No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites

Amien Street Dublin 1, Dublin, Dublin 1
The North Star Hotel and Premier Club Suites is a 4* deluxe city centre hotel located in the heart of Dublin, opposite the Irish Financial Services Centre (IFSC), Connolly Railway Station and Luas tram ( direct tram to 02 venue) and around the corner from the central bus station (Busarus). The Aviva Stadium and the RDS is a short trip on the Dart across the road at Connolly Station. The hotel is in short walking distance from 02 Venue (10-15 Minutes) Temple Bar, O’Connell Street, The Gaiety Theatre, The Olympia Theatre, The Grand Canal Theatre, The Convention Centre, Trinity College, shopping districts including Henry Street and Grafton Street. For all Rugby, GAA sports fans and concert goers the North Star Hotel is 10 minutes from Croke Park Stadium.

This comfortable and friendly hotel originally built in the early 19th Century and immortalised in James Joyce’s masterpiece Ulysses boasts 161 bedrooms to date. The original Georgian building encompasses 35 standard bedrooms while the contemporary modern block at the back of the hotel contains 85 air-conditioned Executive rooms and 55 air-conditioned contemporary Premier Club Rooms and Suites, Conference facilities, business centre and an Exclusive 7th floor Premier Club Hospitality Lounge affording spectacular view of Dublin City’s skyline.

The hotel has a range of facilities including hotel bar incorporating a heated smoking area, restaurant, gym, saunas, resident lounge and much more. Dublin newest cookhouse eatery & bar offers the best in fine Irish cuisine. At the McGettigans Cookhouse & Bar we are committed to using the finest quality ingredients and we believe that North County Dublin has some of the the best farming land and producers in this country. The hotel is also home to one Dublin's top concierge who is always willing to help guests with any queries, including bookings for city tours etc many of which pick up directly from the hotel.
Picture of The North Star Hotel & Premier Club Suites, Dublin at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Traveller with needs
I booked through LateRooms on their filter 'Smoking in rooms allowed' and arrived to find the hotel is totally non-smoking so very unhappy. The hotel staff were excellent and helpful and upgraded me to a room with a balcony which suited me perfectly and I hadn't expected an upgrade. The room was lovely, the service from the hotel was fantastic, I went for a nightcap glass of wine to the bar to take to my room - it was a bit small, but the barman suggested a small carafe which wasn't expensive and was perfectly the right size. From a unhappy arrival, I left a happy customer. I'd recommend this hotel - they really look after your needs..

Reviewed by
Lynda A

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average 4 star at best
Nothing special, not the greatest service, very basic room. Would not recommend, plenty of other hotels in the area.

Reviewed by
Jason M

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customer 12 March 2014
We travelled by train to Dublin from Portadown for a concert ,to the North Star Hotel and were pleasantly surprised by how close it was to the train station (right across the road).
We arrived at around 2pm which was check in time and really didn't expect our room to be ready but it was.
Check in was quick and we were fully informed about breakfast times and dinner.
The room was really comfortable with everything we needed,it was clean and modern.
We had dinner in the restaurant,the food was first class and the staff were friendly and very welcoming.
Breakfast the next morning was again really tasty with plenty on offer for everyone.
We would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Dublin because of its close proximity to Connolly and Busaras stations and shopping area and also because we were so well looked after during our stay by the friendly staff.

Reviewed by
christina sayers

From castlederg, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a really lovely stay at the hotel, very clean and the customer service is brilliant! Would definitely book up again!

Reviewed by
Katherine M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Heating
The heating did not work in the first room were in. Otherwise the room suited us perfectly. Once the problem was reported we were quickly moved to an upgraded room which was comfortable and warm.

Reviewed by
James Johnston

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location! and overall pleasant stay
Location is good, right opposite the train station. only 15min walk from most of central city. Trains run from 6:30am til around 11:30pm, so not bad unless you;re a light sleeper.
Food in the bar was good, i didn't have breakfast.
My only real criticism is that you are allowed to smoke in some of the rooms (standard) you can smell this in the hallways; although my room did not smell.

Reviewed by
S B

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great autumn trip!
Stayed here for two nights to see barry gibb in the O2 hotel is very central to everything. Staff are very helpful and friendly, rooms are pristine, but i would suggest if you have booked a premier room to ring before hand and ask for a quiet room as the hotel is right beside the train line, we had a lovely experience in the North Star and after quite a few hotel stays in dublin we will be using the North Star as our 1st choice every trip. Also the mcgettigans cookhouse restaurant is a must as there food is excellent and locally sourced, very quick service. All in all an excellent hotel.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good option
Lovely atmospher. Friendly service. Excellent food. Good location. Bed very comfortable, but could hear the guys next door when they started to party. Walls not so good. Priced a bit high to offer no breakfast. It does not cost much to offer even a coffee and croissant. Parking could be sign posted for easier access, especially in a busy and one way system like Dublin.

Reviewed by
Erin D

From Lisburn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This place has had a facelift but the cracks wre starting to show.
Breakfast room horrible, breakfast poor, rooms starting to look shabby and not in a chic way.
Shame looks nice at a glance...

Reviewed by
Caitriona M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dublin stay
Reception pleasant and extremely helpful.All staff were cheerful and appeared happy in their work.The bar food was delicious but unfortunately the menu did not change.
One downside-no laundry and when sent out shirts returned unironed.
Apart from big match or international star days not unduly expensive.

Reviewed by
b wall

From brisbane, Australia
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next