No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms

4AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
Over , Gloucester, GL2 8DB
The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms offers luxury accommodation, stunning riverside views, and excellent food in our AA Red Rosette restaurant, using the best of local ingredients. Each of our 7 bedrooms provide wonderful views of the River Severn, or our newly restored Canal Basin. The Wharf House is perfectly set-up for business and leisure trips, with all rooms equiped with wide-screen TV's and private en suite facilities, most with whirl-pool baths. We have available a two bedroom suite, with connecting lounge, both with spa baths, and our ground-floor room provides easy access for the less psysically able.

Wi-Fi available throughout building and on riverside terrace

Visitors are provided with an entrance-door electronic key and bedroom key on arrival, and are therefore free to come and go as they please. The surrounding area is full with local walks, with public footpaths and cycle ways stretching to local villages, and back into the centre of Gloucester, and the historic Gloucester Docks. Regular bus services from 100 yards away venture out to the Forest of Dean, Gloucester, Cheltenham, and Ledbury, among others, to provide access to a whole host of built and natural delights, including beautiful churches open to visitors, woods, a bird reserve, and the old market town of Newent. The local pay-as-you-go Golf Course, located on the nearby B4215 helps to provide an excellent day out, as well as walks along our newly restored Canal Basin.
Picture of The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms, Gloucester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our choice of hotel was a good one. Small, well run, interesting location..
An excellent choice. All belongs to gloucester and Hereford canal trust. Interesting location and very well appointed rooms. We didn't eat at restaurant but understand food etc very good. Breakfast on terrace.would certainly return.

Reviewed by
Denise B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
All round great service, room and experience

Reviewed by
Gary Lobb

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

19th April 2014
This accomodation is b&b style, the rooms are very clean and modern with flat screen tv's and our room was fitted with a wonderful spa/jacuzzi bath which had under water lighting and was a very generous two person size. All the items and furniture was very high quality.
The only thing this accomodation was missing was a bar area. There is a wonderful a la carte restaurant beneath the rooms and the food was top quality but it would have been nice to sit at a bar after the meal.
Top quality accomodation and too quality food. I would reccomend to anyone.

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not impressed at all
Hotel suite was well presented though could only access by leaving main complex and walking through the rain to get to it. Asked if WIFI was available, told yes but not given details or password.Asked how to access it was told go to our website all details are on there.Even an idiot would know to get onto internet you need their password. This was a business trip. Was the only hotel I have stayed in over last two years that had no WIFI access and staff were rude and unhelpful. Upon settling my bill I was presented with a second invoice for food, it included a service charge which was not made known and for a jar of chilli relish, which she then charged for again having written on the printed invoice. I did not notice I had double paid until I got home and was doing my expenditure and accounts for the trip.Disgusted at them.

Reviewed by
p nunn

From Hatfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff were unhelpful, room was tired and spa bath didnt work, food was expensive but average

Reviewed by
adrian d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic hotel with fabulous food - and all profits to the canal refurb!

Reviewed by
K King

From Wilmslow, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant and helpful staff, Peaceful location. Having travelled separately to the venue, they were very hospitable in allowing us to leave one of our cars there whilst exploring Gloucester. Food choices were inventive. Great to see a selection of vegetarian options. Would definitely like to come back to try the vegetarian tasting menu.
Just one constructive thing to mention. Whilst the beds are beautiful and very comfortable, beware the legs at the end of the twin bed. The protrude way beyond the end of the mattress. I struck my leg very painfully on the corner and still have the bruise to prove it. Pointing this out to guests as the arrive in the room, may save them an injury.

Reviewed by
Helen Braithwaite

From Wigston Parva, England
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great food and a nice room to go with it
The food at the Wharf is excellent - both breakfasts and dinner. Cooked to perfection, with some lovely organic ingredients.
Rooms are large, with spacious bathrooms. Ask for a room on the top floor if you want a view of the water.

Reviewed by
K Whittingham

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Comfortable room, well provided for, restaurant a little small and noisy but pleasant staff.
It is a 45 minute walk to the city, not 20 mins as advised!!

Reviewed by
M Faarup

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the place if you have a normal appetite!
Accommodation excellent quality and cleanliness.
Staff friendly, warm welcome... BUT if you are a little later for breakfast than you said, they come and knock at your door to see where you've got to!!! Bizarre, never known anything like it!!!
Food is beautifully cooked but the evening meal consists of TINY portions and it's not cheap (£35 a head without wine or coffee).

ManagementResponse

We are Very please that you found the accommodation excellent  and us friendly and welcoming, thank you. If you are 30 minutes late for breakfast we are not chasing you by knocking on the door it is just an extra service many of our customers are very glad of as we have saved several from missing important engagements when they have overslept!!  In fact one regular has been saved from embarrassment in this way on several occasions - apparently our beds are just too comfortable!!! We would also ring a normal restaurant table if they are 30 minutes late to see if they are coming. We are very pleased you found the food beautifully cooked - thank you, it is designed to leave you content (rather bloated as many pubs do) - there is our 6 course Tasting menu also available.  It is quality not quantity and we have many compliments that the portions are just as they should be for a quality restaurant - but if you are used to large pub plates then we would advise some of the many side dishes that are available. Many thanks for compliments on the quality of what we provide both in the restaurant and the accommodation"

Reviewed by
A Woodward

From Buxton, England
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next