No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 128 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
On arrival the hotel felt clean and welcoming. The staff were pleasant and would always say hello. We had a standard room, which was clean and tidy. The bed was a bit too soft, I normally sleep on a very firm bed, but I manage to have a reasonable night's sleep. Restaurant service was always the same on a busy or quiet sessions. Two wedding parties took place at the hotel while we were there, we were never disturbed by any noise. The TV was a bit dated and there were limited channels, the remote didn't have access to a TV guide and was damaged. The bathroom had a bath with power shower and there was plenty of hot water.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and Spa very clean. Food was excellent, well prepared and cooked. Staff made us feel welcome
The inclusive deal of 2 nights B&B plus one evening meal was excellent value for money and the Hotel was in a good location for sight-seeing. The food was delicious, well prepared and served.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Drinks were a reasonable price for a hotel.
The only small downside was that the Steam Room wasn't operational during our stay and no 'out of order' sign was displayed to inform guests.
Our room, although very clean and comfortable, was facing the main road and so opening the window meant there was quite a bit of traffic noise, so we chose to keep it closed at night. The bathroom was very small, as was the shower cubicle but, as we were only staying for 2 nights, this didn't pose a problem.
We will definitely return to this Hotel and have already recommended it to friends and family.
A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
gary jarvis

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refit
We stayed for 2 nights in August on a room only basis. We booked through Late Rooms as it worked out cheaper than booking direct with the hotel. On arrival we were pleasantly greeted by the receptionist who then dealt with our reservation. The room and the hotel in general is in need of a full refurbishment with tired and dated furnishings. The spa is small and again dated. We left after 30 minutes as it became too busy.
The hotel is friendly but in need of T.L.C. and attention to detail. I would rate this hotel a 3 star rather than 4.

Reviewed by
c martin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff
great staff our car broke down and the lady on reception was fantastic

Reviewed by
j colclough

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand setting surrounded by splendid attractions
The Derbyshire is in a prime location for motorway access, leading to a wide variety of leisure attractions for all tastes on its doorstep. The discounted hotel rates provided excellent value for money, & I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Bernard G

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valid criticism
The sink had a large crack thru middle so also the tiles on the floor, the temp of the room was very warm and unable to lower it any more. Our room was also very noisy because of vibration of generator or something similar. We did mention it at reception and was given a list of other quieter rooms for next time, however for the price we paid we were reasonably satisfied.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and scores. I apologise that you found your room to be noisy during your stay, this is not a usual comment as our bedrooms are very often described as being very quiet. During the summer months we do provide fans for our guests to help with comfort, so I am sorry that this did not work for you. I will certainly look into your comments in regards to the sink and floor tiles. I hope that you choose to stay with us again soon, Regards, Glynn, General Manager

Reviewed by
J Linard

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
Thank you for the stay. Hotel fantastic, staff very friendly polite, helpful and well presented. Leisure facilities beautiful and clean. Highly recommend to everybody. Thank you. Clare

ManagementResponse

Dear Clare, Thank you for your review and fantastic high scores. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found the team to be very friendly, well presented, polite and helpful. It is great to see that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, and of course wonderful that you would recommend the hotel to others. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon, Regards, Glynn, General Manager

Reviewed by
C Hart

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Very nice hotel for the price.Friendly staff and clean accommodation.Didn't eat in the hotel as there was a pub opposite with good value food and all you can eat daily deals

Reviewed by
g simonson

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab! Great value for money !
Staff were polite, great value for money!
Room was a little small but still very nice
Overall brill!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and fantastic high scores. I am pleased that you found your stay to be great value as well as staff to be polite. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Regards Glynn Jones General Manager

Reviewed by
M Fox

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic scores, following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. I am pleased that you found your stay to be excellent, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, Regards Glynn Jones, General Manager

Reviewed by
Barry D

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next