Reviews - Great Western Hotel


Narrowcliff, Newquay, TR7 2NE

Price From 84.05 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (58)

84% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • L Stubbings

  • September 2015

I booked this last minute, and not realising until i pulled up i had stayed here before.

The hotel is in great location in centre of Newquay overlooking the beach, and right next a fantastic Indian restaurant the New Maharajah. The rooms are ok, perfectly functional. The only 2 down sides for me, was Parking, there was no parking on site left, so i had to leave my car in a public car park about 1/2 mile away. (luckily for me in the morning it was dry) also not being able to book breakfast online when i booked as this meant I had to pay full price of approx. £9 when including a glass of juice) this said the breakfast was very nice.


  • August 2015

Great time

Lovely room with views of the sea.

huge bed so comfy. good price just wished we could have stayed longer.

  • s soper

  • August 2015

Great views convenient for town

The room was a bit pricey £99 with no breakfast but we did book very late.

The hotel overlooks the beach with an outdoor terrace. We had a good lunch there too.

  • Martyn McShane

  • July 2015

Value for money

Reasonable value against similar hotels in town during school holidays.

Its not the best hotel in Newquay but it was friendly, quick service and a good restaurant and bar area. rooms could do with a renovation.

  • Rob B

  • July 2015

Very average

First room I was given was awful, whole corridor smelt of smoking and in poor state of décor.

The receptionist was helpful and changed my room, no quibble but I stay in a lot of hotels and this is poor value for money.

  • lesley perrett

  • July 2015

Great food, fab location, Awful room

We could only get an budget room, but website said they were budget as some bathrooms were without a window and the rooms were a little smaller.

They forgot to mention rooms had not been decorated in Donkeys years, carpet was worn, shower tiles etc mouldy, hair-dryer was from the 60's and did not work, bed linen and towels were nice and crisp and white, but the bedding..Well the smell was awful, overpowering, pillows smelt of stale dribble and sick, quilt stunk of BO and Smelly feet and we won't even go into the mattress. The view from the window was a manky building wall, the window was difficult to open but the seagulls tried to get in so best left shut trapping the stench inside. The food was great though, especially the continental breakfast, we had steak in the evening and although we waited over an hour for our food, the waitress was as miserable as sin and my husband had to send his medium steak back as it was so rare it still had a heartbeat, but saying all that once it came back the food was really nice. The back terrace is huge and wonderful views.

  • Peter V

  • June 2015

Great position lovely views.

Good accommodation breathtaking views, all round very good.

Did have an unpleasant smell in one part of the corridor on 2nd floor which was dealt with quickly once reported, I suspect that is a problem with drainage in that part of the building. We were in room 227 which we enjoyed very much.

  • P Thornley

  • May 2015

All fine

This was a perfectly reasonable stay and I was very happy with a good value night.

Comments by someone about it being "smelly" are completely unreasonable. It was a clean, tidy, and completely odourless hotel. Sadly the path down to the shore at the back of the hotel was closed due to a landslide but given the severe wind I probably wouldn't have been going down there anyway.

  • donna s

  • May 2015

Clean friendly hotel rooms basic but all you need good location helpful friendly staff

A good base to visit from, situated for lovely sea views

Good central position, easy to visit other nearby places of interest from.

  • S Davies

  • April 2015

Relaxing Break

A very relaxing 3 night stay.

Lovely room with amazing sea views. All staff were friendly and helpful. Food was lovely and plenty of choice all day. Bar and restaurant spacious and plenty of seating inside and out with lovely views.