No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Narrowcliff , Newquay, TR7 2NE
The Great Western Newquay is the perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic Coastline. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for all Parties.

Set in the heart of Newquay, with unrivalled cliff top views, landscaped gardens and only a few steps from the golden sandy beaches and the sea, the Great Western offers relaxation, informality and modern comfort.

Steam, the Hotel’s bar and restaurant offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks

Smoking is not permitted in any of the hotel bedrooms or public areas.

We regret that we no longer have a swimming pool. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for Single Sex Parties.

Please note the hotel does not accept group bookings.

Express check-in service available. Call the hotel 48 hours prior to arrival between 6pm-8pm and pay the balance of your stay. On arrival you need only collect your key.

Limited parking available on site for £5 per day - please book in advance with Reception.
Picture of Great Western Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel is excellent staff could not do enough to help with their guests
My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our 1st anniversary, the hotel staff were excellent, I asked for a surprise to be arranged for my partner to see on arrival and gave the reception staff a budget to work too, which they delivered in an outstanding way ensuring that the theme I asked for was delivered. My partner was speechless and loved every personal touch they delivered for me. No request was too small, the champayne breakfast was lovely and would hightly recommend it. I would like to personally thank 2 of the staff for all their hard work in delivery this request Elisa & Barbara you have done the hotel proud. We stayed in a family sea view room which had great views but also a lovely sea breeze which was very pleasant after a being on the sunny beaches. Newquay is a great location for all age groups and lots to see and do, Great Western Hotel is in my view just like the name Great in every way. We will deffo be returning for more relaxing breaks here.

Reviewed by
angela s

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a excellent stay at the Great Western, beautiful room with a sea view which was amazing. Staff were all very friendly and hotel was very clean, could not fault hotel in anyway. Great value for money will defiantly return.

Reviewed by
J Union

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is going an extensive refurbishment, but despite this the quality of cleanliness was not affected, I was very impressed with my accommodation and would stay here again.

Reviewed by
MARGARET S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst room ever dont go 2 this hotel ever!
On arrival the staff seemed very pleasent and polite...... But may have been laughing inside as i paid good money b4 they handed me the key 2 our room. The view from the window in the room was that of a wall and the bins an had a massive extractor fan outside the window. The room was like the mop cupboard tiny to say the least.... Then i had a shower the water would go from hot... 2 nice.... 2 freezing... 2 hot.. Back 2 freezing and the flow of the water well.... I cud dribble faster! When we complained the following morning the staff where rude and said if ur not happy with the room we will refund your other 2 nights and leave!!!! I was gobsmacked.... Then after having to practically arguing with the receptionist they offered us free breakfast but was limited to the cornish english which my 4yr old would easily polish off. We couldnt leave in the end as no other accomedation was avalible locally. I was fuming ok we didnt book a room with a sea view.. But a view would of been nice and abit ov customer service would of been even nicer. The towls where never changed even when we followed the towl change policy. I will return to newquay as it is a great place but definatly stay elsewhere abd will recommend any1 not to stay there do not stay in this hotel

Reviewed by
A Millerchip

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good would definitely recomend
The hotel staff were lovely and welcoming, the room was great and we had fantastic panoramic views in room 226 the restaurant staff were very helpful and the food was good, we enjoyed our short stay and will definitely be going back again.

Reviewed by
b salmon

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasent stay
We were greeted on arrival by pleasant and helpful staff
our room keys quickly processed and our room was as the booking said it would be. large with a sea view very clean and well presented with everything we needed.
Well Done Great Weston Hotel !

Reviewed by
K Haycocks

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast choice very poor

Reviewed by
Celia Lewis

From Llanrwst, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good place to stay.
as a business traveller on a budget i only stayed in a standard single room ,comfortable enough but pretty basic.
However , it was clean and tidy.
The reception staff , bar staff etc were fantastic .very friendly and helpful .
The food was excellent .

Reviewed by
stuart bailey

From coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Seaview and modern stylish room
We booked a executive/premier seaview room. It had a lovely bay window which we got sit in bed and look out to sea from, beautiful view. Both the bedroom and bathroom had been recently redone to a pretty high standard. The only negative s I can think of was that it was a long walk from reception, furthest room away I think, and the water pressure in the shower was very low . Didn't eat there but saw the food coming out and it looked very nice. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Deborah S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful room, very clean, not far from the main town great service

Reviewed by
R Whale

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next