter and the old market town of Tiverton, it boasts beautiful gardens and areas where customers can enjoy the stunning river setting.
The Fisherman's Cot is a fantastic setting in which to enjoy the wide variety of traditional food and drink or its famed scrumptious Carvery. The rooms have been extensively refurbished in the summer of 2008 and now offer free WiFi throughout, flatscreen digital TVs and luxurious bedding.

Ideally located between the city of Exeter and the old market town of Tiverton, it boasts beautiful gardens and areas where customers can enjoy the stunning river setting. The main appeal of this beautiful area of Mid Devon is the local walks particularly the Grand Western Canal Country Park. The 11-mile walk along the banks of the River Exe offers horse drawn barge trips. There's also local fishing on the River Exe, pony trekking and the famous 14th century Bickleigh Castle. Tiverton is the main town, the largest in mid Devon and famous for Blundells School. It also has its own Castle, built in 1106 on the orders of Henry 1 and there are 15 galleries in the Tiverton Museum covering agriculture, architecture and archaeology.
Picture of Fishermans Cot by Marstons Inns, Tiverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fishermans Cot
Lovely setting. Room had just been re-furbished so very clean but the paint fumes were, at times, over-powering. They are doing a lot of work in the gardens which will give more light to all of the rooms, which will make a huge difference. All in all, very pleased with our stay.

Reviewed by
Sandra P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acceptable accomodation, lovely staff
Rooms are basic and cheerless, and could be cleaner, bathroom was tiny and only very basic toiletries (liquid soap) supplied. View was great and staff very helpful which made the stay much better than it would have been based on room alone. Evening meals were tasty, breakfast eggs to be avoided- cooked to inedible rubber however you ordered them, the local bread was welcome to fill the gap. Convenient, pretty location, very average experience.

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lots and lots of spiders.
Our first reaction to our room was slightly freaked out disbelief: the outside of the whole building, including our door, was full of spiders of all sizes (including really big ones). The receptionist said it was "one of those nights" when we went back to ask for some tissue to wipe off / kill some of the spiders. I have never seen that many spiders in one place and hope I never will again - there were hundreds. The window was open, so the first thing we did after wiping most of the spiders off the door and hesitantly entering the room was to kill the couple dozen spiders that had set up house in our room. There were also a few dozen tiny little dead flies on our beds; they kept falling from the ceiling every now and then. Not too disturbing compared to the spiders, but a little unpleasant. Otherwise the room was fairly clean, very warm (no AC). Keeping the window closed seemed to keep most of the spiders out. Beds and bathroom were ok. Wifi was free and worked well. Breakfast was included and not bad at all, and the staff was very nice. However, if spiders bother you, I definitely would not recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
Sini O

From Finland
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place in central devon
If you are looking for a scenic location in central Devon then this is as good as it gets. Situated on the banks of the Exe there is no better place for evening drinks or breakfast coffee then tnjus place. The motel style rooms are clean and nicely presented if a bit dated, its Premiere Inn prices without the same quality of finish. Foods OK too but don't expect a gastronomic menu but it OK for slightly overpriced pub grub. All that said I would stay here again just for the location.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini Holiday
I stayed for 4 nights with my elderly Mother and even at booking stage the manager was very helpful in giving us the right room for her needs. She really enjoyed the stay and found access to dining area easy and thoroughly enjoyed the food. Beautiful location by the river. The staff were friendly and always cheerful. Good base to visit local attractions, especially recommend the Tiverton Horse Drawn Barge Canal Trip and the Canal Tea Room.

Reviewed by
Susan P

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Holiday
The accommodation was clean and adequate. More shelves in the bathroom would have been useful. The meals, especially the breakfasts, were excellent. The views from the Fisherman's Cot were brilliant with easy access to surrounding areas. My only disappointment was the décor within the eating areas, poor and the state of the woodwork outside...rotten wooden window frames and doors. Paint non existent. Marstons, you could do a lot better.

Reviewed by
Robert Godwin

From Emsworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for the price
We stayed at Fisherman's Cot for three nights over a Bank Holiday. It was a nice hotel, and the staff was very friendly. We had an issue with the heat in our room, and after we reported it to the front desk it was fixed within ten minutes. The bed was a bit soft, but otherwise the room was clean and restful. We had not intended to eat at the restaurant as often as we did, but the quality of the offerings and the cost was very good so we ate almost every meal there. If we travel to that area again we would definitely consider The Fisherman's Cot.

Reviewed by
J Knack

From Harwood, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you

Reviewed by
B Fletcher

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will be staying again

Reviewed by
K O'Hanlon

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our silver wedding anniversary
We stayed in this hotel the night of our wedding 25 years ago, so I booked it as a surprise for my wife for our silver anniversary. It really hasn't changed much in all that time. We stayed in the same room, with a great view of the river, my wife was thrilled and the hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. We had a great little two night break, with great food, and plenty of liquid refreshment. I would like to thank both management and staff for making our visit so memorable 😊

Reviewed by
Patrick Toner

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next