No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bathroom
Found bathroom and toilet had not been cleaned

Reviewed by
D Jeckell

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gets most things right, but the food was a downer
Room good, though one colleague's shower was scalding and couldn't be used (I once had hot water coming out of both taps on a previous stay and had to change rooms! Service very good; well trained staff were generally a pleasure to deal with apart from the episode of a barman who had served me several times the previous day, suddenly not accepting my order without a signed room card (he changed his mind quickly enough, but it made for a silly and awkward moment). *BUT* the food was poor at dinner. Batter containing hardly any fish and chips with uncooked centres meant two meals went back. They refunded the meal cost after I complained - but I had to complain; it wasn't offered, as it should have been! Breakfasts were your average overpriced 3* quality (in a 4* hotel, of course) hotel lukewarm food under lukewarm heaters. I had toast on the succeeding two days after eating it once.
I will take colleagues here again, as there is nowhere else locally that is decent and the rest of the stay was comfortable and good enough, but I'll never eat in the restaurant again on an evening. If I'm on my own, I'll take my own breakfasts. I've stayed at the sister restaurant at the Eastwood Hall many times and the menu there is pretty much the same - and just as bad! The menu and the chef needs an overhaul.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Devon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay
Great hotel with a warming feel. great staff. the room was excellent. cannot go wrong in the slightest. definitely going again.

Reviewed by
Cameron B

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are very good.

Reviewed by
David M

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Excellent accommodation, friendly staff. No hesitation in recommending

Reviewed by
rosemary h

From Pen Y Bont Ar Ogwr, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
The hotel was very impressive and the staff very friendly. The rooms are of a good standard and showers were excellent. I was concerned due to its proximity to the motorway but the noise was minimal. The spa was good and we enjoyed using the facilities.
The cost of the accommodation was extremely good value compared with other hotels in the area.

Reviewed by
Jonathan S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
An excellent broad spectrum hotel. Great food and customer srervice is excellent. Very good with providing excellent choice for special dietary needs. Overall a great hotel.

Reviewed by
B Deeth

From Accrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

3 day stay Friday night to Sunday night
T.V in room about 30 years old - no sky - no freeview - only 5 channels available and these unknown at times. When queried at reception - told all rooms are the same. Clearly not as advertised in their brochure. Also not clear at outset that all twin rooms are downstairs and no lift. Wife is blue badge holder. Chair lift to lower level never been seen to work by one of staff. No satisafactory bright enough lights in room for reading either at desk or bedside. Bathroom very bright, so read on the toilet. Lorry noise from Motorway at times. It appears that the best deals are to be had by coach parties who appear to get better priced food deals in the restaurant

Reviewed by
m clarke

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisy hotel
The air conditioning system for the main hotel is so noisy tht it kept me awake. There was also no way to turn the fan off in the bathrooom whihc added to the noise and is a waste of energy - ironic given the number of "green" message signs scattered around. The room was so noisy I insisted on being moved at 2am so that i could at least get some sleep. Not a place I would chose to stay in again.

Reviewed by
Val C

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Toenail.........
Room and Facilities nice, but it's the little things that you remember and a cobweb on the bathroom celing and finding someone else's toenail on the floor, could only mean the room hadn't been cleaned properly previously. Not good.

Reviewed by
Mark G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next