No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Letterfinlay, Inverness-shire, PH34 4DZ
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cosy, comfortable bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch where you can while away the time watching the sun set and if you are lucky see the ospreys swooping over the water at dusk.
Picture of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, Inverness-shire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced and charmless.

Reviewed by
david h

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything we'd hoped for at the end of our 100 mile walk
My daughter and I booked the Letterfinlay Hotel as a treat to look forward to, at the end of walking the West Highland Way. After a week of campsites and hostels which varied from very basic to surprisingly good, we wanted to be assured of comfort and we were not disappointed. As we stepped of the bus from Fort William, the setting of the hotel on the banks of Loch Lochy, was breathtaking and we could not wait to find a seat on the terrace and order a long drink. Our welcome at reception was heartfelt and the receptionist let us look at 3 lakeside view rooms and choose which we preferred. We chose a room with french windows at the foot of the bed overlooking the heavenly view of the lake and mountains. This welcome continued and was reflected in the service and attention provided by all staff, the food was good and reasonably priced, the bed wonderfully comfy and we cosseted ourselves with aromatherapy toiletries in the well equipped ensuite. It was everything we had hoped for and I am only sorry we were there just for the one night.

Reviewed by
Wendy Bowers

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning
Stunning view from bedroom over loch.Staff were very friendly.Spent a lovely couple of days in area only wish it could have been longer.

Reviewed by
denis martin

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location
my husband and i stayed for two nights we had an issue with my meal the first night then went to the room to find the bathroom light did not work a member of staff got the manager, when she arrived she made immediate arrangements to put us in another room for the night and arranged for us to be upgraded the second night (the honeymoon apartment) it was amazing although i do think the rooms in the hotel are in need of upgrading. i would like to praise the waitress Danka she was so polite and pleasant, but most of all Lindsay she handled every think superbly she was very pleasant and professional Thank you.

Reviewed by
neil cook

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The personal touch from staff made us fell very welcome

Reviewed by
B Venstrup Olesen

From Denmark
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs rethinking
Room was new but totally lacking - no toilet roll holder! no dressing table! full length mirror opposite toilet!!! cheap ikea fabric wardrobe. Situated in house away from main building , no suitable path!
toilets in main building - !!!!!! - TV did not work -reason was geographical situation ( joke!!!) but staff were very nice. Expected far better for £135 per night- most expensive!!

Reviewed by
w clark

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful view of the loch and kind staff but not worth £135 a night.
Little touches would have made the price more palatable. Wifi should be a given. The menu could have been more inspiring and the food better cooked. A selection of teas and a biscuit in the room. Also beware of their cancellation policy which is 7 days notice. I understand the hotels must make their money in the season but others do it better.

Reviewed by
J Ferrand

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely But Tired ...
Great hotel in a great location but definitely a bit tired and renovations that had been done were below the standard you might expect. Our room was average and there was only one plug point in the very dark corner meant as a 'dressing table' alcove. This meant that you could either have the lamp plugged in or a hair dryer .... Bathroom had been renovated though and was lovely. Staff were great - really friendly and the food was good too.

Reviewed by
f smith

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will be back
Staff very friendly and very helpful .Room was spotless and food first class

Reviewed by
W Oliver

From Banff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!!!
Lovely staff, good food, excellent location. Would stay again and recommend for anybody wanting to stay on a Loch with a friendly atmosphere and eay access to lots of other places, Skye, Fort William, Fort Augustus and Loch Ness.

Reviewed by
J RADFORD

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next