No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Willingham House

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
50 Church Street,Willingham , Cambridge, CB24 5HT
Willingham House is a 4 Star large luxurious Victorian period house set in three acres of superbly landscaped gardens in the Picturesque Village of Willingham just North of Cambridge.We have 22 executive ensuite bedrooms,restaurant and bar, free parking.

Picture of Willingham House, Cambridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
59% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rooms, although clean, needed a major makeover. Very dated. Wallpaper coming away from walls. Very poor shower, alhough there was signs of a new one, but not working

Reviewed by
sandra y

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 nights stay
We only stayed in this hotel for one night but found the entire experience very strange. To say this is a 4* hotel is being very loose with the truth. Lovely grounds are let down by the extremely dated nature of this hotel. Stained wallpaper, tiny tube TV's in the room and a shower with no shower curtain all combine to make this hotel experience very surreal.
However the rooms were reasonably clean and spacious with good views of the grounds. If you are looking for basic then recommended, but if you are looking for even the tiniest luxury, ten this is not the hotel for you.

Reviewed by
M Jones

From Bushey, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor and shabby accommodation
When we arrived it seemed that to the person on reception we were an intrusion and he seemed surprised that we had reserved two rooms. Not initially very friendly. The rooms were shabby and particularly room number 9 had no shower screen or curtain, we had to tighten up a lampshade on the ceiling to stop it falling and also had to unblock the shower head in order to allow water to flow. We were awoken very early in the morning by a noisy water pump in the attic above our bed. In room 2 you have to get out of bed to turn of the light. The continental breakfast was very unsatisfactory with not a croissant or pastry in sight. Basically the breakfast was cereal, yoghurt ( happy shopper 4 for £1.50), grapefruit and prunes, juice and toast and a sad looking meat and cheese tray. The Chinese restaurant food was delicious but very expensive. It seemed to us that all focus was on the restaurant and we felt that as hotel guests we were an inconvenience and that the hotel played second fiddle to the restaurant. The service in the restaurant was better. When we requested to speak with the manager we were told that the name in the literature in the rooms had not worked there for a number of years and the present manager was not available. We would definitely not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Peter Field

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit like faulty towers hotel ! Staff didn't speak much English ! Was a little bit strange place !
This hotel is half Chinese restaurant ! Half prep school !! But has beautiful grounds !!

Reviewed by
Julian G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean but tired
Upon arrival the Manor house looks lovely. We were met by the manager who was very welcoming. The room ( no 8 ) was spacious overlooking the lovely gardens. It was clean with sheets changed both days.The whole hotel needs a lot of TLC to bring it up to its 4*. The breakfast is continental and adequate but not top quality. The food in the restaurant on the other hand was excellent and very reasonable. For the price charged you can't complain but it is not 4* The Manager made our stay as he was very accommodating. A very nice man.

Reviewed by
Marion L

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was a wonderful and peaceful place. The accommodation was excellent

Reviewed by
M Tailor

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Willingham stay
We booked the hotel as it was close to Cambridge. We had requested a quiet room that overlooked the garden, and this we were given, Unfortunately, there were problems with the room - the towel rail was broken, the shower did not work properly, and the air extractor fan was broken. We told them about this, but were told they were in the process of renovating the rooms, and that the water pressure did not get as far as our room. Also, wifi was available, but only in the downstairs lounge.
We had dinner in the restaurant on sunday evening, after being out all day. It took over an hour before we had our first course, for which there were, admittedly, many apologies, as there was some kind of problem in the kitchen.
The breakfasts were fine, but we consider that overall this was not worth the money we paid.

Reviewed by
Mike McDonagh

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chinese run hotel, food excellent, both breakfast and dinner.
When we arrived there was no one on reception at 1730hrs we were told to phone a number, which we did and were given instructions to find our room key, which was left in a pot.. Our room was fine, except for the bathroom fixtures. The cold tap needed to be tightened as it was loose and the shower head was also loose.
The room was adequate, but we had no control over the heating, which made it uncomfortable as it got really hot.
The main positive aspect of this hotel was the Chinese food, which was excellent, but I did complain about waiting for an hour to be served.

Reviewed by
K Kailou

From Margate, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good but some flaws
Generally a good stay, however the room and bathroom could do with modernisation. Also the bed covers we're quite rough and did not let us get a good nights sleep. Staff were very polite and helpful

Reviewed by
Richard Smith

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Generally good
A pleasant hotel in a good location. Some of the public areas were in very poor condition, with leaking pipes pouring into overflowing buckets.
My room had an uncontrollable radiator pouring out heat. When I complained, they immediately fitted a thermostatic valve, which leaked at first.
It's a good hotel, currently being brought up to standard. The service is very good.

Reviewed by
Eric F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next