No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Narrowcliff , Newquay, TR7 2NE
The Great Western Newquay is the perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic Coastline. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for all Parties.

Set in the heart of Newquay, with unrivalled cliff top views, landscaped gardens and only a few steps from the golden sandy beaches and the sea, the Great Western offers relaxation, informality and modern comfort.

Steam, the Hotel’s bar and restaurant offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks

Smoking is not permitted in any of the hotel bedrooms or public areas.

We regret that we no longer have a swimming pool. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for Single Sex Parties.

Please note the hotel does not accept group bookings.

Express check-in service available. Call the hotel 48 hours prior to arrival between 6pm-8pm and pay the balance of your stay. On arrival you need only collect your key.

Limited parking available on site for £5 per day - please book in advance with Reception.
Picture of Great Western Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Nicely situated near to the town centre and beach, old fashioned corridors, but hey, nice staff, outside needs tidying up. Overall good accommodation at the right price.

Reviewed by
N Lea

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel
Hotel is in a great location with the beach to the rear and within walking distance of the town centre.It was spotlessly clean,warm and comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend or stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ralph K

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money... get a littlebless than you pay for
Positives: warm bedding, tv and kettle in room, free biscuits and hot drinks provided, old but good shower with stable temperature.
Negatives: overflow car park is down the road from hotel, loud toilet systern, Indian restaurant next to hotel has loud and disruptive extracter fans, room was dated and slightly run down - seemed clean but fell dirty as it all s seemed so dated.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Rodier

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay

Reviewed by
John c

From DONCASTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Having booked this through Late rooms at £45, this rioom was very good value given its excellent location. however pelase note breakfast was an extra £8.95 and parking £5. this said, overall i think it was just about good vlaue for money and i would definatley stay here again (even if my room was looking a bit tired and dated).

Reviewed by
L Stubbings

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room and views
Have stayed at the Great Western many times. Always found the staff friendly and helpful.
The Hotel has a variety of rooms, some basic and some luxury. I have previously stayed in a budget room which is okay for an overnight crash, a standard which was still okay. On this occasion I splashed out on a Superior room, with fantastic views. You get what you pay for. Breakfast is extra but that is personal choice. There are lots of places to eat nearby.

Reviewed by
Marion B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
No complaints about the room as it was clean and tidy with everything you would need. The floor was a bit creaky when you walked on it but a lovely room. Breakfast was excellent and lots of tea for a very good price.

Reviewed by
K Polglase

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place!
Booked this for my partners birthday, emailed the hotel to ask if they would put birthday banner, balloon and champagne in the room and They were happy to do this! Also only charging £3 for balloon and banner! Arrived at the hotel and my partner was so pleased with the room and extra requestments. Lady at reception was lovely and the food in the hotel was great! Thanks for a lovely stay :)

Reviewed by
Bethany Neely

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, but decor is terribly tired.
Not a hotel I would ever return to, despite it having a great sea view from restaurant. We had a Double ensuite - called a Budget Room in the booking paperwork. It was on 2nd floor but 18 steps up beyond the 2nd floor lift after a windy corridor in the roof. The room had a big dated bathroom but one tiny window in the bedroom room that you had to leave open as hot and airless. which allows noise from revellers outside the hotel to funnel in, Hotel is very tired and smells slightly even though Housekeeping manage to make this bashed up bedroom accommodation spotlessly clean. At £69.50 our budget room was overpriced. I found myself wishing I just had a pot of gloss to go over the orangy wood and some blue and white stripey curtains instead of the foul orange pattern ones. I suspect it was the worst room in the hotel and rarely let as actually the last double stair up to the attic doesn't even have bedroom numbers on the 8th fire door you have to walk through. We checked out by just putting the key on the desk (having pre paid) and you know of the 4 people there no-one said a thing!

Reviewed by
Caroline S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel is excellent staff could not do enough to help with their guests
My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our 1st anniversary, the hotel staff were excellent, I asked for a surprise to be arranged for my partner to see on arrival and gave the reception staff a budget to work too, which they delivered in an outstanding way ensuring that the theme I asked for was delivered. My partner was speechless and loved every personal touch they delivered for me. No request was too small, the champayne breakfast was lovely and would hightly recommend it. I would like to personally thank 2 of the staff for all their hard work in delivery this request Elisa & Barbara you have done the hotel proud. We stayed in a family sea view room which had great views but also a lovely sea breeze which was very pleasant after a being on the sunny beaches. Newquay is a great location for all age groups and lots to see and do, Great Western Hotel is in my view just like the name Great in every way. We will deffo be returning for more relaxing breaks here.

Reviewed by
angela s

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next