No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and warm lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
Antony B

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, leisure club, food not the best
Good points: Good price, convenient location near M1 but not affected by noise at all. Friendly staff, Good, clean room, leisure club small but great for a morning swim. Free parking.
Not so good: Showers pathetic in both room and leisure club, food not the best, especially for the price.

Reviewed by
Hamish M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Stay one night
Nice comfortable, clean room with suitable furniture, good customer service and helpful staff. Not much choice on menu of restaurant, but there is another option near by the hotel.

Reviewed by
Sasha S

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Is this hotel run by the league of gentlemen?
First front of house shocking! Slow tardy and ineffectual.
Took 10mins to check in
First room had an overpowering smell of stale smoke
I rang down to ask for another room and they said to wait while they got a new room for me
I then waited for 10mins in the corridor before heading down to reception
Second room ok - very hot tardy decor so I opened the window a couple of inches as a bolt had been fixed into the frame to prevent it opening ( would be great in a fire!)
Wifi code didn't work
I think it only works for "local people"

Reviewed by
Andy W

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding stop over
Nice clean comfortable room, good facilities, ate too much at our wedding reception to sample the food.

Reviewed by
p adcock

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value but rather hot....
The staff were excellent - friendly and efficient.
We brought our dog and therefore realised we would not get one of the best rooms. Although a little "tired" it was a generous size and the bathroom was good. The staff had kindly provided a fan - it was one of the hottest days, but this was not enough. The windows had been fixed so that the right hand side would not slide open at all and the left restricted to only a few inches, which meant there was virtually no air flow at all.
The grounds were great - plenty of space to exercise the dog. Staff were very helpful and the spa was good.
Surprised that for a supposed 4 star there was no lift, except a disabled lift from ground to lower ground, which meant quite a big heave for the cases.
Spa was a nice surprise, but puzzling working out where the steam room was.
We were booked in for dinner, but cancelled it as the menu was very uninspiring and the surcharge for a steak was ridiculous. It was a hot day, but there were very few light/salad dishes on offer.
All in all, good value for money and good situation. Would stay again at the right price.

Reviewed by
P Moran

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sauna
Don't stay at this hotel on a warm day! Travelling for business so only looking for a comfy bed/room and a good shower. Room was like a sauna. There was a very ineffective fan but had to sleep with the window and curtains open to get any kind of air flow. Shower options were hot or scalding. On the positive the bed was comfy and staff were good. Hotel needs modernising.

Reviewed by
Jilly W

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Swim
The room was good and close to the pool which was lovely, the bed in the room we stayed in was like sleeping on the rolling ocean the matress was unfortunately life expired. The air conditioning would not go lower than 18 - so a rather hot night. The staff were very nice but the food was expensive and not great quality in my opinion. I would stay again in cooler weather and hope for better luck with the bed.

Reviewed by
Bridget P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent tranquil setting
Enjoyed the the very charming historic setting, staff very accommodating.

Reviewed by
Michae Swallow

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just awful
No hot water for three days, promises that it would be resolved and it wasn't. Offer to move rooms received at 5pm on our last night.
Swimming pool was great for or daughter but don't forget your piece of cardboard - nobody actually mentions that you need it until you get there.
Food is nice but it's better at the pub across the road, more cost effective and much larger portions.
For a 4* hotel what an utter disappointment. I would have preferred the travel lodge across the road.

Reviewed by
Nick H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next