No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SHIP and BELL

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
6 LONDON ROAD , WATERLOOVILLE, PO8 0BZ
The Ship & Bell, a former coaching Inn dating from the 17th century, offers guests a friendly atmosphere in which to stay, whether for business or leisure.

Guests can enjoy delicious home-cooked meals, made from locally sourced ingredients.

Our rooms are individually furnished with twin or double beds, full en-suite bathroom, colour TV, complimentary toiletries, tea nad coffee.
Picture of SHIP and BELL, WATERLOOVILLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHIP and BELL
Staff very pleasant and helpful, room fine - having to cross yard to get to annexe bit of a pain especially in the rain. I would go back. Would recomend it.

Reviewed by
Pat M

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

SHIP and BELL
The room was a little 'tired' needed some TLC. Wallpaper coming off the walls etc.Convenient for the ferry port in Portsmouth.

Reviewed by
Jennifer G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay
Dinner and breakfast excellent. Room restful.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last time for me
I have stayed here for over 10 years. Yowards thre end of the last landladies tenure it became a chore. Hearing about new management taking over I thought great give it a try again. However after two visits in two months I have decided it is not the place for me any more. When I visited in October I had to go into the bar to find someone to check me in. The landlady then appeared and told me I was late and check in closed at 10! she then checked me in ( sorry to disturb you dear but I am the guest spending money with you and just spent 5 hours travelling to get to you) This visit they lost my name from the booking even though they had taken a pre-paymrnt of my card. Checked in OK dropped bags in room and straight back down for food. Took a seat in the restaurant waited for our order to be taken. Nothing Went off in search of staff only to be told you now order at the bar, :K no big deal but tell people that dont just ignore them, Ordered a staek for me and a burger for my colleague. Steak turned up after 10 minutes, burger turned up 15 minutes later after I went to find out where it was. After food it was into the bar for some of there excellent beers. At 11-00 dead a single bell indicated the bar was shut with no prior warning of last orders. ( I did get up for a drink but was told NO a decision the barmaid then rescinded however I then refused.
Sadly for the new operators the place has not improved from Pats time, remember we are customers and therefore a little service with a smile goes a long way. Neither myself nor my colleague will be returning

Reviewed by
Alan W

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pub with rooms
It's a pub with rooms in an annexe away from main pub, well our room was (24). So noise is not really an issue, room was clean, mobile (02) fine and offered free wifi but we couldn't connect for some reason, could in pub though. TV good. The bed is a love it or hate, it's like a memory foam type mattress. They supply complimentary slippers? Free bottled water is fine though.
Spar across the road so nice for anything forgotten or cheap snacks/wine. Food was ok.

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great place to stay. Has slippers in room. Home made cookies. Evening meal was plenty of food. Breakfast was excellent. Staff and manager very helpful. Good choice of keg beers at the bar. Room very quiet. Plenty of parking.

Reviewed by
J N

From Long buckby, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
Room a bit musty but very clean and tidy, bed very comfy and had a good night sleeps.
Receptionist on checking in very friendly and told us she would be on duty all night. But when we came back at 8pm she was not there and we wanted to book a taxi. We had to wait 20 mins for bar staff to attend and then the lady had to go and serve food and drinks inbetween trying to phone a taxi.
Breakfast was lovely, fresh and hot and lots of choice.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Amanda C

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
A friendly and welcoming establishment. Fabulous food, tasty and well presented. All staff were happy, friendly and efficient. A nice ambient local bar, you could see they had locals so it was well iked. Comfy beds, well laid out room, had everything we wanted. Wished we could have got a room for the next night but understandingly they were full.

Reviewed by
Sue G

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay at the Ship and Bell
This was not value for money. We were in the annexe on the ground floor with a window which overlooked the road so passers by could see directly into the room. We had to persuade the lavatory to flush effectively with several attempts. The hotel could not provide milk in cartons for the tea and coffee making facilities on the second day, so we had a small bottle filled from the hotel bar, we had no way of keeping this cool in the room overnight. On the plus side food was good, although quite early on in the evening not everything on the menu was available, and the staff were pleasant

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Just had one night in this lovely hotel, had a comfortable bed a lovely shower over the bath, two arm chairs and a dressing table. You will also enjoy the breakfast highly recommend the full English and would recommend this place to anyone, as it is not far from Southampton or Portsmouth.

Reviewed by
Patricia H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next