No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very nice warm welcoming hotel, would Definitely visit again

Reviewed by
Ryan S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
I booked this room over a premier Inn which i stay at all the time thinking i would get a much higher standard for the same price.
In most cases this was true however the rooms could do with a bit of modernisation.
Food was ok, i ordered room service which arrived quite promptly, the Tv in the room was a disappointment as it was an old style one which i cant remember the last time i saw one like that and all hotels i stay at now have Flat screens.
Overall satisfied with the hotel but would not say quality wise it is much different to a Premier Inn but you do have more facilities like Gym and pool

Reviewed by
s mills

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel as a getaway woth our baby and it was excellent the room was beautiful the staff where friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to all my single friends but also the ones with children we will return again soon

Reviewed by
Tammy Mouncey

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and warm lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
Antony B

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, leisure club, food not the best
Good points: Good price, convenient location near M1 but not affected by noise at all. Friendly staff, Good, clean room, leisure club small but great for a morning swim. Free parking.
Not so good: Showers pathetic in both room and leisure club, food not the best, especially for the price.

Reviewed by
Hamish M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay one night
Nice comfortable, clean room with suitable furniture, good customer service and helpful staff. Not much choice on menu of restaurant, but there is another option near by the hotel.

Reviewed by
Sasha S

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is this hotel run by the league of gentlemen?
First front of house shocking! Slow tardy and ineffectual.
Took 10mins to check in
First room had an overpowering smell of stale smoke
I rang down to ask for another room and they said to wait while they got a new room for me
I then waited for 10mins in the corridor before heading down to reception
Second room ok - very hot tardy decor so I opened the window a couple of inches as a bolt had been fixed into the frame to prevent it opening ( would be great in a fire!)
Wifi code didn't work
I think it only works for "local people"

Reviewed by
Andy W

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value but rather hot....
The staff were excellent - friendly and efficient.
We brought our dog and therefore realised we would not get one of the best rooms. Although a little "tired" it was a generous size and the bathroom was good. The staff had kindly provided a fan - it was one of the hottest days, but this was not enough. The windows had been fixed so that the right hand side would not slide open at all and the left restricted to only a few inches, which meant there was virtually no air flow at all.
The grounds were great - plenty of space to exercise the dog. Staff were very helpful and the spa was good.
Surprised that for a supposed 4 star there was no lift, except a disabled lift from ground to lower ground, which meant quite a big heave for the cases.
Spa was a nice surprise, but puzzling working out where the steam room was.
We were booked in for dinner, but cancelled it as the menu was very uninspiring and the surcharge for a steak was ridiculous. It was a hot day, but there were very few light/salad dishes on offer.
All in all, good value for money and good situation. Would stay again at the right price.

Reviewed by
P Moran

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stop over
Nice clean comfortable room, good facilities, ate too much at our wedding reception to sample the food.

Reviewed by
p adcock

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna
Don't stay at this hotel on a warm day! Travelling for business so only looking for a comfy bed/room and a good shower. Room was like a sauna. There was a very ineffective fan but had to sleep with the window and curtains open to get any kind of air flow. Shower options were hot or scalding. On the positive the bed was comfy and staff were good. Hotel needs modernising.

Reviewed by
Jilly W

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next