No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value but rather hot....
The staff were excellent - friendly and efficient.
We brought our dog and therefore realised we would not get one of the best rooms. Although a little "tired" it was a generous size and the bathroom was good. The staff had kindly provided a fan - it was one of the hottest days, but this was not enough. The windows had been fixed so that the right hand side would not slide open at all and the left restricted to only a few inches, which meant there was virtually no air flow at all.
The grounds were great - plenty of space to exercise the dog. Staff were very helpful and the spa was good.
Surprised that for a supposed 4 star there was no lift, except a disabled lift from ground to lower ground, which meant quite a big heave for the cases.
Spa was a nice surprise, but puzzling working out where the steam room was.
We were booked in for dinner, but cancelled it as the menu was very uninspiring and the surcharge for a steak was ridiculous. It was a hot day, but there were very few light/salad dishes on offer.
All in all, good value for money and good situation. Would stay again at the right price.

Reviewed by
P Moran

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna
Don't stay at this hotel on a warm day! Travelling for business so only looking for a comfy bed/room and a good shower. Room was like a sauna. There was a very ineffective fan but had to sleep with the window and curtains open to get any kind of air flow. Shower options were hot or scalding. On the positive the bed was comfy and staff were good. Hotel needs modernising.

Reviewed by
Jilly W

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Swim
The room was good and close to the pool which was lovely, the bed in the room we stayed in was like sleeping on the rolling ocean the matress was unfortunately life expired. The air conditioning would not go lower than 18 - so a rather hot night. The staff were very nice but the food was expensive and not great quality in my opinion. I would stay again in cooler weather and hope for better luck with the bed.

Reviewed by
Bridget P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent tranquil setting
Enjoyed the the very charming historic setting, staff very accommodating.

Reviewed by
Michae Swallow

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just awful
No hot water for three days, promises that it would be resolved and it wasn't. Offer to move rooms received at 5pm on our last night.
Swimming pool was great for or daughter but don't forget your piece of cardboard - nobody actually mentions that you need it until you get there.
Food is nice but it's better at the pub across the road, more cost effective and much larger portions.
For a 4* hotel what an utter disappointment. I would have preferred the travel lodge across the road.

Reviewed by
Nick H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hairdryer missing in room. No Picture for BBC1 on TV and no sound for ITV on TV . WI Fi hopeless.

Reviewed by
John M

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful

Reviewed by
Elaine Murray

From Llandysul, Wales
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

couldnt ask for better
The location was a slight concern for me because its on top of the m1. However I couldn't hear any noise. The rooms were done out in a homely way compared to many other sterile looking hotels. All the staff were lovely, even down to the cleaning staff. The food was very tasty and surprisingly good value

Reviewed by
rich peate

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
Stayed here before and will do do again. Comfy large rooms, good food and friendly service. The pool area a bit dates but about to be renovated in July I think.

Reviewed by
Jon Hall

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel stay marred by poor customer relations
We are frequent weekend travellers and experienced at this lovely hotel a policy which spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.
I booked this Friday night stay through laterooms as I usually do, and paid on my visa debit card. Upon arriving at the gotten, I was asked to insert my card to the machine for verification purposes which I duly did. We then went for a swim in the beautiful and warm pool. As the weather was still warm, we wandered across the road to the Castlewood pub for a drink as we spotted their expansive outdoor play area on our approach to the hotel. At around 8.30 pm we returned to the Derbyshire and went into the restaurant for dinner. The device and food were great, our waitress Megan stood out in particular as being attentive to our little boy. We were asked for our room number in the restaurant so that the break could be added to the room bill. My partner and son went to bed around 10 pm and I stayed in the bar to read the paper and have a beer. I ordered myself a beer at the bar and asked for it to be out on my room tab, to be told by the barman that this was not possible as I had booked the room with a debit card and not a credit card. I queried this as I had just put a £55 meal on my account, he said he couldn't help me, it was simply against their policy. He then disappeared into the kitchen to reappear with the restaurant manager, who told me that the waitress should not have put my meal on account, and asked me if I could settle the bill. I said that I couldn't as my card was in my room and at 10.40 pm I was not prepared to disturb my partner and son by going back and looking for my wallet, I asked if I could settle in the morning. The restaurant manager said that this was not possible and I again reasserted my position that this was their error, they had got my card details, my address etc and as a guest I wished to settle in the morning. Things became a bit heated and I walked into reception to try and locate the duty manager. The receptionist asked what my concern was and I explained the situation. She backed up her colleagues by staying that as I had booked using a debit card, my account was closed and there was no possible way that any supplementary charges could be added. I then said to her that there was a notice in the room staying that if I was to steal the bathrobes then I would be charged £25 for each one. I said that clearly this didn't apply to me as nothing extra could be added to my account so they couldn't possibly charge me. She informed me that in those circumstances they could charge my card for stolen bathrobes. She asked me if I intended to steal the bathrobes, I said that of course I want I was just making a point. She then told me to stop 'being smart' and 'difficult', I was lost for words. As I got more incensed, the duty manager appeared and asked if I would like to settle in the morning, to the receptionist's disgust. I received no apology and an awaiting a response from my complaint to the hotel's parent company. The hotel itself is lovely, the room was great, the pool and spa are amazing, just be prepared for the staff!

Reviewed by
matthew b

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next