No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SHIP and BELL

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
6 LONDON ROAD , WATERLOOVILLE, PO8 0BZ
The Ship & Bell, a former coaching Inn dating from the 17th century, offers guests a friendly atmosphere in which to stay, whether for business or leisure.

Guests can enjoy delicious home-cooked meals, made from locally sourced ingredients.

Our rooms are individually furnished with twin or double beds, full en-suite bathroom, colour TV, complimentary toiletries, mineral water, tea, coffee and home made cookies!
Picture of SHIP and BELL, WATERLOOVILLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop over
Room a bit musty but very clean and tidy, bed very comfy and had a good night sleeps.
Receptionist on checking in very friendly and told us she would be on duty all night. But when we came back at 8pm she was not there and we wanted to book a taxi. We had to wait 20 mins for bar staff to attend and then the lady had to go and serve food and drinks inbetween trying to phone a taxi.
Breakfast was lovely, fresh and hot and lots of choice.
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Amanda C

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Feedback
A friendly and welcoming establishment. Fabulous food, tasty and well presented. All staff were happy, friendly and efficient. A nice ambient local bar, you could see they had locals so it was well iked. Comfy beds, well laid out room, had everything we wanted. Wished we could have got a room for the next night but understandingly they were full.

Reviewed by
Sue G

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay at the Ship and Bell
This was not value for money. We were in the annexe on the ground floor with a window which overlooked the road so passers by could see directly into the room. We had to persuade the lavatory to flush effectively with several attempts. The hotel could not provide milk in cartons for the tea and coffee making facilities on the second day, so we had a small bottle filled from the hotel bar, we had no way of keeping this cool in the room overnight. On the plus side food was good, although quite early on in the evening not everything on the menu was available, and the staff were pleasant

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From Aberdare, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable Stay
Just had one night in this lovely hotel, had a comfortable bed a lovely shower over the bath, two arm chairs and a dressing table. You will also enjoy the breakfast highly recommend the full English and would recommend this place to anyone, as it is not far from Southampton or Portsmouth.

Reviewed by
Patricia H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ship and bell stay.
Very good value for money. Lovely comfy bed, however head board very creaky and we kept waking up every time we turned over. Breakfast very good.

Reviewed by
Maureen Overend

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I was particularly impressed with the pleasant and helpful staff. The bedroom was clean and comortable and the evening meal and breakfast very good. We enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend the Ship and Bell to others.

Reviewed by
Anthony D

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed our stay, the staff were all helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
H Turner

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Bargain Treat
We really enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much bother, the hosts were excellent. We had clean fluffy towels each day , endless condiments and biscuits to enjoy. The room overlooked a quaint village, a full size bath was a delight. Will be back in the future!

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Lancs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will go back
After a very poor welcome at check-in. Every thing was great...clean room ...and good breakfast. The staff at breakfast ( sophie ) were very friendly and helpful. The manager addressed our check in concerns in a professional and timely manner. Looking forward to staying again!

Reviewed by
mark wright

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine if you're not too fussy
If you want a reasonable-value room and are not too fussy about decor etc., this inn is fine. Staff were friendly and helpful, and beds were comfortable, though the decor is very tired and our room was rather smelly (strong artificial air-freshener which seemed to be covering up something I couldn't quite identify ...). The room wasn't spotless (dirty windows, some grime in bathroom, but to be honest no worse than my own house!). I wouldn't rush back, but felt it was fine for one night. Breakfasts were good!

Reviewed by
C Baker

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next