Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel


Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (74)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • rich peate

  • July 2014

couldnt ask for better

The location was a slight concern for me because its on top of the m1.

However I couldn't hear any noise. The rooms were done out in a homely way compared to many other sterile looking hotels. All the staff were lovely, even down to the cleaning staff. The food was very tasty and surprisingly good value

  • Jon Hall

  • June 2014

Very comfortable

Stayed here before and will do do again.

Comfy large rooms, good food and friendly service. The pool area a bit dates but about to be renovated in July I think.

  • matthew b

  • June 2014

Excellent hotel stay marred by poor customer relations

We are frequent weekend travellers and experienced at this lovely hotel a policy which spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.

I booked this Friday night stay through laterooms as I usually do, and paid on my visa debit card. Upon arriving at the gotten, I was asked to insert my card to the machine for verification purposes which I duly did. We then went for a swim in the beautiful and warm pool. As the weather was still warm, we wandered across the road to the Castlewood pub for a drink as we spotted their expansive outdoor play area on our approach to the hotel. At around 8.30 pm we returned to the Derbyshire and went into the restaurant for dinner. The device and food were great, our waitress Megan stood out in particular as being attentive to our little boy. We were asked for our room number in the restaurant so that the break could be added to the room bill. My partner and son went to bed around 10 pm and I stayed in the bar to read the paper and have a beer. I ordered myself a beer at the bar and asked for it to be out on my room tab, to be told by the barman that this was not possible as I had booked the room with a debit card and not a credit card. I queried this as I had just put a £55 meal on my account, he said he couldn't help me, it was simply against their policy. He then disappeared into the kitchen to reappear with the restaurant manager, who told me that the waitress should not have put my meal on account, and asked me if I could settle the bill. I said that I couldn't as my card was in my room and at 10.40 pm I was not prepared to disturb my partner and son by going back and looking for my wallet, I asked if I could settle in the morning. The restaurant manager said that this was not possible and I again reasserted my position that this was their error, they had got my card details, my address etc and as a guest I wished to settle in the morning. Things became a bit heated and I walked into reception to try and locate the duty manager. The receptionist asked what my concern was and I explained the situation. She backed up her colleagues by staying that as I had booked using a debit card, my account was closed and there was no possible way that any supplementary charges could be added. I then said to her that there was a notice in the room staying that if I was to steal the bathrobes then I would be charged £25 for each one. I said that clearly this didn't apply to me as nothing extra could be added to my account so they couldn't possibly charge me. She informed me that in those circumstances they could charge my card for stolen bathrobes. She asked me if I intended to steal the bathrobes, I said that of course I want I was just making a point. She then told me to stop 'being smart' and 'difficult', I was lost for words. As I got more incensed, the duty manager appeared and asked if I would like to settle in the morning, to the receptionist's disgust. I received no apology and an awaiting a response from my complaint to the hotel's parent company. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was great, the pool and spa are amazing, just be prepared for the staff!

  • P Jolley

  • June 2014

Overall enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent apart from an over cooked vegi sausage.

Although a wedding disco played until about midnight, we could hardly hear it from our room.

  • Stephen M

  • June 2014

Derbyshire Hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff; great location, really enjoyed my stay.

  • Joan Marie Roberts

  • June 2014

Convenient and comfortable

I planned my journey from London to arrive for a 2.00pm check-in only to find that checking in had been taking place since the morning.

Anyway still very busy at Reception and had to wait for some time before collecting room key however the staff were superb; most professional. The hotel lived up to expectations. My room, although a little dated, was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay again.

  • p mcginlay

  • June 2014

would not stay

i would not stay again.on arrivle i had to wait for a hour before my room was ready.disapointed in the room old fashion tv with only 3 channels.we had wifi for one day only.this is a top room it not worth £30 a night never mind £100.

  • Adam B

  • June 2014

Room a bit dated but clean.

Bathroom a bit mouldy. Apart from that pool lovely and breakfast was really nice.

  • J Robinson

  • May 2014

Wont stay here again.

Having stayed at many hotels and guest houses in the UK and abroad I would definitely class this hotel as 3* and not 4*.

On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were efficient. However, our room was not as good as other hotel chains in the Derbyshire area of the same star rating eg Best Western and the Hilton chain hotels. The room we stayed in could do with a general update. However, the main issue was the food. We checked in at 6.00 and were told that we could not eat in the restaurant until 9.00 pm. However, we were told that we could order off the restaurant menu if we were happy to eat in the bar instead. We accepted this as we wanted to eat a bit earlier. The menu was limited but ok. When we placed our order we were told that if a table became available in the restaurant we could move over. In the event we were served our meal in the bar even though there were empty tables in the restaurant area the whole time. The tables in the bar were far too low to eat from so we had to balance our plates on our laps. The food was mediocre. My husband ordered belly of pork which was very tough and he had to complain. The vegetables and chips on my meal were very soggy. It was very much like a canteen type of meal and certainly not worth the £14 price of the main meal. We were given complimentary desserts as we had not been happy with our main meals. To anyone visiting this hotel I would strongly recommend eating out elsewhere and definitely don't accept a table in the bar area. Breakfast the following morning, served in the restaurant, was better than the evening meal had been. Overall, I was disappointed with the experience and it was not worth the £94 bed and breakfast price, with additional cost of the evening meal. Four nights later we stayed at a fantastic B&B near Glossop at £74 which was 100% nicer. I do not have any issue with LateRooms however, as we have had many happy experiences booking with them. Just wont go to this hotel again!

  • william s

  • May 2014

Hotel looked really nice and posh at reception but inside the room looked a little dated.

The tv didn't have a good signal so was hard to watch. Didnt eat there as food was quite expensive .

Beds were comfortable and pillows were good.hotel was also quiet.