No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old School Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Whitchurch Road, Horrabridge, Yelverton, PL20 7TT
This historical Old School offers you luxurious and comfortable surroundings with many of the services of a hotel and all the comforts of home.

We provide facilities to our guests, such as Internet access (Wi-Fi) and parking - FREE of charge. For those guests with a discerning palette we offer evening dinner (advance notice required)in our licensed dining room. Our food is freshly prepared and locally sourced by our Chef Chris who trained at Leiths School of Food and Wine, London.

With plenty of choices, our lovely breakfast’s include homemade bread, freshly baked by Chris each day and a selection of homemade conserves and marmalade! Wonderful flavours to get your taste buds singing every morning.

Located within Dartmoor National Park the picturesque village of Horrabridge has 2 pubs, a village store, post office and more. Close to the Cornish border, the Old School makes the perfect holiday base to explore Cornwall as well as Devon.
Picture of The Old School Guest House, Yelverton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay
Stayed 2 nights in room 4. Only minor fault we could find was the lack of a full length mirror in the room somewhere!

Reviewed by
keith m

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hostess

Reviewed by
h roy

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful B&B, didn't want to leave!
One of the best B&Bs I've stayed at! The whole building was beautiful and the room was gorgeous. Maxine and Chris made us feel very welcome, and helped us with somewhere to eat. The breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, a brilliant stay and I look forward to going back!

Reviewed by
Rachel Perry

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For a memorable stay
Very helpful and friendly, great advice on places to visit and for eating out, along with directions and standard that could be expected. Accommodation was perfect, very relaxing

Reviewed by
J Adamson

From Hamilton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A single night stay we would definitely repeat!
The room was clean and well-equipped, with nice touches like real milk - in a fridge - and some fresh flowers. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room had character so not just a 'box', with a lovely view over the valley - very nice to wake up to. Breakfast was delicious too, and we'd definitely stay again when working that way. Hosts were welcoming and friendly. We felt that it was brilliant value for the money.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay mid september
The quality of the accomodation is outstanding. Our room was very clean and we enjoyed the view of the stars through the skylight. The breakfast was superb with all locally grown products used. Local pub London Inn provided nice meals and staff very friendly

Reviewed by
KEVIN D

From Not provided, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hospitable and friendly
Very unusual accommodation in a converted school. The room we stayed in had skylight windows and also arched windows. It was a very pretty vintage type bedroom with plenty of space and an en suite bathroom with corner bath as well as a shower. Disappointing not to have some toiletries though, not even a bottle of shower gel so don't forget them whatever you do. The Old school was quite hard to find along a lane, so get there in the light, it would be easier. Mrs Limon was very kind and although we arrived late at night due to a family crisis she was very understanding and still took time to explain the routine and show us around the room. I can't say the bed was the most comfortable as it was quite firm, but that is a matter of preference.Breakfast was really good with locally produced foods, including a nice little pot of berries on the table. Lovely place to stay

Reviewed by
D Summerson

From Luton, England
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice warm welcome, lovely room with all the necessary essentials. Fantastic breakfast.
Tip: Don't use your SAT NAV to get there unless you wish to see DARTMOOR park in its finest.

Reviewed by
R Dharni

From Bexley Heath, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic short stay in a beautiful old school house, with light and airy bedroom and a good choice of breakfasts including scrambled, poached, boiled eggs or choice of omelettes or full English, cooked by Chris and all excellent. All food is locally sourced with home made bread, jam and marmalade-like nothing you have ever tasted before-delicious. Maxine was a wonderful host and a mind of information who took a genuine interest in making your stay as enjoyable as possible due to her local knowledge. You could also book in advance an evening meal if you didn't feel up to going out for the evening. Local village pub serves reasonable food only 5 mins walk away and chip shop in village is closed on Sunday and Monday. Guests can also use the lounge and the beautiful gardens, but shouldn't walk through wearing walking boots, there is a small store inside the front door for dirty boots. The school house is immaculately furnished with small quirky touches which give an individual flair and make good talking points at breakfast.

Reviewed by
F Parsell

From Pembs, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful night
excellent stop over. will definitely come back

Reviewed by
TREVOR PHELPS

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next