No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BUTCHER ROW , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase.

Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine
list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano.

FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park.

Picture of Prince Rupert Hotel, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 115 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely night at this hotel staff were friendly and helpful accommodation was good
Only fault was the hotel was short staffed when we arrived back in the evening and no one was on reception as he was doubling up as a barman and we had to wait 10 mins to get our room key.

Reviewed by
g edgington

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break.

Reviewed by
D Strode

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince Rupert Shrewsbury
The original old building has been upgraded and the bedrooms and bathrooms had nice fresh décor. It was clean and comfortable and staff were all very helpful. The only negative was the slight lack of water pressure for the shower as we were on the top floor. Being right in the centre of town was very handy with shops, restaurants and visitor attractions on the doorstep. Guests in bedrooms at the front of the hotel may find it a bit noisy late in the evening when the pubs/restaurants nearby are closing.

Reviewed by
Anne A

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Good.
The service at the Prince Rupert was excellent from the start with a really friendly receptionist and efficient valet parking.
An free upgrade to a suite was the icing on the cake of our stay in this smart but characterful, ideally centrally placed hotel.
We didn't sample the food in the hotel's three outlets, but the menus looked good.
I would recommend this to anybody staying in Shrewsbury.

Reviewed by
Colin Hale

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked room prior to attending family wedding, so only stayed one night. Room very comfortable, historic feel with exposed beams in the room and very friendly staff. Breakfast was very good and the whole cost was excellent value.

Reviewed by
Martin E

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous Prince Rupert
We booked Prince Rupert's Hotel in the centre of Shrewsbury when we were going for a relaxing weekend. it was a wonderful surprise to find we had been given a complimentary upgrade from a standard booking to getting Prince Rupert's suite. Beautiful four poster, fabulous bathroom complete with priest-hole, just a superb room. We ate in their bistro Chambers. Wonderful food. The setting was great the menu varied and the presentation was a work of art. All the staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and the car-parking valet was brilliant!

Reviewed by
David Wright

From Whittlesey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice clean breakfast was very nice

Reviewed by
c flaherty

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service if you ask the right question
I really liked my stay here. I had to get up early on Sunday and had a good continental breakfast at 7am, which was great good for me (was running a marathon!), except i asked the 'wrong' person the first time so didn't know it was available.

Reviewed by
C Price

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fine ye olde world hotel
A nice olde world hotel right in the center of town. Car park a couple of minutes away but the valet parking is excellent and worked well.
Hotel restaurant is very well presented and the food is simply the best.

Reviewed by
a allen

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
If you are looking for a town centre hotel full of character and history with excellent service then look no further. Would recommend the Chambers Restaurant food.

Reviewed by
M Edwards

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next