No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BUTCHER ROW , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase.

Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano.

On arrival to the hotel, please hand your car keys to Reception, where one of our Hall Porters will valet park your vehicle to the 'Belmont Bank Car Park' (our own private car park). This is located approximately 200 metres from the hotel, or about 3 minutes by foot. Should you require your vehicle returning at any time, please give Reception 30 minutes notice and they will arrange this for you. Alternatively, if you would prefer, a member of staff will be able to escort you by foot and open the car park security barrier.

VALET PARKING SERVICE

As a resident at The Prince Rupert Hotel, you are able to make use of our private car park at a discounted charge of £5 per vehicle per night, with subsequent nights charged at the reduced rate of £2.50 per vehicle per night.
Picture of Prince Rupert Hotel, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I've known the Prince Rupert since childhood (fondly remember the revolving door!). Never stayed there though, so this was an experience. A hotel with plenty of charm, and a rabbit warren of corridors to get to the nice room. Small room, but nicely located with street views of the older part of Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
Chris P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
A great hotel, attention to detail by all the staff and excellent customer service! We where lucky enough to be staying in a four poster - amazing!
Highly recomended

Reviewed by
Gareth P

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Night
The hotel is a little hard to find but when you do you will find character, charm and very friendly staff. Don't know why they upgraded our room which was very clean, cosy and quite and the big bed felt new
Lunch in their coffee shop and dinner in 'Chambers', one of their restaurants was superb snd not overly expensive.
Interesting Shrewsbury with its excellent selection of shops, river walks and parks is well worth a visit ... We'll be back and at the Prince Rupert

Reviewed by
Jonathan W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend prince rupert hotel
Their personal service and accommodation was first class, we found Shrewsbury to be a very interesting place to visit with much to see and will come back to see more, and when we do the Prince Rupert Hotel will the first place we will contact to stay if they have a room.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

From check in to check out the staff were very helpful ad polite. Valet parking is necessary at this hotel as there is no on-site car park. The car was taken away immediately and returned at the exact time requested.
The food was excellent and the whole weekend was a very enjoyable experience. Would recommend to friends and colleagues and will definitely stay at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
H Wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay at the Prince Rupert
The Prince Rupert is a wonderful old hotel right in the centre of Shrewsbury. The staff are very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. If you are considering visiting Shrewsbury I would recommend it.

Reviewed by
J Brown

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break with friends
Overall the hotel was warm and welcoming. The staff were friendly providing an excellent service. The food was excellent. We ate in the hotels Bistro on Saturday and the atmosphere was good as well as the food. We had booked a Standard double with an upgraded bathroom. The only niggle we had was that when we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to Suites. This at first sounded great but unfortunately this meant we were no longer in adjoining rooms. Our friends room was in the more modern area of the hotel and was as we expected. Our room was in the period area of the hotel and we did not really think it was a nice room. The bathroom was brand new but unfortunately the shower was very poor with hardly any power behind the water flow. We were also opposite a public house which was rather noisy most of the time and the room had no double glazing to deaden the noise especially at closing time. We should, of course, made a complaint and I am sure they would have moved us somewhere else. Despite the room, we all had a really enjoyable weekend break.

Reviewed by
Robert C

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found staff very friendly and helpful, a stunning building with lots of history, plenty to see and do
in the town, overall very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
P Barnett

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Wonderful Gem of a Hotel
If you want to stay in a bit of real English history, then you can do no better than to try out this hotel. We had the Prince Rupert Suite - complete with 4-poster bed and an old oak panelled bathroom with very uneven floorboards. It was everything we expected it to be. If you don't want to walk through a maze of creaky corridors to get to your room, then this isn't going to be the place for you.
Considering that the hotel is right in the middle of Shrewsbury, the room was very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food and service were very good. We had a very pleasant couple of days there.

Reviewed by
S Barden

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect if internet is not important
Wonderful hotel, excellent food and service to match. Full size snooker table for a relaxing run around the baize, valet parking, gym etc. Only down side is the lack of internet (there is an external service but its completely uselss). However instead of working late into the night, I potted some balls, had a delicious meal, read and relaxed.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next