Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4

Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From 147.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • wendy w

  • February 2015

The Derbyshire Hotel

The only fault we could say was the age and quality of the TV in our room.

Poor quality picture and choice of channels other wise lovey room wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • James Dunne

  • February 2015

It's time to refurbish all the bedroom's and bathrooms

The standard of the bedrooms & bathrooms are well overdue for refurbishment.

However, they would be acceptable for around £60 per night including breakfast. The steam driven TV with limited stations and technology leaves a lot to be desired. Wot is Sky. just off junction 28 M1. However, no clear & readable signage to indicate the location of the DERBYSHIRE HOTEL for customers or the Emergency Services. I mentioned this to the receptionist and he responded with, "We are rebranding sometime in the future and I am sure that they will erect new signs then" an unsatisfactory response in my books. On a positive note, the gym and pool and sauna were well managed by a good team who maintained high standards. The breakfast was disapointly bland, however my palette was enhanced with the waitress cleaning the nearby tables with Lemon fragaranced Pledge furniture polish. I wonder if LateRooms.com give a refund/credit to unhappy customers who have been sold a dream.

  • S Williams

  • January 2015

Aging rooms

Whilst the hotel was clean and tidy, the area in which I stayed (Rm177) was very dated with worn carpets etc

  • c brown

  • January 2015

Enjoyed our overnight stay

Myself and my partner stayed overnight at this hotel we found the room was clean and relaxing the spa facilities were just what we needed to unwind.

  • Nigel C

  • December 2014

Will stay here again without a doubt.

Reception staff superb, everyone helpful with a very friendly atmosphere at breakfast.

Well done.

  • ian w

  • December 2014

Best in the Area

Having to stay in the area several times for business reasons I have stayed at several hotels in the area, deffinetly the best room, power shower and breakfast to date.

will deffinatly be making this my hotel of choice from now!!!!!.

  • b Church

  • October 2014

business trip

clean comfy room.

Dinner dissapointing (steak and ale pie) pastry was very hard.

  • C Harvey

  • October 2014

A relaxing stay

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights .

We found the staff to be very helpful and pleasant . The rooms are very comfortable , perhaps a little dated. We spent most of our time in Matlock and found that although this hotel was 15 minutes away it was well with the drive back every night. We loved the roaring fires in the bar and lobby, as it gave the hotel a homely feel.

  • diane r

  • September 2014

the derbyshire is trying to be something it doesn't achieve.

It is more expensive than a budget hotel, but the carpets are threadbare, my bathroom floor was cracked badly and the tv an old fashioned box with very few channels, and poor reception. the choice of channels was poor too no bbc 1 on the first night and only the basic terrestrial channels. I had dinner on my first night, and I'm sorry to say it was very poor value for money. Whilst not inedible, pulled pork as describedk was not the lumps of nondescript chewy meat I received. The tables were poor quality of a cheap diner. Drinks are expensive and the selection is minimal. The staff were all unfailingly polite and helpful, and they are the strength of the hotel. My bill was incorrect, and amended without difficulty by helpful reception staff. The derbyshire needs to decide whether it wants to provide quality accommodation for the budget traveller, and if so, cut some of the frills it doesn't deliver, or invest and upgrade the quality of what it offers. I travel to the area regularly on business, but I'm sorry to say I won't be choosing the Derbyshire.

  • Gulshan K

  • September 2014

Delightful Derby

Generally good - getting a little tired and old but this is more evident in the common areas than the rooms.

Very comfortable bed and food from the restaurant is quite reasonable in quality. Breakfast nice!