You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4

Butcher Row, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (44)

84% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Pam A

  • August 2016

Nice hotel but difficult parking

The hotel was interesting and nicely presented.

However, the room in which we stayed was subject to constant pollution, traffic noise and on Friday and Saturday night there was continuous noise in the street below from drunks rushing up and down until after 4.00 a.m. some swearing unmercifully. Not a pleasant experience. With regard to the parking, this was highly inconvenient and unlit at night devoid of any type of security. Cars were not covered by any kind of insurance and a member of staff was on hand to collect and deliver cars to the hotel. This being so, we tipped them for their trouble and then discovered that a fee of £2.50 per day was charged anyway.

  • John Hornblow

  • July 2016

I felt almost like Prince Rupert himself!

We stayed in the Prince Rupert Suite.

Definitely worth it. The bath was so big and awesome we had 2 or 3 a day hehe. The whole hotel is lovely and authentic Tudor. We heard a few knocks outside the room where it is said Prince Rupert's Maid died and she hangs around by the stairs. The staff were great. What more can I say. A great weekend. We will try the King Louis Suite next time.

  • Sarah B

  • March 2016

Weekend break

Very pleasant staff at the Prince Rupert.

Extremely high quality food served both in the hotel's bistro and the breakfast in the hotel.

  • G Longley

  • February 2016

Tired

The staff could not be faulted, extremely helpful and happy.

The hotel itself, particularly our floor and room appeared tired and outdated, the shower seemed to have only two settings, very hot or scolding hot and our room key only seemed to work every 20 attempts!

  • j shaw

  • February 2016

Great Location

Fantastic location, entrance, dining room and bar area are beautiful.

Bedrooms are in need of refurb especially the bathrooms.

  • Sue L

  • January 2016

Prince Rupert Hotel

Great stay at the Prince Rupert, the room was lovely lots of character, staff were very friendly.

We will definitely book to stay again.

  • STEPHEN T

  • November 2015

Short break in Shrewbury

The Prince Rupert hotel is ideally placed for exploring the town.

Very friendly staff who with one exception couldn't have been more accommodating. We were upgraded to a suite in the older part of the building and the quirky rooms were a delight. Only down side was the attempt at eating in the Bistro on our second night we would expect anyone doing front of house to know what was on and what was off prior to starting a shift. Jemma had done just that the previous day. Went out to eat in the end.

  • P Brooks

  • November 2015

Not Driver friendly

To reach hotel it is essential to know that you must turn up very small alley.

we didn't. Failure to do so means a complete circuit of Shrewsbury one way system and you still don't know what to do to get there. Once there the car park is some way away and not accessible to guests alone. A ferry service by hotel staff is offered but even if this is acceptable it involves delays at peak times,

Otherwise: Standard room very standard for country town hotel at this price. Menu incomprehensibly chef French and expensive. Food disappointing.

  • e WILLIAMS

  • October 2015

PRINCE RUPERT HOTEL, SHREWSBURY

Stayed again at the PR, for its central location, and character.

It is becoming tired and shabby. Room 212 was cramped, dingy and tired, ceiling paper hanging off, high-cill window looking to the sky, and a large flat felt roof...........disappointed in the room !

  • Sue H

  • August 2015

A lovely memorable experience

We chose the Prince Rupert as a base from which to travel into Wales and to discover sites on the journey to and from Shrewsbury.

The staff could not have been more helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed travelling back in time, but with all the mod cons expected from a city centre hotel.