Prince Rupert Hotel

4

BUTCHER ROW, SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ

Price From 115.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (113)

85% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S Harris

  • April 2015

Could not have been more central and convenient to all amenaties in the town center.

The sat nav did not take us to the enterance but near enough.

The valet parking was no problem and we were able to leave the bikes on the car roof. We were given lovely sherry on arrival and the reception service was excellent. The hotel was full of character and creaky floorboards. The room was small but adiquate for our needs and the bathroom was a good size and modern but the shower could have been more powerful. We had the window open all night as it was mild and the night revelers could be heard and the morning street cleaning but this is expected in a city center. However the bed was very confortable and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was very good with plenty of it. The only complaint we had was when we got back from our morning outing,about 2 o clock in the afternoon our room had not been serviced.

  • J Clarke

  • March 2015

Good friendly staff.

Fantastic accommodation, the room we have was very good indeed. The breakfast was very good, a great choice of fruit, and the cooked breakfast was also very good.

  • PAUL J

  • March 2015

wonderful atmosphere, room adequate, but needed a deep clean, visibly very dusty. But lovely staff

We really enjoyed the atmosphere, even had drinks on arrival and departure.

But although the room was pleasant, the furred up dust on curtains, head board, vent, in fact every where in our room took away the value for money. however the breakfast and staff made up for this. We would stay again, but would have to say to staff if room was as dusty next time. The manager is very approachable, and staff are helpful but not over powering.

  • Daniel M

  • March 2015

Conservative and inflexible

If you want access to your car, you need permission.

Drinks highly overpriced, customer service strict and unfriendly. Strange atmosphere in the place. Confusing corridors to rooms.

  • Dawn L

  • February 2015

Prince Rupert Hotel

My teenage daughter and I had a lovely stay at the Prince Rupert hotel in February half term 2015.

Our room and bathroom had been newly decorated and had a lovely view of St Alkmunds church. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was delicious.

We had a lovely evening meal in Chambers; my daughters steak was beautifully cooked and my cheeseboard was outstanding.

  • Andrew B

  • January 2015

Disappointing

What a disappointment.

I booked a superior double room. However, what I got was a tiny double. I browsed the LateRooms site for this hotel and all photos show much better rooms (there is one photo that shows a small section of a room similar to the one I stayed in but those that show shots of beds must be suites). Felt cheated. The breakfast was also poor quality (from the over concentrated fruit juice to the greasy bacon). The hotel looks good from the outside and the receptionist was really helpful, but once you get the keys it is downhill from there. Pity. I was looking forward to a great stay. Won’t be returning.

  • Christine E

  • January 2015

In the Heart of Shrewsbury

Lovely old fashioned hotel in the middle of a nice area for meals, meandering the town and wandering down the river walks.

Breakfast is excellent. Hotel room was pretty nice, we were upgraded to Princess Elizabeth Suite, nice bed, modern slick bathroom, view into street below. It was quiet when we were there, maybe post Xmas/new year lull since we went on 2nd Jan for two nights. Helpful and courteous staff. Only thing that MIGHT put me off staying again would be price, but it was a lovely place.

  • Colin Cooper

  • December 2014

A charming hotel of great character

The Prince Rupert is a charming hotel of great character built on traditional values.

Don't expect large rooms with all the mod cons, if that's what you want there is a Premier down the road. What you will get is a service usually associated with hotels with more stars; of course you will get tea/coffee making facilities in your room along with exquisite biscuits, a very comfortable bed and clean facilities. The bathroom was a shock in such an old building; it was large and very much from the 21st century. This hotel is exceptional and I highly recommend it. We shall certainly be staying there again.

  • Joanne C

  • December 2014

Lovely historic hotel but are suites worth the money?

We stayed for my daughter's birthday for two nights and were delighted to be upgraded from our booked double room to the Charles 1 and Prince Philip Suites.

We were met at reception and our car valet parked and were offered a sherry during check-in.

Our suites were wonderful old beamed rooms with lots of character and located in the 15th Century part of the building. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and very modern and fully equipped. Our room however in my opinion was not of a £155 a night suite standard. I was truly grateful to receive the upgrade but would have been somewhat disappointed if I had paid full suite price. The sitting area in the Prince Philip Suite was under the eaves of the house and so even at my 5'2" height I had to bend to use the seating area. My husband at 6' probably would not have bothered had he been with me. The bed was a standard 4'6" double (I believed from the website that all suites had four posters or 5' beds). My mother's adjoining room had a separate "lounge" area but this was just a somewhat dated (and not in the historical sense) sofa bed and one chair. The bathroom in the Charles 1 suite was very small unlike mine which was far superior in the Prince Philip suite. The website which boasts "Brinton’s carpet, high quality Hypnos pocket sprung bed, flat screen LCD TV with Freeview, duvet, direct dial telephone, hair dryer, welcome tray with biscuits" is really pretty standard stuff and by no means exceptional at any price.

I would not let my review put you off staying at this lovely hotel but be aware that the two suites as mentioned above are just slightly larger rooms (in some respects) or even just more strangely shaped I guess. I have however stayed in the 12th century part of the hotel in the King James suite and this was a fantastic room with a four poster bed, dressing area and extremely large bathroom.

One other thing to note is the "Spa", which isn't particularly advertised on the Prince Rupert website but is mentioned as a amenity on the late rooms website. We chose the hotel partly because of this and as this was a 'ladies birthday getaway' this sealed the deal. Unfortunately in the small room which housed the sauna, steam shower and Jacuzzi, only the sauna was working. The reception advised us of this when we asked but actually didn't really offer an apology or state if or when this would be fixed. This area was very dated with some broken floor tiles but the sauna worked perfectly and did the job. Likewise the gym had about 4 or 5 pieces of gym equipment but the running machine wasn't working. If therefore your booking is going to be sealed by the lure of a "spa" I would check with the hotel first that everything is working and don't have your hopes too high.

I think generally this is a wonderfully historic building with lots of character features but is over-priced in terms of the 15th century suites and under-delivers. It is however perfectly situated and is in the heart of the town so that there is no need for your car once it has been parked by the valet parking. Everything is within walking distance and although there is some late night noise heard from local pubs as people walk by this isn't really a nuisance and is just as one would expect from being in a central town location. The local pubs aren't rowdy establishments.

In summary the hotel is wonderfully located, with tons of character but let down by the amenities and pricing of some of the rooms.

  • Jane B

  • December 2014

A very enjoyable experience in a lovely town.

We enjoyed our short visit to The Pronce Rupert Hotel.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the room was full of character, spacious, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice at the cold buffet and a well cooked English breakfast. The valet parking worked very well and our car was delivered to us promptly at the arranged time.