Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel


Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From 159.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (76)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • diane r

  • September 2014

the derbyshire is trying to be something it doesn't achieve.

It is more expensive than a budget hotel, but the carpets are threadbare, my bathroom floor was cracked badly and the tv an old fashioned box with very few channels, and poor reception. the choice of channels was poor too no bbc 1 on the first night and only the basic terrestrial channels. I had dinner on my first night, and I'm sorry to say it was very poor value for money. Whilst not inedible, pulled pork as describedk was not the lumps of nondescript chewy meat I received. The tables were poor quality of a cheap diner. Drinks are expensive and the selection is minimal. The staff were all unfailingly polite and helpful, and they are the strength of the hotel. My bill was incorrect, and amended without difficulty by helpful reception staff. The derbyshire needs to decide whether it wants to provide quality accommodation for the budget traveller, and if so, cut some of the frills it doesn't deliver, or invest and upgrade the quality of what it offers. I travel to the area regularly on business, but I'm sorry to say I won't be choosing the Derbyshire.

  • Gulshan K

  • September 2014

Delightful Derby

Generally good - getting a little tired and old but this is more evident in the common areas than the rooms.

Very comfortable bed and food from the restaurant is quite reasonable in quality. Breakfast nice!

  • H Jackson

  • September 2014

Lovely Room and great service!

Stayed for one night in a lovely room which was perfectly clean and suited our needs.

Breakfast was well organised and very tasty. The restaurant was quite expensive so we opted for a meal else where but overall a excellent hotel!

  • Ian S

  • August 2014

The Right Spot

The location of the hotel was just right for what we wanted to do during our visit to this part of the country.

  • R Rutt

  • August 2014

Scones for breakfast!

The room was compact and neat.

the gym was very good and the service for the leisure facilities was excellent. The breakfast had an amazing range of food with something for all tastes including scones - my favourite.

  • Ryan S

  • August 2014


Very nice warm welcoming hotel, would Definitely visit again

  • Hamish M

  • August 2014

Nice hotel, leisure club, food not the best

Good points: Good price, convenient location near M1 but not affected by noise at all.

Friendly staff, Good, clean room, leisure club small but great for a morning swim. Free parking. Not so good: Showers pathetic in both room and leisure club, food not the best, especially for the price.

  • Antony B

  • August 2014

Very pleasant and warm lovely place to stay

  • s mills

  • August 2014

Good for the price

I booked this room over a premier Inn which i stay at all the time thinking i would get a much higher standard for the same price.

In most cases this was true however the rooms could do with a bit of modernisation. Food was ok, i ordered room service which arrived quite promptly, the Tv in the room was a disappointment as it was an old style one which i cant remember the last time i saw one like that and all hotels i stay at now have Flat screens. Overall satisfied with the hotel but would not say quality wise it is much different to a Premier Inn but you do have more facilities like Gym and pool

  • Sasha S

  • August 2014

Nice Stay one night

Nice comfortable, clean room with suitable furniture, good customer service and helpful staff.

Not much choice on menu of restaurant, but there is another option near by the hotel.