No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riviera Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Bowleaze Coveway , Weymouth, DT3 6PR
The Riviera Hotel is a well-known Art Deco Dorset landmark with a Grade II listing. The hotel has welcomed holidaymakers to its stunning location in Weymouth for over 70 years. The hotel is set just above Bowleaze Cove and offers fantastic views across the bay to Weymouth and Portland harbour , which will host the sailing events during the Olympic Games in 2012. The Riviera Hotel is only a short drive from the town centre and a regular bus service operates from outside the hotel in high season. Following a £3.5 million refurbishment, The Riviera Hotel now has 98 en-suite bedrooms, many of which have been enlarged and completely redecorated. Each bedroom offers superb sea or countryside views, Flat Screen TV, Mini Bar, Room Safe and bespoke canvas artwork in each room. The Hotel offers free parking and wi fi access. The new Bowleaze Restaurant can seat up to 135 guests, the renovated Riviera Suite and ballroom is the focal point for live entertainment , dancing and shows. The Riviera hotel can cater for any function from 10 - 300 guests. The Riviera has 2 Bars and a indoor leisure centre with heated pool, gymnasium, sauna, steam room, and Spa treatments are available. There is also an outside heated pool with sun terrace and sun loungers which is open during the high season.

Picture of Riviera Hotel, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
51% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact
Maintaining the Art Deco look, however hard cheap bed, which let down the effort which has obviously been put into these rooms. Rooms on the small side but the bathroom equalled or surpassed some better hotels we have stayed in.
Hotel is not advertised as a holiday camp, blatant mis-representation. Art Deco complex.. Fantastic views, but poorly maintained exterior, example riveria sign on main building. Rooms are on a chalet.. Basis.. The rear of the buildings remind me of some of the more .. Basic.. " hotels" in Bangkok.,!
Staff very obliging, albeit one or the other. Have the answers, or not and if not referred back to staff member who has answers.? Appears to be,"learn on the job" and muddle through. No evidence of management around. Example staff chairs on front lawn surrounded by cigarette buts.. And witnessed..

Reviewed by
Simon B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Allowed to get run down looks like an upmarket pontins which is what is used to be

Reviewed by
k grainger

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chalet rooms have been tarted up, albeit nice, smells damp due to lack of air in rooms off season. Bed uncomfortable, springs sticking out to top of bed. Steps leading up to outside of chalets rooms facing bay very grimey, only spaces/areas photophed for websites etc made good to look nice. Party/wedding on the sat night we stayed, this was held inside the party suite upstairs, loud banging music through night, then drunk guests running along hotel areas and banging their chalet doors also keeping you awake at night. I wouldn't stay here again despite lovely art depeco building and beautiful bay view/location and main meals inside the restaurant lovely.

Reviewed by
serife h

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice fab staff luvly room will definatly be back

Reviewed by
t yates

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay prior to catching ferry
I booked this hotel before reading the reviews, if I had I probably wouldn't have booked it. As a stopover before catching the ferry it was adequate but expensive. The room interiors have been updated and the facilities within the room were good so they have tried. However there was a gap round the entrance door which is also an external door, if it hadn't been a particularly hot August evening it would have been very draughty. The bathroom was modern but was spoilt by not being clean. There was also an interconnecting door (a leftover from it's previous life) which was unlocked and we could also easily hear the people in the next room. This could be an amazing place to stay if more care and cleanliness was taken, it is obviously from a bygone age that should be used to it's advantage not as an excuse. We did not use the restaurant as we had to check out before breakfast was served.

Reviewed by
T Lewis

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was OK. Rooms in an external motel-style block.Good breakfast

Reviewed by
Roger H

From High Peak, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location of the hotel, very clean and lovely staff. I would say it is slightly over priced for the quality of our stay. We had only 1 socket to plug in charger/hairdryer etc which was hidden behind a cabinet and difficult to access. The fridge was kept in an unventilated cabinet and was over heating, we had to create a prop to open.

Reviewed by
Rebecca P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

facilities
Disappointed that we was only able to have a one hour in a pool due to lessons which is not mentioned when booking.

Reviewed by
B Fairman

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good choice
Upon arrival I was not impressed with the look of the hotel, but after checking in and reaching my room I was surprised with the quality. The rooms themselves are very nice and clean inside and the beds are great. The bathroom is also great though the shower was a bit of a pain to use.
In the morning we went down for breakfast which was great! It was a buffet style breakfast with many choices.
Staff were very friendly and helpful!
Would go again!

Reviewed by
M Payton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lack of info.should cost less
No info/guide on the hotel in the room.not told of prom night on our first night,had we arrived later than we did we would have struggled to get into car park and checking in would have been a problem.the buffet breakfast was not of good quality.the hotel is not bad but should be better for the money charged.

Reviewed by
steven t

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next