Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4

Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From 167.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (69)

72% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nick H

  • July 2014

Just awful

No hot water for three days, promises that it would be resolved and it wasn't.

Offer to move rooms received at 5pm on our last night.

Swimming pool was great for or daughter but don't forget your piece of cardboard - nobody actually mentions that you need it until you get there. Food is nice but it's better at the pub across the road, more cost effective and much larger portions. For a 4* hotel what an utter disappointment. I would have preferred the travel lodge across the road.

  • Michae Swallow

  • July 2014

Excellent tranquil setting

Enjoyed the the very charming historic setting, staff very accommodating.

  • Jilly W

  • July 2014

Sauna

Don't stay at this hotel on a warm day.

Travelling for business so only looking for a comfy bed/room and a good shower. Room was like a sauna. There was a very ineffective fan but had to sleep with the window and curtains open to get any kind of air flow. Shower options were hot or scalding. On the positive the bed was comfy and staff were good. Hotel needs modernising.

  • John M

  • July 2014

Hairdryer missing in room.

No Picture for BBC1 on TV and no sound for ITV on TV . WI Fi hopeless.

  • Elaine Murray

  • July 2014

Wonderful

  • rich peate

  • July 2014

couldnt ask for better

The location was a slight concern for me because its on top of the m1.

However I couldn't hear any noise. The rooms were done out in a homely way compared to many other sterile looking hotels. All the staff were lovely, even down to the cleaning staff. The food was very tasty and surprisingly good value

  • Jon Hall

  • June 2014

Very comfortable

Stayed here before and will do do again.

Comfy large rooms, good food and friendly service. The pool area a bit dates but about to be renovated in July I think.

  • matthew b

  • June 2014

Excellent hotel stay marred by poor customer relations

We are frequent weekend travellers and experienced at this lovely hotel a policy which spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.

I booked this Friday night stay through laterooms as I usually do, and paid on my visa debit card. Upon arriving at the gotten, I was asked to insert my card to the machine for verification purposes which I duly did. We then went for a swim in the beautiful and warm pool. As the weather was still warm, we wandered across the road to the Castlewood pub for a drink as we spotted their expansive outdoor play area on our approach to the hotel. At around 8.30 pm we returned to the Derbyshire and went into the restaurant for dinner. The device and food were great, our waitress Megan stood out in particular as being attentive to our little boy. We were asked for our room number in the restaurant so that the break could be added to the room bill. My partner and son went to bed around 10 pm and I stayed in the bar to read the paper and have a beer. I ordered myself a beer at the bar and asked for it to be out on my room tab, to be told by the barman that this was not possible as I had booked the room with a debit card and not a credit card. I queried this as I had just put a £55 meal on my account, he said he couldn't help me, it was simply against their policy. He then disappeared into the kitchen to reappear with the restaurant manager, who told me that the waitress should not have put my meal on account, and asked me if I could settle the bill. I said that I couldn't as my card was in my room and at 10.40 pm I was not prepared to disturb my partner and son by going back and looking for my wallet, I asked if I could settle in the morning. The restaurant manager said that this was not possible and I again reasserted my position that this was their error, they had got my card details, my address etc and as a guest I wished to settle in the morning. Things became a bit heated and I walked into reception to try and locate the duty manager. The receptionist asked what my concern was and I explained the situation. She backed up her colleagues by staying that as I had booked using a debit card, my account was closed and there was no possible way that any supplementary charges could be added. I then said to her that there was a notice in the room staying that if I was to steal the bathrobes then I would be charged £25 for each one. I said that clearly this didn't apply to me as nothing extra could be added to my account so they couldn't possibly charge me. She informed me that in those circumstances they could charge my card for stolen bathrobes. She asked me if I intended to steal the bathrobes, I said that of course I want I was just making a point. She then told me to stop 'being smart' and 'difficult', I was lost for words. As I got more incensed, the duty manager appeared and asked if I would like to settle in the morning, to the receptionist's disgust. I received no apology and an awaiting a response from my complaint to the hotel's parent company. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was great, the pool and spa are amazing, just be prepared for the staff!

  • P Jolley

  • June 2014

Overall enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was excellent apart from an over cooked vegi sausage.

Although a wedding disco played until about midnight, we could hardly hear it from our room.

  • Stephen M

  • June 2014

Derbyshire Hotel

Very friendly and helpful staff; great location, really enjoyed my stay.