Reviews - The Old School Guest House


Whitchurch Road, Horrabridge, Yelverton, PL20 7TT

Price From 178.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Roy Wood

  • October 2014

Excellent Stay

We both really enjoyed our stay.

I can't speak highly enough of the Old School House. A lovely place with lovely people. We'd recommend it to friends if they were heading to the same area.

  • M Meyers

  • October 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed our one night stay, we enjoyed wonderful food at a local pub recommendedby the owner of the b&b and the breakfast was gorgeous, even the bacon was home cured.

We would have liked to have been able to open a window in our room, but it was very spacious.

  • Richard N

  • September 2014

Going old school (and it was good)

Lovely cottage with modern amenities.

Well located for Dartmoor and close to Cornwall for day trips. Maxine our host was friendly and helpful. The only thing that could be improved is the WiFi signal but as explained by Maxine this was because of the stone walls. Would highly recommend and will look to stay again when we're next in the area.

  • d taylor

  • September 2014

lovely room. was not sure if we could book an evening meal as they never made it clear.

Very welcoming and clean.

  • Andrew C

  • August 2014

Wonderful Stay

Thank you Maxine for making our stay so lovely.

From the moment we walked in we felt comfortable. Your house is smashing and so inviting. We loved the room and found the bed very comfortable. We liked the skylights with the electric shutters - it's a shame we couldn't see the stars because of the clouds. The packets of crisps and biscuits are a great idea and the little home made soaps are a lovely touch. I hope you noticed I didn't put them all in my bag - at a bigger hotel I wouldn't be able to resist. ;) Having a jug of milk in the mini fridge is such a good idea. I detest those little milk and cream cartons. The complimentary bottled spring water in the fridge is also a kind touch. The water was lovely and hot for our showers and there was a good flow through the shower which is always a good thing. Breakfast was brilliant. I'd normally never eat grilled tomatoes but I cleared the plate. The sausages are obviously very good quality. Proper coffee and home made marmalade and jam. You even make your own butter. Excellent. Maxine you have a wonderful place and it was our pleasure to have two nights sharing it. Your house feels happy and you have the perfect attitude to make guests feel special. Thank you so much.

  • Phil L

  • August 2014

Lots of character!

Excellent hosts with plenty of advice about local area.

Room was large and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was ordered the night before but was of excellent quality when it came. The accommodation is on the very edge of the open moorland so, can be walked to from the B&B.

  • Sarah L

  • August 2014

Quite location, well appointed and clean.

A friendly greeting welcomed us to The Old School Guest House.

It was slightly difficult to find...up a step track but once there, parking was easy...right outside the apartment. A lovely apartment with private entrance and lovely views. Clean and well appointed. Excellent value for money.

  • Steven Healey

  • July 2014

excellent accomodation and a warm welcome

A great place to stay, nice village and easy routes to Tavistock & Plymouth.

The apartment was super, probably the cleanest I have stayed in before.

  • keith m

  • June 2014

Our stay

Stayed 2 nights in room 4.

Only minor fault we could find was the lack of a full length mirror in the room somewhere!

  • h roy

  • June 2014

Pleasant hostess