No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Derbyshire Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Carter Lane East , Derbyshire, DE55 2EH
Location is perfect at The Derbyshire Hotel. Literally seconds from junction 28 of the M1, business travellers will find this a welcome respite after a day on the road. Short break visitors will find it an extremely convenient place to explore this beautiful area as you’re within easy reach of Nottingham, Derby and Chesterfield, on the edge of the beautiful Peak District National Park and will find plenty of family fun at nearby Hardwick Hall, Alton Towers and Chatsworth House. For shop-a-holics, the hotel is opposite the East Midlands Designer Shopping Outlet where there are plenty of bargains. Following a busy day, there’s a comfy bed, delicious food from Chatterley’s Restaurant, an airy health club, with indoor heated swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym back at The Derbyshire Hotel– a perfect way to unwind.
Picture of The Derbyshire Hotel, Derbyshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable escape for a couple of days
The food was excellent - we really enjoyed our meals. The staff were friendly and obliging. The accommodation was reasonably spacious for what we paid - the only drawback was the ancient TV. Freeview/digital channels and flat screen televisions have not reached this hotel yet - at least not in our room which had little more than the basic channels of analogue days. Internet is available - but the "free" Wi-Fi is 30 minutes per day (enough for emails etc.). You can pay for more time. A map of the area would have been useful. The usual hotel guide which was not available in our room. You could get some of the usual content via the internet. The equivalent menu was not available on the TV despite a "menu" button. The local designer outlet just down the road is well worth a visit. A real bonus for a hotel near a motorway was the excellent soundproofing. We couldn't hear the traffic we watched go by.

Reviewed by
S Scholes

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bank holiday break
Meal at hotel, very poor, very poor selection, three of the choices were burgers! I had risotto, worst I have ever tasted, when I said to the waiter that the risotto was not good, he made no comment.

Reviewed by
Heather S

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation great, food a bit limited
Room was lovely. Clean and bed very comfortable.
Bar food was a bit limited in that the menu was on the whole a bit stodgy.
There were three salads - Caesar, chicken Caesar and Greek, but that was it. Other meals mostly bread based.
Didn't eat in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
Yvonne L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location but needs bringing up to date.
The location is excellent just off the motorway and the staff are without exception very friendly and helpful but this is overshadowed by the rooms which are old and tired and definitely need renovation. There was no air conditioning and the TV was old with poor reception. The bed and linen were clean but the overall feel in the room was ‘worn’. It's a shame as this hotel could be excellent, action needs to be taken to bring it up to an acceptable standard.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Derbyshire Hotel. I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be excellent, and our staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is disappointing to see that you have found our comfortable bedrooms to be old and tired. We usually receive great feedback on the comfort and quality of facilities in our rooms. Our public areas and some bedrooms have air conditioning, and I am sorry that the fan you were provided with did not help during the very hot weather. Our guests usually report a great night's sleep and so it is disappointing that you did not experience this. We do also have plans in place to update some of our facilities very soon. If you would like to discuss any aspect of your stay in more detail, please don't hesitate to contact me directly, and I hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Regards, Glynn Jones, General Manager

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing Spa Leisure break with buffet breakfast
This is becoming a regular thing for us. It's just very relaxing. The hotel is smart, well run, well kept, excellent staff, awesome breakfasts, and the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and gym are all of the best standard. It's very good value for money. Highly recommended! Ideal as a base location for exploring, say, shopping centres in Derby or Sheffield(Meadowhall) or just exploring the Derbyshire market towns or countryside......

Reviewed by
Michael Beech

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good experience
Lovely staff very helpful thank you

Reviewed by
s mitton

From Warlingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Wonderful
Comfortable
Relaxing
Great Pool
Great Facilities
Fantastic Staff
Everything you need to hand
Beautiful Bathroom

ManagementResponse

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review and your fantastic scores. It’s very encouraging to see that you found everything you needed to be here at The Derbyshire Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Reviewed by
Mark Parkin

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Our second stay in as many months. Enjoyable experience all round on both occasions.

ManagementResponse

Dear L Walden, Thank you for your recent review. It’s great to see that you enjoyed your stay at The Derbyshire Hotel, and that you are a regular customer. I will pass on your high customer service score to the team who will be most pleased. I look forward to you staying with us again soon

Reviewed by
L Walden

From Northwood, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
Hotel easliy accessible off motorway. Staff helpful and friendly. Room spacious and clean. Food excellent especially breakfast.

ManagementResponse

Dear Norreen H, Thank you for your review and great scored. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be accessible, and staff helpful and friendly. I will certainly pass your comments onto the team. It’s great that your room was spacious and clean for you, and that you enjoyed dining with us – our chefs will be very pleased that you found breakfast to be excellent. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon

Reviewed by
Noreen H

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Derbyshire Hotel
Hotel was busy, but the staff still found the time to be very friendly and helpful, the service was also very good, pity about a tapping noise in the room that only stopped at 7.00am! Other than that a nice hotel with good facilities.

ManagementResponse

Dear W Rose, Thank you for taking the time to review The Derbyshire Hotel following your recent stay. It is very pleasing to read that you found the staff team to be very friendly and helpful, providing you with very good service. I apologise that there was a tapping noise in your bedroom, this is something I will look into further to ensure the issue is solved. It's great thank you had time to enjoy our facilities, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon. Regards, Glynn Jones, General Manager

Reviewed by
W Rose

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next