The Derbyshire Hotel

4

Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From 137 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (117)

79% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Joan Marie Roberts

  • June 2014

Convenient and comfortable

I planned my journey from London to arrive for a 2.00pm check-in only to find that checking in had been taking place since the morning.

Anyway still very busy at Reception and had to wait for some time before collecting room key however the staff were superb; most professional. The hotel lived up to expectations. My room, although a little dated, was very clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay again.

  • p mcginlay

  • June 2014

would not stay

i would not stay again.on arrivle i had to wait for a hour before my room was ready.disapointed in the room old fashion tv with only 3 channels.we had wifi for one day only.this is a top room it not worth £30 a night never mind £100.

  • Adam B

  • June 2014

Room a bit dated but clean.

Bathroom a bit mouldy. Apart from that pool lovely and breakfast was really nice.

  • J Robinson

  • May 2014

Wont stay here again.

Having stayed at many hotels and guest houses in the UK and abroad I would definitely class this hotel as 3* and not 4*.

On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were efficient. However, our room was not as good as other hotel chains in the Derbyshire area of the same star rating eg Best Western and the Hilton chain hotels. The room we stayed in could do with a general update. However, the main issue was the food. We checked in at 6.00 and were told that we could not eat in the restaurant until 9.00 pm. However, we were told that we could order off the restaurant menu if we were happy to eat in the bar instead. We accepted this as we wanted to eat a bit earlier. The menu was limited but ok. When we placed our order we were told that if a table became available in the restaurant we could move over. In the event we were served our meal in the bar even though there were empty tables in the restaurant area the whole time. The tables in the bar were far too low to eat from so we had to balance our plates on our laps. The food was mediocre. My husband ordered belly of pork which was very tough and he had to complain. The vegetables and chips on my meal were very soggy. It was very much like a canteen type of meal and certainly not worth the £14 price of the main meal. We were given complimentary desserts as we had not been happy with our main meals. To anyone visiting this hotel I would strongly recommend eating out elsewhere and definitely don't accept a table in the bar area. Breakfast the following morning, served in the restaurant, was better than the evening meal had been. Overall, I was disappointed with the experience and it was not worth the £94 bed and breakfast price, with additional cost of the evening meal. Four nights later we stayed at a fantastic B&B near Glossop at £74 which was 100% nicer. I do not have any issue with LateRooms however, as we have had many happy experiences booking with them. Just wont go to this hotel again!

  • william s

  • May 2014

Hotel looked really nice and posh at reception but inside the room looked a little dated.

The tv didn't have a good signal so was hard to watch. Didnt eat there as food was quite expensive .

Beds were comfortable and pillows were good.hotel was also quiet.

  • Jon Hall

  • May 2014

Last minute overnight

I didn't eat or use the bar but the room was very spacious and comfortable and the pool, sauna and steam room were very calming after a hard day.

  • Andrew Fearon

  • May 2014

Weekend away

Fantastic hotel.

Well looked after and food was superb. Close to a great variety of local attractions for all tastes

  • A Barber

  • May 2014

friendly helpfull staff with a well equipped room

Hotel staff really helpful & friendly although a massive queue to check in at 5.30.

Room was well equipped with everything I needed for an overnight stay.

Furniture & carpets a little tired & the room could have been cleaner. Tiny basic gym which at 6.00 was very crowded. All in all a good nights stay & I would return.

  • David L

  • May 2014

Room a little tired but service friendly and room v clean.

  • maria c

  • April 2014

the hotel was fine , but could be hugely improved with attention to the small details