No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince Rupert Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
BUTCHER ROW , SHREWSBURY, SY1 1UQ
The historic grade II listed Prince Rupert Hotel is situated in the very heart of medieval Shrewsbury and just a short stroll from the individual shops and many tourist attractions. Surrounded by narrow cobblestone streets and black and white timbered buildings it provides the perfect base to explore beautiful Shrewsbury. A warm and friendly welcome is always provided to all guests with a glass of sherry on arrival. With the heritage of the hotel dating back to the 12th and 15th century, character and charm abound with sloping floors, exposed Tudor beams and a restored Jacobean staircase.

Privately owned for many years by Michael & Diane Matthews, the hotel offers a great choice of dining all with a focus on fresh local produce. The Royalist is ideal for a special occasion with an a la carte menu together with a superb wine
list. Chambers brasserie is renowned for its traditional British menu at sensible prices and located at the front of the hotel overlooking the gardens of St. Alkmunds square, Camellias Tea Rooms offers an extensive menu selection including traditional afternoon tea served on a three tier cake stand. A charming place to relax to the sound of a grand piano.

FREE valet parking is provided to the hotel's private car park.

Picture of Prince Rupert Hotel, SHREWSBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not all is as it seams
The hotel was not as expected from the descriptions and pictures, It is in my opinion in need of a make over, the above basic bedroom we had was shabby and dated. The heating was not working and the bedrooms and bathrooms were cold. The recently refurbished bathroom was well done but had a clear window onto a main street? The staff were friendly enough. The valet parking worked well on arrival but please allow plenty of time on departure, went to get my own vehicle. The cooked breakfast was also to a very poor standard. Having had to contact the hotel after my return home the customer service I have received so far is not what I would expect from a 4 start Hotel! well below par.

Reviewed by
R Hudson

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince Rupert 2 night stay
The Hotel has been upgraded as far as the room was concerned with a new quality bathroom however the toilet basin is not cleaned with any effort as the bowl was black at its curved outlet also the inner windows were dirty with no effoprt made to clean fingermarks, the outer windows seemed not to have been cleaned for months this was also the case for the outer lounge windows. The lounge is in need of refurbishemant the wall coverings were dirty and the sofas' frayed.
Breakfast was excellent and as good as we have had anywhere.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shresbury Flower Show Weekend
Very friendly staff, but poor value for money. Restaurant and food was very good. However the room was very tired with flaking paintwork, cracked window. Very noisy front bedrooms overlooking a very lively street. Kept awake till 2am. The shower was a cold dribble. Car parking is in an open area about 600 metres from the Hotel. Though free valet parking is offered. 4 star prices for 3 star quality!

Reviewed by
Timothy W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night Away
Room was oldy world with a comfortable but slightly small bed, floors were slopping but that only added to the charm. Modern well appointed bathroom with large shower and bath. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Valet parking was good. Food at the Chambers restuarant was excellant with good service. Breakfast in the Royalist room was first class.

Reviewed by
Gareth J

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worthy of a four star rating..2 or 3 perhaps
Possibly just this particular part of the hotel, the floor creaked with every step, including the hall floors, light from the hall shone through the gaps in the doors woodwork, the walls were not sound proof as I could hear the person in the next room including their 6 am wake up call. (I'm partially deaf BTW) All of which led to a bad nights sleep.
The bathroom had a leaking tap, that had by the look of the copper residue on the bath floor, been leaking for some time and the fuse box over the door was cracked and not covered.
On a positive note. the staff were great and the breakfast was superb.

Reviewed by
A Williams

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
We enjoyed our stay in Shrewsbury and this hotel couldn't have been more central - a little hard to find but the valet parking was fine and the staff friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and the hotel had character including creaky floorboards which didn't disturb us but might had if we were early to bed or late to rise.
The main picture of the hotel is slightly misrepresentative as reception and most rooms are in a more modern part, but the whole area is ancient and the hotel is in keeping with this for sure.
The Bistro restaurant was a little lacking in atmosphere but then it was also empty on the night we stayed so it isn't a condemnation and the staff there were friendly and helpful too and the food absolutely fine.

Reviewed by
Daunton T

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Hotel, super staff, lovely location.
The Prince Rupert Suite had unique character and comfort. Spacious accommodation which was uncluttered with period fixtures and fittings. Amazing panelled bathroom with roll top bath. Very quiet and peaceful on this landing. The staff were polite and professional throughout our stay. Food excellent - breakfast choice amazing. The Hotel is in a great location for shops and restaurants, along with valet parking. Look forward to another stay at The Prince Rupert in the near future. Great value

Reviewed by
Anthony C

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
We've just returned from a lovely 2 days in Shrewsbury staying at the Prince Rupert Hotel. Everything was just as we wanted from the free glass of sherry on arrival to the valet service to our room.....and talking of the room - what a lovely surprise.
I don't know what any of the other rooms were like but our was in the oldest part of the hotel and very higgelty piggelty. Old beams, leaded windows, uneven floors - everything you'd expect from such an old building, character, but with a wonderful stylish bathroom and an enormous shower..
The Prince Rupert is situated right in the centre of town with very easy access to shops, bars and restaurants and there are plenty of bars and restauraunts. There's lots of lovely walks around Shrewsbury and other things to do. To be honest it's a bit like York but not as big.
Parking is a bit strange - not knowing where your car is for 2 days, but again valet service to bring the car back to us took no time at all.
Wonderful 2 days away - would recommend

Reviewed by
Jane D

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince Rupert Hotel
Lovely old building, very quaint & quirky with un-level floors, creaking floorboards/stairs, etc!
Clean & tidy, nice bathroom, nice breakfast.
If you prefer a more traditional type hotel as opposed to a modern type then this is the place!
Overall 8/10.

Reviewed by
Colin T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a lovely night at this hotel staff were friendly and helpful accommodation was good
Only fault was the hotel was short staffed when we arrived back in the evening and no one was on reception as he was doubling up as a barman and we had to wait 10 mins to get our room key.

Reviewed by
g edgington

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next