No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durrant House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Heywood Road,Northam , Bideford, EX39 3QB
From the moment you step into our lush beautiful Mediterranean style lobby and experience the beauty of marble floors, lush greenery and colourful flowering plants, with the soothing sound of running water feature, you'll know you've come to the right place to relax.
Whether you're visiting on business or pleasure, our attentive staff and superb surroundings will welcome you in style from the moment you walk in the door. The Durrant House Hotel is situated near the little white town of Bideford North Devon.

Discover the comfortable surroundings of our spacious, tastefully decorated guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities with some offering estuary views.

For our guests we offer two eating venues to choose from serving two completely different menus from our award winning chefs, with an aim on catering to all tastes.

We also provide a small fitness room, sauna, sun shower and an outdoor swimming pool for guest leisure facilities. There is also nightly entertainment provided on most nights for group tours, all hotel guests are welcome. Due to the hotel having the largest ballroom in area, the hotel is a very popular conference & wedding venue North Devon, we also provide free guest parking on site for over 100 vehicles.

Don't leave without trying a "Devon cream tea" it’s a way of life down in Devon. Served with fresh scones, strawberry jam, clotted cream and a freshly brewed pot of English Devon tea.

This hotel is totally non-smoking throughout
Picture of Durrant House Hotel, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top quality service and real customer care
The staff at the Durrant Hotel provide excellent customer service - from the warm greeting at reception to the friendly efficiency of the restaurant staff - I can genuinely say that I could not fault any of them.
Rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you need on hand. My only criticism here might be the need for some investment in replacing some of the furniture with many sofas throughout the hotel starting to look a bit shabby?
Food is excellent - both in terms of standard and value. Breakfast is generous and served by friendly, helpful staff. Room service is efficient and again, provided by cheerful, friendly waiting staff.
I've been here any times and will most definitely be going again!

Reviewed by
Sue Cose

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good

Reviewed by
D Morgan

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Although I only stayed in the hotel for one night I have no complaints and would have been happy to stay there for longer. The hotel is in a good location being about a 10 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the town centre with easy access from the main A39. The staff were friendly and the bedroom was well furnished and most importantly, clean. Breakfast was more than adequate; either continental or traditional cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Catherine P

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break at Durrant House Hotel
This was our second stay here and it was excellent, everything was spot on from start to finish, we had our evening meals in the bar what value for money, a 2 course meal for £7.50 there was a good choice always a roast of the day and nice desserts, the meals were always very nice and piping hot. All the staff were very polite and helpful, and the girl in the bar was lovely.

Reviewed by
Jenny Parkman

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
Lovely hotel. Rooms spacious except shower a little on the small side. Very good evening meal and breakfast. Staff very nice and helpful.

Reviewed by
A Hale

From England
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed with Durrant House
This hotel is listed as suitable for disabled but it definitely is not. The lift is a health and safety issue as it was impossible to get the motorised scooter in there and I had to lift the scooter to turn it to get out of the sideways on door. We were excluded from most parts of the hotel as there were steps every where. The room was shabby and well worn and could have been cleaner. The toilet seat was broken
Would not be able to return there.

Reviewed by
Evelyn Smith

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth every bit of money
This has been the second time I've stayed at the Durrant and I would recommend this to anyone who is staying in the area

Reviewed by
Reece Hayward

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal stopover
A welcome stopover whilst touring the area. Excellent value for money bar meals.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need of a revamp
The staff at the hotel were friendly but the feel of the hotel is that it is overdue a freshen up and revamp. Some aspects needed a bit of TLC - scuffed doors, hanging threads on bedroom sofa's and worn head beds did not help it live up to my expectations -especially not for £100 for the one night. I would only stay again if it was at a much reduced rate.

Reviewed by
Gill R

From Kenilworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and very good service.

Reviewed by
A Griffin

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next