You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - SHIP and BELL

3

6 LONDON ROAD, Horndean, Hampshire, PO8 0BZ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Paul R

  • August 2016

Disappointing

The accommodation was not in the pub, an annexe on the other side of car park.

That was ok. On entering the room, 2 very large sash windows with public footpath running past. Everyone looked straight in the room on passing the window. No net curtain for privacy. Had to close curtains which were really shabby. One Window proped open with a lump of wood. Others wouldn't stay open without said piece of wood. Side window had net curtain to give privacy from car parked at side. Would have been better to have double ones covered. Very warm over night, as couldn't open windows.

Bath has inside peeling away. Ran hand round side. Residue from not being cleaned properly. Grout around bath missing. Blind on bathroom window was 2 inches short, and wouldn't go any lower, or up either. Fan continually running, wouldn't turn off even with light switched off.

Bed was comfortable, and sheets were clean. Only plus side of the room.

Breakfast was good, although they gave it to someone else first. There were the only 2 couples in the room, they must have thought it was the quickest service ever for receiving order. 1 minute after ordering a full English. Girl should have realised it couldn't possibly be right.

Went to book out, and had to wait for continual flow of people being seated for breakfast before same person came to take payment. Should have been separate staff for this procedure. Place could do with a good overhaul, and staff that concentrate on what they're actually doing.

  • F Giles

  • July 2016

Needs Attention

When we arrived we were given a ground floor room where the toilet backed onto a car repair yard.

There was no blind on the window and although the window was frosted glass we could clearly be seen from the outside. They changed our room, both rooms were in need of re decoration and a good clean.

  • David P

  • July 2016

What I wanted

Nice comfortable room, helpful pleasant staff, nice breakfast.

  • Richard N

  • May 2016

SHIP and BELL

Perfectly comfortable overnight stay, quiet, good parking, spacious bathroom and great breakfast.

  • Chris C

  • May 2016

Decent value

Needed a stop over at late notice and this was decent value.

I was in the annex which was quiet. Room and bathroom a little tired but perfectly comfortable for one with plenty of hot water and working TV. They have a restaurant but I ate in the bar. Pub food nicely presented and cooked, good range of beers. At breakfast the choice of cereals was half hearted, but again, the cooked breakfast was excellent.

Would use again on business.

  • brian w

  • April 2016

Unhappy customer

I was travelling with my son, grandson and one other, we were met at reception by a very unhappy person who I took to be the manager.

We were dressed for a shooting trip and maybe she doesn`t like shooters. The beds were not comfortable at all, there were springs that clunked every time you turned over, they are in urgent need of replacement. On our second night we entered the restaurant at 8-30 pm for dinner, whilst waiting to order the young lady who was waiting on approached us to tell us that my grandson ,who is 12, would have to leave the table and return to the room at 10-00. We decided to take our custom elsewhere, namely the curry house across the way where they didn`t have a problem with a 12 years old dining all night. I don't think the waitress was to blame, this was a message from the manager. The breakfast was excellent and the service that we received from the rest of the staff was very good, however, we will not be returning. This was my fourth stay at this hotel/pub and the second visit with my grandson.

  • C KNIGHT

  • January 2016

none

value for money

  • David H

  • December 2015

A welcome break

After a long day on the road this was a very welcome break, very happy and friendly staff that explained everything and made me feel welcome.

The Christmas decorations made for a great atmosphere, comfortable room with everything I needed. The accommodation was away from the bar so no late night noise, just great!

  • Kathryn B

  • December 2015

Great hotel.

Good value for money and just what we wanted for a one night stopover.

  • Philip Darragh

  • November 2015

Short breakaway near Southdowns

Nice period building in good village location.

Easy access to A3 to London or Portsmouth / Soutsea. Pleasant staff serving nice quality breakfast selection (included in room rate). On site car parking. Would stay here again if in the area.