No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
South Parade, , , Weston-super-Mare, BS23 1JP
The Royal Hotel is a charismatic, historic and luxuriously appointed Georgian hotel centrally located within Weston-Super-Mare in a unique situation. It enjoys both a wonderful sea views and close proximity to the promenade, town centre, Italian Gardens, Winter Gardens, Sovereign shopping centre and the Jill Dando Memorial Garden.

The Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Somerset countryside and many places of interest that are within easy travelling distance: Cheddar Caves & Wookey Hole, Bristol City & Water Front, city of Bath, Cribbs Causeway Retail Park, Quantock Mendip Hills and Glastonbury & Wells.

In 1810 The Royal Hotel was the first hotel to be opened in Weston-Super-Mare. It is set back from the sea front behind extensive lawns, has extensive car parking and is easily accessible by car, coach and rail. For guests travelling by air, the drive from Bristol airport takes approximately 25 minutes.

All 37 bedrooms are fitted to a select standard and all very well equipped. In addition several of the bedrooms are themed to a superior standard.

The Royal Hotel epitomises the elegant regency style that has made Weston-Super-Mare famous. The recently refurbished Golden Jubilee Restaurant has an excellent reputation with hotel guests and local residents alike. This is due to the excellent menu devised by our Head Chef, which includes dishes to tempt and excite all tastes. The menu changes frequently as our Chef creates new dishes for all our guests to enjoy.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Somerset countryside.
Picture of The Royal Hotel, Weston-super-Mare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 50 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nothing Royal about this hotel!

Reviewed by
J Ferreira

From , UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday delight
his was down to the lovely room, welcome, outstanding restaurant food and sunday afternoon jazz. will definately be visiting you again. MARVELLOUS!!!!

Reviewed by
alan c

From Lydbrook, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, very friendly staff, fab location
The Royal Hotel was a brilliantly situated hotel, that had lots of grandeur but remained very friendly and accommodating.

Reviewed by
n loveridge

From Shipston on Stour, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weston
Generally all fine. Room a bit small.

Reviewed by
S Craig

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place for a romantic get away,fabulous food

Reviewed by
Patricia Medd

From Wales
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel with great food!
The receptionists were very friendly and helpful and more importantly, QUICK!! Never usually happens on check-in! The room was large although no windows could open but didn't really matter since it was cold outside. The heating was excellent as we could easily adjust the radiator for ourselves! The breakfast was amazing! The cooked breakfast included in the price was tasty, well cooked and most importantly piping hot on a piping hot plate. I would suggest you ask for a room on the seaside of the hotel, not necessarily for the view but I think it is quieter on that seafront side. Clifton near Bristol is a must to visit!

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel with friendly helpful staff.
Rooms were nice and recently refurbished. But some of the exterior of the hotel needed some attention.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From Belvedere, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Royal Hotel
Stayed at The Royal Hotel before. So that in its self is a good review. We arrived early but told our room was ready which is really good especially when you have children with you. The rooms are adequate but of reasonable quality. Good quality mattresses slept like the dead. Breakfast was good apart from the poor quality sausage. Had dinner on two occasions the first being a car very which was good. The second being a'la cart which wasn't so good started with the scallops and black pudding which was so salty it was nearly uneatable. Then moved on to the veal which had been fryed on the deep fryer and it seemed most of the oil had been dripped on my plate. To sum up I like the royal it has charm a little rough around the edges a proper English seaside hotel.

Reviewed by
martyn mainwaring

From Farnborough, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab weekend at The Royal
Me and my Husband stayed at The Royal for a anniversary/birthday weekend. We have stayed in Weston many times and had drinks in this hotel but have never stayed before. We were in room 216, it had a sea view and was clean and spacious. Breakfast was good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We plan to stay again in a few months. Lovely weekend break!

Reviewed by
patricia cooper

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best
Lovely clean hotel,excellent food and friendly staff.Will be booking the same hotel soon.

Reviewed by
J Goodman

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next