Reviews - The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms


Horseshoe Drive, Over, Gloucester, GL2 8DB

Price From 4413.80 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • M Tate

  • November 2015

very disappointing

The whole experience was a disappointment from start to finish, on our journey to the accommodation I recived an email at 4:30pm telling me that I would be charged £20 for checking in late, at no time was I told there would be a charge for this and I don't believe checking in at 5:30pm to be late!.

I call the hotel to tell them our arrival time, expecting some one to be there, we turn up to the hotel in pitch darkness and I called again to say we had arrived the reply was I will be there soon, once the staff member did turn up he had forgotten to bring the keys to open up, so we were still left standing in the dark, once in side the first thing given to us was a tick sheet to order breakfast, this I declind to do. The room was very pleasant but very cold, we had to go ask the staff member how to work the heating, bed was good, bathroom had a shower over the bath, this did not have a shower curtain, so showering was an experience with the bathroom floor becoming flooded,

On arriving for breakfast we very ordered to the one table layed up for breakfast and told to complete the tick sheet for breakfast while the staff member stood over us, this I find very rude and quite strange, there was no selection of cereals, yogurts or juice. There was no normal condiments, white sugar for tea, and only a spicy tomato ketchup on offer. We the discussed the £20 fine we had recived on our bill with the staff, who tried to be helpful, but the whole situation had left us very annoyed by this time, never would I stay here again or recommend it to any traveller.

  • Victoria S

  • September 2015

The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms

Nice rooms.

Not enough food. Very poor communication resulting in a £10 charge for use of a travel cot. Not worth £115 it cost us.

  • S Pullom

  • March 2015

The Wharf House Restaurant with Rooms

Nice quiet area, comfortable accommodation.

Would recommend installing a lock on the inside of the door as my partner was a bit uncomfortable with there not being one.

  • Jean H

  • October 2014

Lovely setting.

Great breakfast. Just wish we'd had time to try the restaurant.

  • Gary Lobb

  • October 2014

My stay

Got same room as before as eequested.

Very relaxing, nice decor

  • John D

  • August 2014

A weekend away

We only stayed the one night and cannot fault the service we received.

I thought the room was rather over-priced (We have stayed elsewhere, in similar, or better rooms for lower prices), but the overall experience was excellent. The meal in the restaurant was superb and of the highest quality and the attention we received from staff was excellent at all times - just the right amount - nothing too over-the-top, yet attentive when we needed it. Thank you for helping to make a good weekend!

  • Denise B

  • July 2014

Our choice of hotel was a good one. Small, well run, interesting location..

An excellent choice.

All belongs to gloucester and Hereford canal trust. Interesting location and very well appointed rooms. We didn't eat at restaurant but understand food etc very good. Breakfast on terrace.would certainly return.

  • Gary Lobb

  • July 2014

Great stay

All round great service, room and experience

  • John L

  • April 2014

19th April 2014

This accomodation is b&b style, the rooms are very clean and modern with flat screen tv's and our room was fitted with a wonderful spa/jacuzzi bath which had under water lighting and was a very generous two person size.

All the items and furniture was very high quality. The only thing this accomodation was missing was a bar area. There is a wonderful a la carte restaurant beneath the rooms and the food was top quality but it would have been nice to sit at a bar after the meal. Top quality accomodation and too quality food. I would reccomend to anyone.

  • p nunn

  • January 2014

Not impressed at all

Hotel suite was well presented though could only access by leaving main complex and walking through the rain to get to it.

Asked if WIFI was available, told yes but not given details or password.Asked how to access it was told go to our website all details are on there.Even an idiot would know to get onto internet you need their password. This was a business trip. Was the only hotel I have stayed in over last two years that had no WIFI access and staff were rude and unhelpful. Upon settling my bill I was presented with a second invoice for food, it included a service charge which was not made known and for a jar of chilli relish, which she then charged for again having written on the printed invoice. I did not notice I had double paid until I got home and was doing my expenditure and accounts for the trip.Disgusted at them.