No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good room, Service Patchy, Restaurant Very Overpriced
Room was very good value for the money. Can't complain at all about that. Not especially stylish, but serviceable and clean. Some staff excellent, though would be very unhappy to have paid their advertised rates and received the service I did from some of them. Be warned that the bar and restaurant charge well over-inflated prices for ordinary food and the service of some restaurant staff was appalling, though a couple of staff were excellent - would recommend avoiding the restaurant on balance! Spa not as nice as it looks in photos, but ok for an extra at the price I paid. Would stay on a deal again, but not at full price.

ManagementResponse

.

Reviewed by
Michela N

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visitor
We stayed at this hotel as our son lives in Glapwell and the hotel that we usually stay in at junction 29 has got too expensive. Our first impressions of this hotel were very pleasing and our room was excellent. We had a very relaxing time, we took our own cereals, bowls and milk and had breakfast in bed and watched T.V. until noon. something we never do at home. We would like to stay there in the future and probably make use of the free swimming pool etc. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
K Deans

From Guildford, Surrey, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute overnight stay
Nice hotel but a bit pricy for an unexpected over night stay. Plenty of other hotels at better rates in the area.
Breakfast was ok, staff very helpful and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and high scores following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. I am pleased that you found the hotel to be nice, staff to be helpful and friendly as well as enjoying breakfast. We regularly undertake analysis of other 4* hotels in the area to ensure we are always competitive with our pricing, and so I am sorry you found this to be higher than you wanted for your one night stay. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon,

Reviewed by
G Brown

From Heysham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean hotel , reception very welcoming, noithing special , fairly modern , fit for purpose for an overnight business stay.
Also a decent lobby area for meetings.

Reviewed by
James H

From Glasgow, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday celibration
We have had a few great stays at this hotel. Firstly they give excellent value for money, especially when priced against another hotel in the area. Clean throughout. Very helpful and friendly staff who would go the extra mile to fulfil a task or request from me of my husband. The breakfast is amazing good selection with extra cooked to order, the spa and swimming pool is a great place to relax, not so sure about the gym, but there was a lot of people on the different machines. Lots of local info to read and places to visit. Good to have the extened leaving times on Sundays. Free parking. Easy access to M1 and roads into Mansfield, Darby & Nottingham. Very comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Jane Hill

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed for the night
The room was what you need, a bed for the night, the bathroom needed some attention as was looking shabby in places. Staff where welcoming and helpful at all times.

Reviewed by
D West

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay - weekend break

Reviewed by
lindsay scott

From crewe, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was billed as a four star hotel but was more like a two star. The carpet in the corridor was thread bare and had carpet tape across the width of the corridor to hold it in place. The room was very small and stuffy. It was very outdated in decor and not at all like the pictures that wete posted on the website which was very misleading.

Reviewed by
karen a

From Chislehurst, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Derbyshire
Hotel seems a bit dated in certain areas.
Reception on the TV was appalling.
Bar prices very expensive.

Reviewed by
andy N

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable hotel
Easy to find just off the M1. The hotel has a pleasant entrance and well kept. The bedrooms are dated but clean and comfy. We choose this hotel for the location and swimming pool facilities and they were excellent. The restaurant is a bit small but the hotel does explain their busy times and the breakfast had a good selection. Staff are courteous and helpful. Yes I would stay here again,

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. It is great to see that found the hotel easy to find; being located just minutes from J28 of the M1 were are ideally located. I am pleased you found the entrance to the hotel to be pleasant and well kept, and that your bedroom was clean and comfortable. Our leisure club team will be pleased that you thought the swimming pool facilities were excellent. During busier times we do provide guests with a guide as to when the busiest times for breakfast are, to ensure that your are able to enjoy our selection at a time to suit you, and its pleasing that you found this useful. I will pass on your comments to the team, who will be very happy to hear that you found them to be courteous and helpful. I hope you choose to return to the hotel again soon, Regards Glynn Jones General Manager

Reviewed by
a kay

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next