No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Court Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
43 Bridge Street , , , Witney, OX28 1DA
The Old Court Hotel has turned over a new leaf. All our rooms have been refurbished to a high standard, with easy on the eye tasteful decor, with well placed mixture of modern and antique furniture to give our rooms a warm homely feel. Practical and well maintained, the Old Court Hotel Witney is perfect for exploring the Cotswolds and its lovely villages and ancient towns. It is an easy drive to Woodstock's Blenheim Palace as well as to the city of Oxford, which is known for its architecture and university. Situated farther afield is Stratford, a visitor favourite known for its Shakespearean attractions. Downtown Witney is a short drive and it is home to a large leisure centre and several sports facilities for golfing, rugby and football. The Cogges Farm Museum is near the hotel. The restaurant on site specialises in Thai and Chinese cuisine. The Market town of Witney in the Oxfordshire Cotswold is on the River Windrush, 10 miles from Oxford. Witney is the largest town in the Oxfordshire Cotswolds and has grown rapidly over the last 50 years but still retains the feel of a charming and bustling market town with an excellent range of shops and a twice weekly market. Once famous across the world for its blanket making, gloves and other woollen goods. Much of the town's architecture reflects the prosperity brought by the woollen trade. Witney Lake and Meadows is a tranquil haven for wildlife just a short walk from the town centre. Get away from it all with a walk around a beautiful lake and through peaceful fields. Just a few miles from Witney you will find Blenheim Palace, home of the 11th Duke of Marlborough and birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill.
Picture of The Old Court Hotel, Witney at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thought the room was a joke!
The room nr 12, had a shower in the middle of the room!!! With no privacy what so ever! The toilet was behind a curtain and it was also a wardrobe?!
The window would not shut so I put two pillows in there but there was still a cold draught throughout the night! And when I told the manager he said he knew about it .. Can't believe he's renting out a room that isn't to standard. Could have been very embarrassing with the shower/toilet situation!!
Will not stay there again!

ManagementResponse

Dear Camelia Sirbu, I am quite saddened by your review, therefore would like to make a managers response, room 12 is a superior room, yes with a shower in room, it is a specially designed room from what was once a stable form the 18 th century. Very quirky. Only 1 in a 100 ever react like you have here. If not happy when first going in you should have asked for another, but seeing you before you went out and asking if you were happy, received a reply that you were. It was out on a very low price during this week at £65.00 for two and to include breakfast. When arriving you are explained where and how to regain entrance to the hotel after closing along with what time breakfast is. 7.30 / 9.30. I would like to start by saying that at 6.55 is not the time to demand breakfast. Although the window was slightly open and explained that I was waiting for a maintenance man to come and make good had had no complaints prior to your stay. Which I may say Has now as I had said been done. With regards to your other low scores of cleanliness food quality and friendly service find you totally out of touch. My housekeepers keep a high standard and I personally cook. In total I do not agree with what you have done and find it an insult that you have reacted in such a two faced way and I fact quite happy that you will not return. The owner

Reviewed by
C Sirbu

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique Comfy Hotel
Clean comfy and homely. Open fire in the lounge, home cooking in the restaurant and a jovial "Mein Host!)... Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
James L

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay overnight in Witney, Oxfordshire
A Great and friendly welcome by the landlord. The food was of the highest quality and Quantity. Will be sure to visit again when in Witney overnight.

Reviewed by
Peter Hawker

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel, it was a great experience and would recommend this hotel to everyone

Reviewed by
Shelley Furey

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very noisey as bedroom right on the main road which was busy all night long!!Although the manager reassured me it went quiet at night when i asked to be moved. We were above the bar so noise form tv too. also the owner put tv on in there at 06.00hrs to watch grand prix had it on really loud. Curtains did not fit window so let in street light. huge bed for a tiny room. Tiny bathroom with a very noisy toilet system which made noises all night!! Never encountered anthing like this before. The list goes on and on and on.........

ManagementResponse

The first guest to turn up and wait for his partner, he was very friendly and we chatted in the bar about their visit and about the local area. When the lady who wrote this came complaining of headache, I gave her some pills. Actually I could tell this was going to be a difficult person. She came back into the bar and sat down bringing her tea from the room. She did say the room was noisy but it was more today with her headache and being overly sensitive. I did assure her that the traffic would slow down and would be less noisy later. Not at anyone point did either ask to be moved as I would have done so right away. The noise from the bar was turned down and only on in the lounge which is nowhere near any rooms. I had actually had a conversation with them saying I was up early to watch it. I was very friendly with both and even shaking hand when they left. I am so saddened by this as I was very friendly and as helpful as possible. Not at any one point did this guest make any suggestion of any type of review would come. This is a 3 star hotel we work very hard to ensure that all rooms are kept to a high standard and kept at the cheapest in the area. If unhappy I would have moved you right away, but in fact was told would be ok as it was only the ladies headache. Basically I work hard and long hours ever week to ensure customers enjoy there stay and if unhappy with anything will work a hard to make sure this sort of two faced review does not happen.

Reviewed by
janet low

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If I had been a small child the room would have given me nightmares. Furnishings were dated ( old)
and dingy as was the carpet. Linen appeared clean but "en-suite ( poetic licence) i.e. toilet was very very small indeed.
Cost was not small given what was offered in exchange for it.
The breakfast was the redeeming factor, it was good, hot and plenty of it albeit that the staff
didn't seem to know who was having what.
Wouldn't stay there again. Sorry.

Reviewed by
Jane G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Premium double room
Everything really good. One recommendation for the hotel; the shower in the room generates a lot of humidity and there is no extractor fan so the room gets very warm and sticky.

Reviewed by
Nick Smith

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Thank's
Noise unbelievable no rest. Beds were cossy enough, but you couldn't sleep due to noise. Car park was tight, Rooms wrere tight. I booked the rooms (2) and We were all disappointed to say the least.

Reviewed by
richard p

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great welcome!
Stayed here twice, extremely welcoming - parking a challenge - but there are plans to rectify. Rooms to a high standard and quirky.

Reviewed by
Natalie B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No major complaints
having read the prev reviews i was prepared for the relatively minuscule parking area - not disappointed, as had to reverse onto busy road which was fun! That aside the hotel was fine, decent room & average breakfast. only other negative comment was that the room has just a double socket which isn't ideal nowadays plus the wi-fi was down... Proprietor was wonderfully friendly & I would certainly use the hotel again...

Reviewed by
peter lewis

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next