No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Great Western Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Narrowcliff , Newquay, TR7 2NE
The Great Western Newquay is the perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic Coastline. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for all Parties.

Set in the heart of Newquay, with unrivalled cliff top views, landscaped gardens and only a few steps from the golden sandy beaches and the sea, the Great Western offers relaxation, informality and modern comfort.

Steam, the Hotel’s bar and restaurant offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks

Smoking is not permitted in any of the hotel bedrooms or public areas.

We regret that we no longer have a swimming pool. Please note that the Hotel can only accept bookings for a maximum of Two Rooms for Single Sex Parties.

Please note the hotel does not accept group bookings.

Express check-in service available. Call the hotel 48 hours prior to arrival between 6pm-8pm and pay the balance of your stay. On arrival you need only collect your key.

Limited parking available on site for £5 per day - please book in advance with Reception.
Picture of Great Western Hotel, Newquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Lovely hotel. Clean and tidy. Great food. Receptionist very helpful.

Reviewed by
g kerslake

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad but !!!
No better than a bed and breakfast tired hotel which has had the cracks papered over needs a proper refit lovely staff and enjoyed our stay but just slightly disappointing

Reviewed by
Neil S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Western Hotel
Nicely situated near to the town centre and beach, old fashioned corridors, but hey, nice staff, outside needs tidying up. Overall good accommodation at the right price.

Reviewed by
N Lea

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
We stayed here in nov 2014, I asked for a room with a sea view and what we got was superb, over looked the sea. Excellent value and would definetly go back :-))

Reviewed by
M Roberts

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality hotel
Hotel is in a great location with the beach to the rear and within walking distance of the town centre.It was spotlessly clean,warm and comfortable and would not hesitate to recommend or stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ralph K

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money... get a littlebless than you pay for
Positives: warm bedding, tv and kettle in room, free biscuits and hot drinks provided, old but good shower with stable temperature.
Negatives: overflow car park is down the road from hotel, loud toilet systern, Indian restaurant next to hotel has loud and disruptive extracter fans, room was dated and slightly run down - seemed clean but fell dirty as it all s seemed so dated.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
K Rodier

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice trip
it was a nice and cheap trip ... would book again

Reviewed by
E Jutz

From Austria
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay

Reviewed by
John c

From DONCASTER, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
Having booked this through Late rooms at £45, this rioom was very good value given its excellent location. however pelase note breakfast was an extra £8.95 and parking £5. this said, overall i think it was just about good vlaue for money and i would definatley stay here again (even if my room was looking a bit tired and dated).

Reviewed by
L Stubbings

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic room and views
Have stayed at the Great Western many times. Always found the staff friendly and helpful.
The Hotel has a variety of rooms, some basic and some luxury. I have previously stayed in a budget room which is okay for an overnight crash, a standard which was still okay. On this occasion I splashed out on a Superior room, with fantastic views. You get what you pay for. Breakfast is extra but that is personal choice. There are lots of places to eat nearby.

Reviewed by
Marion B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next