No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna
Don't stay at this hotel on a warm day! Travelling for business so only looking for a comfy bed/room and a good shower. Room was like a sauna. There was a very ineffective fan but had to sleep with the window and curtains open to get any kind of air flow. Shower options were hot or scalding. On the positive the bed was comfy and staff were good. Hotel needs modernising.

Reviewed by
Jilly W

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent tranquil setting
Enjoyed the the very charming historic setting, staff very accommodating.

Reviewed by
Michae Swallow

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hairdryer missing in room. No Picture for BBC1 on TV and no sound for ITV on TV . WI Fi hopeless.

Reviewed by
John M

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful

Reviewed by
Elaine Murray

From Llandysul, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couldnt ask for better
The location was a slight concern for me because its on top of the m1. However I couldn't hear any noise. The rooms were done out in a homely way compared to many other sterile looking hotels. All the staff were lovely, even down to the cleaning staff. The food was very tasty and surprisingly good value

Reviewed by
rich peate

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Stayed here before and will do do again. Comfy large rooms, good food and friendly service. The pool area a bit dates but about to be renovated in July I think.

Reviewed by
Jon Hall

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel stay marred by poor customer relations
We are frequent weekend travellers and experienced at this lovely hotel a policy which spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.
I booked this Friday night stay through laterooms as I usually do, and paid on my visa debit card. Upon arriving at the gotten, I was asked to insert my card to the machine for verification purposes which I duly did. We then went for a swim in the beautiful and warm pool. As the weather was still warm, we wandered across the road to the Castlewood pub for a drink as we spotted their expansive outdoor play area on our approach to the hotel. At around 8.30 pm we returned to the Derbyshire and went into the restaurant for dinner. The device and food were great, our waitress Megan stood out in particular as being attentive to our little boy. We were asked for our room number in the restaurant so that the break could be added to the room bill. My partner and son went to bed around 10 pm and I stayed in the bar to read the paper and have a beer. I ordered myself a beer at the bar and asked for it to be out on my room tab, to be told by the barman that this was not possible as I had booked the room with a debit card and not a credit card. I queried this as I had just put a £55 meal on my account, he said he couldn't help me, it was simply against their policy. He then disappeared into the kitchen to reappear with the restaurant manager, who told me that the waitress should not have put my meal on account, and asked me if I could settle the bill. I said that I couldn't as my card was in my room and at 10.40 pm I was not prepared to disturb my partner and son by going back and looking for my wallet, I asked if I could settle in the morning. The restaurant manager said that this was not possible and I again reasserted my position that this was their error, they had got my card details, my address etc and as a guest I wished to settle in the morning. Things became a bit heated and I walked into reception to try and locate the duty manager. The receptionist asked what my concern was and I explained the situation. She backed up her colleagues by staying that as I had booked using a debit card, my account was closed and there was no possible way that any supplementary charges could be added. I then said to her that there was a notice in the room staying that if I was to steal the bathrobes then I would be charged £25 for each one. I said that clearly this didn't apply to me as nothing extra could be added to my account so they couldn't possibly charge me. She informed me that in those circumstances they could charge my card for stolen bathrobes. She asked me if I intended to steal the bathrobes, I said that of course I want I was just making a point. She then told me to stop 'being smart' and 'difficult', I was lost for words. As I got more incensed, the duty manager appeared and asked if I would like to settle in the morning, to the receptionist's disgust. I received no apology and an awaiting a response from my complaint to the hotel's parent company. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was great, the pool and spa are amazing, just be prepared for the staff!

Reviewed by
matthew b

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent apart from an over cooked vegi sausage.
Although a wedding disco played until about midnight, we could hardly hear it from our room.

Reviewed by
P Jolley

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and comfortable
I planned my journey from London to arrive for a 2.00pm check-in only to find that checking in had been taking place since the morning! Anyway still very busy at Reception and had to wait for some time before collecting room key however the staff were superb; most professional. The hotel lived up to expectations. My room, although a little dated, was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Joan Marie Roberts

From South Croydon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derbyshire Hotel
Very friendly and helpful staff; great location, really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next