No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - SHIP and BELL

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
6 LONDON ROAD , WATERLOOVILLE, PO8 0BZ
The Ship & Bell, a former coaching Inn dating from the 17th century, offers guests a friendly atmosphere in which to stay, whether for business or leisure.

Guests can enjoy delicious home-cooked meals, made from locally sourced ingredients, with a choice of dining offered; either in the friendly atmosphere of our bar or in the restaurant.

Our rooms are individually furnished with twin or double beds, full en-suite bathroom, colour TV (with satellite options), direct dial telephone, trouser press, tea/coffee making facilities and a welcome pack containing shower cap, shampoo etc.
Picture of SHIP and BELL, WATERLOOVILLE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Bargain Treat
We really enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much bother, the hosts were excellent. We had clean fluffy towels each day , endless condiments and biscuits to enjoy. The room overlooked a quaint village, a full size bath was a delight. Will be back in the future!

Reviewed by
Alison S

From Lancs, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

will go back
After a very poor welcome at check-in. Every thing was great...clean room ...and good breakfast. The staff at breakfast ( sophie ) were very friendly and helpful. The manager addressed our check in concerns in a professional and timely manner. Looking forward to staying again!

Reviewed by
mark wright

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine if you're not too fussy
If you want a reasonable-value room and are not too fussy about decor etc., this inn is fine. Staff were friendly and helpful, and beds were comfortable, though the decor is very tired and our room was rather smelly (strong artificial air-freshener which seemed to be covering up something I couldn't quite identify ...). The room wasn't spotless (dirty windows, some grime in bathroom, but to be honest no worse than my own house!). I wouldn't rush back, but felt it was fine for one night. Breakfasts were good!

Reviewed by
C Baker

From Witney, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good experience

Reviewed by
A Hill

From Walsall , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not clean
The friendliness of the staff and the tasty breakfast was completely overshadowed by the filthy and tatty room, I'm afraid. Lovely view of the road through the bed-sit style window, to match. Would not recommend 'the annexe' to anyone. Apparently, monetary compensation is, unsurprisingly, against company policy:as is cleanliness evidently.

Reviewed by
Paul Vassalli

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

True old property and it shows but was quite pleasant - would not rush back but would certainly not reect

Reviewed by
M Chadwick

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value, excellent breakfast
Clean, simple pub accommodation at a fantastic price. Friendly staff, nice pub, excellent breakfast. A much better alternative to the overpriced chain hotel over the road!

Reviewed by
Duncan S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accomodation and food
We were satisfied with the accommodation but if retuned would ask for annexe room as our room was right at the front on the London Road which we are not used to..Could not close the windows as too warm. Food very good.

Reviewed by
wILF jOLLEY

From Liskeard, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
This hotel is ideally positioned for a whistle stop tour of the Portsmouth area; within 15 mins drive of dockyards. Plenty of off road parking. Lovely helpful staff, excellent cooked breakfast. Keeps a nice pint of ESB and HSB real ales. One point - room 15 in the annex needs net curtails / blinds as it looks directly onto a busy side street with heads wandering past.

Reviewed by
Diane H

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Privacy and comfort
Room 16 should have a net curtain as it is directly overlooked by the entrance door. On a hot day we had to keep the thick curtains closed.
Would have liked more than one pillow.
Very good breakfast. Excellent value

Reviewed by
Patricia J

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next