No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SHIP and BELL

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
6 LONDON ROAD , WATERLOOVILLE, PO8 0BZ
The Ship & Bell, a former coaching Inn dating from the 17th century, offers guests a friendly atmosphere in which to stay, whether for business or leisure.

Guests can enjoy delicious home-cooked meals, made from locally sourced ingredients, with a choice of dining offered; either in the friendly atmosphere of our bar or in the restaurant.

Our rooms are individually furnished with twin or double beds, full en-suite bathroom, colour TV (with satellite options), direct dial telephone, trouser press, tea/coffee making facilities and a welcome pack containing shower cap, shampoo etc.
Picture of SHIP and BELL, WATERLOOVILLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, excellent breakfast
Clean, simple pub accommodation at a fantastic price. Friendly staff, nice pub, excellent breakfast. A much better alternative to the overpriced chain hotel over the road!

Reviewed by
Duncan S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation and food
We were satisfied with the accommodation but if retuned would ask for annexe room as our room was right at the front on the London Road which we are not used to..Could not close the windows as too warm. Food very good.

Reviewed by
wILF jOLLEY

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
This hotel is ideally positioned for a whistle stop tour of the Portsmouth area; within 15 mins drive of dockyards. Plenty of off road parking. Lovely helpful staff, excellent cooked breakfast. Keeps a nice pint of ESB and HSB real ales. One point - room 15 in the annex needs net curtails / blinds as it looks directly onto a busy side street with heads wandering past.

Reviewed by
Diane H

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Privacy and comfort
Room 16 should have a net curtain as it is directly overlooked by the entrance door. On a hot day we had to keep the thick curtains closed.
Would have liked more than one pillow.
Very good breakfast. Excellent value

Reviewed by
Patricia J

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damp!
Definitely at the budget end of budget!
Room smelled damp, even in June. Sockets hanging off the wall, curtains wouldn't shut properly. Bed was comfortable though!

Reviewed by
Alex T

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very over priced for the standard of accomidation, shower was very dirty and had to get it cleaned.
The male toilet has a very mouldy ceiling and holes in it. The car park look like it had not been swept or rubbish picked up. The breakfast was fair but slow. The place is over priced for the standard of accommodation.

Reviewed by
n oxley

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Centre of village, good location for travel elsewhere.
I know Horndean well and been to the Ship and Bell as a pub many times, but this was the first time I had stayed. There are quite a few rooms in a separate block at the end of the car park, but I had room 3 in the main building. Other people have complained about the stairs but it's really not a problem. The wallpaper and carpet in the whole building are rather shabby and need replacing. Room 3 is actually a large family room with two double beds and a bathroom. It is dual aspect and looks over the car park entrance and back of the building The room is slightly dated with furniture in need of renovation, faded chairs and a badly marked dressing table where someone had left what looked like hot hair straighteners on the wood. The vanity light over the bathroom sink did not work and the shower head needs replacing. The room was clean with a very comfortable bed.
The full English breakfast was excellent, but rather spoilt on my last morning by different staff who were not quite so on the ball and there seemed to be a lot of chatting in the kitchen but not much action, tables were not cleared quickly and I waited over half an hour for my cooked breakfast then found out they had forgotten about me. However, I enjoyed my stay, if you want a simple place to stay this would be ok but it is not the Ritz.

Reviewed by
Georgina M

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good again !
Have stayed here before and will stay again. Good value, friendly staff and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
John Stewart Ault

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excallent hospitality
I made a last minute decision to drive to Waterlooville the day before the funeral of a member of my extended family, which took place the day after the Spring bank holiday. I was greeted initially by one of the staff walking across to the annexe and then the young guy on reception, both were extremely hospitable and welcoming. After settling in I later enjoyed a really generous, well cooked scampi in a basket with a lovely side salad which I followed up with the best sticky toffee pudding I have ever tasted. Compared to others it was light in texture and I think this was because of the ale in the recipe. Breakfast the following morning was every bit as good. My bedroom was at the front of the pub above the bar on what is a very busy road. It was of huge Victorian proportions and the ensuite alone was twice as big as my family bathroom at home. Despite late evening traffic I dropped off easily and woke at seven o'clock as planned, the traffic noise beating my alarm on my mobile by 5 minutes! I would gladly stay here again, but if I was to come for a base for sightseeing would probably book over the phone in order to make sure that I had a quiter room. As well as the staff I had seen previously I met the landlady at breakfast and later the chambermaid , every member of the staff was as helpful and welcoing as the others and made me feel quite at home.

Reviewed by
LESLEY TIDEY

From Melksham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and comfortable
Our room was in the 'annexe' - a converted house very close to the pub. The room was clean and comfortable, with usual provision of tea, coffee etc, plus Earl Grey tea and camomile tea - much appreciated. No chairs though - just a stool. Meals were good pub food. All the staff were pleasant, helpful and efficient.

Reviewed by
Jean B

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next