No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic staff
great staff our car broke down and the lady on reception was fantastic

Reviewed by
j colclough

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of refit
We stayed for 2 nights in August on a room only basis. We booked through Late Rooms as it worked out cheaper than booking direct with the hotel. On arrival we were pleasantly greeted by the receptionist who then dealt with our reservation. The room and the hotel in general is in need of a full refurbishment with tired and dated furnishings. The spa is small and again dated. We left after 30 minutes as it became too busy.
The hotel is friendly but in need of T.L.C. and attention to detail. I would rate this hotel a 3 star rather than 4.

Reviewed by
c martin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grand setting surrounded by splendid attractions
The Derbyshire is in a prime location for motorway access, leading to a wide variety of leisure attractions for all tastes on its doorstep. The discounted hotel rates provided excellent value for money, & I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Bernard G

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Valid criticism
The sink had a large crack thru middle so also the tiles on the floor, the temp of the room was very warm and unable to lower it any more. Our room was also very noisy because of vibration of generator or something similar. We did mention it at reception and was given a list of other quieter rooms for next time, however for the price we paid we were reasonably satisfied.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and scores. I apologise that you found your room to be noisy during your stay, this is not a usual comment as our bedrooms are very often described as being very quiet. During the summer months we do provide fans for our guests to help with comfort, so I am sorry that this did not work for you. I will certainly look into your comments in regards to the sink and floor tiles. I hope that you choose to stay with us again soon, Regards, Glynn, General Manager

Reviewed by
J Linard

From Essex, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic hotel
Thank you for the stay. Hotel fantastic, staff very friendly polite, helpful and well presented. Leisure facilities beautiful and clean. Highly recommend to everybody. Thank you. Clare

ManagementResponse

Dear Clare, Thank you for your review and fantastic high scores. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and found the team to be very friendly, well presented, polite and helpful. It is great to see that you enjoyed our leisure facilities, and of course wonderful that you would recommend the hotel to others. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon, Regards, Glynn, General Manager

Reviewed by
C Hart

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Very nice hotel for the price.Friendly staff and clean accommodation.Didn't eat in the hotel as there was a pub opposite with good value food and all you can eat daily deals

Reviewed by
g simonson

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab! Great value for money !
Staff were polite, great value for money!
Room was a little small but still very nice
Overall brill!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and fantastic high scores. I am pleased that you found your stay to be great value as well as staff to be polite. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon. Regards Glynn Jones General Manager

Reviewed by
M Fox

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic scores, following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. I am pleased that you found your stay to be excellent, and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, Regards Glynn Jones, General Manager

Reviewed by
Barry D

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be picky about it - but actually lots to recommend it
This is not a character filled hotel - it's a soul-less conveyor belt people accommodator - but having said that - sometimes that's just what you need. Booked two nights, on the same day we arrived - got a very competitive £49 per room - no breakfast - Check in and everything was seamless and easy. Room was absolutely stiflingly hot - but in fairness so was much of the rest of the country - managed to survive and second night was much better.
Room quality good if unimaginative - TV & kettle, nice double bed, bath, shower etc, also a double sofa bed - which might have come in handy if we'd had kids. A fridge in room which barely worked. All clean though.
Didn't have any food there - all looked overpriced - but McDonalds less than 5 mins away, and also an Outlet Store Shopping Centre off the same roundabout - lots of places nearby to eat as well if you don't fancy the fast food. Very handy for the M1 - just off J28 (and I mean bang on the roundabout) - Swimming pool and spa excellent and free - Wifi not free - which is a pain. Nothing about this place is truly excellent - but we'd probably go again if we were visiting the area - put it this way - you could do a great deal worse

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. Our hotel receives lots of great feedback on how warm, friendly and welcoming our facilities are and so I am quite disappointed to see you describe it as 'soul-less'. However I am pleased that you found your rate to be competitive and check in to be easy. During the hot weather, we did provide fans for our guests to make the temperatures more comfortable so I am pleased that this helped you. It is good to see that you found your room to be clean and of good quality with everything you needed. I will certainly look into your fridge feedback to ensure everything is working as it should be. We offer a competitively priced Tempus Menu to ensure high quality for our guests, and I am pleased that you found the leisure club to be excellent. We also offer 30 minutes of free WiFi for all residents at the hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are visiting the area. Regards, Glynn Jones, General Manager

Reviewed by
S Smith

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

desperate for aircon!
Fab hotel,only one rude member of staff,lady on front desk very curt n short with me,all other staff went out of their way to be nice...great location ,needed mushrooms on brekky! Food gorgeous...pool n spa amazing,great location nxt motorway...major fault,had our disabled mun wiv us in wheelchair and we needed get to spa,was told the stairlift didn't work cos they hadn't charged battery god no one hardly uses it! Not good ..

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It's great to see that you described the hotel as 'fab', however I am most shocked that you found your welcome on reception to be unpleasant. We usually receive fantastic comments about our front desk team and so I will be sure to look into this. I am pleased in general you found staff to be pleasant, as well as the hotel being in a great location. The chef's will be very happy to hear you found food to be 'gorgeous', as will our leisure club team regarding your comments about the pool and spa being 'amazing'. I am sorry that the lift was unavailable during your stay, we had an unexpected issue which was quickly resolved however for the safety of our guests it was out of action for a short period of time. I hope you return to stay with us again soon, Regards Glynn Jones General Manager

Reviewed by
michael d

From leeds, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next