You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Great Western Hotel


Narrowcliff, Newquay, TR7 2NE

Price From 96.04 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

81% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Tina L

  • October 2016

Great Western Hotel

Often stay at the Great Western Newquay when I or we visit.

The staff are so warm, friendly and helpful. The hotel always provides assistance for my needs which gives me great piece of mind when planning a stay. The room and restaurant views are amazing and the food is always superb. Cannot speak highly enough of the Great Western Newquay. Thank you.

  • James B

  • October 2016

Room 103 Big light clean modern and airy room

The staff at reception were fantastic as was the beautiful big bright airy room.

Bathroom was modern and clean. The only problem was the squeaky floor boards of the 100 year old hotel the heating went off at strange times and they had engineers in addressing the issue which I hope is now fixed. I would definitely stay again. It is a lovely Hotel in an excellent location.

  • Jon F

  • October 2016

lovely welcome, however room needs modernising. good food, well worth the money

Room 224 itself needs modernising, bathroom was up to date and modern and clean , wallpaper was bubbling off the walls and ceiling in the bedroom had ripped wallpaper.not seen wallpaper on ceiling before.

Restaurant as been modernised and looks and is good. good value for money but needs some TLC. Staff very god and polite

  • Sarah B

  • October 2016

Great Western Hotel

Fab stay.

The breakfast is outstanding and well worth the money. I think the car park out the front is tight as our car was damaged by another but of course no one left a note on our windscreen.

  • R Stanley

  • September 2016

Didn't want to leave

We opted for the superior room which was so worth the extra money, the room was so spacious and clean, with amazing views of the beach.

Queen size bed was so comfy. Good tea/coffee making facilities and bathroom. Reception staff were very helpful during our stay, the outside area was lovely to sit and have a drink when the weather was nice. The chips here were some of the best I've had. Parking £5 a day was very easy, would recommend booking in advance. The hotel was in a great location, walking distance of Fistral beach, tons of shops/bars/restaurants nearby. Only fault would be that the hotel bar closed very early for drinks and considering it was a Saturday night this wasn't ideal. But would 100% recommend this hotel and the premier room.

  • Keith B

  • September 2016

All Okay for what you get

Room Okay a bit basic but clean.

Bit of a maze but follow signs and you will be Okay. Food very good in restaurant just one comment though. At night I was charged £11.20 for a whiskey & lemonade and a Baileys which I thought was very expensive therefore we went out for another drink rather than buying another one.

  • K Lambie

  • August 2016

Great Western Hotel

The hotel was lovely, but the room we were put in had a very large gap along the bottom, so much so we could see people's feet as they walked past the room.

We asked to be moved as we were on our honeymoon and wanted to be able to relax, but they said they couldn't do anything about it and gave us a towel to put along the door. We ended up having to put the welcome ring binder from the room under the door to stop the wind banging it so we could sleep. For £100 a night I wasn't impressed. I also had a bottle of foundation go missing from my make up bag but the lady who's head of cleaning said she could guarantee it wasn't one of the cleaners and should we should do a police report she was quite rude and abrupt and could do with some lessons in how she speaks to the residents at the hotel obviously doesn't like criticism of any kind.

  • Paula J

  • August 2016

Lovely short stay

Loved the position of hotel.

Beach was so close. Clean room, friendly staff. Can't wait to go back.

  • Abigail M

  • August 2016

Great value for money

Very nicely refurbished hotel in the centre of Newquay within easy access of everything.

Spacious room and bathroom both tastefully decorated. Generous reasonably priced breakfast.

  • Pauline W

  • August 2016

Great spot for a short stay in Newquay

The view from the Premium room was excellent, although it was a bit of a trek to the room and it was quite small.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and accommodating.