No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing weekend
After returning from a day out the room had been cleaned and bed made however, the toileteries had not been replaced, when my husband went to have a bath he found that the hand rail had bacteria and grime under them and in the wall, also the tiles. When I used the gym facilities the air conditioner over the showers was full of gunge and grime and around the Jacuzzi tub. So sorry to say we were disappointed in this.

Reviewed by
sandra bull

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the staff was very polite and helpful evening meals were a bit pricey so we ate elsewhere handy for the M1 as it is just of the M1 but could have been signposted abit better once leaving the motorway would recommend the hotel to friends

Reviewed by
Gillian T

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality hotel comfortable and clean

Reviewed by
Alex L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nottingham Golf Trip
There were 17 of our party staying at the Derbyshire Hotel as part of the Annual London Golf Captains tour.
There were many other golfers from the same tour there as well.
We found that the rooms were very nice, the food excellent (including the main dinner on the Tuesday with 200 people) and the staff were very hardworking, friendly and courteous.
No doubt the next time we are in Nottingham it will be a pleasure to stay here.

Reviewed by
A Parker

From London, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel-great staff-didn't want to go home :(
Lovely hotel, easy access location. Very pleasant and helpful staff. Room was lovely and clean and good daily house keeping, hardly heard a thing from other guests-a bit of traffic noise though. Pool/changing rooms/hot tub etc were lovely and clean and never overloaded with people. We stayed for 5 nights as a short break to visit Alton Towers an local areas. Ate once in the hotel, was nice, a little too expensive but not a great vegetarian range for me. We used the pub over the road a lot and wetherspoons for breakfast a 10 min drive away. I would go back without hesitation :)

Reviewed by
kate read

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice
Me and my boyfriend stayed ear with our two year old daughter we was very pleased with the service and the room my little girl enjoyed the pool to. We will be visiting their again

Reviewed by
zoe w

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
A really lovely hotel and the staff couldn't be more helpful or lovely. The bed and pillows were really comfy and everything was spotless. the spa area was really beautiful, especially at night. can't wait to stay here again!

Reviewed by
K Newman

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not clean at all!
Me and my fiancè stayed at this hotel for a family members wedding and as we went to bed and woke up the next morning with the sheet off the bed and lots of human hair on the mattress topper which knocked my and my fiancé sick.
We went and complained but all the receptionist said was I will have a word with the cleaner...there was no apology whatsoever and didn't even care about us!
We will never stay at this hotel again...but we will stay at the premier inn across the street as it was really clean as family members were staying there and the pub there is good to staying open till 12 at night!

Reviewed by
B Cameron

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Supremely efficient
A welcome break on a long trek North, and then on the return South, this was incredibly convenient and easy to find, just off the Motorway. Extremely efficient in every respect, especially breakfast, with some of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in the newer rooms. Everything clean and as you want it, but you pay for the convenience. Dinner adequate but not a real wow; again just what you need.

Reviewed by
tim d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cochrane family visit to Derbyshire
Smokers congregrate right outside the front door of the hotel and we had to push past them to get access to the hotel on the Saturday night . It does not give a good impression to non smokers.

Reviewed by
James Cochrane

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next