No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel du Vin and Bistro Cheltenham

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Parabola Road , Cheltenham, GL50 3AQ
Formerly the Carlton Hotel and located in the chic Montpellier district of this historic spa town.


Hotel du Vin Cheltenham offers forty nine bedrooms and suites, all decorated in inimitable Hotel du Vin style. The wonderfully spacious public areas centered around a showpiece spiral staircase, include a trademark Bistro with extensive al fresco dining, both a Champagne and Grape & Grain Bar, beauty treatment rooms and private dining rooms.

The general manager is Tom Ross.
Picture of Hotel du Vin and Bistro Cheltenham, Cheltenham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Long weekend break
Long weekend break started with pleasant staff welcoming us to the hotel and showing us our room.
Superior room was lovely with roll top bath, monsoon shower and comfortable bed.
Mini bar and room snacks a little expensive.
Hotel breakfast and dinner had very good choices cooked to a high standard
With a nice ambiance and attentive staff.
Will stay here again and would recommend !

Reviewed by
r tait

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay at Hotel du Vin, Cheltenham
Service good. Although it was modern I felt the general decor was too dark. Furnishings comfortable but not luxurious. Staff attentive and pleasant. We did not appreciate the bath being in the bedroom (we were not on honeymoon!) and because of this and the fact that a waxy ear plug was found on the bedside table we were impressed by being immediately offered another (higher grade) room and which we found very acceptable. The restaurant was short on natural light. good large rooms. Excellent location.

Reviewed by
S Carter

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mid week escape
We had an excellent mini break for our wedding anniversary; great service; great food and room up to our expectations.

Reviewed by
Robert V

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
A great hotel and would book again but housekeeping needs some attention.
We had to ask for the blinds in our room to be dusted after we had arrived. This was duly done.
Bar area needed attention, cob web over the bar, food under coffee table, curtain hanging off the rail.
At breakfast, crumbs on the chair but once I raised with the waitress it was cleaned.

Reviewed by
E Jones

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, will stay again.
No problems at all, especially liked the fact that there was proper milk in the fridge, not little cartons of UHT!

Reviewed by
P Smith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great break
I came for a town and country weekend break with my wife and the hotel was just right for that. It is well positioned, esp. near Montpelier; our 2nd floor room was superb - with views clear across to the Cotswold scarp. Indulgent bath with a view too! Wet room shower needs some instructions.
Excellent evening meal outside with pleasant service and good wine; breakfast rather pricey and bland and some confusion as to what was included in the booking. Would return on a similar deal.

Reviewed by
Charles B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent rooms and food

Reviewed by
M Hall

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheeky weekend away!
Reception staff particularly helpful. Bar staff knowlegable, and bistro food excellent. We look forward to another stay.

Reviewed by
J Hindle

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel du vin cheltenham
Lovely hotel,room clean tidy of high standard as expected with the price paid.Staff were helpful and friendly,a luxury weekend break,which was enhanced by staying here.

Reviewed by
robert Smith

From Cullompton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good value room as booked at the last minute but would not have wanted to pay full price.
Shower in claw foot bath not ideal as curtain clung to my body. Room quite cold and there was no way of adjusting temperature.

Reviewed by
Ruth G

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next