No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riviera Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bowleaze Coveway , Weymouth, DT3 6PR
The Riviera Hotel is a well-known Art Deco Dorset landmark with a Grade II listing. The hotel has welcomed holidaymakers to its stunning location in Weymouth for over 70 years. The hotel is set just above Bowleaze Cove and offers fantastic views across the bay to Weymouth and Portland harbour , which will host the sailing events during the Olympic Games in 2012. The Riviera Hotel is only a short drive from the town centre and a regular bus service operates from outside the hotel in high season. Following a £3.5 million refurbishment, The Riviera Hotel now has 98 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been enlarged and completely redecorated. Each bedroom offers superb sea or countryside views, Flat Screen TV, Mini Bar, Room Safe and bespoke canvas artwork in each room. The Hotel offers free parking and wi fi access. The new Bowleaze Restaurant can seat up to 135 guests, the renovated Riviera Suite and ballroom is the focal point for live entertainment , dancing and shows. The Riviera hotel can cater for any function from 10 - 300 guests. The Riviera has 2 Bars and a indoor leisure centre with heated pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room, and Spa treatments are available. There is also an outside heated pool with sun terrace and sun loungers which is open during the high season.

Picture of Riviera Hotel, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 57% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
Due to the layout of hotel the noise from walkways was very disturbing ,the bed was extremely hard and made it impossible to sleep.I can only imagine the noise on the walkways if this had been in busy season. On the plus side the view was spectacular

Reviewed by
neil p

From Ashton Under Lyne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The good, the bad and the ugly!!!!
The interior was retro and fitted the description with good use of furnishings and contemporary finishing, clean and attractive.
The outside lets the hotel down...gardens not planted or maintained, paintwork urgently needs maintenance, rubbish left around needs clearing. Generally scruffy in appearance and if I hadnt booked in advance would put me off. The views are a redeeming feature but a room around the back is a different matter. Also leisure facilities need rethinking. Changing rooms should be where reception desk is so that you dont have to access a public walkthrough in your swimwear. Floors need more safety mats and drainage as excess large puddles of water everywhere.
Pool was lovely temperature and well looked after and clean. Access to beach and cliff walks was good.

Reviewed by
June Lusty

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was clean and tidy and looked very attractive at night with the lights on and you could see it across the bay. During the day you could see that it had seen better days. However, we enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

Reviewed by
D Bickerstaffe

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

awful place.......
The first thing would be this question, where did they spend the 4 million pounds?
The room itself was lovely...... The rest of the place was a dump. There was a huge hole in the roof outside our room that had birds nesting in it. We were kept awake by other guests who were drunk and loud. We were woken up at 1 am, 3 am, 5 am and 6 am by people talking, banging doors and laughing outside our room and could hear someone being sick in the next room. It was honestly the worst place I have ever stayed and i defiantly won't stay there again or recommend it to anyone else.

Reviewed by
Rebecca P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect view
Wonderful base for exploring Dorset at a reasonable price. The room was clean but not everything was working correctly, eg. lighting, but it did not affect our stay. The location and view on a good day are difficult to beat.

Reviewed by
E Uzzell

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting period hotel
Worth the money and pleasant position with great views. Friendly and helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Peter H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice spot to rest
Stayed at the hotel for one night whilst working in Weymouth. The hotel was in a nice location for a relaxing walk and a drink on the seafront. The room was tastefully decorated but the bed was very uncomfortable, investing in better mattresses would be a benefit. I ate in the bar area and the food was pleasant and the service good.

Reviewed by
Nicky E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean hotel, but sometimes service was lacking. Food quality good. In the room would request a light switch on both sides of bed and in today's technological world a plug point too. The fridge in the room the best we've ever had. The shower temperature was not hot enough.

Reviewed by
Kevin M

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact
Maintaining the Art Deco look, however hard cheap bed, which let down the effort which has obviously been put into these rooms. Rooms on the small side but the bathroom equalled or surpassed some better hotels we have stayed in.
Hotel is not advertised as a holiday camp, blatant mis-representation. Art Deco complex.. Fantastic views, but poorly maintained exterior, example riveria sign on main building. Rooms are on a chalet.. Basis.. The rear of the buildings remind me of some of the more .. Basic.. " hotels" in Bangkok.,!
Staff very obliging, albeit one or the other. Have the answers, or not and if not referred back to staff member who has answers.? Appears to be,"learn on the job" and muddle through. No evidence of management around. Example staff chairs on front lawn surrounded by cigarette buts.. And witnessed..

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allowed to get run down looks like an upmarket pontins which is what is used to be

Reviewed by
k grainger

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next