No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business trip
clean comfy room. Dinner dissapointing (steak and ale pie) pastry was very hard.

Reviewed by
b Church

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing stay
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights . We found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant . The rooms are very comfortable , perhaps a little dated. We spent most of our time in Matlock and found that although this hotel was 15 minutes away it was well with the drive back every night. We loved the roaring fires in the bar and lobby, as it gave the hotel a homely feel.

Reviewed by
C Harvey

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the derbyshire is trying to be something it doesn't achieve. It is more expensive than a budget hotel, but the carpets are threadbare, my bathroom floor was cracked badly and the tv an old fashioned box with very few channels, and poor reception. the choice of channels was poor too no bbc 1 on the first night and only the basic terrestrial channels.
I had dinner on my first night, and I'm sorry to say it was very poor value for money. Whilst not inedible, pulled pork as describedk was not the lumps of nondescript chewy meat I received. The tables were poor quality of a cheap diner. Drinks are expensive and the selection is minimal.
The staff were all unfailingly polite and helpful, and they are the strength of the hotel. My bill was incorrect, and amended without difficulty by helpful reception staff.
The derbyshire needs to decide whether it wants to provide quality accommodation for the budget traveller, and if so, cut some of the frills it doesn't deliver, or invest and upgrade the quality of what it offers.
I travel to the area regularly on business, but I'm sorry to say I won't be choosing the Derbyshire.

Reviewed by
diane r

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Room and great service!
Stayed for one night in a lovely room which was perfectly clean and suited our needs. Breakfast was well organised and very tasty. The restaurant was quite expensive so we opted for a meal else where but overall a excellent hotel!

Reviewed by
H Jackson

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Very nice warm welcoming hotel, would Definitely visit again

Reviewed by
Ryan S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Right Spot
The location of the hotel was just right for what we wanted to do during our visit to this part of the country.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scones for breakfast!
The room was compact and neat. the gym was very good and the service for the leisure facilities was excellent. The breakfast had an amazing range of food with something for all tastes including scones - my favourite.

Reviewed by
R Rutt

From Tring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for the price
I booked this room over a premier Inn which i stay at all the time thinking i would get a much higher standard for the same price.
In most cases this was true however the rooms could do with a bit of modernisation.
Food was ok, i ordered room service which arrived quite promptly, the Tv in the room was a disappointment as it was an old style one which i cant remember the last time i saw one like that and all hotels i stay at now have Flat screens.
Overall satisfied with the hotel but would not say quality wise it is much different to a Premier Inn but you do have more facilities like Gym and pool

Reviewed by
s mills

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Myself and my partner stayed at the hotel as a getaway woth our baby and it was excellent the room was beautiful the staff where friendly and helpful I would recommend this hotel to all my single friends but also the ones with children we will return again soon

Reviewed by
Tammy Mouncey

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and warm lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
Antony B

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next