No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Narrowcliff , Newquay, TR7 2NE
The Great Western Newquay is the perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic Coastline. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for all Parties.

Set in the heart of Newquay, with unrivalled cliff top views, landscaped gardens and only a few steps from the golden sandy beaches and the sea, the Great Western offers relaxation, informality and modern comfort.

Steam, the Hotel’s bar and restaurant offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks

Smoking is not permitted in any of the hotel bedrooms or public areas.

We regret that we no longer have a swimming pool. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for Single Sex Parties.

Please note the hotel does not accept group bookings.

Express check-in service available. Call the hotel 48 hours prior to arrival between 6pm-8pm and pay the balance of your stay. On arrival you need only collect your key.

Limited parking available on site for £5 per day - please book in advance with Reception.
Picture of Great Western Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful budget room
I didn't expect anything posh as it was a last minute thing and cheap.
The room stank and so did the corridor to all the rooms. The shower was run down and mouldy. The staff were really polite but this did not make up for the state of the room .

Reviewed by
Michael Lea

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel
I enjoyed realy nice and clean and a price it's reasonable, thank you .

Reviewed by
margit sabau

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good price
Stayed for 2 nights, room was good for the price, had a new bathroom. Bed was a uncomfy could do with a new mattress and be prepared for creaky floorboards but it is an old hotel. We had a room right next to the stairs which if you can avoid then do. Very good location.

Reviewed by
C leach

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant value for money
Booked our stay for a weekend ,I was very pleasantly surprised with the customer service, cleanliness of the room and hotel and the sea view was amazing. Very close to all bars restaurants and a nice little walk in to town.

Reviewed by
A Northover

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Good price, good position, great view, clean, all you could ask for at this price! Happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Richard C

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget room good value
Everyone was very friendly kitchen was being refurbished hence no comment on the food

Reviewed by
S Morris

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Really liked my stay, the room was simple and the breakfast was lovely.
The only fault was the room that I stayed ins window, whistled all night! Was soon find though when we realised how close we were to the sea.
Have already booked to stay again later this month!

Reviewed by
Emily B

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Lovely hotel. Clean and tidy. Great food. Receptionist very helpful.

Reviewed by
g kerslake

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but !!!
No better than a bed and breakfast tired hotel which has had the cracks papered over needs a proper refit lovely staff and enjoyed our stay but just slightly disappointing

Reviewed by
Neil S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Nicely situated near to the town centre and beach, old fashioned corridors, but hey, nice staff, outside needs tidying up. Overall good accommodation at the right price.

Reviewed by
N Lea

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next