No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice
Me and my boyfriend stayed ear with our two year old daughter we was very pleased with the service and the room my little girl enjoyed the pool to. We will be visiting their again

Reviewed by
zoe w

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
A really lovely hotel and the staff couldn't be more helpful or lovely. The bed and pillows were really comfy and everything was spotless. the spa area was really beautiful, especially at night. can't wait to stay here again!

Reviewed by
K Newman

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not clean at all!
Me and my fiancè stayed at this hotel for a family members wedding and as we went to bed and woke up the next morning with the sheet off the bed and lots of human hair on the mattress topper which knocked my and my fiancé sick.
We went and complained but all the receptionist said was I will have a word with the cleaner...there was no apology whatsoever and didn't even care about us!
We will never stay at this hotel again...but we will stay at the premier inn across the street as it was really clean as family members were staying there and the pub there is good to staying open till 12 at night!

Reviewed by
B Cameron

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Supremely efficient
A welcome break on a long trek North, and then on the return South, this was incredibly convenient and easy to find, just off the Motorway. Extremely efficient in every respect, especially breakfast, with some of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in the newer rooms. Everything clean and as you want it, but you pay for the convenience. Dinner adequate but not a real wow; again just what you need.

Reviewed by
tim d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cochrane family visit to Derbyshire
Smokers congregrate right outside the front door of the hotel and we had to push past them to get access to the hotel on the Saturday night . It does not give a good impression to non smokers.

Reviewed by
James Cochrane

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More for business than holiday hotel.
The room was very clean and comfortable. The shower could not be adjusted to cool it down,which resulted in nearly being scalded. Although we are used to living with air conditioning, the temperature in the dining room was cold to say the least.....maybe it was to cool you down after being scalded in the shower. Evening mealtime was not tried because , when presenting ourselves at the doorway to the then almost empty restaurant , we were told we couldn't be fitted in for at least 1 and half hours. We walked over the road and ate our meal at another restaurant, only to find on our return that the hotel restaurant still had tables vacant.

Reviewed by
Philip Peters

From Paphos, Cyprus
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superbly convenient
A perfect place to break a long journey North or South, this hotel is efficient, clean and comfortable, and cleverly shielded from the nearby motorway.

Reviewed by
tim d

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derbyshire Hotel M1 Jct 28 review
room was a bit cramped & the carpet was worn out,otherwise excellent base from which to go exploring

Reviewed by
paul M

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
On arrival the hotel felt clean and welcoming. The staff were pleasant and would always say hello. We had a standard room, which was clean and tidy. The bed was a bit too soft, I normally sleep on a very firm bed, but I manage to have a reasonable night's sleep. Restaurant service was always the same on a busy or quiet sessions. Two wedding parties took place at the hotel while we were there, we were never disturbed by any noise. The TV was a bit dated and there were limited channels, the remote didn't have access to a TV guide and was damaged. The bathroom had a bath with power shower and there was plenty of hot water.

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel and Spa very clean. Food was excellent, well prepared and cooked. Staff made us feel welcome
The inclusive deal of 2 nights B&B plus one evening meal was excellent value for money and the Hotel was in a good location for sight-seeing. The food was delicious, well prepared and served.
Staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Drinks were a reasonable price for a hotel.
The only small downside was that the Steam Room wasn't operational during our stay and no 'out of order' sign was displayed to inform guests.
Our room, although very clean and comfortable, was facing the main road and so opening the window meant there was quite a bit of traffic noise, so we chose to keep it closed at night. The bathroom was very small, as was the shower cubicle but, as we were only staying for 2 nights, this didn't pose a problem.
We will definitely return to this Hotel and have already recommended it to friends and family.
A very relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thank you.

Reviewed by
gary jarvis

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next