The Derbyshire Hotel

4

Carter Lane East, Derbyshire, DE55 2EH

Price From 143.12 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (124)

80% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Nicholas Roberts

  • July 2013

Shabby

The hotel room was in dyer need of a refurbishmeant settee had very warn arms, bathroom door had more holes than a dart board and the tv was from the ark (not flat screen and limited channels) The room was very hot and no aircon plus window only opened about 3" (Was told off for lighting an incense cone) whole room looked very dated.

The bar area also had issues with its chairs as they had no pading across the back rest(due to over use) meaning after only a very short time you were unable to sit in them with out pain and feeling uncomfortable. Hotel states it has free wifi for guest which was great but on using it found it very poor when wanting to watch a film on my I-pad as it kept buffering every 30 seconds, also slow on downloading web sites if I had had to pay for this (£12.50 per 24hrs) I would have been furious). We left early (2am) as was very unhappy and did not stay for our payed for breakfast but no refund was offered.

  • Andrew C

  • July 2013

Excellent location but needs bringing up to date.

The location is excellent just off the motorway and the staff are without exception very friendly and helpful but this is overshadowed by the rooms which are old and tired and definitely need renovation.

There was no air conditioning and the TV was old with poor reception. The bed and linen were clean but the overall feel in the room was ‘worn’. It's a shame as this hotel could be excellent, action needs to be taken to bring it up to an acceptable standard.

  • Paul Gallagher

  • July 2013

The hotel is very good and only let down by the lack of choice with TV channels if you decide to have a quiet night in your room.

  • C Shaw

  • July 2013

Amazing Night

Found this hotel per chance whilst booking online, but the 4 stars the hotel has is a understatement, felt like a 5 star hotel from the moment of arrival to the moment of departure

  • Ian B

  • July 2013

Review

Pity the room didn't have the Air-con I booked and that Breakfast on a Sunday doesn't start till 8am, otherwise was a lovely hotel and very helpful staff....

  • Richard G

  • July 2013

Pleasantly surprised

From Tripadvisor reviews we were not expecting much.However, reception very polite and efficient, rooms vey clean - just need to update the tv, staff in all areas friendly and would definitely stay here again.

No signs of pets.

  • J DOAN

  • July 2013

5 days stay at Derbyshire Hotel

I checked in on monday.

the first receptionist was quickly provided me all necessary items to go to the room. i checked and disliked room due to no hvac and handicap room. he gave me another room, it is the same one. i was so upset due to long trip and tired. he told me whole building was no hvac for one week so he cannot provide me any room. i have to stay until they can fix the hvac and he did not know how long. i was upset and went back to the receptionist and asked for upper management to handle this case. another duty manager was there and quickly handled my paperworks and provided me another room. he escorted me to that room and luckly the room has hvac and in good condition. i decided to stay there due to too late and tired. i stayed there for all 4 days. they had one day did not do room services as daily required. i have to call and request to clean the room. in brief, the hotle is ok, but it should be 3 stars not 4 start as it is rating. price is ok not bad.

  • N Howell

  • July 2013

This hotel is well situated in relation to the M1, accommodation is fine but the food and drink is expensive for a provincial hotel.

The quality of the breakfast is poor for the cost and the choice is also somewhat limited

  • m mayes

  • July 2013

romantic break

we hsd a lovely stay on the whole a pleasant hotel.The reason this hotel did not get s six is becsuse everytime we went to get into our roon our card key did not work have used these in numerous hotels and have had no problem, felt the male reception staff did not realuse the inconvenience of this especially when you are dripping wet from a swim and then have to trek to reception everytime to activate key this is obviously an ongoing problem becsuse they say has your card key been nr a mobile to everyone as if its your prob .

and actually mine never was!

  • Carlton A

  • July 2013

Derbyshire Hotel

I was very satisfied with my stay at this good hotel.

Good staff, nice room and a good restaurant for dinner and breakfast. Would be prepared to stay again in the future. Very convenient for the M1 but without traffic noise problems.