No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Durrant House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Heywood Road,Northam , Bideford, EX39 3QB
From the moment you step into our lush beautiful Mediterranean style lobby and experience the beauty of marble floors, lush greenery and colourful flowering plants, with the soothing sound of running water feature, you'll know you've come to the right place to relax.
Whether you're visiting on business or pleasure, our attentive staff and superb surroundings will welcome you in style from the moment you walk in the door. The Durrant House Hotel is situated near the little white town of Bideford North Devon.

Discover the comfortable surroundings of our spacious, tastefully decorated guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities with some offering estuary views.

For our guests we offer two eating venues to choose from serving two completely different menus from our award winning chefs, with an aim on catering to all tastes.

We also provide a small fitness room, sauna, sun shower and an outdoor swimming pool for guest leisure facilities. There is also nightly entertainment provided on most nights for group tours, all hotel guests are welcome. Due to the hotel having the largest ballroom in area, the hotel is a very popular conference & wedding venue North Devon, we also provide free guest parking on site for over 100 vehicles.

Don't leave without trying a "Devon cream tea" it’s a way of life down in Devon. Served with fresh scones, strawberry jam, clotted cream and a freshly brewed pot of English Devon tea.

This hotel is totally non-smoking throughout
Picture of Durrant House Hotel, Bideford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good and bad
The Durrant House Hotel was a good hotel, the food and accommodation was first class, the only thing that let it down was that I didn't get a good nights sleep as the evening entertainment was too loud, I could hear it from my room (situated on the first floor) which kept me awake. I mentioned it to the receptionist in the morning and they said if I had let them know earlier then they would have tried to sort something out for me, so possibly the problem would have been resolved.

Reviewed by
Paul E

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, staff very polite, excellent food. Room was lovely, enjoyed our stay

Reviewed by
Lisa B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All was good with very good service all round
All was good

Reviewed by
Mary Duncan-Johnson

From Feltham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice pictures shame about the rest !!!!
Stayed in room 57 view I got was a 7'0" high white wall 1mtr away from window that would only open three inches, the bath had a very badly botched repair by the plug (new bath needed) the small three draw unit in the bedroom had broken draws and could not be used, and the wardrobe just simply had no doors !!!!!! so ironing board iron and spare sheets etc on view to whole room !!!!!!
it was more like a £20 room rather than a £80 room feel robbed !!!!! The staff in this hotel were brillant but very overworked, same staff working at at 7am and still working at 10pm food was excellent though. would not stay here again or recommend it to anyone !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
A Peachey

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is looking old and tired in parts but it is clean, friendly and professionally run. The staff were fantastic in upgrading my room as the first room smelt damp. An enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
K Allen

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing !!!!
Booked a double room and got 4 poster bed, jacuzzi/bath totally amazed. Very clean, very friendly staff and great service. Food was lovely. The only problems we had was the bar closed at 11pm sharp and the main door got locked at midnight and we are smokers. Overall it was a fantastic mini break.

Reviewed by
Karen W

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Durrant stay
The room could have done with a good clean but the bathroom was fine

Reviewed by
Barry W

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value, excelled my expectations
Very friendly and helpful receptionists to greet.
Room and hotel was of a better standard than I had expected, dated style in some areas but in a way adds to the charm and gives the hotel a bit of character.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
L Edwards

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family mini-break
A charming hotel with lots of character and great outdoor swimming pool set in beautiful gardens. Food fantastic, varied & very good value for money. Staff could not do enough to help. Family room not big enough & very stuffy on arrival. Bathroom small but modern with excellent shower.
A great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
R Jerger

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place! great value!
Was surprised to find such a nice place for so little money at last minute. Great place and lovely people.

Reviewed by
Paul Davies

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next