No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Derbyshire Hotel
Very friendly and helpful staff; great location, really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a bit dated but clean. Bathroom a bit mouldy. Apart from that pool lovely and breakfast was really nice.

Reviewed by
Adam B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would not stay
i would not stay again.on arrivle i had to wait for a hour before my room was ready.disapointed in the room old fashion tv with only 3 channels.we had wifi for one day only.this is a top room it not worth £30 a night never mind £100.

Reviewed by
p mcginlay

From Corby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wont stay here again.
Having stayed at many hotels and guest houses in the UK and abroad I would definitely class this hotel as 3* and not 4*. On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful. Check in and check out were efficient. However, our room was not as good as other hotel chains in the Derbyshire area of the same star rating eg Best Western and the Hilton chain hotels. The room we stayed in could do with a general update. However, the main issue was the food. We checked in at 6.00 and were told that we could not eat in the restaurant until 9.00 pm. However, we were told that we could order off the restaurant menu if we were happy to eat in the bar instead. We accepted this as we wanted to eat a bit earlier. The menu was limited but ok. When we placed our order we were told that if a table became available in the restaurant we could move over. In the event we were served our meal in the bar even though there were empty tables in the restaurant area the whole time. The tables in the bar were far too low to eat from so we had to balance our plates on our laps. The food was mediocre. My husband ordered belly of pork which was very tough and he had to complain. The vegetables and chips on my meal were very soggy. It was very much like a canteen type of meal and certainly not worth the £14 price of the main meal. We were given complimentary desserts as we had not been happy with our main meals. To anyone visiting this hotel I would strongly recommend eating out elsewhere and definitely don't accept a table in the bar area. Breakfast the following morning, served in the restaurant, was better than the evening meal had been. Overall, I was disappointed with the experience and it was not worth the £94 bed and breakfast price, with additional cost of the evening meal. Four nights later we stayed at a fantastic B&B near Glossop at £74 which was 100% nicer. I do not have any issue with LateRooms however, as we have had many happy experiences booking with them. Just wont go to this hotel again!

Reviewed by
J Robinson

From Stowmarket, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute overnight
I didn't eat or use the bar but the room was very spacious and comfortable and the pool, sauna and steam room were very calming after a hard day.

Reviewed by
Jon Hall

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Fantastic hotel. Well looked after and food was superb. Close to a great variety of local attractions for all tastes

Reviewed by
Andrew Fearon

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel looked really nice and posh at reception but inside the room looked a little dated. The tv didn't have a good signal so was hard to watch. Didnt eat there as food was quite expensive .
Beds were comfortable and pillows were good.hotel was also quiet.

Reviewed by
william s

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a little tired but service friendly and room v clean.

Reviewed by
David L

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly helpfull staff with a well equipped room
Hotel staff really helpful & friendly although a massive queue to check in at 5.30. Room was well equipped with everything I needed for an overnight stay.
Furniture & carpets a little tired & the room could have been cleaner. Tiny basic gym which at 6.00 was very crowded. All in all a good nights stay & I would return.

Reviewed by
A Barber

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was fine , but could be hugely improved with attention to the small details

Reviewed by
maria c

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next