No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BUTCHER ROW , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase.

Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine
list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano.

FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park.

Picture of Prince Rupert Hotel, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 126 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The Prince Rupert could not be better located in the centre of town. We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. Overall very good value for money. The one downside was that our room (12) overlooked a busy pedestrian thoroughfare opposite the loggerheads pub which was noisy till the early hours with passers by. The rooms are not double glazed so you probably hear more outside noise if you are on that side of the hotel. It did not spoil things for us but anyone needing an early night at the weekend should better ask to be kept away from the front of the hotel.

Reviewed by
M Brady

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable & comforting
We arrived around midnight very stressed and tired. The receptionist waited to check us in before she went off duty. She gave us a complimentary sherry and upgraded our room. After a good nights sleep we had a very nicely presented breakfast in the Tudor style dining room. We felt very at home in this hotel. The only downside was the outside noise as it's right on the street also the wifi signal was very weak with a dongle so unable to work. But all in all a lovely experience.

Reviewed by
L Newman

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location
Nice to park up the car and be right in the centre of everything. Eating, walking, shopping, entertainment. Just arrive, park and relax.

Reviewed by
Janet B

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historic Building with modern twist
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Prince Rupert Hotel, comfortable room, food excellent quality and presentation, staff extremely helpful and location giving access to good shopping and site seeing. Highly recommended and would certainly stay there again. First visit to Shrewbury a lovely market town with lots to see and do.

Reviewed by
J Foster

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not all is as it seams
The hotel was not as expected from the descriptions and pictures, It is in my opinion in need of a make over, the above basic bedroom we had was shabby and dated. The heating was not working and the bedrooms and bathrooms were cold. The recently refurbished bathroom was well done but had a clear window onto a main street? The staff were friendly enough. The valet parking worked well on arrival but please allow plenty of time on departure, went to get my own vehicle. The cooked breakfast was also to a very poor standard. Having had to contact the hotel after my return home the customer service I have received so far is not what I would expect from a 4 start Hotel! well below par.

Reviewed by
R Hudson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel let down by petty things like £5 charge for bucket of ice and being asked to move car off empty car park once we had checked out they are minor gripes but when you have paid £175 for 1 night it's little things that make or ruin your stay

Reviewed by
Q Condliffe

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince Rupert 2 night stay
The Hotel has been upgraded as far as the room was concerned with a new quality bathroom however the toilet basin is not cleaned with any effort as the bowl was black at its curved outlet also the inner windows were dirty with no effoprt made to clean fingermarks, the outer windows seemed not to have been cleaned for months this was also the case for the outer lounge windows. The lounge is in need of refurbishemant the wall coverings were dirty and the sofas' frayed.
Breakfast was excellent and as good as we have had anywhere.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shresbury Flower Show Weekend
Very friendly staff, but poor value for money. Restaurant and food was very good. However the room was very tired with flaking paintwork, cracked window. Very noisy front bedrooms overlooking a very lively street. Kept awake till 2am. The shower was a cold dribble. Car parking is in an open area about 600 metres from the Hotel. Though free valet parking is offered. 4 star prices for 3 star quality!

Reviewed by
Timothy W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night Away
Room was oldy world with a comfortable but slightly small bed, floors were slopping but that only added to the charm. Modern well appointed bathroom with large shower and bath. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Valet parking was good. Food at the Chambers restuarant was excellant with good service. Breakfast in the Royalist room was first class.

Reviewed by
Gareth J

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worthy of a four star rating..2 or 3 perhaps
Possibly just this particular part of the hotel, the floor creaked with every step, including the hall floors, light from the hall shone through the gaps in the doors woodwork, the walls were not sound proof as I could hear the person in the next room including their 6 am wake up call. (I'm partially deaf BTW) All of which led to a bad nights sleep.
The bathroom had a leaking tap, that had by the look of the copper residue on the bath floor, been leaking for some time and the fuse box over the door was cracked and not covered.
On a positive note. the staff were great and the breakfast was superb.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next