No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Narrowcliff , Newquay, TR7 2NE
The Great Western Newquay is the perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic Coastline. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for all Parties.

Set in the heart of Newquay, with unrivalled cliff top views, landscaped gardens and only a few steps from the golden sandy beaches and the sea, the Great Western offers relaxation, informality and modern comfort.

Steam, the Hotel’s bar and restaurant offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks

Smoking is not permitted in any of the hotel bedrooms or public areas.

We regret that we no longer have a swimming pool. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for Single Sex Parties.

Please note the hotel does not accept group bookings.

Express check-in service available. Call the hotel 48 hours prior to arrival between 6pm-8pm and pay the balance of your stay. On arrival you need only collect your key.

Limited parking available on site for £5 per day - please book in advance with Reception.
Picture of Great Western Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brief stay
Stayed for 1 night visiting our son and found hotel very clean, friendly and fantastic value for money

Reviewed by
J Palmer

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst roomin the hotel
Room was second floor right at the front of the hotel facing a main road, was very noisey, lots of boy racers and drunks. Thrre were 2 spotlights illuminating the frontage of the hotel which lit the entire room up, did not sleepwell at all. Pillows were hard, matress was super soft and we touched the base when turning over. Towels smelt disgusting.

Reviewed by
J Phillips

From southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Emerging from a miserable Winter to the wonders of Spring!
After such a miserable Winter we had decided to go somewhere far enough away, but in England, to escape into, hopefully the beginnings of Spring. We were not disappointed, Newquay provided this, mainly because the weather was very reasonable. The Great Western Hotel was wonderful in all aspects, staff especially, but for one major irritant. The main restaurant, we were told by email on the day before travel, would be closed for refurbishment until Wednesday. (We were due to check out on the Friday) However on the Wednesday a notice appeared on the front door saying that the restaurant would be back in business on the Friday, thus scuppering our 'Last Supper' plans. Put that all aside, we had a wonderful room and the staff were magnificent.

Reviewed by
Colin Deadfield

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Room was very fresh and comfortable with beautiful sea view-excellent value for money,would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Kathryn B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really good value for money
the room was very basic and a little dated some repairs were needed for example the toilet seat was a little wobbly. The roomwas however spacious very clean comforable and more than adequate for our needs. The hotel resturant was having some maintainence work done but staff had told us prior to check in.

Reviewed by
J Hunter

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here because of a friends birthday, the room was basic but fairly clean. It was very noisy due to the fans being right outside the window. I specified a quiet room but this was not. The heating was on hot and we could not turn it down. The beds were ok and sheets clean. We did not eat because we were still full from the nigt before but the night porter was friendly.

Reviewed by
Joanne H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great room will definitely go back

Reviewed by
chris c

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class
A very enjoyable experience. We booked the room as we were attending a dinner party within the hotel and it enhanced our evening no end. Np worries about transport or being late to bed!

Reviewed by
B Lory

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly service,excellent room and bar,will definantly stay again

Reviewed by
Matthew Thomas

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

winters stay
When you turn up your welcomed with friendly staff on the desk. The room we was give was a little small but as we were only staying 1 night it was ok. We had an evening meal in the reasurant and as usuall the food was fantastic and the portions large freindly bar staff over all an exceilent stay.

Reviewed by
Michael Rollins

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next