No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BUTCHER ROW , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase.

Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano.

On arrival to the hotel, please hand your car keys to Reception, where one of our Hall Porters will valet park your vehicle to the 'Belmont Bank Car Park' (our own private car park). This is located approximately 200 metres from the hotel, or about 3 minutes by foot. Should you require your vehicle returning at any time, please give Reception 30 minutes notice and they will arrange this for you. Alternatively, if you would prefer, a member of staff will be able to escort you by foot and open the car park security barrier.

VALET PARKING SERVICE

As a resident at The Prince Rupert Hotel, you are able to make use of our private car park at a discounted charge of £5 per vehicle per night, with subsequent nights charged at the reduced rate of £2.50 per vehicle per night.
Picture of Prince Rupert Hotel, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable experience in a lovely town.
We enjoyed our short visit to The Pronce Rupert Hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room was full of character, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice at the cold buffet and a well cooked English breakfast. The valet parking worked very well and our car was delivered to us promptly at the arranged time.

Reviewed by
Jane B

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel with a very warm welcome
On arrival we had complimentary sherry as always, my partner and I have been staying here over the past five years. The friendly staff gave us a very warm welcome and to make our stay perfect we had been upgraded to a suite free of charge . We were given the king James suite with a four poster bed and a newly refurbished bathroom, fantastic. The food is super be no matter which of their restaurants you choose and breakfast is always a winner. What ever you do try this little gem in the heart of Shrewsbury .

Reviewed by
robert b

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exquisite town centre hotel
Stayed for two nights with my sister in a superior twin room- beds very comfy, lovely linen and bathroom superb- excellent breakfast choices and all delicious all served in a lovely panelled room. Reception staff from morning til late night were extremely helpful and went the exta mile to assist. Didn't see a hotel in Shrewsbury that I would rather have stayed in- we thought it was excellent!

Reviewed by
Fiona Longden

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad at all
Good all round experience, great breakfast

Reviewed by
Kerry Fowden

From Narberth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I've known the Prince Rupert since childhood (fondly remember the revolving door!). Never stayed there though, so this was an experience. A hotel with plenty of charm, and a rabbit warren of corridors to get to the nice room. Small room, but nicely located with street views of the older part of Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
A great hotel, attention to detail by all the staff and excellent customer service! We where lucky enough to be staying in a four poster - amazing!
Highly recomended

Reviewed by
Gareth P

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Night
The hotel is a little hard to find but when you do you will find character, charm and very friendly staff. Don't know why they upgraded our room which was very clean, cosy and quite and the big bed felt new
Lunch in their coffee shop and dinner in 'Chambers', one of their restaurants was superb snd not overly expensive.
Interesting Shrewsbury with its excellent selection of shops, river walks and parks is well worth a visit ... We'll be back and at the Prince Rupert

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend prince rupert hotel
Their personal service and accommodation was first class, we found Shrewsbury to be a very interesting place to visit with much to see and will come back to see more, and when we do the Prince Rupert Hotel will the first place we will contact to stay if they have a room.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From check in to check out the staff were very helpful ad polite. Valet parking is necessary at this hotel as there is no on-site car park. The car was taken away immediately and returned at the exact time requested.
The food was excellent and the whole weekend was a very enjoyable experience. Would recommend to friends and colleagues and will definitely stay at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
H Wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at the Prince Rupert
The Prince Rupert is a wonderful old hotel right in the centre of Shrewsbury. The staff are very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. If you are considering visiting Shrewsbury I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next