No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Letterfinlay, Inverness-shire, PH34 4DZ
Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel rests on the banks of Loch Lochy and boasts breathtaking views over the Great Glen. Watch the world sail by from our panoramic sundeck whilst enjoying the freshest produce and locally landed seafood carefully hand-cooked by our team of chefs. Retire in the evening to our cosy, comfortable bedrooms, many of which have magnificent views over the loch where you can while away the time watching the sun set and if you are lucky see the ospreys swooping over the water at dusk.
Picture of Letterfinlay Lodge Hotel, Inverness-shire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel with good view

Reviewed by
K Xu

From london, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our nice stay
Our stay was Brill, My girlfriend didnt think the room was the best as she had no where to get ready for the evening dinner. ie a dresser with a mirror. views were awesome though and overall a nice stay

Reviewed by
C Sinden

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, Great Value, Scenic, 5 Star Food, Friendly staff
As Above

Reviewed by
C Young

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Excellent staff, food was brilliant view from the veranda was gorgeous. Rooms were a little tired but very clean and suited our needs. Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Bruce C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Romantic Getaway
Quite possibly the best hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The staff were friendly, the room was absolutely stunning and the view of the loch and the mountains made our stay even more spectacular. Definitely worth a second visit.

Reviewed by
farrah m

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay - great service.
I have stayed here before, and will do again - an endorsement, as it's my money I'm using! My only negative is the quality of the en-suite bathroom associated with room 4... it really falls short. The ceiling is mould-ridden, as is the grout between some tiles. The bath is heavily stained, the bath taps won't stop the water from running, the sink has aged and engrained cracks in the bowl and the toilet seat should be condemned - room service, please take a look at its under-surface. All that said, the room itself was good and the hotel a happy place to be. The front-of house / waitress / restaurant manager / bar person was a credit - trust service with a smile, even though at times she was run ragged. If I had thought she could have fitted a new bathroom I would have asked - she was in control of everything else.

Reviewed by
Tim C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An original hotel
We were fortunate to be allocated to a family room with a wonderful, huge, yellow Victorian bathroom (Room 5).Amazing views over the loch from the dining room. Marvellous service from Lindsay who really was most helpful. High standard of food in the dining room with very good choices. Because of location there was no wifi.

Reviewed by
Aileen M

From Orpington, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing and poor value for money
When we saw the room we were booked in to for £129 per night we were very disappointed. It was very small and claustrophobic - a bit like being in a cupboard (room 18). We asked to be moved and thankfully we were offered an alternative rom (room 17) which was of a similar small size but it faced out to the loch so the lovely view and access to the deck area made up for the lack of size.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings in the room were of a low standard and there was a lack of attention to detail that you would expect from a much cheaper hotel. For example - the kettle in the room was so small we had to fill it to max twice over to make one hot drink, the curtain rail was fitted incorrectly meaning to close the curtains we had to stand on the furniture and lift the curtain rings individually over the faulty pole and the plug in the sink was broken so that the water would not flow out properly and the very small sink would fill up after only a few seconds of having the tap on making teeth brushing and hand washing an unpleasant experience.
Overall the customer service was not what you would expect when you are paying over £100 per night. The person who checked us in was very friendly and polite but didn't have access to the booking system (only the manager, who was out, had access). This seemed a bit unorganised and unprofessional.
On the first night we had dinner in the restaurant. The food quality was not bad but the service was poor. There were a few young girls working there who made it clear that they did not want to be there. "What do you want" was the first thing we were asked. The staff should also be made aware that guests can hear everything they are saying when they are in the bar area. We could clearly hear them having a moan about other customers sitting only a few feet away. This made us feel quite uncomfortable. Because of the poor service we didn't eat in the restaurant on our second or third night.
The continental breakfast on offer consisted of cheap fruit juices, cereal and very cheap bread. There was no fruit or pastries. The cooked breakfast was of a good standard. We only had breakfast on our first day due to having to leave the hotel pre 7am on the other days. We enquired if we could have a packed breakfast to take away (as this is what we had been offered the previous year when staying at a near by hotel) but this request was met with a confused expression.
Overall I think the hotel was poor value for money. The previous year we stayed at a near by hotel which was considerably cheaper and of a much higher standard all round. The saving grace for this hotel is the lovely setting - right on the loch side and there is a nice deck area where you can sit out and enjoy the view.

Reviewed by
E Bruce

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay in lovely hotel, food was ok apart from hair in with main course on 1st night and egg undercooked at breakfast, apart from that no complaints

Reviewed by
K McGregor

From Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
Great location! Unfortunately our room was not facing the lake and quite small with cheap furnishings. Bathroom lovely and new with excellent shower! Overall very clean B&B with friendly staff! Ask for one of lake facing rooms if possible - these have a great view and porch. Food was fantastic but like the rest of Scotland quite pricey.

Reviewed by
B Parau

From High Wycombe, England
Who stayed in June 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next